Knowledge & culture

Burgdorf: where tradition meets modernity

Experience the fascinating flair of Burgdorf

The charming town of Burgdorf in the heart of Switzerland invites you to enjoy an eventful visit that will delight you with its unique blend of tradition and modernity. Immerse yourself in a world full of history, experience picturesque landscapes and discover the distinctive character of this enchanting city.

Travel comfortably by train to Burgdorf. The old town is about a 10-minute walk from the station.

Popular sights

A variety of discoveries await you in Burgdorf. How about a relaxed shopping trip through the picturesque upper town followed by lunch high up in Burgdorf Castle? Art and culture lovers will also find what they are looking for here, with the Museum im Schloss Burgdorf, the Franz Gertsch Museum and Bernhard Luginbühl's impressive Old Slaughterhouse - true treasures for anyone interested in art and culture.

Burgdorf Old Town

Burgdorf's old town is characterised by narrow streets, medieval buildings and cobbled streets, which convey a sense of tradition and history. The well-preserved half-timbered houses and historic buildings lend the old town an unmistakable charm and invite you to take a stroll through the centuries. Here you will also find numerous cosy cafés, restaurants, boutiques and arts and craft shops that invite you to linger and discover. Next to Burgdorf Castle, the late Gothic town church is definitely worth a visit.

Guided tours through Burgdorf

Experience the beautiful Zähringerstadt in various interesting ways: culinary, spooky and frightening, classic or criminal. Discover the town of Burgdorf anew and learn exciting and curious facts about life yesterday and today. During the tour, help the investigating detective solve a murder mystery, or follow the traces of Burgdorf's traditional shops and learn what shopping was like 100 years ago whilst enjoying local specialities.

Further information on the Burgdorf city tours

Burgdorf Castle

Burgdorf Castle is not only an historical jewel, but also a popular destination for those who want to discover the history and culture of the region. The architecture of Burgdorf Castle is well preserved and represents a typical medieval castle complex. It consists of various buildings, including the imposing keep, which once served as a watchtower, as well as the palace and the outer castle. Visitors have an impressive view of the town of Burgdorf and the picturesque surroundings from the castle's viewing terraces. The location on a hill above the old town of Burgdorf gives the castle a special atmosphere.

The castle is also used for various cultural events, including concerts, theatre performances, exhibitions and historical festivals. The events make the castle a lively meeting place for locals and visitors alike.

You can find more information here.

Museum Franz Gertsch

The museum is dedicated to the Swiss artist Franz Gertsch, known for his impressive hyper-realistic paintings and woodcuts. His works are characterised by an incredible attention to detail and remarkable technical skill. Gertsch primarily uses the woodcut technique to create portraits, landscapes and everyday scenes that have an almost photographic quality. In addition to the permanent exhibition of works by Franz Gertsch, the museum also regularly presents temporary exhibitions of contemporary artists from various fields of the visual arts. As a result, the museum's range is constantly being expanded, offering visitors ever new and exciting insights into the world of art. In addition, the museum has a café where visitors can take a break and enjoy refreshments, and a shop where art books, prints and souvenirs are available.

Infirmary

The infirmary in Burgdorf was built in the late Middle Ages as a leprosarium and served to isolate and care for people suffering from leprosy. The facility was part of the efforts to contain the spread of the disease and support those affected. It is an impressive example of historical architecture and shows the construction and design of past centuries. It was designed to isolate sick people from the population to prevent possible infection. Over time, the infirmary lost its original function, and today it houses the Burgdorf municipal archives. The building is also used for cultural events, exhibitions and artistic projects.

Reformed Church Burgdorf

The Reformed Church in Burgdorf is an historic and architecturally impressive building. Its history dates back to the late 15th century and it is an example of late Gothic architecture. The church tower is particularly striking and shapes the silhouette of the town. The church is famous for its carillon, which can be heard regularly and adds a special charm to the atmosphere of the town. Inside, the church houses impressive stained-glass windows depicting biblical stories and religious motifs. In addition to church services, the Reformed Church is also used for cultural events such as concerts and exhibitions. It is normally open to the public, and visitors can admire its impressive architecture and religious artworks.

Bernhard Luginbühl Old Slaughterhouse

The "Old Slaughterhouse" is a striking building in Burgdorf that once served as a slaughterhouse. Bernhard Luginbühl recognised the artistic potential of the abandoned building and transformed it into a unique art installation. The building itself became part of his art, and he created impressive installations that dealt with the themes of life, death and transience. The works are known for their monumental and expressive presence. His sculptures are often made of heavy materials such as iron and steel and their powerful charisma is impressive.

Bernhard Luginbühl Old Slaughterhouse

BLS suggestion

Would you like to discover the city of Burgdorf in a fun way with your friends or family? Then the "Ludotrail: play your way through Burgdorf" is a great option for you.

Events

Experience tradition and community at the Solätte in Burgdorf, step into past eras at the Medieval market, and explore the diversity of markets as well as the dark literary depths at the Burgdorf Crime Days.

Solätte

Tradition and community

The Solätte in Burgdorf is one of the most attended annual events in the city, celebrated traditionally on the last Monday of June. Originally designed as a school and children's festival, the Solätte has evolved into a widespread public celebration over time. The event uniquely blends historical traditions with contemporary flair, offering visitors a diverse mix of local customs, entertainment, and community spirit. The Solätte is inseparably linked to flowers, and there is an opportunity to participate in a flower arranging course. Basic techniques are taught to create wreaths, bouquets, baskets, small hats, and flower arches easily.

Further Information about the Solätte

Medieval market

Journey back to the Middle Ages

The Medieval market transports you to a bygone era filled with fascinating craftsmanship, traditional music, and an authentic atmosphere. This annual event showcases a diverse range of medieval goods, artisan crafts, and culinary delights. With jugglers, knight tournaments, and merchants dressed in historical attire, the market provides an immersive spectacle for the whole family. Special activities for the youngest visitors often include face painting, knight or princess workshops.

Further information about the Medieval market

Markets

Weekly, nightly, festive

Burgdorf entices with a variety of markets showcasing different facets of local life and culture. The weekly market offers fresh products directly from producers, while the night market bathes the city in a special light, providing unique nighttime shopping experiences. During the Advent season, Burgdorf transforms into a festive wonderland with a charming Christmas market enchanting visitors with craftsmanship, culinary delights, and a Christmas atmosphere. Immerse yourself in the diversity of markets in Burgdorf and experience the city in all its rich nuances.

Further information about the markets in Burgdorf

Burgdorf Crime Days

Experience crime novels up close

During the Burgdorf Crime Days, you can immerse yourself in a wide range of crime literary events. This includes readings by renowned crime authors presenting their works and providing insights into the backgrounds of their gripping stories. Interactive crime walks through the picturesque streets of the city offer a unique opportunity to delve into the plot and become part of the story yourself. Let yourself be transported into the dark depths of literature by the Burgdorf Crime Days and enjoy a captivating program for all fans of the crime genre.

Further information about the Burgdorf Crime Days

Activities

Emmental Cheese Route

From milk production to cheese export - the Emmental cheese bike route offers visitors a comprehensive exploration of cheese production. This unique route leads, on app-supported paths (available for iPhone and Android), to 21 interesting stops on the topic of the world-famous Emmental cheese. The Emmental cheese route begins and ends in Burgdorf. With the e-bike, you can effortlessly cover the approximately 35 kilometres of the small loop (1-day tour) or the 78 kilometres of the large loop (2-day tour).

E-Trottiplausch

Experience an entertaining E-Trottiplausch (e-scooter tour) in Burgdorf! Enjoy a relaxed tour on electric scooters and explore the picturesque surroundings of Burgdorf in a whole new way. Let yourself be inspired by the lightness and fun of the e-scooters as you discover the sights and charming atmosphere of the city. Whether alone, with friends or family - the E-Trottiplausch promises an unforgettable experience for everyone who appreciates adventure and fun.

Urban Golf

Urban Golf is a variation of the game of golf that uses improvised golf courses in urban environments. These places can consist of streets, pavements, parks and other urban elements. Up to 50 people can play golf with the soft golf ball. The 9-hole course of the Urban Golf Course is designed to offer an interesting city tour from the station district to the Schützenmatte and the old town of Burgdorf. Enjoy the beautiful ambience of Burgdorf while you play from one golf hole to the next.

How to get there

Travel comfortably by train to Burgdorf.

No reviews 0 of 5 stars

Rate
Additional ratings

Standort

Tickets & timetable
Ähnliche Angebote
Knowledge & culture
Kreuz am Wegrand
Lötschental - Experience culture and tradition
explore
Knowledge & culture
Ausserberg
Schnitzeljagd Finding-Daniel
Entdecken
Knowledge & culture
Frühling in Boltigen
Obersimmental House Trail
Discover
Hiking & nature
Themenweg Friedrich Dürrenmatt © ST Lorenz Richard
Themenweg Friedrich Dürrenmatt
Erleben
Angebote in der Nähe
Knowledge & culture
Schloss Burgdorf
Burgdorf Castle
Discover
Family
Spiel dich durch Burgdorf- Spiel und Spass für die ganze Familie
Ludo Trail: Play your way around Burgdorf
Experience
Bikes & e-bikes
Mit dem ETrotti die idyllische Natur des Emmental geniessen.
Emmentaler E-Trottiplausch der Extraklasse
Erleben
Bikes & e-bikes
Herzroute E-Bike Shop
Heart Route e-bike shop
Benefit
Newsletter
Download PDF
0 of 0 Media files

Culture & connaissance

Berthoud: l'alliance de la tradition et de la modernité

Découvrez le charme particulier de Berthoud

Berthoud, charmante ville au cœur de la Suisse, vous invite à une visite riche en découvertes, qui vous séduira par son mélange unique de tradition et de modernité. Plongez dans l'histoire, découvrez des paysages pittoresques et le caractère unique de cette ville enchanteresse.

Voyagez confortablement en train jusqu'à Berthoud. La vieille ville est à environ 10 minutes à pied de la gare.

Attractions populaires

De multiples découvertes vous attendent à Berthoud. Que diriez-vous d'une séance de shopping décontractée dans la pittoresque ville haute, suivie d'un déjeuner tout en haut du château de Berthoud ? Les amateurs d'art et de culture y trouveront également leur compte, avec le musée du château de Berthoud, le musée Franz Gertsch et l'impressionnant ancien abattoir de Bernhard Luginbühl - de véritables trésors pour tous ceux qui s'intéressent à l'art et à la culture.

Vieille ville de Berthoud

La vieille ville de Berthoud se caractérise par des ruelles étroites, des bâtiments médiévaux et des rues pavées qui vous entraînent dans ses traditions et son histoire. Les maisons à colombages bien conservées et les bâtiments historiques confèrent à la vieille ville un charme incomparable et invitent à une promenade à travers les siècles. On y trouve également de nombreux cafés, restaurants, boutiques et magasins d'artisanat qui invitent à la détente et à la découverte. Outre le château de Berthoud, l'église de la ville, de style gothique tardif, mérite absolument une visite.

Visites guidées de la ville de Berthoud

Découvrez la belle ville des Zähringen de différentes manières toutes aussi intéressantes les unes que les autres: culinaire, effrayante et angoissante, classique ou criminelle. Redécouvrez la ville de Berthoud et apprenez des choses passionnantes et curieuses sur la vie d'hier et d'aujourd'hui. Pendant la visite, aidez le détective chargé de l'enquête à résoudre une affaire criminelle ou suivez les traces des magasins traditionnels de Berthoud et découvrez comment se déroulait le shopping il y a 100 ans en dégustant des spécialités locales.

Plus d'informations sur les visites guidées de Berthoud

Château de Berthoud

Le château de Berthoud n'est pas seulement un joyau historique, c'est aussi un but d'excursion apprécié par tous ceux qui souhaitent découvrir l'histoire et la culture de la région. L'architecture du château de Berthoud, typique d'un château fort médiéval, est bien conservée. Le château comprend plusieurs bâtiments dont l'imposant donjon qui servait autrefois de tour de guet, ainsi que le palais et la cour. Depuis les terrasses panoramiques du château, les visiteurs ont une vue impressionnante sur la ville de Berthoud et ses environs pittoresques. Construit sur une colline surplombant la vieille ville de Berthoud, le château dégage une atmosphère particulière.

Il accueille également diverses manifestations culturelles, dont des concerts, des représentations théâtrales, des expositions et des fêtes historiques. Grâce à ces manifestations, le château est un lieu de rencontre animé pour les habitants et les visiteurs.

Vous trouverez de plus amples informations ici.

Musée Franz Gertsch

Le musée est consacré à l'artiste suisse Franz Gertsch, connu pour ses impressionnants tableaux hyperréalistes et ses gravures sur bois. Ses œuvres se distinguent par une incroyable précision des détails et une remarquable habileté technique. Franz Gertsch utilise principalement la technique de la gravure sur bois pour créer des portraits, des paysages et des scènes quotidiennes qui ont un rendu très proche de la photographie. Outre l'exposition permanente d'œuvres de Franz Gertsch, le musée présente régulièrement des expositions temporaires d'artistes contemporains issus de différents domaines des arts visuels. Cela permet d'élargir constamment l'offre du musée et de proposer sans cesse aux visiteurs de nouvelles visions passionnantes du monde de l'art. Le musée dispose en outre d'un café où les visiteurs peuvent faire une pause et se restaurer, ainsi que d'une boutique où ils peuvent acheter des livres d'art, des reproductions et des souvenirs.

Maladrerie

La maladrerie de Berthoud a été construite à la fin du Moyen Âge et servait à isoler et à soigner les personnes atteintes de la lèpre. Cette construction s'inscrivait dans le cadre des efforts visant à endiguer la propagation de la maladie et à soutenir les personnes touchées. Il s'agit d'un exemple impressionnant d'architecture historique qui illustre la construction et la conception des siècles passés. Elle a été conçue afin d'isoler les personnes malades de la population et d'éviter une éventuelle contagion. Au fil du temps, la maladrerie a perdu sa fonction initiale et abrite aujourd'hui les archives municipales de Berthoud. Le bâtiment est également utilisé pour des événements culturels, des expositions et des projets artistiques.

Église réformée de Berthoud

L'église réformée de Berthoud est un bâtiment historique à l'architecture impressionnante. Son histoire remonte à la fin du 15e siècle, c'est un exemple de construction gothique tardive. Le clocher de l'église est particulièrement remarquable et emblématique de la ville. L'église est connue pour son carillon que l'on peut entendre régulièrement et qui ajoute un charme particulier à l'atmosphère de la ville. À l'intérieur, l'église abrite d'impressionnants vitraux représentant des récits bibliques et des motifs religieux. En plus des messes, l'église réformée est également utilisée pour des manifestations culturelles telles que des concerts et des expositions. Elle est généralement ouverte au public et les visiteurs peuvent admirer son architecture impressionnante et ses œuvres d'art religieuses.

Ancien abattoir Bernhard Luginbühl

L'«Alte Schlachthaus» est un bâtiment marquant de Berthoud qui servait autrefois d'abattoir. Bernhard Luginbühl a reconnu le potentiel artistique de ce bâtiment abandonné et l'a transformé en une installation artistique unique. Le bâtiment lui-même est devenu une partie de son art, et il a créé des installations impressionnantes qui abordent des thèmes comme la vie, la mort et le caractère éphémère de l'existence. Les œuvres sont connues pour leur présence monumentale et expressive. Ses sculptures sont souvent composées de matériaux lourds comme le fer et l'acier et impressionnent par leur rayonnement puissant.

Ancien abattoir Bernhard Luginbühl

Bon plan BLS

Vous souhaitez découvrir la ville de Berthoud de manière ludique avec vos amis ou votre famille? Dans ce cas, le «Ludotrail: Amuse-toi dans tout Berthoud», est l'offre qu'il vous faut.

Manifestations

Vivez la tradition et la communauté lors de la Solennité de Berthoud, plongez dans les époques passées au Marché médiéval et explorez la diversité des marchés ainsi que les sombres abîmes de la littérature lors des Journées du crime de Berthoud.

Solätte (Solennité)

Tradition et communauté

La Solätte à Berthoud est l'un des événements annuels les plus fréquentés de la ville, célébré traditionnellement le dernier lundi de juin. Initialement conçue comme une fête scolaire et pour les enfants, la Solätte s'est transformée au fil du temps en une fête populaire étendue. L'événement marie de manière unique les traditions historiques avec une touche contemporaine, offrant aux visiteurs un mélange diversifié de coutumes locales, de divertissement et d'esprit communautaire. La Solätte est indissociablement liée aux fleurs, et il est possible de participer à un cours d'arrangement floral. Des techniques de base sont enseignées pour créer facilement des couronnes, des bouquets, des paniers, des petits chapeaux et des arches florales.

Pour plus d'informations sur la Solennité

Marché médiéval

Voyage dans le Moyen Âge

Le Marché médiéval vous transporte dans une époque révolue remplie d'un artisanat fascinant, de musique traditionnelle et d'une atmosphère authentique. Cet événement annuel présente une gamme diversifiée de produits médiévaux, d'artisanat et de délices culinaires. Avec des jongleurs, des tournois de chevaliers et des marchands habillés en costumes historiques, le marché offre un spectacle immersif pour toute la famille. Des activités spéciales pour les plus jeunes visiteurs incluent souvent la peinture sur visage, des ateliers de chevalier ou de princesse.

Plus d'informations sur le Marché médiéval

Marchés

Hebdomadaires, nocturnes, festifs

Berthoud séduit par une variété de marchés mettant en valeur différentes facettes de la vie et de la culture locales. Le marché hebdomadaire propose des produits frais directement des producteurs, tandis que le marché nocturne baigne la ville dans une lumière particulière, offrant des expériences de shopping nocturnes uniques. Pendant la période de l'Avent, Berthoud se transforme en un pays des merveilles festif avec un charmant marché de Noël enchantant les visiteurs avec de l'artisanat, des délices culinaires et une atmosphère de Noël. Plongez dans la diversité des marchés à Berthoud et découvrez la ville dans toutes ses riches nuances.

Plus d'informations sur les marchés à Berthoud

Journées du crime de Berthoud

Vivez le roman policier de près

Pendant les Journées du crime de Berthoud, plongez-vous dans une large gamme d'événements littéraires consacrés au crime. Cela comprend des lectures d'auteurs de romans policiers renommés présentant leurs œuvres et fournissant des perspectives sur les coulisses de leurs histoires captivantes. Des promenades interactives à travers les rues pittoresques de la ville offrent une opportunité unique pour s'immerger dans l'intrigue et devenir vous-même partie de l'histoire. Laissez-vous transporter dans les profondeurs sombres de la littérature par les Journées du crime de Berthoud et profitez d'un programme captivant pour tous les fans du genre policier.

Plus d'informations sur les Journées du crime de Berthoud

Activités

Route du fromage de l'Emmental

De la production du lait à l'exportation du fromage, la route du fromage de l'Emmental à VTT offre aux visiteurs une découverte complète de la fabrication du fromage. Cet itinéraire unique en son genre mène à 21 stations intéressantes sur le thème de l'emmental, fromage mondialement connu, en suivant des chemins au moyen d'une application (disponible pour iPhone et Android). La route du fromage de l'Emmental commence et se termine à Berthoud. Le vélo électrique permet de parcourir sans effort les quelque 35 kilomètres du petit circuit (circuit d'une journée) ou les 78 kilomètres du grand circuit (circuit de deux jours).

Balade en trottinette électronique

Vivez une expérience divertissante en vous baladant à trottinette électrique à Berthoud! Profitez d'une excursion ludique en trottinette électrique et découvrez les environs pittoresques de Berthoud d'une toute nouvelle manière. Laissez-vous séduire par la légèreté et le plaisir de conduire des trottinettes électriques tout en découvrant les sites touristiques et l'atmosphère charmante de la ville. Seul, avec des amis ou en famille, la trottinette électrique promet une expérience inoubliable à tous ceux qui apprécient l'aventure et le plaisir.

Golf urbain

Le golf urbain est une variante du golf qui utilise des terrains de golf improvisés dans des environnements urbains. Ces terrains peuvent être constitués de rues, de trottoirs, de parcs et d'autres éléments urbains. Jusqu'à 50 personnes peuvent jouer au golf avec la balle de golf souple. Le parcours de 9 trous du golf urbain a été conçu de manière à offrir une visite de la ville intéressante, en allant du quartier de la gare à la vieille ville de Berthoud en passant par la «Schützenmatte». Profitez de la belle ambiance de Berthoud pendant que vous suivez le parcours d'un trou de golf à l'autre.

Restauration

Vous trouverez ici quelques idées pour de délicieux repas ou des boissons rafraîchissantes:

Comment s'y rendre

Voyagez confortablement en train jusqu'à Berthoud.

Aucun commentaire 0 sur 5 étoiles

Évaluer
D'autres évaluation

Standort

Billets & horaire
Ähnliche Angebote
Culture & connaissance
Das Regionalmuseum Chüechlihus von Aussen
Musée régional à Langnau i. E.
Visiter
Culture & connaissance
Solothurn Herbst
Solothurn Altstadtführung
Entdecken
Culture & connaissance
Aussteigen-Spiez-Kirche
Découvrir Spiez
Entdecken
Culture & connaissance
Les vitrines sphériques reposent sur des piliers ou sont suspendues au plafond. À l'intérieur se trouvent diverses montres d'importance mondiale, véritables trésors et chefs-d'œuvre de l'industrie horlogère.
Visite de la ville de La Chaux-de-Fonds
découvrir
Angebote in der Nähe
Culture & connaissance
Schloss Burgdorf
Château de Berthoud
Decouvrir
Famille
Spiel dich durch Burgdorf- Spiel und Spass für die ganze Familie
Ludotrail – Amuse-toi dans tout Berthoud
Vivre
Vélos & vélos électriques
Mit dem ETrotti die idyllische Natur des Emmental geniessen.
Balade exceptionnelle en trottinette électrique dans l’Emmental – excursions en train
découvrir
Vélos & vélos électriques
Herzroute E-Bike Shop
E-bike shop de la Route du Coeur
Profiter
Newsletter
PDF herunterladen
0 de 0 Fichiers de médias