Knowledge & culture

City tour La Chaux-de-Fonds

Visit to the watchmaking industry and Unesco World Heritage

Situated at an altitude of 1,000 meters above sea level, built as regularly as a chessboard, this city is marked by its unique watchmaking industry and tradition which is listed as UNESCO World Heritage site. If you climb up to the Espacité Tower or participate in a guided tour, you can appreciate this special chessboard design even better. It is well worth a visit, for fans of watches as much as for enthusiast of architecture. La Chaux-de-Fonds surprises with its unique cityscape and is the birthplace of «Le Corbusier», an icon of architecture whose work has featured on the prestigious UNESCO list since 2016.

By train, from Bern, it takes an hour directly to La Chaux-de-Fonds. 

Tip 1: Scavenger hunt – Les Barons

Scavenger hunt in the watchmakers’ town and its museums 

Uncle Louis, a respected watchmaker from the 1900s, had his last watch stolen. Will you be able to find the culprit and retrieve the watch which marked your family history? Enjoy this special adventure in the museums of La Chaux-de-Fonds and at typical sites of the watchmakers’ town.

This urban scavenger hunt combines historical and imaginary facts and requires no prior knowledge. Using the card game that is available at the tourist office, you will follow in the footsteps of the watchmaker to track down the culprit and reclaim the stolen watch.

Duration about 2 hours
Distance 3,5 km
Language french and german
Number of participants 1-6 participants
Starting point The game material can be picked up at the La Chaux-de-Fonds tourist office (Place Espacité) or at the Espace de l'urbanisme horloger.
 Participating museums International Museum of Horology, Museum of fine arts and Museum of History

Tip 2: Architecture and cityscape

Following a fire in 1794, the city was rebuilt in a chessboard pattern. The apartments and workshops were closely connected in those days, and the large windows of the manufactories attest to the key importance of daylight to the work done at the workbenches.

The cityscape is defined by watch-production sites, simple apartment blocks of at least three storeys for the “ouvriers” (workers), Art Nouveau villas for the “patrons” (owners), and also traces of the architect Le Corbusier. Thanks to the unique symbiosis of urbanism and the watch industry, the city was declared a UNESCO World Heritage site in 2009. 

  • International Watch Museum A fascinating journey through time
  • Espacité Tower The 60-metre-tall Espacité Tower offers the best view of the city’s chessboard pattern.
  • La Maison blanche from Le Corbusier Built for his parents in 1912, this was Le Corbusier's first project as a freelance architect. The house was decidedly avant-garde for its time – a work from the architect's youth that sheds much light on his later designs.
  • L’Ancien Manège – a unique residential building Behind an unassuming façade lies a splendid courtyard with frescoes, friezes and little fountains. The L’Ancien Manège, a former riding hall and now a residential building arranged around the richly decorated courtyard, today contains a restaurant on the ground floor.

How to get there

Travel comfortably by train to La Chaux de Fonds.

No reviews 0 of 5 stars

Rate
Additional ratings

Location

Tickets & timetable
Similar offers
Special offers
St Beatus Hoehlen Hauptbild
Discover the St. Beatus Caves
Visit
Knowledge & culture
Über den Dächer von Murten – ©WillyPiller
Murten: an idyll by the lake
Entdecken
Knowledge & culture
Altsstad Solthurn im Winter
Solothurn: Switzerland’s dazzling pearl of the baroque
Discover
Knowledge & culture
Schneeschuhtour im Val-de-Travers
Val-de-Travers
Discover
Offers nearby
Knowledge & culture
Uhrenmuseum La Chaux-de-Fonds
Visit to the International Watch Museum
Experience
Sport
Langlauf im  Jura
Cross-country ski paradise in the Neuchâtel mountains
Discover
Hiking & nature
Winterlandschaft Weitsicht
La Vue-des-Alpes snowshoe tour
Discover
Family
Kletterpark «Parc adventure Chaumont»
Le Chaumont: Neuchâtel’s local mountain
Experience
Newsletter
Download PDF
0 of 0 Media files

Wissen & Kultur

Stadtbesichtigung La Chaux-de-Fonds

Besuch der Uhrenindustrie und Unesco-Welterbe

Auf 1’000 Meter Höhe gelegen und so regelmässig angeordnet wie ein Schachbrett, fasziniert die Stadt mit ihrem gelungenen Städtebau und der Uhrenindustrie, die zum Unesco-Welterbe ernannt wurde. Aus der Vogelperspektive des «Tour Espacité» oder auf der Stadtbesichtigung lässt sich das einzigartige Schachbrettmuster der Stadt gut erkennen. Ein Besuch lohnt sich daher nicht nur für Uhrenfans, sondern auch für Architekturbegeisterte. La Chaux-de-Fonds ist Geburtsort der Architekturikone «Le Corbusier», dessen Werk seit 2016 auf der renommierten Liste der Unesco steht. Mit der Bahn reisen Sie ab Bern in nur einer Stunde direkt nach La Chaux-de-Fonds.

 

Tipp 1: Schnitzeljagd Les Barons

Abenteuerliche Schnitzeljagd durch die Museen und symbolträchtigen Orte von La Chaux-de-Fonds

Onkel Louis, ein angesehener Uhrmacher aus den 1900er Jahren, wurde die letzte Uhr gestohlen. Schaffen Sie es, die Uhr zurückzuholen, die seine Familiengeschichte geprägt hat? Auf der Schnitzeljagd «Les Barons» lernen Sie die Kultstätten und Museen von La Chaux-de-Fonds auf abenteuerliche Weise kennen. 

Diese urbane Schnitzeljagd vereint historische und imaginäre Fakten und erfordert keine Vorkenntnisse. Anhand des im Tourismusbüro erhältlichen Kartenspiels begeben Sie sich in die Fussstapfen des Uhrmachers, um den Täter ausfindig zu machen und die gestohlene Uhr zurückzuerobern. 

Dauer rund 2 Stunden
Distanz 3,5 km
 Sprachen Deutsch und Französisch
Teilnehmerzahl 1-6 Spieler
Startpunkt Das Spielmaterial kann im Tourismusbüro La Chaux-de-Fonds (Place Espacité) oder im Espace de l'urbanisme horloger abgeholt werden.
Teilnehmende Museen Internationales Uhrenmuseum, Kunstmuseum und Historisches Museum

Tipp 2: Architektur und Stadtlandschaft

Nach einem Brand im Jahre 1794 wurde die Stadt im Schachbrettmuster erbaut. Die Wohnungen und Werkstätten waren damals eng miteinander verbunden und die grossen Fenster der Manufakturen zeugen von der zentralen Bedeutung des Tageslichts für die Tätigkeit an der Werkbank.

Uhrenproduktionsstätten, einfache mindestens 3-stöckige Wohnblocks für die «Ouvriers», Villen im Jugendstil für die «Patrons» und auch Spuren des Architekten Le Corbusier prägen das Stadtbild. Dank der einzigartigen Symbiose aus Urbanistik und Uhrenindustrie wurde die Stadt im Jahr 2009 Teil des Unesco-Welterbes.

  • Stadtplanung im Zeichen der Uhrenindustrie Im Zentrum "Espace de l'urbanisme horloger", der früheren Versteigerungshalle, wurde eigens ein multimedialer Showroom eingerichtet, der sich der uhrmacherischen Stadtplanung widmet.
  • Besuch Internationales Uhrenmuseum  Eine faszinierende Reise durch die Zeit
  • Espacité-Turm Den besten Blick auf das Schachbrettmuster der Stadt bietet der 60 Meter hohe Expacité-Turm.
  • La Maison blanche von Le Corbusier Die 1912 für seine Eltern gebaute Villa war der erste Bau, den der junge Le Corbusier eigenständig realisierte. Dieses besonders avantgardistische Jugendwerk ist eine unumgängliche Etappe, um die nachfolgenden Werke des berühmten Architekten verstehen zu können.
  • L’Ancien Manège - ein einzigartiges Wohnhaus Hinter seiner Fassade eröffnet sich ein prachtvoller Innenhof mit Fresken, Friesen und kleinen Springbrunnen. Die L’Ancien Manège, eine ehemalige Reithalle und heute Wohnraum, der um den reich dekorierten Innenhof angeordnet ist, beherbergt auch ein Restaurant.

Anreise

Reisen Sie bequem mit dem Zug bis nach La Chaux de Fonds.

Wetter & Webcam Heute: sonnig 13/25°

Heute sonnig 13/25°
Morgen sonnig 11/26°
Mittwoch sonnig 12/24°
Donnerstag sonnig 11/28°

Keine Kommentare 0 von 5 Sternen

Bewerten
Weitere Bewertungen

Standort

Tickets & Fahrplan
Ähnliche Angebote
Private Gruppenführung
Ferden-11
Nothaltestelle Ferden
Besuchen
Wissen & Kultur
Dauerausstellung Centre Dürrenmatt Neuchâtel
Centre Dürrenmatt Neuchâtel
entdecken
Private Gruppenführung
Lösch- und Rettungswagen
Interventions- & Erhaltungszentrum Frutigen
Besuchen
Jubiläum
BLS und das 175 Jahre Schweizer Bahnen Jubiläum
175 Jahre Schweizer Bahnen – Region Mitte 03. September 2022 bis 04. September 2022
Erleben
Angebote in der Nähe
Wissen & Kultur
Uhrenmuseum La Chaux-de-Fonds
Besuch im internationalen Uhrenmuseum
erleben
Familie
Von der  Bergstation der Standseilbahn bietet sich ein herrlicher Ausblick über den Neuenburgersee. Der Murtensee ist im Hintergrund ebenfalls zu erkennen, jedoch nur ganz klein.
Chaumont – Hausberg von Neuenburg
erleben
Wissen & Kultur
Drohnenaufnahme Centre Duerrenmatt
Eine Reise zu Dürrenmatt
entdecken
Wissen & Kultur
Das Schloss von Neuenburg mit dem See im Hintergrund. Rundherum befinden sich Häuser und Bäume. Der Himmel ist blau.
Museumstour durch Neuchâtel
entdecken
Newsletter
PDF herunterladen
0 aus 0 Mediendateien