Profile

BLS connects

BLS enables you to travel by train, bus and boat. We also transport you in the comfort of your own car through the Lötschberg and Simplon tunnels. BLS connects people, regions and places. And if you want to transport freight – we can do that too. Our broad transport offering – trains, buses, boats, Car Transport service and freight transport – makes BLS one of Switzerland’s biggest transport companies.

Rail

The business area of passenger mobility is centred around our railway network. We operate trains on the Bern and Central Switzerland S-Bahn networks – from Bern to Payerne or from Lucerne to Langenthal. Our speedier InterRegio and RegioExpress lines go from Bern to Biel, La Chaux-de-Fonds and Domodossola, for example. This results in a route network spanning 660 kilometres, transporting more than 180,000 passengers daily. Our 140 passenger trains require 670 train drivers – our biggest group of employees. We currently operate four workshops, at which we maintain and clean the trains – in Spiez, Oberburg, Givisiez and Bönigen. Every train visits a workshop once a week, so that our passengers can always travel reliably and in comfort.

0 of 0 Media files

    Bus

    In Emmental and Oberaargau, BLS operates a bus network spanning more than 200 kilometres and 18 routes from its two regional centres in Burgdorf and Langnau. Most of our approximately 10,000 daily bus passengers are commuters. The bus operations are overseen by Busland Ltd and its 130 employees – the company has been a subsidiary of BLS since its foundation in 2006. Our head office is in Burgdorf, with other depots located in Langnau in Emmental, in Sumiswald and Huttwil. With the Ilfis Garage in Langnau, we also provide a service centre for commercial vehicles. 

     

    0 of 0 Media files

      Boat

      Since 1913, BLS has also offered navigation services. On Lake Thun and Lake Brienz in the Bernese Oberland, we operate hourly scheduled cruises from spring to autumn. During the winter season, we operate individual cruises on Lake Thun, such as the popular winter steamboat excursion on the paddle steamer Blümlisalp. Every year, we welcome around 1 million boat passengers and are therefore one of the biggest tourism operators in the Bernese Oberland. We not only operate our scheduled cruises but also organise special culinary cruises, such as our Fondue Chinoise Cruise and our Lake Thun Brunch Cruise. You can also hire our boats – for a truly special business event or private occasion. 

      0 of 0 Media files

        Car Transport service

        BLS is the largest Car Transport service provider in Switzerland. BLS already began attaching open freight wagons to passenger trains in 1926 and using these to transport cars from Kandersteg to Brig and Domodossola. Since 1960, we have been operating the Car Transport service through the Lötschberg Tunnel between Kandersteg and Goppenstein using purpose-built trains. Since 2017, we have also been in charge of the Car Transport service through the Simplon Tunnel between Brig and Iselle. On the weekends from Easter through to the autumn holidays, motorists can put up their feet along the entire route from the Bernese Oberland through to Northern Italy – on our direct car train from Kandersteg to Iselle.

        0 of 0 Media files

          Freight transport

          Every year, BLS operates around 24,000 freight trains throughout Europe. The business area of freight operations is managed by the subsidiary company BLS Cargo Ltd, founded in 2001. Since 2019, the BLS Cargo family has included the Belgian freight operator Crossrail. We provide freight transport services by rail on the central north-south axis corridor from the North Sea to the Mediterranean. Within Switzerland, we provide domestic, import and export transport services. From Belgium onwards, we operate on additional routes. 

          0 of 0 Media files

            Infrastructure

            In the business area of Infrastructure, BLS is responsible for a rail network spanning 420 kilometres. We build train stations, lay tracks and refurbish tunnels and bridges from Interlaken to Marin-Epagnier by Lake Neuchâtel and Zollbrück in Emmental. The centrepiece of our infrastructure is the Lötschberg axis. This includes the over-100-year-old mountain line from Frutigen to Brig, which is famous among railway enthusiasts the world over, as well as the 34.6-kilometre-long Lötschberg Base Tunnel, which was opened in 2007 as one of the world’s most modern railway tunnels. Together with the Gotthard Base Tunnel, it forms the core of our New Rail Link through the Alps (NRLA) and plays a key role in the transport of freight between Rotterdam and Genoa.

            Route network Network Map

            0 of 0 Media files

              Network Condition Report

              Every year, BLS publishes a detailed report on the condition of its network for the Federal Office of Transport. The report evaluates the condition of all facilities in our infrastructure – for example tracks, bridges, tunnels and stations. The Network Condition Report helps illustrate the impact that investments have on the development of the network.

              0 of 0 Media files

                Property

                Most points and signals are now remote-controlled rather than operated locally. This is why BLS owns several properties at its railway stations that are no longer required for operating the railway. Often centrally located, we want to develop new uses for these properties in the Property business area, which is why we founded the subsidiary company BLS Immobilien AG in 2017. We are considering the following train stations, for example: Burgdorf Steinhof, Burgdorf Suttergut, Bern Europaplatz, Bümpliz Nord, Liebefeld and Spiez. Here we will be creating new residential and commercial properties with good public-transport connections over the next 10 to 15 years.
                0 of 0 Media files
                  0 of 0 Media files
                    Who we are
                    Figures
                    More
                    Who we are
                    Strategy

                    In order to remain successful, BLS wants to change and, to this end, developed a new corporate strategy in 2018.

                    More
                    Who we are
                    Organisation
                    More
                    Geschichte
                    Einfahrt ins Nordportal des Lötschbergtunnels bei Kandersteg
                    Die Geschichte der BLS AG
                    More
                    Newsletter

Portrait

BLS réunit

Avec nous, vous voyagez en train, en bus et en bateau. Nous vous transportons également en tout confort dans votre propre voiture à travers les tunnels du Lötschberg et du Simplon. BLS réunit les personnes, les régions et les localités. Et si vous souhaitez transporter des marchandises, nous nous en chargeons aussi. Avec son offre étendue de services de transport par train, bus, bateau, transport autos et trafic de marchandises, BLS est l’une des plus grandes entreprises de transport de Suisse.

Train

Le train est au cœur du domaine d’activité Mobilité des voyageurs. Nous exploitons les trains des S-Bahn Bern et Zentralschweiz, par exemple de Berne à Payerne ou de Lucerne à Langenthal. Nos lignes plus rapides de l’InterRegio et du RegioExpress relient Berne à Bienne, La Chaux-de-Fonds ou Domodossola par exemple. Au total, ce sont 660 kilomètres de réseau, sur lesquels voyagent chaque jour plus de 180’000 voyageurs. Pour conduire nos 140 trains de voyageurs, nous avons besoin de 670 mécaniciennes et mécaniciens de locomotives: c’est le corps de métier le plus représenté chez nous. Aujourd’hui, nous exploitons quatre ateliers dans lesquels nous entretenons et nettoyons nos trains: à Spiez, Oberburg, Givisiez et Bönigen. Chaque train s’arrête une fois par semaine à l’atelier pour garantir à tout moment le transport sûr et fiable de nos voyageurs.
0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

    Bus

    Dans l’Emmental et en Haute-Argovie, aux alentours des deux centres régionaux de Berthoud et de Langnau, BLS dessert un réseau de plus de 200 kilomètres, constitués de 18 lignes de bus. La plupart des quelque 10’000 passagères et passagers qui empruntent nos bus chaque jour sont des pendulaires. Filiale de BLS depuis sa création en 2006, la société Busland AG, forte de 130 collaborateurs et collaboratrices, assure l’exploitation des bus. Notre siège principal se trouve à Berthoud (BE) et d’autres dépôts à Langnau im Emmental, Sumiswald et Huttwil. Avec le garage Ilfis à Langnau, nous proposons également un centre de maintenance pour les véhicules utilitaires.

    0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

      Navigation

      Depuis 1913, BLS est également une compagnie de navigation. Dans l’Oberland bernois, du printemps à l’automne, nous proposons des bateaux en service régulier sur les lacs de Thoune et de Brienz. Pendant l’hiver, quelques bateaux naviguent également sur le lac de Thoune, comme le bateau à aubes «Blümlisalp» avec sa célèbre excursion à travers les brumes hivernales. Chaque année, nous accueillons près d’un million de passagers à bord de nos bateaux, ce qui fait de nous l’un des plus grands prestataires touristiques de l’Oberland bernois. Outre les bateaux de ligne, nous organisons également des croisières gastronomiques telles que la croisière Fondue chinoise ou le brunch du lac de Thoune. De plus, il est possible de louer nos bateaux pour un événement professionnel ou privé qui sorte de l’ordinaire.

      0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

        Transport autos

        BLS est le premier prestataire de transport autos de Suisse. En 1926 déjà, nous attelions des wagons de marchandises ouverts aux trains de voyageurs et y transportions des voitures de Kandersteg à Brigue et Domodossola. Depuis 1960, nous exploitons le transport autos dans le tunnel du Lötschberg entre Kandersteg et Goppenstein à l’aide de trains de chargement spéciaux. De plus, depuis 2017, nous gérons le transport autos à travers le tunnel du Simplon entre Brigue et Iselle. Du week-end de Pâques aux vacances d’automne, les automobilistes peuvent lever le pied tout au long de la ligne, depuis l’Oberland bernois jusqu’au nord de l’Italie, grâce à notre train navette-autos direct entre Kandersteg et Iselle.

        0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

          Traffic marchandises

          Quelque 24’000 trains de marchandises circulent chaque année dans toute l’Europe pour BLS. Le domaine d’activité du trafic des marchandises est assuré par la filiale BLS Cargo SA, créée en 2001. Depuis 2019, l’entreprise belge de transport de marchandises Crossrail a rejoint la famille BLS Cargo SA. En tant que prestataire de transport ferroviaire, nous assurons le transport par le rail sur l’axe nord-sud entre la mer du Nord et la mer Méditerranée. En Suisse, nous intervenons sur le segment du trafic intérieur, de l’import et de l’export. Depuis la Belgique, nous desservons d’autres tronçons.

          0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

            Infrastructure

            Dans le domaine d’activité de l’infrastructure, BLS prend en charge un réseau ferroviaire de 420 kilomètres de long. D’Interlaken à Marin-Épagnier sur le lac de Neuchâtel et Zollbrück dans l’Emmental, nous construisons des gares, posons des voies ferrées ou rénovons tunnels et ponts. L’axe du Lötschberg est le cœur de notre infrastructure. En font partie, d’une part, la ligne de montagne qui relie Frutigen à Brigue depuis plus d’un siècle et qui est connue des amateurs de chemins de fer à travers le monde, et d’autre part, le tunnel de base du Lötschberg d’une longueur de 34,6 kilomètres, inauguré en 2007 comme l’un des tunnels ferroviaires les plus modernes du monde. Avec le tunnel de base du Saint-Gothard, il constitue la pièce maîtresse des nouvelles lignes ferroviaires à travers les Alpes (NLFA) et joue un rôle essentiel dans le trafic de marchandises entre Rotterdam et Gênes. 

            Réseau Carte du réseau

            0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

              Rapport sur l’état du réseau

              Une fois par an, BLS rédige un rapport détaillé sur l’état de son réseau à l’attention de l’Office fédéral des transports. Elle y évalue la consolidation de toutes les installations de notre infrastructure, comme par exemple les voies ferrées, les ponts, les tunnels ou les gares. Ce rapport sur l’état du réseau permet d’établir des liens importants entre le développement du réseau et les moyens mis en œuvre.

              0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

                Biens immobiliers

                Aujourd’hui, les signaux et les aiguilles ne sont plus guère manœuvrés sur place mais commandés à distance. C’est pourquoi BLS détient dans ses gares de nom- breux terrains qui ont perdu leur utilité pour l’exploitation ferroviaire. Nous voulons utiliser ces terrains, bénéficiant souvent d’un emplacement central, à de nouvelles fins, dans le domaine d’activité de l’immobilier. Pour ce faire, nous avons fondé la filiale BLS Immobiliers SA en 2017. Nous entrevoyons par exemple les gares suivantes: Burgdorf Steinhof, Burgdorf Suttergut, Bern Europaplatz, Bümpliz Nord, Liebefeld et Spiez. Dans les 10 à 15 années à venir, nous y créerons de nouvelles zones résidentielles et commerciales bien desservies par les transports publics. 

                0 de 0 Fichiers de médias
                  0 de 0 Fichiers de médias
                    Qui nous sommes
                    Chiffres
                    Plus
                    Qui nous sommes
                    Stratégie

                    BLS tient à évoluer pour rester performante et a mis au point une nouvelle stratégie d’entreprise à cet effet en 2018.

                    Plus
                    Qui nous sommes
                    Organisation
                    Plus
                    Geschichte
                    Einfahrt ins Nordportal des Lötschbergtunnels bei Kandersteg
                    Die Geschichte der BLS AG
                    Plus
                    Newsletter