Hiking & nature

Sacro Monte Calvario in Domodossola

Wander between nature and spirituality, enjoying a little Italian atmosphere along the way

Sacro Monte Calvario in Domodossola is one of the sites with the greatest religious, historic and scenic significance in the Piedmont region. The Sacri Monti (Holy Mountains) complex in the Alpine region, made a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2003, is of great cultural interest, as well as being a place for peace, prayer and meditation.

  • Coronavirus notice Please take note of the protection plan and any restrictions set by the provider.

Sacro Monte Calvario

Building work began in 1656 on the Colle di Mattarella hill, which still looks down on the city of Domodossola today. The main objective was to build a "processional path" on its slopes, a kind of "way of the cross" leading to a pilgrimage church, in which all believers would be welcome.

The impressive, atmospheric path is accessible on foot to this day, and starts in the centre of Domodossola, where, in 1658, the great Arco di Pilato (Pilatus Arch) was constructed, only to be demolished in 1875. You reach the top of the hill on a paved road through the middle of lush woodland. As you climb, you pass various stations that are organised architecturally in a progression of 15 chapels.

In 1828, the works and spirituality of the Sacro Monte Calvario received another boost thanks to the arrival of the theologian and philosopher Antonio Rosmini. The mother house of the Rosminians was built on the summit. It is still of fundamental significance to the Rosminians today, the structure being the domicile of the postulate and the international novitiate, as well as, most importantly, serving as an important spiritual centre. You can still visit Antonio Rosmini's cell in the Sacro Monte complex. 

The special Sacro Monte Calvario di Domodossola nature reserve was set up in 1991 in order to protect the immense artistic, historic, architectural and scenic heritage of Sacro Monte. The medieval castle of Mattarella, the convent of the Rosminians, the oratorio of the Madonna delle Grazie, Santissimo Crocefisso pilgrimage church and the 15 chapels of the way of the cross are all deemed part of the complex. 

In 2003, the UNESCO Committee entered 24 new places onto its list of World Heritage sites, including the Sacri Monti del Piemonte e della Lombardia, to which the Sacro Monte Calvario in Domodossola belongs. A visit to this place of such significance to the entire Ossola valley is essential. Faith, nature and art are housed in this precious shrine, which is just a stone's throw from the centre of Domodossola. 

Wanderweg

Duration

From 09.30 to approx. 18.00 hours. Please be at the meeting point by 09.20 hours.

Meeting point

Starting point of the tour at the FS Railway Station in Domodossola (people with limited mobility have the option of taking private transport to the Sacro Monte – please book this option when making your reservation).

Minimum number of participants

6 to 10 people

Minors

Children and young people under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or guardian.

Difficulty level of the tour

easy

Difference in altitude

Around 240 metres

Equipment

Sturdy shoes are mandatory, sandals or similar shoes are not allowed. We recommend wearing hiking / mountain boots with a strongly profiled sole.

Cancellations

The tour generally takes place regardless of the weather. In case the tour is cancelled owing to poor weather, participants will be offered an alternative date or be given a refund of the full booking price.

Opening hours Today (Monday) open

The pilgrims' way is accessible on foot all year round.

Sights and attractions

Pilgrimage Church of the Holy Cross (Santuario del Santissimo Crocifisso)

Shaped like an elongated octagon, the Santissimo Crocifisso pilgrimage church stands proud on the Sacro Monte Calvario rock in Domodossola, building work having started on it in 1657. In 1672, the dome with its lantern was constructed to be joined, in 1686, by the atrium protruding from the façade. The latter consists of a barrel vault and is supported by pillars and stone columns made of local serpentine stone. The vault contains paintings of angels with the Instruments of the Passion by Giovanni di Sampietro. Both the design and construction of the pilgrimage church are attributed to Tommaso Lazzaro, who was also entrusted with the construction of other religious structures in the Ossola valley. Apart from the gate and two small devotional windows, the façade lacks other openings: on entering the pilgrimage church, you notice immediately that most of the light comes from the dome, creating an atmosphere of profound devotion.

Botanic garden (Orto botanico)

The friars who lived on the Sacro Monte in Domodossola also owned land around the architectural complex, which was used for agricultural and horticultural purposes, including flower gardens. In terms of agriculture and horticulture, they primarily grew vines, fruit, forage crops and market garden produce. The Botanic Garden of Sacro Monte Calvario in Domodossola has a network of paths enabling you to view it: the individual plants are displayed according to a specific scientific system, which adds great botanic interest as you walk around. 
The Botanic Garden of Sacro Monte Calvario is ideal for the cultivation of traditional crops and medicinal plants, including historically proven varieties from the gardens of the Ossola valley and others with symbolic/religious characteristics. The selection of this location reminds you of the hortus conclusus, the ancient walled vegetable gardens found at some religious sites. 

Oratory of Mary Full of Grace (Oratorio della Madonna delle Grazie)

Outside the walls of the old castle of Mattarella, a chapel rose up alongside the mule-trail leading up the mountain, which was decorated by an unknown artist towards the end of the 16th century with a fresco depicting the Virgin Mary and Child. The chapel was devoted to Mary Full of Grace. Built in 1658, a small devotional chapel with a vault and stone floor at the end of the climb recalls her memory. In the same year, the bishop wanted to attach it to the Sacro Monte Calvario in Domodossola and later ordered its expansion, whilst preserving the ancient likeness of the Blessed Virgin. This solution proved difficult and in 1660 it was decided to build the oratory, which can be visited today. 

The hill and Mattarella Castle (Il Colle e il Castello di Mattarella)

The hill of Mattarella to the south of Domodossola rises up to a height of 413 metres from the Ossola valley. The hill gives you magnificent views of Domodossola and the mountains surrounding the city in the Ossola valley. The hill, which was inhabited in ancient times, presumably got its name from a pagan site for older married women, in place of which a church dedicated to the Virgin Mary was erected at a later time. 

The hill of Mattarella was occupied by military forces in the 7th century and was the site of a vast castle, which came under attack many times and was destroyed in the course of the centuries. In 1014, Kaiser Heinrich II gave the castle to the church in Novara, and then the Bishop of Novara and relocated his palace and the Curia there. In 1312, the Viscontis came into power in the Ossola valley: Mattarella Castle also passed into the ownership of the Duchy of Milan and maintained its functions, especially military ones, until 1415, when the Swiss came through the Alpine passes with the aim of capturing the Ossola valley, tearing it down almost entirely and simultaneously destroying the Bishop's Palace, enclosures and most important towers. After these dramatic events, there are only a few traces of the old stronghold visible nowadays: the tower on the mountain summit grandly rises up above it. The long curtain wall is also well preserved. Sadly, all that is left of the castle and the once sturdy towers at the entrance are a few foundations.

Anreise

With the RegioExpress Lötschberger you travel comfortably and without changing trains from Bern to Domodossola.

Weather & webcam Today: light showers 10/20°

Today light showers 10/20°
Tomorrow fair weather 11/22°
Wednesday partly cloudy 10/22°
Thursday fair weather 11/22°

1 review 5 of 5 stars

Rate
Additional ratings

Location

Tickets & Timetable
Similar offers
Hiking & nature
Entdecken Sie auf der Rundwanderung über den Chapf die ursprüngliche Landschaft des Emmentals mit «Eggen» und «Chrächen», Hügeln und «Gräben», gedeckten Holzbrücken und behaglichen Bauernhäusern.
Circular walk over the Chapf
Experience
Hiking & nature
Mit dem BLS Wanderbus durch das idyllische Trub.
On the route of the Napf Marathon to the Napf
Discover
Hiking & nature
Eine Gruppe wandert in der Napfregion über saftige Wiesen und idyllische Hügel.
Circular walk on Mt. Napf starting from Luthern Bad
Discover
Hiking & nature
Wandern im Emmental - zur hügligen Natersalp.
Vom Emmental in die Region Thunersee
Entdecken
Offers nearby
Railway adventures
Treno CentovallinaI ntraga © Marcus Gyger
Discover the Centovalli and Valle Vigezzo by train
Discover
Bikes & e-bikes
Fahrradtouren am Toce 3
Ciclovia del Toce – cycling in the Ossola Valley
Discover
Trade fairs & festivals
Ein junges Paar verhandelt mit dem Verkäufer über den Preis der Antipasti.
Market in Domodossola
Visit
Hiking & nature
Wanderung Via Stockalper unterwegs
Wanderung ViaStockalper Val Divedro
Entdecken
Newsletter
Download PDF
0 of 0 Media files

Nature et randonnée

Sacro Monte Calvario à Domodossola

Randonner entre nature et spiritualité tout en savourant le charme de l’Italie

Le Sacro Monte Calvario à Domodossola est un site touristique majeur du Piémont sur les plans religieux, historique et paysager. Inscrit au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO en 2003, l’ensemble des Sacri Monti (monts sacrés) de la région alpine présente un grand intérêt culturel et constitue un lieu de paix, de prière et de méditation.

Sacro Monte Calvario

Construit en 1656 sur la colline Colle di Mattarella, il surplombe aujourd’hui encore la ville de Domodossola. L’objectif principal était de créer sur les pentes du mont un «chemin de procession», un chemin de croix menant à une église de pèlerinage ouverte à tous les fidèles.

Ce remarquable chemin chargé d’histoire est toujours accessible. Son point de départ, au centre de Domodossola, était autrefois signalé par le grand Arco di Pilato (arc de Pilate), construit en 1658 mais détruit en 1875. On rejoint le sommet de la colline par une route pavée à travers la forêt luxuriante. Le parcours est jalonné de stations architecturalement organisées en une succession de quinze chapelles.

En 1828, l’arrivée du théologien et philosophe Antonio Rosmini a donné un nouvel élan aux travaux et à la spiritualité du Sacro Monte Calvario, avec la construction de la maison mère de l’ordre des Rosminiens sur la place du sommet. La bâtisse conserve aujourd’hui encore une importance fondamentale pour les Rosminiens: elle est à la fois le siège du postulat, la maison internationale du noviciat et un centre spirituel majeur. Il est toujours possible de visiter la cellule d’Antonio Rosmini dans le complexe du Sacro Monte.

En 1991, la réserve naturelle spéciale du Sacro Monte Calvario di Domodossola a été instituée afin de protéger l’immense patrimoine artistique, historique, architectural et paysager du Sacro Monte. Le château médiéval de Mattarella, le couvent des Rosminiens, l’oratoire de la Madonna delle Grazie, le sanctuaire del Santissimo Crocifisso et les quinze chapelles du chemin de croix font partie du complexe.

En 2003, le Comité de l’UNESCO a ajouté 24 nouveaux sites à la Liste du patrimoine mondial, parmi lesquels les Sacri Monti del Piemonte e della Lombardia, dont fait partie le Sacro Monte Calvario à Domodossola. La visite de ce haut lieu du val d’Ossola est incontournable. La foi, la nature et l’art y sont préservés dans un somptueux sanctuaire, à deux pas du centre de Domodossola.

Wanderweg

Durée

De 9h30 à env. 18h00. Veuillez arriver au point de rendez-vous vers 9h20.

Point de rencontre

Point de départ de la visite à la gare FS de Domodossola (pour les personnes à mobilité réduite, possibilité de se rendre au Sacro Monte en transport privé: veuillez demander cette option dès votre réservation).

Nombre minimum de participants

6-10 personnes

Mineurs

Les enfants et les adolescents de moins de 18 ans doivent être accompagnés d’un adulte.

Niveau de difficulté de la randonnée

facile

Dénivelé

240 mètres environ

Équipement

Des chaussures robustes sont obligatoires. Les chaussures de type sandales ne sont pas autorisées. Il est recommandé de porter des chaussures de randonnée/montagne avec des semelles bien crantées.

Annulation

En général, les conditions météo n’ont pas d’influence sur l’itinéraire. En cas d’annulation de la visite pour cause de mauvais temps, les participants se verront proposer une date de remplacement ou le remboursement intégral du prix de la réservation.

Horaires d’ouverture Aujourd’hui (Lundi) ouvert

Le chemin de pèlerinage est accessible toute l’année.

Aperçus et curiosités

Sanctuaire du Saint-Crucifix (Santuario del Santissimo Crocifisso)

La construction de l’église de pèlerinage del Santissimo Crocifisso en forme d’octogone allongé, qui s’élève sur le rocher du Sacro Monte Calvario à Domodossola, a débuté en 1657. La coupole avec sa lanterne a été érigée en 1672 et l’entrée en saillie de la façade, en 1686. Cette dernière est constituée d’une voûte en berceau et repose sur des piliers et des colonnes en roche de serpentine locale. La voûte s’orne de plusieurs anges avec les instruments de la Passion, peints par Giovanni di Sampietro. La conception et la construction du sanctuaire sont attribuées à Tommaso Lazzaro, qui fut également chargé de la construction d’autres édifices religieux dans le val d’Ossola. La façade ne comporte pas d’autres ouvertures que la porte et deux petites fenêtres de dévotion. Lorsque l’on pénètre dans le sanctuaire, on se rend immédiatement compte que l’essentiel de la lumière provient de la coupole, ce qui crée une atmosphère propice au recueillement.

Jardin botanique (Orto botanico)

Les religieux qui vivaient sur le Sacro Monte à Domodossola possédaient également autour de l’ensemble architectural des terres consacrées aux cultures (principalement vignes, fruits, fourrage et horticulture) et aux jardins d’ornement. Le jardin botanique du Sacro Monte Calvario à Domodossola est sillonné de sentiers qui permettent une visite structurée: chaque plante est identifiée selon une méthode scientifique précise, ce qui confère un grand intérêt botanique à l’itinéraire. 
Le jardin botanique du Sacro Monte Calvario est adapté aux cultures traditionnelles et aux plantes médicinales, parmi lesquelles des variétés historiquement documentées des jardins du val d’Ossola et d’autres au caractère religieux symbolique. L’emplacement choisi évoque l’hortus conclusus, le potager des sites religieux de l’Antiquité. 

Oratoire de Sainte Marie des Grâces (Oratorio della Madonna delle Grazie)

À l’extérieur, le long des murs de l’ancien château de Mattarella, du côté du sentier muletier menant à la montagne, s’élevait une chapelle décorée à la fin du XVIe siècle par un peintre inconnu d’une fresque représentant la Vierge Marie tenant l’enfant Jésus dans ses bras. La chapelle était dédiée à Sainte Marie des Grâces. En 1658, une petite chapelle avec voûte et sol en pierre fut construite au sommet pour rappeler son existence. La même année, l’évêque souhaita l’intégrer à l’ensemble du Sacro Monte Calvario à Domodossola et ordonna par la suite qu’elle soit agrandie, tout en préservant la fresque ancienne de la Sainte Vierge. Cette solution s’avéra difficile à mettre en œuvre et en 1660, la construction de l’oratoire que l’on peut visiter aujourd’hui fut décidée. 

Colline et château de Mattarella (Il Colle e il Castello di Mattarella)

La colline de Mattarella, au sud de Domodossola, se dresse à 413 mètres d’altitude dans la plaine du val d’Ossola. D’en haut, on profite d’une superbe vue sur Domodossola et les montagnes qui ceignent la ville et le val d’Ossola. La colline, habitée depuis l’Antiquité, doit probablement son nom à un site païen pour les matrones, qui fut plus tard remplacé par une église dédiée à la Vierge Marie. 

La colline de Mattarella subit une occupation militaire au VIIe siècle et abrita un vaste château attaqué et détruit à plusieurs reprises au fil des siècles. En 1014, l’empereur Henri II céda le château à l’église de Novara et l’évêque de Novara y transféra son palais et sa curie. En 1312, les Visconti arrivèrent au pouvoir dans le Val d’Ossola: le château de Mattarella devint lui aussi la propriété du duché de Milan. Il conserva ses fonctions, notamment militaires, jusqu’en 1415, lorsque les Suisses, qui voulaient conquérir le Val d’Ossola, franchirent les cols alpins, le rasèrent presque complètement et détruisirent le palais épiscopal, l’enceinte et les tours principales. Suite à ces événements dramatiques, seuls quelques vestiges de l’ancienne forteresse, dominés par la tour au sommet de la montagne, sont encore visibles. La longue courtine est également bien préservée. Malheureusement, il ne subsiste aujourd’hui plus que quelques fondations du reste du château, principalement des tours massives de l’entrée.

Anreise

Avec le RegioExpress Lötschberger, vous voyagez confortablement et sans changement de train de Berne à Domodossola.

Météo & webcam Aujourd’hui: assez ensoleillé 5/15°

Aujourd’hui assez ensoleillé 5/15°
Demain beau temps 5/16°
Mercredi bien ensoleillé 4/16°
Jeudi bien ensoleillé 4/17°

1 commentaire 5 sur 5 étoiles

Évaluer
D'autres évaluation

Situation

Billets & Horaire
Offres similaires
Nature et randonnée
Der BLS Wanderbus fährt durch das schöne Emmental.
Une randonnée sur les hauteurs du vallon de Hornbachgraben
découvrir
Nature et randonnée
Entdecken Sie auf der Rundwanderung über den Chapf die ursprüngliche Landschaft des Emmentals mit «Eggen» und «Chrächen», Hügeln und «Gräben», gedeckten Holzbrücken und behaglichen Bauernhäusern.
Circuit de randonnée via Chapf
Découvrir
Nature et randonnée
Schönes Panorama auf der Fahrt mit dem BLS Wanderbus zur Lüdernalp.
Napf et son chemin panorama alpin
découvrir
Nature et randonnée
Wanderbus Lueg Bus 468
De Berthoud au Lueg
Découvrir
Offres à proximité
Sur les rails
Treno CentovallinaI ntraga © Marcus Gyger
Découvrez les Centovalli et la Valle Vigezzo en train
Découvrir
Vélos & vélos électriques
Fahrradtouren am Toce 3
Ciclovia del Toce, découvrez le val d’Ossola en VTT
Découvrir
Salons & fêtes populaires
Ein junges Paar verhandelt mit dem Verkäufer über den Preis der Antipasti.
Marché de Domodossola
visiter
Nature et randonnée
Wanderung Via Stockalper unterwegs
Wanderung ViaStockalper Val Divedro
Entdecken
Newsletter
PDF herunterladen
0 de 0 Fichiers de médias