Knowledge & culture

The Kulturweg between Ausserberg and Raron

Experience culture on a hike

The “Kulturweg” – or “Culture Trail” – is the name of the ancient path between Ausserberg and Raron. This link route is of cultural and historical significance. In earlier centuries, before the valley had been drained and the River Rotten had been dammed, this was the only navigable path along the Rhone Valley.

The Kulturweg has been preserved as a natural path to this day and is an extremely popular hiking trail for families and nature-lovers, those interested in history and those who appreciate the poet Rilke. It’s also ideal for wine aficionados and anyone who wants to learn more about the canton of Valais. The trail is accessible all year round except in the most severe winter conditions. It is part of the main hiking trail network of Switzerland and passes through a highly varied natural, cultural and sacred landscape.

Route

From Ausserberg Railway Station, the path heads west, past the place known as “Chalchofu”, towards St. German. Between St. German and Raron, the path is wider and easier to follow, as the many sun-loving walkers who use it can testify. After approximately one hour, the path reaches the cliff-top church of St. Roman in the village of Raron, where a museum and the grave of the poet Rainer Maria Rilke can be found.

Key data

Walking route Ausserberg–Raron 
Distance   4,6 km
Walking times approx. 1 hour 30 minutes
Level of difficulty easy

Schnitzeljagd Finding-Daniel

Die interaktive Tour «Finding-Daniel» ist eine unterhaltsame Schnitzeljagd mit Rätseln und Hintergrundwissen. Holen Sie sich die Tourenkarte direkt aufs Handy per QR-Code und los geht das Abenteuer entlang des Kulturweges von Ausserberg nach Raron.

BLS suggestion

Playgrounds

The valley plane has two children’s playgrounds to explore. The playground in the village of Raron can be found at the intersection between Bietschgärtenstrasse and Stadelmattenstrasse. As well as standard park equipment such as swings, a spring rocker, climbing frame, slide, sand pit and a rope ladder, there are also plenty of benches and picnic tables.

The playground at the SBB station in Turtig had to be relocated due to the construction of a motorway. In the meantime, a new site has been found with the help of the Canton: on Rundeyaweg to the east of the Raplast building.

There is also a playground on Schulhausplatz in the village of St. German. The facilities are very similar to those in Raron, but also include a basketball court and football pitch.

Raron Detective Trail

Fancy a treasure hunt? A challenging experience for families, groups, couples, schools or a company team building day? The Detective Trails are a series of puzzles that take you through local towns and sights with the aid of an app or printable treasure map. Everyone who takes part gets to learn a wealth of interesting and surprising facts about the places they visit along the way. And at the end, there’ll be a little prize waiting for you.

Knight’s Way to Gestelnburg

The illuminated Ice Age cave on the Knight’s Way to Gestelnburg is sure to set children’s pulses racing and fuel their imaginations. See for yourself. The “Knight's Way to the Gestelnburg Ruin” audio tour is the perfect accompaniment to your journey along the Knight’s Way to Gestelnburg.

Availability Today (Saturday) open

The trail is accessible all year round.

In extremely stormy conditions, you can check the condition of the Kulturweg path at the Lötschberg Region Tourist Office at the railway station in Raron.

Subject to change without prior notice

Rates

The Kulturweg is accessible free of charge.

Food & drink

  • There are no barbecue facilities available, but in all of the villages en route (Ausserberg, St. German and Raron) there are good options for dining in restaurants.
  • Beautiful playground with picnic facilities in St. German below the school.
  • A large selection of wines from the region
    • Franz Salzgeber & Söhne, 3942 St. German, +41 27 934 34 10
    • Germanus Familie Edgar Schmid, 3942 St. German, +41 27 934 11 85
    • Rilkeweine Alfred Kalbermatter, 3942 Niedergesteln-Raron, +41 27 934 26 48

Notes

  • Good footwear is recommended.
  • Guided walks along the Kulturweg are also possible.  
  • Souvenirs: The DVD “Der Kulturweg – Momentaufnahmen und Impressionen am Kulturweg und einiges mehr” (“The Kulturweg – snapshots and impressions along the Kulturweg and more besides”) can be purchased from the Lötschberg-Region tourist office in Raron for CHF 20.00.

How to get there

Travel comfortably with the RegioExpress Lötschberger to Ausserberg. 

Weather & webcam Today: light showers 9/16°

Today light showers 9/16°
Tomorrow overcast, light rain 8/13°
Monday partly cloudy 5/15°
Tuesday 8/10°

1 review 4 of 5 stars

Rate
Additional ratings

Location

Tickets & Fahrplan
Similar offers
Hiking & nature
Kandersteg, Rundwanderweg
Kandersteg circular trails
Experience
Knowledge & culture
Kreuz am Wegrand
Lötschental - Experience culture and tradition
explore
Hiking & nature
Die über 1000 Jahre alte Wahlfahrtskirche Würzbrunnen im Morgengrauen.
Walking the Pilgrim Trail to Würzbrunnen
Discover
Knowledge & culture
Ausserberg
Schnitzeljagd Finding-Daniel
Entdecken
Offers nearby
Food & drink
Kulinarischer Ausflug Suedrampe: Geniessen Sie Walliser Spezialitäten im Biohof Fischerbiel.
Culinary outing to the Lötschberg Tunnel’s southern approach
Savour
Hiking & nature
Gruppe auf Suonenwanderung
Ausserberg–Mund Suonen trail
Experience
Hiking & nature
Wanderung auf der Lötschberger-Südrampe
Lötschberger southern approach
Experience
Food & drink
Weinlehrpfad Heidadorf
Visperterminen – Europe’s highest vineyard
Savour
Newsletter
Download PDF
0 of 0 Media files

Culture & connaissance

Sentier culturel Ausserberg–Rarogne

Se cultiver en randonnant

D’une grande importance historico-culturelle, le trajet entre Ausserberg et Rarogne porte le nom de «sentier culturel». Dans la nuit des temps, lorsque la vallée n’était pas encore drainée et que le Rhône n’était pas encore endigué, ce sentier constituait le seul chemin dans la vallée du Rhône.

Aujourd’hui encore, le sentier culturel reste naturel et est extrêmement apprécié des familles et les amis de la nature ou encore les passionnés d’histoire et les amoureux des poèmes de Rilke. Mais les amateurs de vins et de l’histoire du Valais ne seront pas non plus en reste! Lorsque l’hiver n’est pas trop rigoureux, ce sentier intégré au réseau national principal de randonnée est praticable toute l’année et vous mène à travers des paysages variés naturels, culturels et sacrés. 

Le sentier culturel est facilement accessible en transports publics. Depuis Berne, vous pouvez vous rendre directement à Ausserberg avec le RegioExpress.

Itinéraire

Après la gare d’Ausserberg, le sentier vous conduit vers l’ouest, en passant par «Chalchofu», en direction de St-German. Très fréquemment emprunté par les randonneurs en quête de soleil, le chemin de St-German à Rarogne se fait encore plus large et facile. Au bout d’une heure environ, l’ancienne église de Rarogne est en vue : c’est là que se trouvent la tombe du poète Rainer Maria Rilke et un musée.

Éléments principaux

Sentier de randonnée Ausserberg–Raron
Distance  4,6 km
Temps de randonnée env. 1 heures 30 minutes
Dénivelé  montée 24 m / descente 332 m
Niveau de difficulté facile

Jeu de piste Finding-Daniel

Le parcours interactif «Finding-Daniel» est un jeu de piste divertissant ponctué de devinettes et d’anecdotes locales. Téléchargez la carte du circuit directement sur votre portable via le code QR et partez à l’aventure en suivant l’itinéraire culturel d’Ausserberg à Rarogne.

Bon plan BLS

Aires de jeux

En plaine se trouvent deux aires de jeux pour les enfants. L’aire de jeux dans le village de Rarogne se situe au croisement de la Bietschgärtenstrasse et de la Stadelmattenstrasse. Outre les éléments habituels comme la balançoire, le jeu sur ressort, l’installation pour grimper, le toboggan, le bac à sable, l’échelle en corde, l’infrastructure offre aussi des bancs et des tables de pique-nique.

L’aire de jeux près de la gare CFF de Turtig a dû être déplacée en raison du chantier de construction de l’autoroute A9. En accord avec les responsables du canton, un nouveau site provisoire a été désigné au chemin Rundeyaweg, à l’ouest de la Raplast AG.

À St. German, une autre aire de jeux se trouve à proximité de l’école. L’infrastructure et les éléments sont similaires à ceux de l’aire de jeux de Rarogne, mais l’aire de St. German dispose en plus d’un terrain de basketball et de football.

Jeu de piste des détectives à Rarogne

Envie d’une chasse au trésor et d’énigmes à résoudre en famille, en couple ou entre membres d’une association, camarades d’école ou collègues? Participez aux jeux de pistes des détectives, des sentiers qui vous font explorer des villes et des localités et déchiffrer des énigmes à l’aide d’une application mobile ou d’une carte au trésor à imprimer. Au cours de l’aventure, vous apprendrez une foule d’anecdotes passionnantes et surprenantes sur les lieux. Un petit prix vous attend à la fin.

Le circuit du chevalier de Gestelnburg

La grotte de l’âge de glace sur le circuit du chevalier de Gestelnburg fait battre les cœurs des enfants et stimule l’imagination. Laissez-vous convaincre. Le circuit du chevalier de Gestelnburg peut être combiné avec la pièce à écouter «Le chemin du chevalier vers la ruine de Gestelnburg».

Accessibilité Aujourd’hui (Jeudi) ouvert

Le sentier est accessible toute l’année.

En cas de conditions météorologiques extrêmes, vous pouvez vous renseigner sur la praticabilité du sentier culturel auprès de l’office du tourisme de la région du Lötschberg, près de la gare de Rarogne.

Sous réserve de modifications

Prix

Le sentier culturel est accessible gratuitement.

Restauration

  • Il n’y a pas d’aire de grillade mais tous les villages (Ausserberg, St.-German, Rarogne) disposent d’une bonne offre de restaurants.
  • Belle aire de jeux avec possibilité de pique-niquer à St. German, en dessous de l'école.
  • Large offre de vins de la région
    • Franz Salzgeber & Söhne, 3942 St-German, +41 27 934 34 10
    • Famille Germanus, Edgar Schmid, 3942 St-German, +41 27 934 11 85
    • Weingut Cipolla, Romain Cipolla, 3942 Raron, +41 79 201 81 31

Informations complémentaires

  • Prévoyez de bonnes chaussures.
  • Il existe également des randonnées guidées sur le sentier culturel; renseignez-vous auprès de Lötschberg Tourismus.
  • Souvenirs: L’office de tourisme Lötschberg-Region à Rarogne propose le DVD «Der Kulturweg – Momentaufnahmen und Impressionen am Kulturweg und einiges mehr» (Le sentier culturel: instantanés, impressions et bien plus) au prix de CHF 20.00.

Comment s'y rendre

Voyagez confortablement avec le RegioExpress jusqu'à Ausserberg. 

1 commentaire 4 sur 5 étoiles

Évaluer
D'autres évaluation

Situation

Billets & horaire
Offres similaires
Nature et randonnée
Unesco Biosphaeren Exkursion Karst und Hoehlen 3
Excursion biosphère karst & grottes
Découvrir
Nature et randonnée
Valle-Vigezzo
Randonnée dans le Piémont
Découvrir
Nature et randonnée
Kandersteg, Rundwanderweg
Circuits de randonnée de Kandersteg
Découvrir
Nature et randonnée
Die über 1000 Jahre alte Wahlfahrtskirche Würzbrunnen im Morgengrauen.
Sur le chemin de pèlerinage de Würzbrunnen
Découvrir
Offres à proximité
Gastronomie
Raclette
Dégustez les spécialités valaisannes
Savourer
Nature et randonnée
Wanderung auf der Lötschberger-Südrampe
Rampe sud du Lötschberg
Vivre
Nature et randonnée
Wanderer im alten Dorfkern von Naters
Découvrir le patrimoine mondial le long de la rampe sud du Lötschberg
Entdecken
Culture & connaissance
Ausserberg
Jeu de piste Finding-Daniel
Entdecken
Newsletter
PDF herunterladen
0 de 0 Fichiers de médias