Projects & backgrounds

Lötschberg Base Tunnel: a new Alpine rail link to connect Europe

The Lötschberg Base Tunnel is the centrepiece of the BLS infrastructure. It is one of the safest, most modern and most technically complex rail tunnels in the world. Together with the Gotthard Base Tunnel and the Monte Ceneri Base Tunnel (currently under construction), it represents one of the most important components of the NRLA, the ʻʻNew Rail Link through the Alpsʼʼ.

Since the Lötschberg Base Tunnel was first commissioned in 2007, it has been impossible to imagine Swiss transport infrastructure without it. Whether commuters on their way from Valais to Berne, holidaymakers travelling from German-speaking Switzerland to the Valais mountains or business travellers making the journey to northern Italy, the tunnel reduces the journey time for them all. Freight, too, passes through the Lötschberg section of what is termed the ʻʻRhine Alpine Corridorʼʼ at all hours of the day and night.

Key figures

  • 314'814: the number of trains that have already travelled through the base tunnel in its first ten years of operation..
  • A total of 50 passenger trains and up to 60 freight trains use the base tunnel every day. It is therefore operating at an average of 80% capacity. Some days, the figure even rises to 100%.
  • The base tunnel is 34.6 kilometres long. Of those, however, only 14 kilometres currently consist of double-track lines. Structural work is still being carried out on parts of the western tube, while another section has not yet been tunnelled.
  • Record:  35.7 million gross tonnes were transported on the Lötschberg axis in 2017 (base tunnel and mountain line) The market share of the Lötschberg in Swiss transalpine freight transport is therefore 54 percent.

BLS plans to expand the base tunnel further

The Lötschberg Base Tunnel is currently stretched to the limit. This is due firstly to the rapid growth of passenger and freight traffic and secondly to the limited capacity caused by the long single-track section. The 21-kilometre single-track route makes it impossible to expand passenger and freight traffic, significantly reduces the options available for timetabling and results in high operating costs. An expansion to double-track running is therefore absolutely essential.

 Advantages of an expansion:

  • This would enable half-hourly connections to the Valais as well as the stable and flexible timetabling required in the Swiss rail network.
  • It would reduce production costs associated with freight traffic, because trains would no longer need to take the significantly longer mountain route. This would make rail freight more competitive compared to road haulage and support implementation of the policy of transferring heavy goods traffic from road to rail.
  • The Alpine region continues to present topographical difficulties. Alternative options are important. The Lötschberg and Gotthard routes therefore offer complementary solutions.
  • Full expansion would make maintenance and post-incident intervention easier.
  • The mountain route would be used less by freight hauliers. The region would become even more attractive to tourists.
0 Media files
    Visitor services
    Nothaltestelle Ferden
    Lötschberg Base Tunnel tour

    Visit this masterpiece of railway engineering

    Visit
    Visitor services
    Interventionszentrum Frutigen
    Gruppenführung Interventionszentrum
    Besuchen
    Visitor services
    Nothaltestelle Ferden
    Guided tour of the Ferden emergency stop area
    Visit
    Visitor services
    Erhaltungszentrum Frutigen
    Guided group tour of the maintenance centre
    Visit
    Schweizerisches Bundesarchiv
    Alptransit-Portal

    Entdecken Sie die Neue Eisenbahn-Alpentransversale und ihre Geschichte.

    www
    Newsletter

Projets et informations

Tunnel de base du Lötschberg: la NLFA relie l’Europe

Pièce maîtresse de l’infrastructure de BLS, le tunnel de base du Lötschberg est l’un des tunnels ferroviaires les plus modernes, sûrs et sophistiqués au monde. Il constitue, au même titre que les tunnels de base du Gothard et du Monte Ceneri (encore en construction), l’un des tronçons les plus importants de la nouvelle ligne ferroviaire à travers les Alpes, la NLFA.

Depuis sa mise en service en 2007, le tunnel de base du Lötschberg est devenu indissociable du paysage des transports suisse. Que vous soyez un pendulaire valaisan en poste à Berne, un vacancier de Suisse alémanique en partance pour les montagnes valaisannes ou un voyageur d’affaires en mission au nord de l’Italie, le tunnel raccourcit votre déplacement. Même les marchandises empruntent ce tronçon du corridor Rhin–Alpes à toute heure du jour et de la nuit. 

Chiffres importants

  • 314'814: c’est le nombre de trains qui ont transité par le tunnel de base durant ses dix premières années d’exploitation.
  • 50 trains de voyageurs et jusqu’à 60 trains de marchandises circulent chaque jour dans le tunnel, qui fonctionne ainsi en moyenne à 80 % de ses capacités. Certains jours, ce taux atteint même les 100%.
  • La longueur du tunnel de base est de 34,6 kilomètres, mais à ce jour, seuls 14 kilomètres sont praticables sur les deux voies. Une partie du tube ouest est encore à l’état de gros œuvre et une autre reste à forer. 
  • Record : 35,7 millions de tonnes brutes ont été transportées sur l’axe du Lötschberg en 2017 (tunnel de base et ligne de montagne). La part de marché du Lötschberg dans le transport de marchandises transalpin suisse s’élève donc à 54 %.

BLS souhaite continuer à étendre le tunnel de base 

Le tunnel de base du Lötschberg a actuellement atteint la limite de ses capacités. Ce fait s’explique d’un côté en raison de la croissance fulgurante du trafic voyageurs et marchandises, de l’autre par la capacité limitée du long tronçon à voie unique. La longue ligne à voie unique de 21 kilomètres ne permet pas une amplification du trafic voyageurs et marchandises, limite considérablement la marge de manœuvre dans la conception de l’horaire et entraîne des coûts d’exploitation élevés. Un doublement de la voie est donc impératif. 

Avantages d’un aménagement 

  • Il rendrait possible une cadence de 30 minutes pour le Valais et garantirait le niveau requis de stabilité et de flexibilité de l’horaire sur le réseau ferroviaire suisse.
  • Il diminuerait les coûts de production dans le trafic marchandises puisque les convois n’auraient plus, comme c’est le cas aujourd’hui, à transiter par la ligne de faîte nettement plus longue. La compétitivité du transport ferroviaire par rapport au transport routier s’en trouverait renforcée et les objectifs de transferts seraient atteints.
  • La région alpine représente toujours un défi de par sa topographie. Les possibilités d’évitement sont importantes et les tronçons du Lötschberg et du Gothard se complètent donc mutuellement.
  • La maintenance et l’intervention en cas d’événements seraient simplifiées.
  • La ligne de faîte serait moins utilisée par le trafic marchandises. La région gagnerait en attractivité touristique. 
0 de 0 Fichiers de médias
    Visiteurs
    Nothaltestelle Ferden
    Visite guidée du tunnel de base du Lötschberg

    Visitez ce chef-d’œuvre de la technique ferroviaire

    Visiter
    Visiteurs
    Interventionszentrum Frutigen
    Gruppenführung Interventionszentrum
    Besuchen
    Visiteurs
    Nothaltestelle Ferden
    Visite guidée de la station d’arrêt d’urgence de Ferden
    Visiter
    Visiteurs
    Erhaltungszentrum Frutigen
    Visite en groupe du centre de maintenance
    Visiter
    Archives fédérales suisses
    Le portail Alptransit

    Découvrez les Nouvelles Lignes Ferroviaires à travers les Alpes et leur histoire.

    www
    Newsletter