Construction projects

New track in the Lötschberg Summit Tunnel

Investing in the future: The tracks in the Lötschberg Summit Tunnel were last replaced in the 1970s. BLS is now investing in a modern and sustainable track so that our customers can continue to travel safely and conveniently through the tunnel between Goppenstein and Kandersteg.

The old tracks in the Lötschberg Summit Tunnel will be removed, including the ballast and sleepers, and replaced with a so-called non-ballasted track. With a non-ballasted track, the rails are encased in a concrete foundation with elastically mounted individual blocks, as is already the case in the Lötschberg Base Tunnel. Ballast is no longer required. BLS is also modernising the tunnel’s drainage system. The tunnel vault is still in good condition, though.

To prevent railway operations from being too badly affected, BLS is carrying out the work in stages across several smaller sections.

Key data

  • Scheduled start of construction: mid-2018
  • Planned commissioning: end of 2022
  • Costs: the total costs for the track replacement amount to CHF 83.5 million.

What will the project achieve?

The non-ballasted track provides a series of benefits:

  • Comfort: because the tracks are laid more precisely, there are fewer bumps. The ride will therefore be noticeably smoother.
  • Service life: a normal ballasted track has a service life of around 40 years, whereas that of a non-ballasted track is around 60 years.
  • Maintenance: a non-ballasted track has far lower maintenance costs, as it is much easier to keep in good condition. With a conventional track, the ballast needs to be replenished regularly in order to keep the tracks stable. This and other work will no longer be necessary.

Why is this tunnel called the Summit Tunnel?

For a long time, what is today the Lötschberg Summit Tunnel was simply called the Lötschberg Tunnel. The 14.6-kilometre-long tunnel was constructed between 1907 and 1913. Since BLS also took the Lötschberg Base Tunnel – situated deeper in the mountain – into operation in 2007, the older tunnel on the mountain line has been called the Lötschberg Summit Tunnel, as it sits below the mountain summit.

Why is the tunnel still needed following the construction of the Lötschberg Base Tunnel?

Together with the Lötschberg Base Tunnel, the Summit Tunnel forms a holistic system on the Lötschberg axis, which is situated on Europe’s most important rail freight corridor. Of the up to 110 freight trains that travel via the axis each day, between 20 to 50 of them travel the mountain line via the Summit Tunnel. The Summit Tunnel is also of vital importance to BLS’s Car Transport service. During peak times, up to 180 car trains travel through the tunnel, making it an important connection for passenger transport between Bern and Valais. Furthermore, BLS’s RegioExpress trains travelling between Bern, Brig and Domodossola use the Summit Tunnel each day.

0 Media files
    Car Transport
    Autoverlad Lötschberg im Winter bei Kandersteg
    With the BLS Lötschberg Car Transport
    More
    Lötschberger country
    RABe 535 Lötschberger bei Blausee
    Railway adventure
    More
    Projects & backgrounds
    NEAT Lötschberg: Lötschberg-Basistunnel Nordportal
    Lötschberg Base Tunnel: a new Alpine rail link to connect Europe
    CONNECT
    Construction projects
    Construction noise and other disruptions

    Where there’s construction work, there’s noise

    More
    Newsletter

Travaux et constructions

Nouvelle voie ferrée dans le tunnel de faîte du Lötschberg

Investir dans l’avenir: les voies dans le tunnel de faîte du Lötschberg ont été remplacées pour la dernière fois dans les années 1970. BLS investit maintenant dans une voie ferrée moderne et durable afin que nos clients puissent se déplacer facilement et en toute sécurité entre Goppenstein et Kandersteg via le tunnel.

Les anciens rails du tunnel de faîte du Lötschberg ainsi que le ballast et les traverses seront retirés pour être remplacés par une voie fixe. Cette dernière se caractérise par son positionnement direct sur la fondation en béton, comme c’est déjà le cas dans le tunnel de base du Lötschberg. Le ballast et les traverses ne sont plus nécessaires. BLS rénovera en outre le système d’évacuation des eaux du tunnel. La voûte du tunnel est par contre encore en bon état.

Afin de ne pas entraver excessivement l’exploitation ferroviaire, BLS effectuera les travaux par étapes sur plusieurs petits tronçons.

Éléments principaux

  • Début des travaux : mi-2018
  • Mise en service planifiée : fin 2022
  • Coûts : le montant total des coûts de rénovation de la voie ferrée s’élève à CHF 105 millions.

Qu’apportera cette rénovation ?

La voie ferrée fixe comporte plusieurs avantages :

  • Confort : étant donné que les voies sont placées avec plus de précision, les vibrations sont moindres. Le trajet en devient nettement plus calme.
  •  Durée de vie : la durée d’utilisation d’une voie sur ballast classique est de 40 ans environ, alors que celle d’une voie fixe est de 60 ans environ.
  • Entretien : une voie fixe entraîne moins de frais de maintenance, étant plus facile à entretenir. Une voie ferrée normale exige en revanche un réapprovisionnement régulier en ballast afin que les rails restent stables. Ces travaux et d’autres ne seront plus nécessaires à l’avenir.  

Pourquoi parle-t-on de tunnel de faîte ?

Longtemps, l’actuel tunnel de faîte du Lötschberg s’appelait simplement tunnel du Lötschberg. Long de 14,6 kilomètres, il a été construit entre 1907 et 1913.  Depuis que BLS a également mis en service le tunnel de base du Lötschberg en contrebas en 2007, l’ancien tunnel sur la ligne de montagne a été rebaptisé en tunnel de faîte du Lötschberg, car il se trouve sous le faîte de la montagne.

Pourquoi le tunnel reste-t-il nécessaire après la construction du tunnel de base du Lötschberg ?

Avec le tunnel de base, le tunnel de faîte forme un système global sur l’axe du Lötschberg, situé sur le principal corridor de fret ferroviaire d’Europe. 20 à 50 des 110 trains de marchandises qui circulent quotidiennement sur cet axe passent par le tunnel de faîte de la ligne de montagne. Le tunnel de faîte est également éminemment important pour le transport autos de BLS. Aux heures de pointe, jusqu’à 180 trains navettes-autos passent par le tunnel, ce qui fait de lui la liaison principale pour le transport individuel entre Berne et le Valais. Les trains RegioExpress de BLS entre Berne, Brigue et Domodossola passent eux aussi par le tunnel de faîte.


0 de 0 Fichiers de médias
    Transport autos
    Autoverlad-Verladen
    Transport autos de BLS
    Plus
    Pays du Lötschberger
    Loetschberger Rundreise Sommer
    Voyage découverte en train
    Plus
    Projets et informations
    NEAT Lötschberg: Lötschberg-Basistunnel Nordportal
    Tunnel de base du Lötschberg: la NLFA relie l’Europe
    Plus
    Travaux et constructions
    Nuisances sonores et autres perturbations

    Pas de travaux sans nuisances sonores

    Plus
    Newsletter