Railway adventures

Centovalli and Valle Vigezzo

A fascinating panoramic journey at any time of year

Enjoy a breath-taking scenic journey of discovery through 100 valleys and Valle Vigezzo. The train ride from Domodossola to Locarno is like something from the pages of a beautiful picture book: every moment is a new discovery. Nature offers a series of breath-taking views here – enjoy her fascinating creations, as well as the 83 bridges and viaducts.

It's worth stopping for. Visit the chimney sweep museum, the perfume shop and the Praudina adventure park in Santa Maria Maggiore, the pilgrimage church in Re or the museum with the highest bell tower in Ticino in Intragna.

Railway line

Nearly 100 years old, the Vigezzina-Centovalli Railway is a panoramic, narrow-gauge railway line connecting Domodossola and Locarno. The line is 52 km long and includes 83 bridges and 31 tunnels. Today, it is one of the major attractions of the Ossola Valley. Nestled amidst the pristine landscape, it offers passengers a leisurely and exciting journey between Valle Vigezzo and Centovalli, between Italy and Switzerland.

Route and journey time

Route Domodossola–Valle Ossola–Valle Vigezzo–Centovalli–Lago Maggiore–Locarno
Distance 52 km
Travel time 1 hour 54 minutes

Free audio guide

Follow your journey on the map. Discover all the details, curiosities and interesting information along the entire railway line.

What do you require for this? Your smartphone and earphones. With no additional data charges.

Highlights

Get off at any station of your choice along the way and visit one of the historical villages, enjoy a walk through the beautiful landscape or savour the authentic cuisine at a typical osteria.

Domodossola

Domodossola is the starting point for your journey and a town with medieval charm. It lies at the foot of the Ossola Valley, is bisected by the River Toce and enchants visitors with its romantic squares and narrow alleyways. Before you continue your journey with the Vigezzina-Centovalli Railway, you can enjoy a cappuccino on the piazza (square) or visit the vibrant weekly market in the historic centre on a Saturday.

Santa Maria Maggiore

A charming village with an enchanting centre, a piazza and streets with colourful house façades. This little settlement is home to three highly interesting museums dedicated to local history and ancient traditions. The Chimney Sweep Museum, the Casa del Profumo (House of Perfume) and the pinacoteca of the Scuola di Belle Arti Rossetti Valentini.

Re

The village of Re is famed for its impressive pilgrimage church of the Madonna del Sangue, which towers high above the plain. The legend goes that in 1494, a little fresco of the “Madonna del latte” was struck by a stone and began to bleed. This resulted in the veneration of the wounded Madonna, whose image is today located in the cathedral of Santa Croce.

Intragna

Intragna, the gateway to the Centovalli, is a small Ticino village with narrow alleyways, typical stone houses and historic palazzi. At 65 metres in height, the belfry – which is part of the San Gottardo church – is the tallest in the entire canton. If you climb the 165 steps to the top, you will be rewarded with a fantastic panoramic view of the Centovalli, the Terre di Pedemonte and the Onsernone Valley. 

Locarno

This is the end-point of your journey on the Vigezzina-Centovalli Railway. Locarno, the cinematic town by Lake Maggiore, offers experiences to suit every taste. Here you will find interesting museums and tranquil parks. Surrounded by mountains, this beautiful little town offers breath-taking views at any time of day..

Madonna del Sasso

The pilgrimage church of Madonna del Sasso was founded here in 1487 by the Franciscan friar Frá Bartolomeo, after, according to legend, the Virgin Mary appeared to him. Popular belief led to the construction of the first chapel. In the following centuries, the idea of erecting a place of pilgrimage started to form, a religious architectural form very common in the lake region: a complex of churches and chapels along a penitential trail, nestled in the beautiful and solitary nature. The architectural complex includes the Basilica and the Franciscan Monastery standing high on the rock, the Church of the Annunciation, the Way of the Cross and other chapels.

The cable car is closed in November for maintenance.

Museo Casa del Padre

The museum is located in the oldest part of the monastery and occupies the original rooms where the first four monks lived, including the refectory with its magnificent fresco of the Last Supper. The eight exhibition rooms tell of the monastic life of the Capuchin fathers, as well as the history of the monastery in connection with the pilgrimage sites in the foothills of the Alps. Also on display are paraments and cult objects, as well as drawings and paintings by the Ticino painter Antonio Ciseri (1821-1891).

Availability Today (Tuesday) open

The ride from Domodossola to Locarno takes about 2 hours.

Timetable recommendation

Domodossola dep. 10.26
Masera dep. 10.34
Trontano dep. 10.45
Druogno dep. 11.07
S. Maria Maggiore dep. 11.12
Maleso dep. 11.18
Re dep. 11.24
Camedo arr. (only for disembarking) 11.40
Intragna arr. (only for disembarking) 11.58
Ponte Brolla arr.(only for disembarking, stopping on demand) 12.08
Locarno S. Antonio arr. 12.14
Locarno FART arr. 12.20

Train from Domodossola 10.25

  • All stops from Masera to Re are on request
  • Camedo without restriction (for embarking and disembarking)

Important notice: Works to adapt the stations of the Vigezzina-Centovalli Railway to LDis (Law for the Disabled). The works will last until 2023. We recommend you to consult the online timetable before traveling (FSS app or Arcobaleno).

BLS suggestion

Take the opportunity to experience a journey in the atmosphere of times gone by on board the historic train consisting of an electric multiple unit ABDe 6/6 built in 1963 and two AB4 coaches built in 1923. A plunge into the past during the journey between Locarno and Camedo.

How to get there

With the RegioExpress Bern – Spiez – Kandersteg – Brig – Domodossola you travel comfortably from Bern direct to Domodossola. From Domodossola Railway Station, it’s an approximately 8-minute walk to the departure point of the Vigezzina-Centovalli Railway. For the return journey, we recommend the shorter route via the Gotthard line.

Notes

Seat reservations

Seat reservations are compulsory. You can make your reservation at your local BLS Travel Centre or online using the following link:

Luggage drop-off

You can drop off your luggage at your local BLS Travel Centre up until 19.00 hours and collect it from 09.00 hours two days later – please note the opening times.

No reviews 0 of 5 stars

Rate
Additional ratings

Location

Tickets & Timetable
Similar offers
Railway adventures
MIKA unterwegs im Kandertal
Rail round trip Lötschberg and GoldenPass
Experience
Railway adventures
Loetschberger Kambly Winter
Kambly round trip
benefit
Railway adventures
Herkömmliche Käseherstellung im Restaurant Le Chalet
GoldenPass Cheese Train Montreux–Château-d’Œx
Discover
Railway adventures
Freizeitpfad Langnau Familie
Interaktiver Dorfrundgang durch Langnau i. E.
Erleben
Offers nearby
Hiking & nature
Domodossola - Monte Calvario - Pilgerweg
Sacro Monte Calvario in Domodossola
Discover
Hiking & nature
Wanderung Via Stockalper unterwegs
ViaStockalper Val Divedro hike
Entdecken
Trade fairs & festivals
Domodossola lockt jeden Samstag viele Ausflügler an seinen bekannten und beliebten Markt.
Market in Domodossola
Visit
BLS car transport service
Skigebiet Hannig, Saas-Fee
BLS car transport service
discover
Newsletter
Download PDF
0 of 0 Media files

Sur les rails

Centovalli et le val Vigezzo

Un trajet panoramique fascinant en toute saison

Le train est le moyen de transport idéal pour effectuer un voyage spectaculaire et époustouflant à la découverte des 100 vallées et notamment le val Vigezzo. Le trajet en train de Domodossola à Locarno donne l’impression de feuilleter un livre superbement illustré: chaque instant est un ravissement. Le paysage offre une succession de vues à couper le souffle: admirez les merveilles de la nature et les 83 ponts et viaducs.

Ça vaut le coup de s'arrêter. Visitez le musée du ramoneur, la parfumerie et le parc d'aventure Praudina à Santa Maria Maggiore, l'église de pèlerinage à Re ou le musée avec le plus haut clocher du Tessin à Intragna.

Itinéraire en train

Le train Vigezzina-Centovalli est un train panoramique sur voie étroite qui relie Domodossola à Locarno depuis près d’un siècle. Long de 52 kilomètres, le tronçon passe par 83 ponts et 31 tunnels et compte parmi les attractions les plus représentatives de la vallée d’Ossola. Se fondant dans une nature authentique, il offre aux passagers un voyage passionnant à allure lente entre le val Vigezzo et les Centovalli, à cheval entre la Suisse et l’Italie.

Itinéraire et durée du voyage

Itinéraire Domodossola–Valle Ossola–Valle Vigezzo–Centovalli–Lago Maggiore–Locarno
Distance 52 km
Durée 1h 54min

Audioguide gratuit

Suivez votre voyage sur la carte. Découvrez tous les détails, curiosités et anecdotes intéressants tout au long du trajet.

Pour cela, il vous faut votre smartphone et des écouteurs. Sans frais de communication téléphonique supplémentaires.

Highlights

En cours de route, vous pouvez choisir de faire une halte pour visiter l’un des villages historiques, faire une balade dans un paysage de rêve ou savourer une cuisine authentique dans une osteria typique.

Domodossola

Point de départ de votre voyage, Domodossola est une ville au charme médiéval affirmé. Située au pied de la vallée d’Ossola, elle est parcourue par la rivière du Toce et vous enchantera avec ses piazzas romantiques et ruelles étroites. Avant de remonter à bord du train Vigezzina-Centovalli, profitez-en pour savourer un cappuccino ou vous rendre au marché, qui se tient le samedi dans la vieille ville.

Santa Maria Maggiore

Santa Maria Maggiore est un de ces lieux où le charme s’exprime pleinement, du centre du village à la piazza, en passant par les maisons aux façades colorées. Ce petit bourg accueille par ailleurs trois musées d’un intérêt indéniable, dédiés à l’histoire et aux traditions locales: le Musée du ramoneur, la Casa del Profumo (Maison du parfum) et la Pinacoteca della Scuola di Belle Arti Rossetti Valentini, la galerie d’art de l’École des Beaux-Arts.

Re

Le village de Re est connu pour son impressionnante église de pèlerinage, le sanctuaire de la Madonna del Sangue, qui trône en haut de la colline. Selon la légende, une petite fresque de la Vierge du lait s’est mise à saigner en 1494 après avoir été frappée par une pierre. Cet événement a donné lieu à la Dévotion de la Vierge blessée, dont l’effigie se trouve aujourd’hui dans la cathédrale de Santa Croce.

Intragna

Située au seuil des Centovalli, Intragna est un petit village tessinois traversé de petites ruelles, de maisons en pierre typiques et de palaces historiques. Son clocher coiffe l’église San Gottardo et, du haut de ses 65 mètres, c’est le plus haut de tout le canton. Au bout de ses 165 marches se trouve une vue panoramique époustouflante sur les Centovalli, les Terre di Pedemonte et le val Onsernone. 

Locarno

Locarno est le dernier arrêt du train Vigezzina-Centovalli. La ville du cinéma offre des expériences passionnantes pour tous les goûts, des musées aux parcs – sans oublier les rives du Lac Majeur. Nichée au cœur des montagnes, cette sublime destination donne à voir de splendides paysages à toute heure de la journée.

Madonna del Sasso

Le sanctuaire de Madonna del Sasso a été fondé en 1487 par le moine franciscain Frá Bartolomeo qui, selon la légende, y aurait vu apparaître la Vierge Marie. Cette croyance populaire a conduit à la construction d’une première chapelle. C’est au cours des siècles suivants qu’a mûri l’idée de bâtir ici un sanctuaire, type d’architecture religieuse très répandu dans cette région de lacs. Aujourd’hui, un complexe d’églises et de chapelles se dresse dans un cadre naturel aussi sublime que sauvage, le long d’un chemin de pèlerinage. L’ensemble comprend la basilique et le monastère franciscain, perchés sur un éperon rocheux, l’église de l’Annonciation, le chemin de croix et d’autres chapelles.

Le téléphérique est fermé en novembre pour des travaux de maintenance.

Museo Casa del Padre

Situé dans la partie la plus ancienne du monastère, le musée occupe les lieux où les quatre premiers moines ont vécu ainsi que le réfectoire, avec sa spectaculaire fresque de la Cène. Les huit salles d’exposition présentent la vie des frères capucins au monastère ainsi que les liens historiques entre le monastère et les lieux de pèlerinage de l’espace préalpin. On peut notamment y admirer des ornements sacerdotaux, des objets de culte, des dessins et des tableaux du peintre tessinois Antonio Ciseri (1821-1891).

Disponibilité Aujourd’hui (Dimanche) ouvert

Le trajet de Domodossola à Locarno dure environ 2 heures.

Horaires recommandés

Domodossola départ. 10.26
Masera départ. 10.34
Trontano départ. 10.45
Druogno départ. 11.07
S. Maria Maggiore départ. 11.12
Maleso départ. 11.18
Re départ. 11.24
Camedo arr. (uniquement pour descendre) 11.40
Intragna arr. (uniquement pour descendre) 11.58
Ponte Brolla arr. (uniquement pour descendre, arrêt sur demande) 12.08
Locarno S. Antonio arr. 12.14
Locarno FART arr. 12.20

Train de Domodossola 10.25

  • Tous les arrêts de Masera à Re sont sur demande
  • Camedo sans restriction (pour entrer et descendre)

Remarque importante : Travaux de mise en conformité des gares du chemin de fer Vigezzina-Centovalli avec la LDis (loi sur les personnes handicapées). Les travaux dureront jusqu'en 2023. Nous vous recommandons de consulter l'horaire en ligne avant de vous déplacer (application FSS ou Arcobaleno).

Bon plan BLS

Profitez de l'occasion pour vivre un voyage dans une atmosphère d'antan à bord du train historique composé d'une automotrice électrique ABDe 6/6 datant de 1963 et de deux voitures AB4 datant de 1923. Une immersion dans le passé lors du voyage entre Locarno et Camedo.

Comment s'y rendre

Avec le RegioExpress Bern – Spiez – Kandersteg – Brig – Domodossola, vous voyagez confortablement de Berne direct  à Domodossola. Depuis la gare de Domodossola, vous avez env. 8 minutes de marche jusqu’à la gare de départ du train Vigezzina-Centovalli. Pour le retour, nous vous recommandons d’effectuer le trajet via la ligne du Gothard, qui est plus court.

Informations complémentaire

Réservation de places assises

La réservation de places assises est obligatoire. Vous pouvez le faire dans votre centre de voyages BLS ou en ligne, en cliquant sur le lien suivant:

Dépôt de bagages

Vous pouvez déposer vos bagages jusqu’à 19 heures dans votre centre de voyages BLS et les récupérer le jour suivant à partir de 9 heures – en veillant aux horaires d’ouverture.

Aucun commentaire 0 sur 5 étoiles

Évaluer
D'autres évaluation

Situation

Billets & horaire
Offres similaires
Sur les rails
RegioExpress Loetschberger Kambly Zug
Circuit Kambly
profiter
Sur les rails
Freizeitpfad Emme Aussicht
Interaktives Outdoor-Erlebnis entlang der Emme
Erleben
Öffentliche Führung
Nothaltestelle Ferden
Nothaltestelle Ferden 01. mai 2024
Besuchen
Sur les rails
Freizeitpfad Langnau Familie
Interaktiver Dorfrundgang durch Langnau i. E.
Erleben
Offres à proximité
Nature et randonnée
Valle-Vigezzo
Randonnée dans le Piémont
Découvrir
Nature et randonnée
Domodossola - Monte Calvario - Pilgerweg
Sacro Monte Calvario à Domodossola
découvrir
Nature et randonnée
Wanderung Via Stockalper unterwegs
Randonnée ViaStockalper Val Divedro
Entdecken
Salons & fêtes populaires
Ein junges Paar verhandelt mit dem Verkäufer über den Preis der Antipasti.
Marché de Domodossola
visiter
Newsletter
PDF herunterladen
0 de 0 Fichiers de médias