Hiking & nature

Hiking in Piedmont

Located in the north-west of Italy, Piedmont is surrounded on three sides by the Alps. The name means "at the foot of the mountain". So it's no wonder that there are some wonderful hiking trails in this area.

If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and experience the beauty of nature in its purest form, then you've come to the right place. No matter which of the hikes you choose, the mountain landscape and charming villages will delight you.

Nature lovers and hiking enthusiasts can travel quickly and comfortably on the BLS RegioExpress service Bern–Spiez–Kandersteg–Brig–Domodossola to this region, which is also famous for its exquisite cuisine and excellent wines.

Valle Cairasca – from Varzo to San Domenico

A panoramic hike through alpine landscapes and fairytale forests

This beautiful hike through the Cairasca Valley leads across low mountain pastures and Alpine meadows from Varzo to San Domenico. The trail, which was included in the "Alps without borders" map series, also connects Veglia, Devero and Formazza with Airolo in the canton of Ticino (CH).

The route begins in the historic centre of Varzo. Take the lovely mule track, which follows the true left bank of the stream that criss-crosses Varzo to reach the hamlet of Colla. From here, you continue towards the castle and then follow the path upwards to Coggia and Alpe Nava. From here, you should follow the signs for the “Sentiero Naturalistico” (nature trail), which passes through a long series of Varzo’s Alpine meadows until it reaches first the Bosco delle Fate (Fairytale Forest) and then San Domenico.

Key data

Hiking route Varzo–Colla–Coggia–Alpe Nava–Plé –Loi–Torba–Fernone–Bosco delle Fate–San Domenico
Distance 9.5 km
Elevation difference Ascent: 912 m / Descent: 68 m
Duration 3 hours 45 minutes
Level of difficulty medium
Availability The hiking trail is accessible all year round

Archaeological Museum of Varzo

Visit the Archaeological Museum in Varzo before the hike. It offers a small, multimedia exhibition about the early history of the valleys, in particular about the Mesolithic hunters who came to the Veglia valley 8,000 years ago.

How to get there

The BLS RegioExpress service Bern–Spiez–Kandersteg–Brig–Domodossola takes you directly from Bern to Varzo. Your hike through the Valle Cairasca to San Domenico, paese starts there. The return journey is by bus to Varzo and then by train back to your starting point.

Recommended timetable

Arrival

Berne from 07.39
Varzo to 09.41

Return journey


* San Domenico, paese Mon-Fri from 17.30
* Varzo to 17.50
Varzo from  18.08
Brig to 18.33
Brig from 18.48
Berne to 19.54

* On-call bus: Prontobus must be booked the day before by calling +39 339 4045429. Timetable valid until 9 June 2024.

Valle Vigezzo – Known as the Valley of the Painters

Discover art from the past on the "Circuito dei Santi" in the form of richly decorated façades, chapels and places of worship.

From Domodossola, take the Centovalli railway to the historic Vigezzo Valley, which has been a great inspiration to many artists of the past thanks to its beauty. Quite a few of these artists left their mark decorating the facades of homes and churches with ornate murals that are still preserved today, which is why the valley is also often known as the “Valley of the Painters”. Follow in the footsteps of the great painters and artists of the 17th century. The hiking trail shows the artistic and historical wealth of that time and takes you to the valley's large churches and small oratories, where both Vigezzo artists and important foreign artists worked.

The "Circuito dei Santi" is an extensive network of hiking trails that stretches across the entire valley and connects the sacred monuments. Information boards can be found at the religious buildings along the entire route. There you will receive information on religion, art and history in the Vigezzo Valley. Particularly worthwhile is a visit to the main town of Santa Maria Maggiore and the connecting trail through pine forests to Druogno. 

The "Circuito dei Santi" runs along three different routes. The western trail leads from Santa Maria Maggiore to Druogno. This hiking route takes approx. 1 hour and 15 minutes. From Druogno, the Centovalli railway takes you back to Domodossola.

The hiking trail is accessible all year round.

The sights of Santa Maria Maggiore

Large Market

A large market is held every Monday in Santa Maria Maggiore. It is about a 10-minute walk from Santa Maria Maggiore railway station.

Chimney Sweep Museum

Established in 1983, the museum tells of the customs and traditional occupations of the Vigezzo Valley.

House of Perfume

This small but fine mountain museum aims to recount the little-known origins of the famous Eau de Cologne.

Praudina Adventure Park

This rope park in the pine forest near Santa Maria Maggiore offers fun for all the family.

How to get there

Travel in comfort with the BLS RegioExpress service to Domodossola. Start with a trip on the Vigezzina-Centovalli railway from Domodossola to Santa Maria Maggiore. From there, set off on the footpath through the lush pine forest as far as Druogno. From Druogno, the circular route loops back to Domodossola.

Via della Fede: Varzo–Trasquera

Via della Fede (Path of Faith): Varzo–Trasquera

The route initially follows small village streets within Varzo before taking the Veia di Brocc, a beautiful cobbled mule track that leads from Ponte Boldrini via Bertonio to Trasquera church. Because of the many chapels along the way, this route was once known as a path for meditation. Until 1961, when the navigable road was constructed, this was the main way of accessing Trasquera.

From the square by Varzo Railway Station, take the street leading to the right. Cross the old trunk road and continue straight ahead towards the centre of Varzo along Viale Castelli as far as the beautiful parish church of San Giorgio and the medieval tower.
In front of the tourist office, recross the stream and ascend Via Zanalda to the pretty oratory of San Rocco in the Alneda district. Continue on a level gradient along the main road (Via Alneda) between fine stone houses until you cross the main road leading to San Domenico.

On the left-hand side, there is a beautiful building with a tower. This is the base for the administrative authority responsible for the protected areas of the Ossola region. Here, you can ask for information about the Veglia Devero Park and visit the recently built “Archeomuseo” multimedia archaeology museum. Follow the level Via Galtarossa for its full length to reach Bertonio, where you will find the former Simplon trunk road at the Antica Osteria. Remaining on the pavement for a short time, follow the main road to the Ponte Boldrini Bridge, which crosses the Cairasca Valley.

The (signposted) mule track begins immediately after the bridge on the right-hand side. This mule track, Vèia d’Brocc, was the principal means of reaching Trasquera before the road was built in 1961. You continue ascending for some time via a number of sharp bends between beech and chestnut trees, using the resting places of the Cappella del Pianzolo and the Cappella del Sasso along the route.

In this way, you tackle the 500-metre ascent that brings you to the Trasquera parish church, dedicated to Saint Gervasio and Saint Protasio and situated in an evocative location on a cliff with views over the valley floor. Continue on the main road (Via Alpi Lepontine) to the centre of the village.

Key data

Hiking route Varzo Railway Station–Via Galtarossa–Fontana district–Bertonio district–Ponte Boldrini–Trasquera church–Trasquera village square
Elevation difference
546 m uphill, 10 m downhill
Distance 5,7 km
Duration 2 hours 10 minutes
Level of difficulty
medium difficulty
Availability The hiking trail is accessible all year round

How to get there

The trail is accessed with a return rail ticket to Iselle di Trasquera.

"Giro di Agro" circular trail

A very panoramic circular route that follows the line of the ridge separating the Divedro Valley from the Cairasca Valley.

From the town hall square, follow the signs to Agro Fuori and you will soon arrive at a well-marked crossroads. This leads you into the lovely Fraccia pine forest, where there is a fine farm building. At the signposted junction (path F38), take the side track towards Agro. This soon becomes a narrow path that begins to re-ascend the steep forested slope. The significant difference in height is tackled with the aid of hefty steps carved into the rock and sections equipped with safety barriers.

After this steep part of the walk, you reach the plateau on which the huts of the Alpe Agro Fuori are located, offering a sweeping view over the triptych of the Simplon mountains. First, the route continues further along the slope before descending towards the Alpe Agro Dentro (path F40). The Alpine meadow marks the start of a steep and quite challenging descent, which finishes on the Trasquera - Bugliaga road near the Ponte del Diavolo (Devil’s Bridge), constructed in 1880. The bridge is approximately 100 metres high with a 33.3-metre span.

Key data

Hiking route  Trasquera–La Sotta–Agro Fuori–Agro Dentro–Schiaffo– Trasquera
Distance 8,4 km
Elevation difference 700 m
Duration 3 hours 40 minutes
Lefel of difficulty Route of medium difficulty, in places very steep
Paths F38 + F40 + F40 + F00 
Availability The hiking trail is accessible all year round

How to get there

The trail is accessed with a return rail ticket to Iselle di Trasquera.

Domodossola–Preglia winter hike

Historical winter hike in northern Italy

The route from Domodossola to Preglia passes numerous historical locations, such as the Tower of Ardignaga, and heads through the typical northern Italian villages of Caddo, Monte, Canei and Bosco. Between the wooded and open areas, the view widens to encompass the plain of Domodossola, right across to the snowy peaks in the background. In winter especially, when the trees are bare, this hike across the sunny, terraced landscape is extremely rewarding and so characteristically Italian. 

Part of one of the roads that historically connected central Europe with the Po Valley, the Via Francisca Ossolana, passes close to Domodossola. This first part, from Domodossola to Crevoladossola, does not follow the actual road, but passes instead through ancient settlements. The route initially encounters the sunny, scenically located villages of Crevola di Bosco, Canei and Monte. It then heads downhill, past the Tower of Ardignaga, to Mocogna, where it crosses the Bogna stream before the old dams come into view.

The trail to Caddo in Ardignaga is clearly sign-posted, and from there the trail begins to climb, with high stone walls marking the path. After crossing an area of woodland, where small cultivated fields supported by terraces are still well preserved, you are greeted by a beautiful panoramic view of the plain, from which the medieval Tower of Ardignaga rises. This is one of the most beautiful and majestic signal towers that are scattered across the Ossola region, whose existence is documented as far back as the 17th century.

Key data

 Hiking route Domodossola–Mocogna–Preglia
 Distance 7.27 km
 Elevation difference 575 m
 Duration 2 hours 30 minutes
 Level of difficulty T2
 Viewpoints Ardignaga Turm, Canei
 Availability The trail is available all year round, but is particularly recommended in the winter months (from November to March) as the entire trail is very exposed to the sun.

BLS suggestion

At the market in Domodossola, a culinary paradise, every Saturday you can discover fresh local ingredients and enjoy the flavours of the region. Just a stone’s-throw away, the Casa dei Ravioli invites you to experience the art of traditionally prepared, hand-made ravioli. And if you would like to experience the best of the Italian aperitif culture, the Piazza Mercato offers you the opportunity to enjoy refreshing drinks and delicious snacks in a relaxed atmosphere.

How to get there

With the RegioExpress Bern–Spiez–Kandersteg–Brig–Domodossola you travel comfortably from Bern direct to Domodossola. From there, it’s just a 20-minute walk to the starting point.

The Uriezzo Gorges

Incredible – the power of water when it is allowed to flood, bubble and gurgle for thousands of years

The Uriezzo gorges are located in the heart of the Valle Antigorio and tell the story of thousands of years of erosion by ancient glaciers.

During the last ice age around 12,000 years ago, the flowing waters eroded the rock here and left behind ludicrous formations: Glacial potholes, cauldrons, mills, grooves and niches. Some places are only a few metres wide, others up to 30 metres deep – a visit to the Uriezzo gorges is like a journey to the centre of the earth.

There are three gorges that have dried out and can therefore be walked through completely. The south gorge is the most spectacular. It is approx. 200 metres long and up to 30 metres deep.

The hiking trail is well developed and signposted. The differences in height can be overcome easily using iron steps. The rocky ground is covered in a layer of dried mud and can be muddy and slippery in wet weather. A complex ecosystem awaits you, characterised by high humidity, minimal light, and smooth, polished walls. Plants thrive here that are rarely found anywhere else. Mosses and ferns in particular have adapted perfectly to the difficult conditions.

Key data

Starting point Baceno  
Distance 6.5 km
Elevation difference 200 m
Duration 2 hours
Level of difficulty easy
Availability accessible from March to November

How to get here

The journey is uncomplicated and easy to reach with the RegioExpress service Bern–Spiez–Kandersteg–Brig–Domodossola via the Lötschberg mountain railway directly to Domodossola and then by bus to Baceno. Walk to the church of San Gaudenzio (historical national monument) and follow the signs to "orridi".

No reviews 0 of 5 stars

Rate
Additional ratings

Location

Tickets & timetable
Similar offers
Family
Wasserspielplatz Wasserlauf
“Gwunderwasser” water playground in the Diemigtal
Discover
Knowledge & culture
Kirche Erlenbach im Sommer
Simmental House Trail
Experience
Knowledge & culture
Frühling in Boltigen
Obersimmental House Trail
Discover
Knowledge & culture
Kreuz am Wegrand
Lötschental - Experience culture and tradition
explore
Offers nearby
Hiking & nature
Wanderung Via Stockalper unterwegs
ViaStockalper Val Divedro hike
Entdecken
Trade fairs & festivals
Ein junges Paar verhandelt mit dem Verkäufer über den Preis der Antipasti.
Market in Domodossola
Visit
Hiking & nature
Domodossola - Monte Calvario - Pilgerweg
Sacro Monte Calvario in Domodossola
Discover
Railway adventures
Intragna Centovalli Alessio Pizzi
Discover the Centovalli and Valle Vigezzo by train
Discover
Newsletter
Download PDF
0 of 0 Media files

Nature et randonnée

Randonnée dans le Piémont

Situé au nord-ouest de l’Italie, le Piémont est entouré sur trois côtés par les Alpes – comme son nom l’évoque. Il n’est donc pas étonnant que la région soit propice à des randonnées magnifiques.

Si vous souhaitez vous déconnecter de l’agitation du quotidien et découvrir une nature d’une rare beauté, vous êtes au bon endroit! Quelle que soit le parcours que vous choisirez, le paysage montagneux et les charmants villages vous séduiront également.

Les amoureux de la nature et de la marche peuvent rejoindre rapidement et confortablement cette région – d’ailleurs célèbre pour sa cuisine raffinée et ses excellents vins – grâce au Regioexpress BLS Bern–Spiez–Kandersteg–Brig–Domodossola.

Valle Cairasca – de Varzo à San Domenico

Une randonnée panoramique à travers des paysages alpins et des forêts de contes de fées

Cette belle randonnée dans la vallée de Cairasca traverse des pâturages de moyenne montagne et des alpages de Varzo à San Domenico. Le sentier, qui a été intégré dans la cartographie «Alpes sans frontières», relie en outre Veglia, Devero et Formazza à Airolo dans le canton du Tessin (CH).

L’itinéraire démarre dans le centre historique de Varzo, en Italie. Prenez le joli sentier muletier qui remonte le ruisseau de gauche, traverse Varzo et arrive à la bourgade de Colla. De là, dirigez-vous vers le château, puis montez vers Coggia et l’Alpe Nava. Suivez alors le panneau indicateur «Sentiero Naturalistico» (sentier nature), qui vous fait traverser toute une série d’alpages avant d’atteindre le Bosco delle Fate (la forêt des contes de fées), puis San Domenico.

Données clés

Itinéraire de randonnée Varzo–Colla–Coggia–Alpe Nava–Plé –Loi–Torba–Fernone–Bosco delle Fate–San Domenico
Distance 9.5 km
Dénivelé Montée : 912 m / Descente : 68 m
Temps de randonnée 3 heures 45 minutes
Niveau de difficulté moyen
Disponibilité Le sentier de randonnée est praticable toute l’année 

Musée archéologique de Varzo

Avant de démarrer la randonnée, visitez le musée archéologique de Varzo, qui propose une petite exposition multimédia sur l’histoire ancienne des vallées, notamment sur les chasseurs du mésolithique arrivés dans le vallon de Veglia il y a 8’000 ans.

Comment s'y rendre

Le BLS RegioExpress Bern–Spiez–Kandersteg–Brig–Domodossola vous emmène directement de Berne à Varzo. Là commence votre randonnée à travers le Valle Cairasca jusqu’à San Domenico, paese. Le retour s’effectue en bus jusqu’à Varzo, puis en train jusqu’à votre lieu de départ.

Horaires recommandés

Arrivée

Berne à partir de 07.39
Varzo à 09.41

Retour


* San Domenico, paese lun-ven à partir de 17.30
* Varzo à 17.50
Varzo à partir de   18.08
Brig à 18.33
Brigue à partir de 18.48
Berne à 19.54

* Bus à la demande: Le Prontobus doit être commandé la veille en appelant le +39 339 4045429. Horaires valables jusqu’au 9.06.2024.

Valle Vigezzo – «la vallée des peintres»

Découvrez l’art du passé sur le «Circuito dei Santi», sous forme de façades richement décorées, de chapelles et de lieux de culte.

En venant de Domodossola, le train des Centovalli vous permet de rejoindre la vallée de Vigezzo, chargée d’histoire et dont la majesté a été une grande source d’inspiration pour de nombreux artistes. Nombre d’eux y ont laissé leur empreinte, ornant les façades des maisons et des églises de riches fresques qui ont résisté à l’épreuve du temps. C’est pourquoi ce lieu est également surnommé «la vallée des peintres». Promenez-vous sur les traces des grands peintres et artistes du 17e siècle. Le sentier montre la richesse artistique et historique de cette époque et vous emmène à la découverte des grandes églises et des petits oratoires de la vallée, où ont travaillé aussi bien des artistes de Vigezzo que des maîtres étrangers.

Le «Circuito dei Santi» est un vaste réseau de sentiers de randonnée qui s’étend sur toute la vallée et relie les monuments sacrés. Tout au long du parcours, près des édifices religieux, des panneaux vous informent sur la religion, l’art et l’histoire de la vallée de Vigezzo. Il est vivement recommandé de visiter Santa Maria Maggiore, localité principale, puis de randonner à travers les pinèdes pour rejoindre Druogno.

Le «Circuito dei Santi» suit trois parcours différents. La randonnée ouest relie Santa Maria Maggiore à Druogno et dure environ 75 minutes. À partir de Druogno, le train des Centovalli vous ramène à Domodossola.

Le sentier de randonnée est praticable toute l’année.

Attractions à Santa Maria Maggiore

Grand marché

Tous les lundis, un grand marché se tient à Santa Maria Maggiore, à environ 10 minutes à pied de la gare.

Musée du ramoneur

Le musée, créé en 1983, raconte les coutumes et les métiers traditionnels de la vallée de Vigezzo.

Parfumerie

Petit mais raffiné, ce musée de montagne tient à rappeler les origines méconnues de la célèbre eau de Cologne.

Praudina Adventure Park

Ce parc d’aventure situé dans la forêt de pins jouxtant Santa Maria Maggiore ravira petits et grands.

Comment s'y rendre

Voyagez confortablement avec le BLS RegioExpress jusqu’à Domodossola. Au départ de Domodossola, la ligne de chemin de fer Vigezzina/Centovalli vous amène à Santa Maria Maggiore. Là, s’ouvre le sentier pédestre qui mène à Druogno à travers une paisible pinède. De Druogno, le circuit fait une boucle et revient à Domodossola.

Via della Fede – de Varzo à Trasquera

Via della fede, la route de la foi de Varzo à Trasquera

L’itinéraire suit d’abord de petites rues de village à Varzo puis emprunte le superbe chemin muletier pavé Veia di Brocc, qui mène du pont Boldrini à l’église de Trasquera en passant par Bertonio. Les nombreuses chapelles qui jalonnent ce chemin lui ont autrefois valu le surnom de «sentier de la méditation». Jusqu’en 1961, année de construction d’une route praticable, il constituait la principale liaison avec Trasquera.

Depuis la place de la gare de Varzo, prendre la rue qui bifurque à droite. Traversez l’ancienne route nationale et continuez tout droit en direction du centre, en suivant la rue Viale Castelli jusqu’à la magnifique église paroissiale de San Giorgio et la tour médiévale.
Traversez de nouveau le ruisseau devant l’office de tourisme, puis empruntez la rue Via Zanalda qui monte jusqu’au bel Oratoire de San Rocco, à Fraz. Alneda. La rue principale sans dénivelé (Via Alneda) vous conduit entre de très belles maisons en pierre, jusqu’à traverser la route menant à San Domenico.

À gauche, vous pouvez voir un beau bâtiment doté d’une tour: c’est le siège de l’autorité administrative de la zone protégée d’Ossola. Vous pouvez y obtenir des informations sur le parc Veglia Devero et visiter le musée archéologique multimédia qui a ouvert récemment ses portes. En suivant la Via Galtarossa, une rue également plate, vous arriverez dans la localité de Bertonio, où se trouve l’ancienne route nationale du Simplon, au pied du restaurant Antica Osteria. Après un court tronçon sur le trottoir, suivez la route principale jusqu’à Ponte Boldrini, qui traverse T. Cairasca.

Le chemin muletier (balisé) commence immédiatement au sortir du pont, sur la droite. Ce chemin, la Vèia d’Brocc, permettait autrefois d’atteindre Trasquera, avant la construction de la route en 1961. Commence alors une longue ascension sur ce chemin sinueux, entre hêtres et châtaigniers, jusqu’à la petite place tranquille des chapelles Cappella del Pianzolo et Cappella del Sasso, où vous pourrez reprendre votre souffle.

Vous venez de venir à bout de 500 mètres de dénivelé en parvenant à l’église paroissiale de la Trasquera dédiée aux Saints Gervasio et Protasio. Gracieusement posée sur un rocher, celle-ci domine le fond de la vallée. Continuez sur la route principale Via Alpi Lepontine jusqu’au centre du village.

Données clés

Itinéraire de randonnée Gare de Varzo–Via Galtarossa–Localité de Fontana–Localité de Bertonio–Pont Boldrini–Église de Trasquera–Place du village de Trasquera
Dénivelé
546 m en montée, 10 m en descente
Distance
5,7 km
Temps de randonnée
2 heures 10 minutes
Niveau de difficulté
moyennement difficile
Disponibilité Le sentier de randonnée est praticable toute l’année 

Comment s'y rendre

Prenez le train pour faire le trajet aller-retour à Iselle di Trasquera.

Circuit «Giro di Agro»

Un circuit des plus panoramiques le long de la ligne de crête séparant le val Divedro de la vallée de Cairasca.

Depuis la place de l’hôtel de ville, suivez les panneaux indiquant Agro Fuori. Rapidement, vous arrivez à un croisement bien balisé vous menant à la belle pinède de Fraccia, où se trouve une magnifique ferme. Une fois à ce croisement (chemin F38), faites le crochet en direction d’Agro. Le chemin se transforme en un sentier étroit et remonte peu à peu la côte boisée escarpée. De hautes marches creusées à même la roche et des tronçons sécurisés par des barrières permettent de venir à bout de la forte dénivellation.

Une fois ce tronçon escarpé franchi, vous atteignez le plateau, où se trouvent les cabanes de l’Alpe Agro Fuori, avec vue sur le trio du Simplon. Continuez ensuite sur le flanc de la montagne, avant de redescendre vers l’Alpe Agro Dentro (chemin F40). La descente de l’alpage est raide et assez exigeante. Elle débouche sur la route Trasquera - Bugliaga, près du Pont du Diable construit en 1880: d’une hauteur de quelque 100 mètres, il est doté d’une arche de 33,30 mètres de large. 

Données clés

Itinéraire de randonnée Trasquera–La Sotta–Agro Fuori–Agro Dentro–Schiaffo– Trasquera
Distance 8,4 km
Dénivelé 700 m
Temps de randonnée 3 heures 40 minutes
Niveau de difficulté moyen, itinéraire parfois trés escarpé
Chemins F38 + F40 + F40 + F00 
Disponibilité Le sentier de randonnée est praticable toute l’année

Comment s'y rendre

Prenez le train pour faire le trajet aller-retour à Iselle di Trasquera.

Randonnée hivernale Domodossola–Preglia

Randonnée historique dans le nord de l’Italie

Le chemin de Domodossola à Preglia  passe par de nombreux lieux historiques, tels que la tour Tour d’Ardignaga, et traverse des bourgades typiques du nord de l’Italie: Caddo, Monte, Canei et Bosco. Entre forêts et prairies, la vue s’ouvre sur la plaine de Domodossola jusqu’aux sommets enneigés en arrière-plan. Cette randonnée baignée de soleil à l’«Italianità» est extrêmement agréable en hiver, lorsque les arbres sont dénudés.

Près de Domodossola passait la Via Francisca Ossolana, l’une des routes qui reliaient l’Europe centrale à la vallée du Pô. Cette première partie, de Domodossola à Crevoladossola, ne suit pas le tracé original, mais traverse des bourgades anciennes, telles que Crevola di Bosco, Canei et Monte, ensoleillées et pittoresques. Au niveau de la tour d’Ardignaga, le sentier redescend vers Mocogna, où, après avoir traversé le ruisseau Bogna, vous pouvez admirer d’anciens barrages.

Un balisage clair mène à Caddo in Ardignaga, où commence la montée qui longe de hauts murs de pierre jalonnant le chemin. Après avoir traversé un bois où les terrasses qui soutenaient les lopins agricoles sont encore bien visibles, le panorama s’élargit et offre une vue splendide sur la plaine, où se dresse la tour médiévale d’Ardignaga, l’une des plus majestueuses tours de signalisation disséminées dans la région d’Ossola, et dont l’existence est avérée dès le 17e siècle.

Données clés

Sentier Domodossola–Mocogna–Preglia
Distance 7.27 km
Dénivelé 575 m
Temps de randonnée 2 heures 30 minutes
Niveau de difficulté T2
Points de vue Ardignaga Turm, Canei
Disponibilité Le sentier est accessible toute l’année, mais il est particulièrement recommandé pendant les mois d’hiver (de novembre à mars) car il est fortement exposé au soleil.

Bon plan BLS

Chaque samedi au marché de Domodossola, petit paradis culinaire, vous découvrirez des ingrédients frais et des saveurs du cru. Toute proche, la Casa dei Ravioli vous invite à découvrir l’art des raviolis artisanaux traditionnels. Et si vous souhaitez déguster un célèbre apéritif à l’italienne, Piazza Mercato vous propose des boissons rafraîchissantes et de délicieuses collations dans une atmosphère détendue.

Comment s'y rendre

Avec le RegioExpress Bern–Spiez–Kandersteg–Brig–Domodossola, vous voyagez confortablement de Berne direct  à Domodossola. Environ 20 minutes de marche vous ramèneront à votre point de départ.

Les gorges d’Uriezzo

Incroyable – la force de l’eau qui a coulé, bouillonné et gargouillé pendant des milliers d’années

Au cœur de la vallée Antigorio, les gorges de l’Uriezzo racontent l’érosion millénaire des anciens glaciers.

Ici, lors de la dernière période glaciaire il y a environ 12’000 ans, les rivières ont érodé la roche en s’écoulant, laissant derrière elles des formations extraordinaires: marmites glaciaires, marmites, moulins, rainures et niches. Certains endroits ne mesurent que quelques mètres de large, d’autres jusqu’à 30 mètres de profondeur – parcourir les gorges de l’Uriezzo ressemble à un voyage au centre de la Terre.

Trois des gorges sont asséchées et peuvent donc être parcourues entièrement. La gorge du sud est la plus spectaculaire, avec ses quelque 200 mètres de long et 30 mètres de profondeur.

Le sentier de randonnée est bien aménagé et balisé; les dénivelés sont facilement franchissables grâce à des escaliers métalliques. Le sol rocheux est recouvert d’une couche de boue séchée et peut être boueux et glissant par temps humide. Un écosystème complexe vous attend, caractérisé par un taux d’humidité élevé, peu de lumière, des parois lisses et polies. Ici poussent des plantes que l’on ne trouve plus guère ailleurs; les mousses et les fougères, en particulier, se sont parfaitement adaptées à ces conditions difficiles.

Données clés

Point de départ Baceno  
Distance 6.5 km
Dénivelé 200 m
Temps de randonnée 2 heures
Niveau de difficulté facile
Disponibilité accessible de mars à novembre 

Comment s'y rendre

Le voyage est facile et commode avec le RegioExpress Bern–Spiez–Kandersteg–Brig–Domodossola via la ligne de montagne du Lötschberg, directement jusqu’à Domodossola et ensuite en bus jusqu’à Baceno. Marchez jusqu’à l’église San Gaudenzio (monument national historique) et suivez les panneaux indicateurs en direction des «orridi».

Aucun commentaire 0 sur 5 étoiles

Évaluer
D'autres évaluation

Situation

Billets & horaire
Offres similaires
Culture & connaissance
Mit dem Handy auf Schnitzeljagd zur Stadtnatur Solothurn
Soleure: Un jeu de piste à travers la nature urbaine
Découvrir
Culture & connaissance
Ausserberg
Jeu de piste Finding-Daniel
Entdecken
Nature et randonnée
Die über 1000 Jahre alte Wahlfahrtskirche Würzbrunnen im Morgengrauen.
Sur le chemin de pèlerinage de Würzbrunnen
Découvrir
Nature et randonnée
Themenweg Friedrich Dürrenmatt © ST Lorenz Richard
Sentier thématique Friedrich Dürrenmatt
Erleben
Offres à proximité
Nature et randonnée
Wanderung Via Stockalper unterwegs
Randonnée ViaStockalper Val Divedro
Entdecken
Salons & fêtes populaires
Ein junges Paar verhandelt mit dem Verkäufer über den Preis der Antipasti.
Marché de Domodossola
visiter
Nature et randonnée
Domodossola - Monte Calvario - Pilgerweg
Sacro Monte Calvario à Domodossola
découvrir
Sur les rails
Intragna Centovalli Alessio Pizzi
Découvrez les Centovalli et la Valle Vigezzo en train
Découvrir
Newsletter
PDF herunterladen
0 de 0 Fichiers de médias