Hiking & nature

Walks in the Niederhorn area

Across lush mountain meadows, through romantic moorland and sparse fir forests – hiking on the Niederhorn is full of unique natural experiences.

Alternatively, you can explore on foot using the more than 120 km of hiking and Alpine trails. You can therefore wander over meadows and through forests while breathing in the mountain air and enjoying the views over Lake Thun and peaks that are topped with snow all year round. Nature fans will be in their element thanks to the high moorland of national significance, the Karst limestone areas, and the protected flora, including crocuses, Alpine roses and edelweiss. The area is home to a rich array of wildlife and encounters with ibexes, marmots or golden eagles are not uncommon.

The Niederhorn is very easy to reach by public transport. Travel in comfort by train, bus or boat to Beatenbucht and onwards with the funicular and group gondola up to the summit.

Hiking routes

Pack your rucksack and lace up your hiking boots

On the Niederhorn, 120 km of marked and well-maintained hiking trails await you, with something for every level and preference. Would you like to venture on a high-altitude hike with a great view, climb to the summit from the valley or take a leisurely stroll with the kids? Pack provisions and enjoy the numerous idyllic picnic and barbecue spots along the trails. And stay alert, because you might spot curious marmots, shy deer or stately ibexes.

Niederhorn–Beatenberg, 2 hrs

A hiking experience for young and old

The hike from the Niederhorn to Beatenberg is a classic. The first stretch runs above the tree line and offers a magnificent view of Lake Thun. Before the Flösch alpine pasture becomes visible, a path branches off eastwards in the direction of Häliloch-Oberburgfeld. Anyone who is interested in high moors should take a detour here to Flöschseeli, five minutes away, which lies in the middle of the high moor. Numerous picnic areas and fire pits are at your disposal and, if you are lucky, you will encounter eagles, chamois or deer.

Hiking route Niederhorn–Flösch–Vorsass–Bodenalp–Riedboden–Beatenberg Station
Distance 5.3 km
Hiking time 2 h
Height difference 840 m
Level of difficulty medium 

Niederhorn–Habkern, 3 hrs 45 min

The most beautiful hiking trail in Switzerland

The hiking route from the Niederhorn to the Gemmenalphorn was awarded the gold medal for the most beautiful hiking trail in Switzerland. The first part of the hike runs above the tree line and offers a breathtaking view of Lake Thun and the mountain massif of the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau. Up to the small Hohseil-Seeli lake, the path is nicely flat and even just the walk up to here and back is an experience.

Then follows the ascent to the Burgfeldstand, the highest point of the hike. Here eagles or bearded vultures circle, and further along the route to the Gemmenalphorn you cross the territory of ibexes and ptarmigans. On the Gemmenalphorn, enjoy the unobstructed view of the Sieben Hengste, the Hohgant and the entire Seefeld area. The path then leads steeply downhill to Seefeld Oberberg, passing the karst area. Those who want to can make a short detour here and hike eastwards along the alpine huts to the limestone pavements (about 15 minutes each way). Via the alpine pastures of Schwendli and Chromatte, the path leads into the dense forest and on to the first hamlets of Habkern. In the mountain village you can have a snack and take the post bus to Interlaken.

Hiking route Niederhorn–Burgfeldstand–Gemmenalphorn–Habkern
Distance 10.7 km
Duration of the hike 3 h 45 min
Difference in altitude 1200 m
Level of difficulty  medium

Niederhorn–Waldegg, 3 hrs

Over hill and dale with alpine views

The first section of the hike runs above the tree line and offers a breathtaking view of Lake Thun and the mountain massif of the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau. The path is flat until you reach the little Hohseil-Seeli lake, where you’ll often find mountain newts that you can observe easily.

Far away, you can see the alpine huts on the Oberburgfeld. From July to August there are occasional simple catering facilities there and you can watch the alpine dairyman making cheese. The route continues on towards Gemmenalp Oberberg, where there is also an alpine hut, and with a bit of luck, you’ll be able to watch the marmots playing on the ground in front of it. Now the path runs across alpine pastures down towards Waldegg. From the Chüematte the path leads through denser forest to Hohwald, where you again have a clear view of the Alps. The last stretch leads to the Waldegg district, where there are restaurants, hotels and the post bus back to the valley station of the Niederhornbahn or directly to Interlaken.

Hiking route Niederhorn–Oberburgfeld–Oberberg–Waldegg
Distance 8.6 km
Duration of the hike 3 h
Difference in altitude 880 m
Level of difficulty medium 

Niederhorn–Haberelegi–Beatenberg, 2 hrs

In the shade of the trees, on the soft forest floor

This hiking trail leads quite steeply downhill and runs mostly through the forest. If you take a rest on a wooden bench in the upper section and unpack your backpack, you will probably find yourself surrounded by mountain gods, who will even steal your picnic from your hands. If you are lucky, you will see an eagle or a bearded vulture exploring from the air or encounter chamois, foxes or even deer.

Hiking route Niederhorn–Haberelegi–Beatenberg Station
Distance 4.2 km
Hiking time 2 h
Height difference 830 m
Level of difficulty medium

Niederhorn ridge trail, 30–40 min

Marvel and learn

Go on a “ridge walk” and enjoy the breathtaking panorama, the tingling in your legs when you look over the steep rock faces down into the Justistal valley, and the fantastic view of the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau in the distance. Here, thrills, a panorama and untouched nature combine to create an incomparable experience. Information boards along the ridge trail provide a wealth of information about the mountain and alpine world as well as flora and fauna.

Route circular trail along the Niederhorngrat
Distance ca. 600 meters
Hiking time 30–40 minutes
Level of difficulty easy to walk, partially asphalted and accessible with a stroller
Highlight spectacular rock bridge
Special 9 creative info points about flora & fauna
viewing platforms with benches and panorama boards

BLS suggestion

Those who like to travel a little more quickly can grab a rented scooter at the middle station and experience the magnificent nature along both routes with the wind in their hair. For children, alpine orienteering is a great alternative to hiking and unique in Switzerland.

Availability Today (Monday) open

The Niederhornbahn services run every day from 20 April to 10 November 2024.

From 11 November to 1 December 2024 every Friday, Saturday and Sunday

Rates

Walker’s ticket Beatenbucht–Niederhorn / Vorsass–Beatenbucht

  • CHF 53.00 Adults
  • CHF 26.50 With Half-Fare travelcard
  • CHF 19.50 GA
  • CHF 26.50 Children aged 6 to 15.99

Walker’s ticket Beatenberg–Niederhorn / Vorsass–Beatenberg

  • CHF 39.00 Adults
  • CHF 19.50 With Half-Fare travelcard/GA
  • CHF 19.50 Children aged 6 to 15.99

 

With the walker’s ticket, you can ride 3 sections and walk 1 section.

Children: You pay only for the first child (up to 16 years) in the family, each additional child rides free. This offer also applies to scooter rental.

Dogs travel free of charge on the funicular and cable car and must be kept on a lead.

Prices in CHF incl. VAT / Prices and products subject to alteration.

Food & Drink

Berghaus Niederhorn

Why not finish your excursion to the Niederhorn with a visit to the Berghaus restaurant? The Berghaus also offers accommodation in small but perfectly formed rooms with a unique panorama over the Bernese Alps.

Vorsass Mountain Restaurant

Take time for a breather. Enjoy traditional and down-to-earth dishes on the sun terrace or in the cosy dining room.

Picnic

There are numerous beautiful places along the hiking trails for a good picnic. Several fire pits are also available for barbecuing. If you wish, you can hire a fondue backpack and enjoy a delicious fondue in the middle of the magnificent mountain landscape (by prior arrangement).

How to get there

Travel comfortably by train to Thun or Interlaken West. Then take the STI bus (from Thun) or the PostBus (from Interlaken) to "Beatenbucht" or "Beatenberg Station". Or by boat from Interlaken West, Thun or another landing stage across Lake Thun to "Beatenbucht". The funicular and group orbital railroad will then take you up to the Niederhorn.

No reviews 0 of 5 stars

Rate
Additional ratings

Location

Tickets & timetable
Similar offers
Special offers
Kambly Karte Entdeckerpfad
Trubschachen Discovery Trail
Discover
Hiking & nature
Wanderung Lderenalp
Via Alpine Panorama Trail to Lüderenalp
Tickets & Timetable
Hiking & nature
Destination Gstaad Wandern Familie
Gstaad walking paradise
Discover
Hiking & nature
Twannbachschlucht Wanderer
Twannbach Gorge
Erleben
Offers nearby
Food & drink
Sonnenuntergang auf dem Niederhorn
Culinary delights on the Niederhorn
Experience
Hiking & nature
Wildtierbeobachtung, Steinbock
Wildlife observation
Experience
Leisure activities
Vater und Sohn beim Trotti-Biken am Niederhorn
Scooter biking on the Niederhorn
Experience
Special offers
St Beatus Hoehlen Hauptbild
Discover the St. Beatus Caves
Visit
Newsletter
Download PDF
0 of 0 Media files

Nature et randonnée

Randonnées dans la région du Niederhorn

Prairies verdoyantes, marais romantiques et forêts de sapins clairsemées - une randonnée sur le Niederhorn est une expérience incroyable au plus près de la nature.

Vous pouvez cheminer sur plus de 120 km de chemins de randonnée et de montagne, traverser prairies et forêts en toute tranquillité, respirer le bon air de la montagne et contempler le lac de Thoune et les sommets parés de neige éternelle. Les amoureux de la nature seront émerveillés par les hauts marais d’importance nationale, les paysages karstiques et la flore locale à protéger, à l’exemple des crocus, des roses des Alpes et des edelweiss. Une faune riche y a également élu domicile, et il n’est pas rare de croiser bouquetins, marmottes et aigles royaux.

Le Niederhorn est très facilement accessible en transports publics. Voyagez simplement en train, en bus ou en bateau jusqu’à Beatenbucht, puis montez jusqu’au sommet avec le funiculaire et la télécabine pulsée à cabines groupées.

Itinéraires de randonnée

Préparez votre sac à dos et enfilez vos chaussures de randonnée.

Le Niederhorn vous réserve 120 km de sentiers de randonnée bien entretenus et balisés, pour chaque niveau et tous les goûts. Vous voulez partir en randonnée panoramique en haute montagne, grimper de la vallée au sommet ou vous promener tranquillement avec les enfants? Alors prenez quelques provisions et profitez des nombreux espaces de barbecue et de pique-nique idylliques qui longent les sentiers de randonnée. Et gardez toujours l’œil bien ouvert: peut-être découvrirez-vous des marmottes curieuses, des chevreuils timides ou des bouquetins majestueux.

Niederhorn–Beatenberg, 2 heures

Une randonnée pour les petits et les grands

La randonnée du Niederhorn à Beatenberg est un grand classique. La première partie vous amène au-dessus de la forêt et vous offre une vue grandiose sur le lac de Thoune. Avant d’apercevoir l’alpage de Flösch, vous bifurquez dans un chemin vers l’Est en direction d’Häliloch-Oberburgfeld. Pour les randonneurs intéressés par les hauts-marais, un détour de 5 minutes leur permettra d’atteindre le petit lac de Flösch, situé en plein cœur des tourbières. De nombreux barbecues et aires de pique-nique sont mis à votre disposition et avec un peu de chance, vous croiserez des aigles, des chamois ou des chevreuils.

Itinéraire Niederhorn–Flösch–Vorsass–Bodenalp–Riedboden–Beatenberg Station
Distance 5.3 km
Temps de marche 2 heures
Différence d'altitude 840 m
Degré de difficulté  moyen

Niederhorn–Habkern, 3 heures et 45 minutes

Le plus beau sentier de randonnée de Suisse

Le sentier du Niederhorn au Gemmenalphorn a reçu la médaille d’or du plus beau sentier de randonnée de Suisse. La première partie de la randonnée vous mène au-dessus des forêts et vous offre un panorama à couper le souffle sur le lac de Thoune et le massif de l’Eiger, du Mönch et de la Jungfrau. Jusqu’au petit lac Hohseil-Seeli, le sentier est bien plat et une simple promenade aller-retour jusque-là vaut le détour.

Vient ensuite l’ascension du Burgfeldstand, le point culminant de la randonnée. Vous y verrez des aigles et gypaètes tournoyer dans le ciel et sur le sentier jusqu’au Gemmenalphorn, vous passerez par le territoire des bouquetins et des lagopèdes. Sur le Gemmenalphorn, profitez du magnifique panorama sur le Sieben Hengste, le Hohgant et tout le Seefeld. Ensuite, descendez le sentier en pente raide jusqu’au plateau Seefeld Oberberg, en passant devant la zone karstique. Si vous le souhaitez, vous pouvez faire un petit détour vers l’Est jusqu’aux lapiés, en longeant les chalets d’alpage (environ 15 minutes par trajet). Après les alpages de Schwendli et Chromatte, le sentier vous entraîne au cœur de l’épaisse forêt jusqu’aux premiers hameaux de Habkern. Dans ce village de montagne, vous pourrez vous restaurer et prendre le car postal jusqu’à Interlaken.

Itinéraire Niederhorn–Burgfeldstand–Gemmenalphorn–Habkern
Distance 10.7 km
Temps de marche 3 heures 45 minutes
Différence d'altitude 1200 m
Degré de difficulté moyen

Niederhorn–Waldegg, 3 heures

Chemin caillouteux et sinueux avec panorama alpin

La première partie de la randonnée vous mène au-dessus des forêts et vous offre un panorama à couper le souffle sur le lac de Thoune et le massif de l’Eiger, du Mönch et de la Jungfrau. Jusqu’au petit lac Hohseil-Seeli, le chemin est plat. Vous y croiserez souvent des tritons alpestres, qui sont faciles à observer.

Au loin, vous apercevrez les chalets d’alpage sur l’Oberburgfeld. De juillet à août, ceux-ci proposent quelques offres de restauration simples et vous pouvez assister à la fabrication de fromage par l’armailli. Ensuite, le sentier part en direction du Gemmenalp Oberberg, où vous trouverez également un chalet d’alpage. Avec un peu de chance, vous pourrez voir des marmottes jouer devant. Puis descendez par les pâturages jusqu’à Waldegg. Du Chüematte, le sentier vous entraîne au cœur de la forêt jusqu’à Hohwald, d’où vous retrouvez une vue dégagée sur les alpes. La dernière partie vous conduit jusqu’à la localité de Waldegg, où vous trouverez des restaurants, des hôtels et le car postal qui vous ramènera vers la station de vallée de la Niederhornbahn, ou directement à Interlaken.

Itinéraire Niederhorn–Oberburgfeld–Oberberg–Waldegg
Distance 8.6 km
Temps de marche 3 heures
Différence d'altitude 880 m
Degré de difficulté  moyen

Niederhorn–Haberelegi–Beatenberg, 2 heures

À l’ombre des arbres, sur le sol épais de la forêt

Ce sentier de randonnée, en majeure partie dans la forêt, descend en pente assez raide. Si vous prenez le temps de vous asseoir en haut sur un banc en bois pour déballer votre sac à dos, vous attirerez sûrement les reines des montagnes, qui tenteront de vous voler votre pique-nique. Avec de la chance, vous apercevrez un aigle ou un gypaète barbu en vol de reconnaissance ou croiserez des chamois, des renards, voire même des chevreuils.

Itinéraire Niederhorn–Haberelegi–Beatenberg Station
Distance 4.2 km
Temps de marche 2 heures
Différence d'altitude 830 m
Degré de difficulté  moyen

Sentier du Gratweg, sur le Niederhorn, 30–40 minutes

S’émerveiller et apprendre

Partez pour une «randonnée de crête»: panorama à couper le souffle, sensations incroyables dans les jambes en jetant un œil sur la vallée de Justis au-dessus des falaises abruptes et fabuleux point de vue sur le massif de l’Eiger, du Mönch et de la Jungfrau. Cette expérience inoubliable allie sensations, nature préservée et panoramas. Les panneaux d’information le long du sentier de crête vous livrent de nombreux renseignements sur les montagnes et les Alpes, mais aussi sur la flore et la faune.

Itinéraire
circuit le long du Niederhorngrat
Distance environ 600 mètres
Temps de marche 30–40 minutes
Degré de difficulté
facile à parcourir, en partie asphalté et accessible en poussette
Highlight pont rocheux spectaculaire
Spécial
9 points d'information créatifs sur la faune et la flore
plateformes d'observation avec bancs et panneaux panoramiques

Bon plan BLS

Si vous aimez la vitesse, louez un trotti-bike à la station intermédiaire et partez à la découverte des magnifiques paysages naturels qui entourent les deux pistes, en savourant le bruit du vent dans les oreilles. Pour les enfants, la course d’orientation alpine constitue une super alternative à la randonnée et est unique en Suisse.

Accessibilité Disponible le 20.04.2024

Les remontées mécaniques du Niederhorn circulent du 20 avril au 10 novembre 2024.

De 11 novembre à 1 décembre 2024 chaque vendredi, samedi et dimanche

Prix

Billet de randonnée Beatenbucht–Niederhorn / Vorsass–Beatenbucht

  • CHF 53.00 Adultes
  • CHF 26.50 Avec le demi-tarif
  • CHF 19.50 AG
  • CHF 26.50 Enfants de 6 à 15.99 ans

Billet de randonnée Beatenberg–Niederhorn / Vorsass–Beatenberg

  • CHF 39.00 Adultes
  • CHF 19.50 Avec le demi-tarif/AG
  • CHF 19.50 Enfants de 6 à 15.99 ans

 

Le billet de randonnée vous permet de circuler sur trois sections et de randonner sur une section.

Enfants: vous payez uniquement pour le premier enfant (de moins de 16 ans) de la famille; les autres enfants voyagent gratuitement. Cette offre s’applique aussi à la location de trotti-bikes.

Les chiens voyagent gratuitement dans le funiculaire et la télécabine pulsée à cabines groupées et doivent être tenus en laisse.

Prix en CHF, TVA incluse / sous réserve de modifications des prix et des produits.

Restauration

Auberge de montagne du Niederhorn

Terminez votre excursion au Niederhorn avec un repas à l’auberge de montagne. L’auberge de montagne propose également de petites chambres confortables avec vue imprenable sur les Alpes bernoises.

Bärgrestaurant Vorsass

Prenez le temps de souffler. Savourez des plats traditionnels du terroir sur la terrasse ensoleillée ou dans l’agréable salle à l’intérieur de l’auberge.

Pique-nique

Le long des sentiers de randonnée, beaucoup de beaux endroits se prêtent à un pique-nique généreux. Quelques barbecues sont également à disposition. Ceux qui le souhaitent peuvent louer un sac à dos à fondue et déguster une délicieuse fondue au milieu d'un magnifique paysage de montagne (sur réservation).

Comment s'y rendre

Voyagez confortablement en train jusqu'à Thoune ou Interlaken Ouest. Ensuite, prenez le bus STI (depuis Thoune) ou le car postal (depuis Interlaken) jusqu'à la «Beatenbucht» ou la «Beatenberg Station». Ou par bateau depuis Interlaken West, Thoune ou un autre débarcadère, en traversant le lac de Thoune jusqu'au «Beatenbucht». Le funiculaire et le train orbital collectif vous emmènent ensuite jusqu'au Niederhorn.

Aucun commentaire 0 sur 5 étoiles

Évaluer
D'autres évaluation

Situation

Billets & horaire
Offres similaires
Nature et randonnée
Twannbachschlucht Wanderer
Gorges de Douanne
Decouvrir
Nature et randonnée
Domodossola - Monte Calvario - Pilgerweg
Sacro Monte Calvario à Domodossola
découvrir
Nature et randonnée
Marbachegg: atemberaubende Aussichten auf die herrliche Bergwelt und Ausgangspunkt für gemütliche aber auch spektakuläre Wanderungen.
Marbachegg
Vivre
Culture & connaissance
Kulturweg Ausserberg-Raron
Sentier culturel Ausserberg–Rarogne
Découvrir
Offres à proximité
Divertissement
Vater und Sohn beim Trotti-Biken am Niederhorn
Trotti-bike au Niederhorn
Vivre
Gastronomie
Sonnenuntergang auf dem Niederhorn
Gastronomie au Niederhorn
Vivre
Offres spéciales
St Beatus Hoehlen Hauptbild
Découvrir les grottes de Saint-Béat
Visitez
Nature et randonnée
Hängebrücke Sigriswil am Thunersee
Circuit de randonnée panoramique, lac de Thoune
Découvrir
Newsletter
PDF herunterladen
0 de 0 Fichiers de médias