Hiking & nature

Sacro Monte Calvario in Domodossola

Wander between nature and spirituality, enjoying a little Italian atmosphere along the way

Sacro Monte Calvario in Domodossola is one of the sites with the greatest religious, historic and scenic significance in the Piedmont region. The Sacri Monti (Holy Mountains) complex in the Alpine region, made a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2003, is of great cultural interest, as well as being a place for peace, prayer and meditation.

Building work began in 1656 on the Colle di Mattarella hill, which still looks down on the city of Domodossola today. The main objective was to build a "processional path" on its slopes, a kind of "way of the cross" leading to a pilgrimage church, in which all believers would be welcome.

The impressive, atmospheric path is accessible on foot to this day, and starts in the centre of Domodossola, where, in 1658, the great Arco di Pilato (Pilatus Arch) was constructed, only to be demolished in 1875. You reach the top of the hill on a paved road through the middle of lush woodland. As you climb, you pass various stations that are organised architecturally in a progression of 15 chapels.

In 1828, the works and spirituality of the Sacro Monte Calvario received another boost thanks to the arrival of the theologian and philosopher Antonio Rosmini. The mother house of the Rosminians was built on the summit. It is still of fundamental significance to the Rosminians today, the structure being the domicile of the postulate and the international novitiate, as well as, most importantly, serving as an important spiritual centre. You can still visit Antonio Rosmini's cell in the Sacro Monte complex. 

The special Sacro Monte Calvario di Domodossola nature reserve was set up in 1991 in order to protect the immense artistic, historic, architectural and scenic heritage of Sacro Monte. The medieval castle of Mattarella, the convent of the Rosminians, the oratorio of the Madonna delle Grazie, Santissimo Crocefisso pilgrimage church and the 15 chapels of the way of the cross are all deemed part of the complex. 

In 2003, the UNESCO Committee entered 24 new places onto its list of World Heritage sites, including the Sacri Monti del Piemonte e della Lombardia, to which the Sacro Monte Calvario in Domodossola belongs. A visit to this place of such significance to the entire Ossola valley is essential. Faith, nature and art are housed in this precious shrine, which is just a stone's throw from the centre of Domodossola. 

Opening hours Today (Friday) open

The pilgrims' way is accessible on foot all year round.

Sights and attractions

Pilgrimage Church of the Holy Cross (Santuario del Santissimo Crocifisso)

Shaped like an elongated octagon, the Santissimo Crocifisso pilgrimage church stands proud on the Sacro Monte Calvario rock in Domodossola, building work having started on it in 1657. In 1672, the dome with its lantern was constructed to be joined, in 1686, by the atrium protruding from the façade. The latter consists of a barrel vault and is supported by pillars and stone columns made of local serpentine stone. The vault contains paintings of angels with the Instruments of the Passion by Giovanni di Sampietro. Both the design and construction of the pilgrimage church are attributed to Tommaso Lazzaro, who was also entrusted with the construction of other religious structures in the Ossola valley. Apart from the gate and two small devotional windows, the façade lacks other openings: on entering the pilgrimage church, you notice immediately that most of the light comes from the dome, creating an atmosphere of profound devotion.

Botanic garden (Orto botanico)

The friars who lived on the Sacro Monte in Domodossola also owned land around the architectural complex, which was used for agricultural and horticultural purposes, including flower gardens. In terms of agriculture and horticulture, they primarily grew vines, fruit, forage crops and market garden produce. The Botanic Garden of Sacro Monte Calvario in Domodossola has a network of paths enabling you to view it: the individual plants are displayed according to a specific scientific system, which adds great botanic interest as you walk around. 
The Botanic Garden of Sacro Monte Calvario is ideal for the cultivation of traditional crops and medicinal plants, including historically proven varieties from the gardens of the Ossola valley and others with symbolic/religious characteristics. The selection of this location reminds you of the hortus conclusus, the ancient walled vegetable gardens found at some religious sites. 

Oratory of Mary Full of Grace (Oratorio della Madonna delle Grazie)

Outside the walls of the old castle of Mattarella, a chapel rose up alongside the mule-trail leading up the mountain, which was decorated by an unknown artist towards the end of the 16th century with a fresco depicting the Virgin Mary and Child. The chapel was devoted to Mary Full of Grace. Built in 1658, a small devotional chapel with a vault and stone floor at the end of the climb recalls her memory. In the same year, the bishop wanted to attach it to the Sacro Monte Calvario in Domodossola and later ordered its expansion, whilst preserving the ancient likeness of the Blessed Virgin. This solution proved difficult and in 1660 it was decided to build the oratory, which can be visited today. 

The hill and Mattarella Castle (Il Colle e il Castello di Mattarella)

The hill of Mattarella to the south of Domodossola rises up to a height of 413 metres from the Ossola valley. The hill gives you magnificent views of Domodossola and the mountains surrounding the city in the Ossola valley. The hill, which was inhabited in ancient times, presumably got its name from a pagan site for older married women, in place of which a church dedicated to the Virgin Mary was erected at a later time. 

The hill of Mattarella was occupied by military forces in the 7th century and was the site of a vast castle, which came under attack many times and was destroyed in the course of the centuries. In 1014, Kaiser Heinrich II gave the castle to the church in Novara, and then the Bishop of Novara and relocated his palace and the Curia there. In 1312, the Viscontis came into power in the Ossola valley: Mattarella Castle also passed into the ownership of the Duchy of Milan and maintained its functions, especially military ones, until 1415, when the Swiss came through the Alpine passes with the aim of capturing the Ossola valley, tearing it down almost entirely and simultaneously destroying the Bishop's Palace, enclosures and most important towers. After these dramatic events, there are only a few traces of the old stronghold visible nowadays: the tower on the mountain summit grandly rises up above it. The long curtain wall is also well preserved. Sadly, all that is left of the castle and the once sturdy towers at the entrance are a few foundations.

Weather & webcam Today: overcast, light rain 12/17°

Day Weather Temperature
Today overcast, light rain 12/17°
Tomorrow heavy rain 12/15°
Sunday heavy rain 12/17°
Monday heavy rain 12/18°
0 of 0 Media files

    No reviews 0 of 5 stars

    Rate
    Additional ratings

    Location

    Plan journey
    Similar offers
    Hiking & nature
    Allmenalp
    Allmenalp–First–Golitschen–Kandersteg hiking route
    Experience
    Special offers
    Wanderung Wispile–Lauenensee
    Käseweg Wispile
    Entdecken
    Hiking & nature
    Engstligenalp, Klettergruppe am Klettersteig Chäligang
    Engstligenalp Chäligang via ferrata
    Experience
    Hiking & nature
    Allmenalp
    Allmenalp–Usser Ueschinen–Kandersteg hiking route
    Discover
    Offers nearby
    Railway adventures
    Centovalli-Web
    Mit dem Zug durch magische Herbstwälder
    Entdecken
    Railway adventures
    Centovalli - Valle Vigezzo - I trenini sfilano tra paesaggi immacolati
    Centovalli and Valle Vigezzo
    Discover
    Railway adventures
    Centovalli Vigezzina no limits
    Vigezzina no limits
    Discover
    Trade fairs & festivals
    Ein junges Paar verhandelt mit dem Verkäufer über den Preis der Antipasti.
    Market in Domodossola
    Visit
    Newsletter

Nature et randonnée

Sacro Monte Calvario à Domodossola

Randonner entre nature et spiritualité tout en savourant le charme de l’Italie

Le Sacro Monte Calvario à Domodossola est un site touristique majeur du Piémont sur les plans religieux, historique et paysager. Inscrit au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO en 2003, l’ensemble des Sacri Monti (monts sacrés) de la région alpine présente un grand intérêt culturel et constitue un lieu de paix, de prière et de méditation.

Construit en 1656 sur la colline Colle di Mattarella, il surplombe aujourd’hui encore la ville de Domodossola. L’objectif principal était de créer sur les pentes du mont un «chemin de procession», un chemin de croix menant à une église de pèlerinage ouverte à tous les fidèles.

Ce remarquable chemin chargé d’histoire est toujours accessible. Son point de départ, au centre de Domodossola, était autrefois signalé par le grand Arco di Pilato (arc de Pilate), construit en 1658 mais détruit en 1875. On rejoint le sommet de la colline par une route pavée à travers la forêt luxuriante. Le parcours est jalonné de stations architecturalement organisées en une succession de quinze chapelles.

En 1828, l’arrivée du théologien et philosophe Antonio Rosmini a donné un nouvel élan aux travaux et à la spiritualité du Sacro Monte Calvario, avec la construction de la maison mère de l’ordre des Rosminiens sur la place du sommet. La bâtisse conserve aujourd’hui encore une importance fondamentale pour les Rosminiens: elle est à la fois le siège du postulat, la maison internationale du noviciat et un centre spirituel majeur. Il est toujours possible de visiter la cellule d’Antonio Rosmini dans le complexe du Sacro Monte.

En 1991, la réserve naturelle spéciale du Sacro Monte Calvario di Domodossola a été instituée afin de protéger l’immense patrimoine artistique, historique, architectural et paysager du Sacro Monte. Le château médiéval de Mattarella, le couvent des Rosminiens, l’oratoire de la Madonna delle Grazie, le sanctuaire del Santissimo Crocifisso et les quinze chapelles du chemin de croix font partie du complexe.

En 2003, le Comité de l’UNESCO a ajouté 24 nouveaux sites à la Liste du patrimoine mondial, parmi lesquels les Sacri Monti del Piemonte e della Lombardia, dont fait partie le Sacro Monte Calvario à Domodossola. La visite de ce haut lieu du val d’Ossola est incontournable. La foi, la nature et l’art y sont préservés dans un somptueux sanctuaire, à deux pas du centre de Domodossola.

Horaires d’ouverture Aujourd’hui (Lundi) ouvert

Le chemin de pèlerinage est accessible toute l’année.

Aperçus et curiosités

Sanctuaire du Saint-Crucifix (Santuario del Santissimo Crocifisso)

La construction de l’église de pèlerinage del Santissimo Crocifisso en forme d’octogone allongé, qui s’élève sur le rocher du Sacro Monte Calvario à Domodossola, a débuté en 1657. La coupole avec sa lanterne a été érigée en 1672 et l’entrée en saillie de la façade, en 1686. Cette dernière est constituée d’une voûte en berceau et repose sur des piliers et des colonnes en roche de serpentine locale. La voûte s’orne de plusieurs anges avec les instruments de la Passion, peints par Giovanni di Sampietro. La conception et la construction du sanctuaire sont attribuées à Tommaso Lazzaro, qui fut également chargé de la construction d’autres édifices religieux dans le val d’Ossola. La façade ne comporte pas d’autres ouvertures que la porte et deux petites fenêtres de dévotion. Lorsque l’on pénètre dans le sanctuaire, on se rend immédiatement compte que l’essentiel de la lumière provient de la coupole, ce qui crée une atmosphère propice au recueillement.

Jardin botanique (Orto botanico)

Les religieux qui vivaient sur le Sacro Monte à Domodossola possédaient également autour de l’ensemble architectural des terres consacrées aux cultures (principalement vignes, fruits, fourrage et horticulture) et aux jardins d’ornement. Le jardin botanique du Sacro Monte Calvario à Domodossola est sillonné de sentiers qui permettent une visite structurée: chaque plante est identifiée selon une méthode scientifique précise, ce qui confère un grand intérêt botanique à l’itinéraire. 
Le jardin botanique du Sacro Monte Calvario est adapté aux cultures traditionnelles et aux plantes médicinales, parmi lesquelles des variétés historiquement documentées des jardins du val d’Ossola et d’autres au caractère religieux symbolique. L’emplacement choisi évoque l’hortus conclusus, le potager des sites religieux de l’Antiquité. 

Oratoire de Sainte Marie des Grâces (Oratorio della Madonna delle Grazie)

À l’extérieur, le long des murs de l’ancien château de Mattarella, du côté du sentier muletier menant à la montagne, s’élevait une chapelle décorée à la fin du XVIe siècle par un peintre inconnu d’une fresque représentant la Vierge Marie tenant l’enfant Jésus dans ses bras. La chapelle était dédiée à Sainte Marie des Grâces. En 1658, une petite chapelle avec voûte et sol en pierre fut construite au sommet pour rappeler son existence. La même année, l’évêque souhaita l’intégrer à l’ensemble du Sacro Monte Calvario à Domodossola et ordonna par la suite qu’elle soit agrandie, tout en préservant la fresque ancienne de la Sainte Vierge. Cette solution s’avéra difficile à mettre en œuvre et en 1660, la construction de l’oratoire que l’on peut visiter aujourd’hui fut décidée. 

Colline et château de Mattarella (Il Colle e il Castello di Mattarella)

La colline de Mattarella, au sud de Domodossola, se dresse à 413 mètres d’altitude dans la plaine du val d’Ossola. D’en haut, on profite d’une superbe vue sur Domodossola et les montagnes qui ceignent la ville et le val d’Ossola. La colline, habitée depuis l’Antiquité, doit probablement son nom à un site païen pour les matrones, qui fut plus tard remplacé par une église dédiée à la Vierge Marie. 

La colline de Mattarella subit une occupation militaire au VIIe siècle et abrita un vaste château attaqué et détruit à plusieurs reprises au fil des siècles. En 1014, l’empereur Henri II céda le château à l’église de Novara et l’évêque de Novara y transféra son palais et sa curie. En 1312, les Visconti arrivèrent au pouvoir dans le Val d’Ossola: le château de Mattarella devint lui aussi la propriété du duché de Milan. Il conserva ses fonctions, notamment militaires, jusqu’en 1415, lorsque les Suisses, qui voulaient conquérir le Val d’Ossola, franchirent les cols alpins, le rasèrent presque complètement et détruisirent le palais épiscopal, l’enceinte et les tours principales. Suite à ces événements dramatiques, seuls quelques vestiges de l’ancienne forteresse, dominés par la tour au sommet de la montagne, sont encore visibles. La longue courtine est également bien préservée. Malheureusement, il ne subsiste aujourd’hui plus que quelques fondations du reste du château, principalement des tours massives de l’entrée.

Météo & webcam Aujourd’hui: beau temps 6/19°

Jour Météo Température
Aujourd’hui beau temps 6/19°
Demain averses éparses 5/12°
Mercredi averses éparses 4/9°
Jeudi averses éparses 1/8°
0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

    Aucun commentaire 0 sur 5 étoiles

    Évaluer
    D'autres évaluation

    Situation

    Planifier mon trajet
    Offres similaires
    Nature et randonnée
    Lauchernalp Aussichtpunkt über dem Nebel
    Lauchernalp: point de vue au-dessus du brouillard
    découvrir
    Nature et randonnée
    Winterwandern am Niederhorn: Eine Gruppe wandernt dem Grat des Niederhorns entlang.
    Randonnée hivernale Niederhorn–Hohwald–Waldegg
    Vivre
    Nature et randonnée
    Winterwanderparadies Lenk
    Lenk, paradis des randonneurs
    découvrir
    Nature et randonnée
    Belalp: Beim Schneeschuhlaufen den wunderbaren Blick auf die Walliser Alpen geniessen.
    Belalp, le bon plan
    découvrir
    Offres à proximité
    Culture & connaissance
    Stadtführung Domodossola & Sacro Monte Calvario
    Domodossola et le Sacro Monte Calvario
    Découvrir
    Sur les rails
    Centovalli Vigezzina no limits
    Vigezzina No Limits
    Découvrir
    Sur les rails
    Centovalli - Il Treno del foliage
    Centovalli et le val Vigezzo
    Découvrir
    Salons & fêtes populaires
    Domodossola lockt jeden Samstag viele Ausflügler an seinen bekannten und beliebten Markt.
    Marché de Domodossola
    visiter
    Newsletter