Trade fairs & festivals

Market in Domodossola

The RegioExpress takes visitors from Bern to Domodossola every two hours.

A popular market, great excursion opportunities, delicious pasta, sweet desserts and exquisite wine – thanks to a two-hourly service, the dolce vita is now within closer reach from German-speaking Switzerland than ever. Domodossola attracts crowds of travellers, especially on Saturdays, thanks to its famous and popular market.

Opening hours Tomorrow Saturday open

Opening times for the market in Domodossola

Saturdays from 08.30 to 14.30 hours

How to get there

With the RegioExpress Bern – Spiez – Kandersteg – Brig – Domodossola you travel comfortably from Bern direct to Domodossola. You reach the market within only a few minutes of walking from the station.

Notes

The fertile Piedmont region in north-west Italy produces world-famous wines, is home to one of Europe’s most important rice-growing areas in the Province of Vercelli and is known for its white truffles from Alba, hazelnuts from Cortemilia, gorgonzola cheese from Novara and mushrooms from the Susa Valley.

Anyone ambling through the narrow streets of the old town in the former provincial capital will soon discover that it has had an eventful history. In recent years, the region around Domodossola has developed into a popular holiday destination and makes the perfect starting point for a variety of excursions or simply for indulging in a bit of dolce far niente.

Culture in Domodossola

From the lively atmosphere in the narrow streets of the old town, it is only a few steps to the cooling calm: through the ornate archway of black and white stones we enter the Palazzo San Francesco. The striking building tells a long story: built around 1300 as a church for Franciscan monks, it was converted into a manor house after the opening up of the Simplon Pass at the beginning of the 19th century by Napoleon. Today the room on the first floor serves as a museum of modern art. In total, the Ossola Valley includes 22 museums, only four of which are located in Domodossola.

Sacro Monte Calvario, a UNESCO World Heritage site: a pilgrimage up the Mattarella Hill

Starting from Domodossola Station, this easy walk (40 minutes) takes you along a pilgrimage route through a special nature reserve and up the Mattarella Hill. The nature reserve offers unspoilt natural surroundings, unique flora and fauna and various ruins of castles and early Christian buildings. 15 chapels line the pilgrims’ path, which has been awarded UNESCO World Heritage status. Inside the chapels, you can admire the groups of life-size figures of Christ and paintings by numerous well-known artists. Or let your gaze wander right across the Alpine landscape that surrounds Domodossola from the viewpoint in the park on the sacred hill.

Importing goods to Switzerland

Please observe the customs regulations for rail transport and the information regarding duty-free quantities/allowances.

4 reviews 5 of 5 stars

Rate
Additional ratings

Location

Tickets & timetable
Similar offers
Offers nearby
Railway adventures
Centovalli - Il Treno del foliage
Discover the Centovalli and Valle Vigezzo by train
Discover
Hiking & nature
Domodossola - Monte Calvario - Pilgerweg
Sacro Monte Calvario in Domodossola
Discover
BLS car transport service
Skigebiet Hannig, Saas-Fee
BLS car transport service
discover
Hiking & nature
Bire Mandli
Experience World Heritage along the Lötschberg south ramp
Entdecken
Newsletter
Download PDF
0 of 0 Media files

Salons & fêtes populaires

Marché de Domodossola

Le RegioExpress emmène les visiteurs toutes les deux heures de Berne à Domodossola.

Découvrez un marché populaire, de nombreuses possibilités d’excursion, de délicieuses spécialités de pâtes, de succulents desserts, du bon vin… La Suisse alémanique n’a jamais été aussi proche de la dolce vita. Chaque samedi en particulier, Domodossola attire de nombreux excursionnistes sur la place de son marché aussi réputé qu’il est apprécié.

Profiter: Domodossola-Hit

Aller-retour à Domodossola à partir de CHF 29.00

Voyagez confortablement à bord du BLS RegioExpress de Bern ou Thun/Spiez à Domodossola et profitez de jusqu'à 50% de réduction grâce à notre offre économique «Domodossola-Hit». Le billet spécial est valable du 2 avril au 9 juin 2024 uniquement à bord du BLS RegioExpress sur le tronçon de montagne.

Horaires d’ouverture Disponible le 01.06.2024

Horaires d’ouverture du marché de Domodossola

Le samedi de 8h30 à 14h30

Comment s'y rendre

Avec le RegioExpress Bern – Spiez – Kandersteg – Brig – Domodossola, vous voyagez confortablement de Berne direct  à Domodossola. Le marché est à quelques minutes à pied de la gare.

Informations complémentaires

Située au nord-ouest de l’Italie, la fertile région du Piémont est réputée pour ses vins, ses rizières de la province de Vercelli (parmi les plus importantes d’Europe), sa truffe blanche d’Alba, ses noisettes de Cortemilia, son gorgonzola de Novara ou encore ses champignons de la vallée de Suse.

En flânant dans les ruelles de la vieille ville, on remarque rapidement que l’ancienne capitale de la province porte l’empreinte d’une histoire mouvementée. La région de Domodossola est aujourd’hui une destination prisée des touristes. Elle constitue un point de départ idéal pour de nombreuses excursions mais on peut également s’y adonner au farniente.

Culture à Domodossola

Quelques pas suffisent pour passer de l’animation des ruelles de la vieille ville à un calme rafraîchissant: nous franchissons l’élégante arche en pierre noire et blanche et pénétrons dans le Palazzo San Francesco. Ce remarquable bâtiment témoigne d’une longue histoire: construit aux alentours de 1300 en tant qu’église des moines franciscains, il a été transformé en maison de maître par Napoléon au début du XIXe siècle, après l’ouverture de la route du col du Simplon.  Aujourd’hui, l’espace du rez-de-chaussée sert de musée d’art moderne. Le val d’Ossola compte 22 musées, dont quatre seulement à Domodossola.

Sacro Monte Calvario, classé au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO Pèlerinage sur le mont Mattarella

La randonnée simple (40 minutes) part de la gare de Domodossola, longe le chemin de pèlerinage dans une zone naturelle protégée, et s’achève sur le col de Mattarella. Dans cette zone naturelle protégée, vous découvrirez une nature préservée, une faune et une flore unique, les ruines de plusieurs châteaux et édifices paléochrétiens. Quinze chapelles jalonnent ce pèlerinage, inscrit au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO. Elles renferment des statues grandeur nature et des peintures réalisées par de nombreux artistes connus. Sur le belvédère situé dans le parc du mont saint, vous pouvez promener votre regard sur toute la chaîne alpine autour de Domodossola.

Importation de marchandises en Suisse

Veuillez tenir compte des dispositions douanières dans le trafic ferroviaire, ainsi que des informations sur les franchises quantitatives et la franchise-valeur.

4 commentaires 5 sur 5 étoiles

Évaluer
D'autres évaluation

Situation

Billets & horaire
Offres similaires
Offres à proximité
Nature et randonnée
Wanderung Via Stockalper unterwegs
Randonnée ViaStockalper Val Divedro
Entdecken
Sur les rails
Intragna Centovalli Alessio Pizzi
Découvrez les Centovalli et la Valle Vigezzo en train
Découvrir
Nature et randonnée
Domodossola - Monte Calvario - Pilgerweg
Sacro Monte Calvario à Domodossola
découvrir
Nature et randonnée
Valle-Vigezzo
Randonnée dans le Piémont
Découvrir
Newsletter
PDF herunterladen
0 de 0 Fichiers de médias