Knowledge & culture

Neuchâtel: cultural pearl on the lakeshore

Neuchâtel: cultural pearl on the lakeshore

Its location directly on Lake Neuchâtel makes this charming town interesting for day trippers as well as holidaymakers. Neuchâtel offers something for every taste: whether it's a tour of the historic old town with a visit to the museum or a walk along the lakeshore.

Travel comfortably by train to Neuchâtel. The old town is about a 12-minute walk from the station.

Popular sights

A variety of cultural and architectural highlights await you in Neuchâtel: Enjoy a stroll along the shores of Lake Neuchâtel, get a glimpse of the past at Neuchâtel Castle or visit the weekly market on the Place des Halles.

Lake Neuchâtel

Culture and nature on the shore

Lake Neuchâtel, also known as Lac de Neuchâtel, is one of the largest lakes in Switzerland. It is located in the north-western part of the country, in the region between the Jura Mountains and the Swiss Plateau. The lake covers an area of about 218 square kilometres and is known for its scenic beauty, as well as its importance for recreational activities and tourism. In addition, Lake Neuchâtel is of historical and cultural importance. The region around the lake was already settled in prehistoric times and there are numerous historical buildings, museums and monuments that reflect the history of the area.

Neuenburg Castle

Insight into the past

Neuenburg Castle was built in the 12th century and has undergone various renovations and extensions over the centuries. The castle was once the residence of the Counts of Neuenburg and was later taken over by the Prussian royal family. Today, the castle houses the Neuchâtel History Museum (Musée d'histoire de Neuchâtel), which presents an impressive collection of artefacts relating to the history of the region. Visitors can gain an insight into the past of Neuchâtel and the surrounding area. The architecture of the castle is a fascinating example of different architectural styles that have been added over the centuries. The castle shows the cultural development of the region through medieval towers to Renaissance elements.

Neuchâtel Botanical Garden

Botany up close

Whether you are a botany enthusiast or simply want to enjoy the tranquillity of a garden: the Neuchâtel Botanical Garden is definitely worth a visit. Here you can experience nature in all its glory. The grounds house an impressive collection of plants, including native and exotic species. From botanical rarities to widespread plant species, the garden offers an insight into the fascinating world of plants and their diversity. There are frequent courses, guided tours and events to raise awareness of the importance of plant life.

You can find more information here.

Neuchâtel Collegiate Church

Religious sublimity

The collegiate church of Neuchâtel, built in 1190, is somewhat elevated above the rooftops of the town, right next to Neuchâtel Castle. The church was built in the Gothic style and enhances the silhouette of the city. Its imposing façade, ornate decorations and lofty vaults are impressive examples of the architecture of past centuries. Inside, there are valuable religious works of art, including altars, paintings and sculptures, which underline the spiritual significance of the place. The church has undergone various renovations and additions over the centuries, and continues to serve as an active Catholic church and a place for worship, celebrations and devotions.

Market on the Place des Halles

A day at the market

The Place des Halles market offers a lively and varied shopping experience in the heart of the city. This market is a meeting place for locals and visitors alike, offering fresh food, local specialities and a lively atmosphere. Here you can discover a wide range of products, including fresh fruit and vegetables, cheese, meat, bread, flowers and much more. The stalls are often colourful and attractively designed, and the vendors are happy to offer information about the origin and quality of their products.

Rue de Chavannes

In the old town of Neuchâtel

In the middle of Neuchâtel's old town, you will find a painted alley that is always decorated with exciting motifs. Rue de Chavannes stretches through several neighbourhoods and offers a mix of shops, restaurants, cafés and cultural venues. Here you can shop, enjoy regional food and soak up the atmosphere of the city. The alley is also an ideal place to take great photos.

Museums

In puncto Museen ist Neuenburg bestens ausgestattet: Hier finden Sie das Naturhistorische Museum, das Archäologiemuseum, das Museum für Kunst und Geschichte sowie das Museum des renommierten Schweizer Schriftstellers Friedrich Dürrenmatt. Die Vielfalt und Qualität der Museen machen Neuenburg zu einem wahren Kulturschatz.

Natural History Museum

A museum for nature lovers big and small

The interlinking of science, society and art creates unusual and sometimes surprising exhibitions that are always rich in knowledge and emotion. In the completely renovated historic building, everything revolves around native animals, exotic creatures and geological finds.

Further information on the Neuchâtel Museum of Natural History

Museum of Art and History

A feast for the eyes and an occasion to reflect on the world

The Neuchâtel Museum of Art and History is located on the elegant lake promenade right next to the Neuchâtel harbour. A place of pleasure, beauty and reflection. It combines visual stimuli with an effort to better understand the world around us.

Further information on the Neuchâtel Museum of Art and History

Laténium

Park and Museum of Archaeology

Located in the middle of an idyllic park on the shores of Lake Neuchâtel, the Laténium is the largest archaeological museum in Switzerland. Experience a guided tour through 50,000 years of history - from the Ice Age to the Middle Ages - in a playful and interactive way.

Further information on the Laténium

Centre Dürrenmatt

Painting and writing in dialogue

In the natural Vallon de l'Ermitage, high above Neuchâtel, lies the Centre Dürrenmatt Neuchâtel (CDN), built by Mario Botta, which houses the collection of Friedrich Dürrenmatt's paintings and drawings. A tour of Dürrenmatt's visual work in dialogue with his texts awaits you. Numerous events round off the programme and promise a multi-faceted approach to the work and the person.

Further information on the Centre Dürrenmatt

Activities

Visit Neuchâtel's local mountain Chaumont or stroll across Lake Neuchâtel on the "La Passerelle de l'Utopie" footbridge. Creative minds can construct their own clock in the workshop "Le Centre Horloger".

Chaumont

Neuchâtel's local mountain

The ridge between Lake Neuchâtel and Val-de-Ruz is Neuchâtel's local mountain. It is a mountain of views, a mountain of enjoyment and a mountain of activities, all at the same time. Thanks to the cable railway, you can easily reach the Chaumont from Neuchâtel La Coudre. Here, a breathtaking view of Neuchâtel, the Three-Lakes Region, the Swiss Plateau and the surrounding Alps opens up. For those who want to go higher, the panorama tower awaits. Situated at 1200 m above sea level, it opens up an even wider view into the distance. Adventure seekers and connoisseurs alike get their money's worth on the local mountain. There is a wide range of activities and recreational opportunities, and of course the beautiful view is an added incentive.

More information about Chaumont - Neuchâtel's local mountain

La Passerelle de l'Utopie

Panorama platform above the lake

In the middle of Neuchâtel, next to the Hotel Beau-Rivage, is the Passerelle de l'Utopie, which can be reached via the lake promenade. The pier-like walkway rests on only one support in the middle and consists of a huge see-saw, which is stable thanks to two large counterweights. The Passerelle de l'Utopie is intended to be a place of encounter and reflection. Visitors can stroll along the pier, out over the lake, enjoy the panoramic view of the city and the lake, and immerse themselves in a world of possibilities.

Workshop «Le Centre Horloger»

Create your own clock

A very special experience awaits you at this workshop: Learn the necessary steps to assemble your own pocket watch or wristwatch, and even get to take it home!

More information about the workshop "Le Centre Horloger

Events

Discover Neuchâtel through "Fête de l'Absinthe", the International Film Festival of Fribourg (FIFF) and "Les Pavés Musicaux" – three unique events for enjoyment, film and music.

Fête de l'Absinthe

Delightful festival for absinthe enthusiasts

The "Fête de l'Absinthe" is a festival dedicated to the famous spirit, absinthe. The event attracts absinthe enthusiasts, tourists, and those interested from the entire region. During the festival, you have the opportunity to learn more about the history of absinthe, participate in tastings, visit local absinthe distilleries, and enjoy cultural events, music, and entertainment. It usually takes place in the summer.

Further information about the Fête de l'Absinthe

International Film Festival of Fribourg (FIFF)

FIFF: Bridge for film art and global creativity

The Festival International de Films de Fribourg (FIFF) is dedicated to promoting film art and providing a platform for filmmakers from various parts of the world. During FIFF, a variety of international films of different genres and styles are presented. The festival not only offers an opportunity for filmmakers to showcase their works to a broad audience but also creates space for discussions, workshops, and events addressing current developments in the film industry.

Further information about the Festival International de Films de Fribourg (FIFF)

Les Pavés Musicaux

City symphony: Music festival in Neuchâtel

"Les Pavés Musicaux" is a musical event where various locations in the city become stages for live music of different genres. Artists perform at different places, and visitors can enjoy a variety of musical performances while strolling through the cobblestone streets of Neuchâtel. This festival creates a unique connection between music and urban ambiance, providing an opportunity to discover the local culture and music scene.

Further information about Les Pavés Musicaux

BLS suggestion

Would you like to discover the city of Neuchâtel with your friends or family in a fun way? Then the scavenger hunt "Les Chenapans" is a great option for you. Tricky riddles, unusual discoveries and all kinds of surprises await you along the way.

Food & drink

How to get there

Travel comfortably by train to Neuchâtel.

No reviews 0 of 5 stars

Rate
Additional ratings

Standort

Tickets & timetable
Ähnliche Angebote
Special offers
Ein Einblick in die neue Ausstellung «Experience Energy!»
Swiss Museum of Transport in Lucerne
Benefit
Knowledge & culture
Uhrenmuseum La Chaux-de-Fonds
Visit to the International Watch Museum
Experience
Family
Schnitzeljagt Lusbuben Neuenburg Lupe
Neuchâtel - “Les Chenapans” paper chase
Discover
Knowledge & culture
Das Schloss von Neuenburg mit dem See im Hintergrund. Rundherum befinden sich Häuser und Bäume. Der Himmel ist blau.
Lake, sun and museums in Neuchâtel
Discover
Angebote in der Nähe
Knowledge & culture
Naturhistorisches Museum Neuchâtel - Insektensaal
Natural History Museum Neuchâtel
Experience
Knowledge & culture
Dauerausstellung Centre Dürrenmatt Neuchâtel
Centre Dürrenmatt Neuchâtel
Discover
Family
Kletterpark «Parc adventure Chaumont»
Le Chaumont: Neuchâtel’s local mountain
Experience
Knowledge & culture
Latenium von aussen
Laténium – Archaeology park and museum in Neuchâtel
Experience
Newsletter
Download PDF
0 of 0 Media files

Culture & connaissance

Neuchâtel: la perle de la culture au bord du lac

Points forts culturels et architecturaux au bord du lac de Neuchâtel

Sa situation au bord du lac de Neuchâtel fait de cette charmante ville un lieu intéressant tant pour les visiteurs d'un jour que pour les vacanciers. Neuchâtel en a pour tous les goûts: que ce soit une visite de la vieille ville historique avec visite du musée ou une promenade au bord du lac.

Voyagez confortablement en train jusqu'à Neuchâtel. La vieille ville est à environ 12 minutes à pied de la gare.

Sites populaires

Une multitude de points forts culturels et architecturaux vous attendent à Neuchâtel : Profitez d'une promenade sur les rives du lac de Neuchâtel, obtenez un aperçu du passé au château de Neuchâtel ou visitez le marché hebdomadaire sur la place des Halles.

Lac de Neuchâtel

Culture et nature au bord de l'eau

Le lac de Neuchâtel est l'un des plus grands lacs de Suisse. Il se trouve dans la partie nord-ouest du pays, dans la région située entre les montagnes du Jura et le Plateau suisse. Le lac s'étend sur une superficie d'environ 218 kilomètres carrés et est connu pour la beauté de ses paysages et son importance pour les activités de loisirs et le tourisme. En outre, le lac de Neuchâtel revêt une importance historique et culturelle. La région autour du lac était déjà peuplée à l'époque préhistorique et il existe de nombreux bâtiments historiques, musées et monuments qui reflètent l'histoire de la région.

Château de Neuchâtel

Un aperçu du passé

Le château de Neuchâtel a été construit au 12e siècle et a connu plusieurs rénovations et agrandissements au fil des siècles. Le château était autrefois la résidence des comtes de Neuchâtel et fut ensuite repris par la famille royale de Prusse. Aujourd'hui, le château abrite le Musée d'histoire de Neuchâtel qui présente une impressionnante collection d'artefacts liés à l'histoire de la région. Les visiteurs peuvent y découvrir le passé de Neuchâtel et de ses environs. L'architecture du château est un exemple fascinant des différents styles architecturaux qui ont été ajoutés au fil des siècles. Le château illustre le développement culturel de la région à travers des tours médiévales et des éléments de la Renaissance.

Jardin botanique de Neuchâtel

La botanique à fleur de peau

Que vous soyez un passionné de botanique ou que vous souhaitiez simplement profiter de la tranquillité d'un jardin: le jardin botanique de Neuchâtel vaut définitivement le détour. Ici, vous pouvez voir la nature dans toute sa splendeur. Le site abrite une impressionnante collection de plantes, dont des espèces locales et exotiques. Des raretés botaniques aux espèces végétales les plus répandues, le jardin offre un aperçu du monde fascinant des plantes et de leur diversité. Des ateliers, cours, visites guidées et événements attirant l’attention sur l'importance de la flore, sont souvent proposés.

Vous trouverez de plus amples informations ici.

Église collégiale de Neuchâtel

Sublimité religieuse

Construite en 1190, l'église collégiale de Neuchâtel est située un peu en hauteur, au-dessus des toits de la ville, juste à côté du château de Neuchâtel. L'église a été construite dans le style gothique et est emblématique de la ville. Sa façade imposante, ses décorations artistiques et ses hautes voûtes sont des exemples impressionnants de l'architecture des siècles passés. L'intérieur abrite des œuvres d'art religieuses de grande valeur, dont des autels, des peintures et des sculptures qui soulignent l'importance spirituelle du lieu. L'église a connu plusieurs rénovations et agrandissements au cours des siècles, et continue de servir d'église catholique active et de lieu de culte, de célébration et de recueillement.

Marché sur la place des Halles

Une journée au marché

Le marché de la place des Halles offre une expérience de shopping animée et diversifiée en plein cœur de la ville. Ce marché est un point de rencontre pour les habitants comme pour les visiteurs. Il propose des produits frais, des spécialités locales, dans une atmosphère animée. Vous pourrez y découvrir un large éventail de produits, notamment des fruits et légumes frais, du fromage, de la viande, du pain, des fleurs et bien d'autres choses encore. Les stands sont souvent beaux et colorés, et les vendeurs donnent avec plaisir des informations sur l'origine et la qualité de leurs produits.

Rue de Chavannes

Dans la vieille ville de Neuchâtel

Au cœur de la vieille ville de Neuchâtel, on trouve une rue au sol peint dont le décor est régulièrement renouvelé. La rue des Chavannes s'étend sur différents quartiers de la ville et propose un mélange de boutiques, de restaurants, de cafés et d'institutions culturelles. Vous pourrez y faire du shopping, déguster des plats régionaux et vous imprégner de l'atmosphère de la ville. La rue est également un endroit idéal pour prendre de superbes photos.

Musées

In puncto Museen ist Neuenburg bestens ausgestattet: Hier finden Sie das Naturhistorische Museum, das Archäologiemuseum, das Museum für Kunst und Geschichte sowie das Museum des renommierten Schweizer Schriftstellers Friedrich Dürrenmatt. Die Vielfalt und Qualität der Museen machen Neuenburg zu einem wahren Kulturschatz.

Muséum d'histoire naturelle

Un musée pour les grands et les petits amoureux de la nature

Le lien entre la science, la société et l’art permet la création d’expositions peu communes et parfois même surprenantes qui sont sources de connaissances et d’émotions. Dans ce bâtiment historique complètement rénové, tout tourne autour de la faune locale, de créatures exotiques et de découvertes géologiques.

Plus d'informations sur le Musée d'histoire naturelle de Neuchâtel

Musée d'art et d'histoire

Un plaisir pour les yeux et une occasion de réfléchir sur le monde

Le musée d’art et d’histoire de Neuchâtel est situé juste à côté du port de Neuchâtel, sur l’élégante promenade qui longe le lac. Lieu de délectation, de beauté et de réflexion. Il allie le plaisir des yeux et l’ambition de mieux connaître le monde qui nous entoure.

Plus d'informations sur le Musée d'art et d'histoire de Neuchâtel

Laténium

Parc et musée d’archéologie

Situé dans un parc idyllique sur les rives du Lac de Neuchâtel, le Laténium est le plus grand musée archéologique de Suisse. Découvrez de manière ludique et interactive 50'000 ans d’histoire, de la période glaciaire au Moyen-Âge.

Plus d'informations sur le Laténium

Centre Dürrenmatt

Peindre et écrire en dialogue

Dans le verdoyant Vallon de l'Ermitage et surplombant Neuchâtel, se trouve le Centre Dürrenmatt Neuchâtel (CDN), construit par Mario Botta, qui abrite la collection de peintures et de dessins de Friedrich Dürrenmatt. Vous pourrez profiter d'une visite de l'œuvre picturale de Dürrenmatt en dialogue avec ses textes. De nombreuses manifestations complètent l'offre et promettent un accès aux multiples facettes de l'œuvre et de la personne.

Plus d'informations sur le Centre Dürrenmatt

Activités

Visitez la montagne locale de Neuchâtel, Chaumont, ou flânez sur le lac de Neuchâtel sur la passerelle de l'Utopie. Les esprits créatifs peuvent construire leur propre horloge dans l'atelier "Le Centre Horloger".

Chaumont

La montagne de Neuchâtel

La crête entre le lac de Neuchâtel et le Val-de-Ruz est la montagne emblématique de Neuchâtel. C'est à la fois une montagne aux vues panoramiques, riche en spécialités culinaires et en activités. Grâce au funiculaire, vous pouvez facilement vous rendre de Neuchâtel La Coudre à la montagne de Chaumont. De là, une vue à couper le souffle s'ouvre sur Neuchâtel, le Pays des Trois-Lacs, le Plateau suisse et les Alpes environnantes. Pour ceux qui souhaitent prendre de la hauteur, la tour panoramique leur tend les bras. Culminant à 1'200 m d'altitude, elle offre une vue encore plus large sur l'horizon. Les amateurs d'aventure et les gourmands trouveront aussi leur compte sur la montagne. La palette d'activités et de possibilités de détente est large, et bien sûr, la vue magnifique offre une motivation supplémentaire.

Plus d'informations sur Chaumont - la montagne de Neuchâtel

La Passerelle de l'Utopie

Plateforme panoramique au-dessus du lac

Au cœur de Neuchâtel, à côté de l'Hôtel Beau-Rivage, se trouve la Passerelle de l'Utopie, accessible par la promenade du lac. La passerelle repose sur un seul support au centre et forme une énorme bascule qui est stable grâce aux deux grands contrepoids. La Passerelle de l'Utopie est conçue comme un lieu de rencontre et de réflexion. Les passants peuvent flâner le long de la passerelle et profiter de la vue panoramique sur la ville et le lac, tout en s'immergeant dans un monde de possibilités.

Atelier «Le Centre Horloger»

Créez votre propre horloge

Une expérience d'un genre particulier vous attend lors de cet atelier: apprendre les gestes nécessaires pour assembler votre propre montre de poche ou montre-bracelet et même repartir avec!

Plus d'informations sur l'atelier «Le Centre Horloger»

Manifestations

Découvrez Neuchâtel à travers la Fête de l'Absinthe, le Festival International de Films de Fribourg (FIFF) et Les Pavés Musicaux – trois événements uniques pour le plaisir, le cinéma et la musique.

Fête de l'Absinthe

Festival délicieux pour les amateurs d'absinthe

La «Fête de l'Absinthe» est un festival dédié à la célèbre boisson, l'absinthe. L'événement attire les amateurs d'absinthe, les touristes et les intéressés de toute la région. Pendant le festival, vous avez l'occasion d'en apprendre davantage sur l'histoire de l'absinthe, de participer à des dégustations, de visiter des distilleries locales d'absinthe et de profiter d'événements culturels, de musique et de divertissements. Il a généralement lieu en été.

Plus d'informations sur la Fête de l'Absinthe

Festival International de Films de Fribourg (FIFF)

FIFF : Pont pour l'art cinématographique et la créativité globale

Le Festival International de Films de Fribourg (FIFF) est dédié à la promotion de l'art cinématographique et offre une plateforme aux cinéastes venant de différentes parties du monde. Pendant le FIFF, une variété de films internationaux de genres et de styles différents sont présentés. Le festival offre non seulement une opportunité aux cinéastes de présenter leurs œuvres à un large public, mais crée également un espace pour des discussions, des ateliers et des événements traitant des développements actuels dans l'industrie du cinéma.

Plus d'informations sur le Festival International de Films de Fribourg (FIFF)

Les Pavés Musicaux

Symphonie urbaine : Festival de musique à Neuchâtel

«Les Pavés Musicaux» est un événement musical où différents endroits de la ville deviennent des scènes pour des performances musicales live de genres variés. Des artistes se produisent à divers endroits, et les visiteurs peuvent apprécier une variété de prestations musicales tout en déambulant dans les rues pavées de Neuchâtel. Ce festival crée une connexion unique entre la musique et l'ambiance urbaine, offrant l'occasion de découvrir la culture locale et la scène musicale.

Plus d'informations sur Les Pavés Musicaux

Bon plan BLS

Vous souhaitez découvrir la ville de Neuchâtel de manière ludique avec vos amis ou votre famille? Alors la chasse au trésor «Les Chenapans» est une super offre pour vous. Des énigmes épineuses, des découvertes insolites et tout un tas de surprises vous attendent en chemin.

Restauration

Vous trouverez ici quelques recommandations de plats délicieux et de boissons rafraîchissantes:

Comment s'y rendre

Voyagez confortablement en train jusqu'à Neuchâtel.

Aucun commentaire 0 sur 5 étoiles

Évaluer
D'autres évaluation

Standort

Billets & horaire
Ähnliche Angebote
Culture & connaissance
BirdLife Naturzentrum La Sauge
Découverte du centre-nature BirdLife de la Sauge
découvrir
Nature et randonnée
Themenweg Friedrich Dürrenmatt © ST Lorenz Richard
Sentier thématique Friedrich Dürrenmatt
Erleben
Nature et randonnée
Kandersteg, Rundwanderweg
Circuits de randonnée de Kandersteg
Découvrir
Culture & connaissance
Ausserberg
Jeu de piste Finding-Daniel
Entdecken
Angebote in der Nähe
Culture & connaissance
Le château de Neuchâtel avec le lac en arrière-plan. Tout autour, il y a des maisons et des arbres. Le ciel est bleu.
Le lac, les soleil et les Musées de Neuchâtel
découvrir
Famille
Schnitzeljagt Lusbuben Neuenburg Lupe
Neuchâtel - Jeu de piste «Les Chenapans»
DÉCOUVRIR
Culture & connaissance
Naturhistorisches Museum Neuchâtel - Insektensaal
Muséum d’histoire naturelle Neuchâtel
découvrir
Culture & connaissance
Dauerausstellung Centre Dürrenmatt Neuchâtel
Centre Dürrenmatt Neuchâtel
découvrir
Newsletter
PDF herunterladen
0 de 0 Fichiers de médias