Projects and background

Expansion of our infrastructure

BLS operates a rail network spanning 420 kilometres. In over 500 small and major projects, we maintain, renew and expand this network in order to provide better public transport connections.

BLS continuously renews and expands its rail network. To this end, over 500 small and major projects are being worked on, whether as theoretical concepts, preliminary projects or as a current construction project. The aim of any expansion work is always to create greater rail transport capacity so that passengers arrive faster and more punctually at their destination, as well as to provide greater convenience to those travelling. The planning behind such projects is always conducted in close coordination with the Federal Government and cantons.

Who is involved in deciding on expansion projects?

The proper running of the rail transport system requires that three key areas interact seamlessly: the public transport routes being offered, the rail infrastructure and the rolling stock.

0 of 0 Media files

    The cantons and the Federal Government decide which train connections should be offered. The route planners working for the rail operators transform the ordered service into a specific public transport offering. Those in charge of the infrastructure must then ensure that the necessary rail capacity is available so that the increased traffic can be absorbed. In addition, all trains must fit within the national and international timetable. Additional trains also require more space on the track. To this end, single-track stretches must be expanded to two or more tracks, for example. An improved service often also requires new and longer trains. This rolling stock needs to be ordered. If the trains become longer, then the infrastructure at the train stations in turn needs adapting because, for example, the platforms are too short.

    The planning process is therefore highly complex: the three areas mutually influence one another and have different planning horizons as well as different forms of financing, each of which need to be coordinated with the cantons and the Federal Government. The Federal Government decides on rail infrastructure expansion projects, as it also finances these. BLS here seeks to bring the planning specifications in line with the needs of customers and those directly affected as much as possible. The expansion work should be carried out with the greatest possible cost-efficiency.

    The most relevant expansion projects for the BLS infrastructure

    The service offered by Bern S-Bahn is to be improved. This is the decision made by the canton of Bern as part of the so-called Second Partial Addition. To this end, trains are to operate every quarter-hour within the core perimeter surrounding Bern, and every half-hour on the rest of the network. The trains are also to be extended in length. Along with Bern S-Bahn, we are also expanding the services of our other S-Bahn networks, such as Lucerne S-Bahn and RER Fribourg. These changes will require extensive expansion work. In the following places, an expansion of the BLS infrastructure is in the concept study stage, the planning stage, the implementation stage or has already recently been completed.

    Bern–Neuchâtel section:

    • Train station modernisation and adaptation of the platform height and length in Gümmenen and Müntschemier
    • Dual-track expansion of the Rosshäusern-Mauss line, including new Rosshäusern Tunnel
    • Dual-track expansion of the Mauss–Gümmenen line, including Saane Viaduct
    • Platform extension in Bern Stöckacker, Gampelen and St-Blaise-Lac
    • Third track (turnaround track) in Bern Brünnen
    • Fifth track in Ins
    • Dual-track expansion of the Müntschemier–Ins line
    • Dual-track expansion of the Zihlbrücke–Marin-Epagnier line

    Bern–Belp–Thun section:

    • Dual-track expansion of the Wabern–Kehrsatz Nord line, including platform extension at Kehrsatz Nord Railway Station and modernisation of Wabern Railway Station
    • Platform extension at Belp Steinbach, Toffen and Kaufdorf
    • Modernisation of Thurnen Railway Station

    Bern–Schwarzenburg section:

    • Adaptation of tracks for turnaround option in Niederscherli
    • Adaptation of the platform in Gasel
    • Dual-track expansion of the Liebefeld–Köniz line

    Solothurn–Burgdorf–Ramsei (–Sumiswald-Grünen)–Langnau section:

    • Train station modernisation and adaptation of the platform height and length in Kirchberg-Alchenlfüh, Wiler, Gerlafingen, Biberist Ost, Burgdorf Steinhof, Ramsei, Grünenmatt and Sumiswald-Grünen

    Hasle-Rüegsau–Thun section:

    • Train station modernisation and adaptation of the platform heights and lengths in Biglen, Grosshöchstetten, Oberdiessbach, Brenzikofen, Heimberg and Steffisburg
    • Straightening of various bends

    Spiez–Zweisimmen section:

    • Train station modernisation and adaptation of the platform heights and lengths
    • Longer crossings along the entire section

    Langenthal–Huttwil–Wolhusen section:

    • Train station modernisation and adaptation of the platform heights and lengths

    Solothurn–Moutier section:

    • Train station modernisation and adaptation of the platform heights and lengths

    The development of Bern Railway Station and its accessways is also of great importance to the expansion of Bern S-Bahn. Among other things, the public facilities at Bern Railway Station are being expanded with a new walkway, and four large flying junctions will be constructed in Holligen, Wylerfeld, Wankdorf Süd and Gümligen in the coming years. The tracks will be relayed across two levels using ramps and tunnels, so that the trains have to cross the tracks of other trains less frequently. These projects will be carried out by SBB.

    Additional infrastructure expansion projects on the BLS network

    • In order to enable a half-hourly service on the cross-country route between Bern and Brig and to create additional capacity for freight transport, BLS is planning to further expand the Lötschberg Base Tunnel. Only 14 kilometres of its just under 35-kilometre length currently feature dual tracks.
    • On the Basel–Bern–Interlaken Ost cross-country route, not all 400-metre-long trains can operate yet. In order to better connect Interlaken and the eastern Bernese Oberland to long-distance routes, BLS is planning a longer crossing in Leissingen.
    Projects and background
    Bauprojekte Rosshaeuserntunnel
    Construction projects
    More
    Information
    S-Bahn Berne
    more
    Informationen
    Zukunft Bahnhof Bern
    zur Website
    Projects and background
    Handlauf im Zug
    Barrier-free travel
    More
    Informationen
    Entflechtung Wylerfeld
    zur Website
    Information
    Planung des Bundes zum Ausbau der Bahninfrastruktur
    zur Website
    Newsletter

Projets & informations

Aménagement de notre infrastructure

Le réseau ferroviaire de BLS s’étend sur 420 kilomètres. Plus de 500 projets de plus ou moins grande envergure ont pour objectif de maintenir ce réseau en bon état et de poursuivre son aménagement afin d’améliorer les liaisons avec les transports publics.

BLS renouvelle et agrandit son réseau ferroviaire en permanence. Dans cet objectif, nous travaillons sur plus de 500 projets de plus ou moins grande envergure, qu’il s’agisse de concepts théoriques, d’avant-projets ou même de projets de construction. Les projets d’aménagement ont systématiquement pour but d’augmenter les capacités du rail afin que les voyageurs arrivent à destination dans de meilleurs délais et que les trajets soient plus confortables. Cette planification se déroule en étroite concertation avec la Confédération et les cantons.

Qui décide des projets d’aménagement?

Pour que tout marche bien dans le monde ferroviaire, l’offre de transports publics, l’infrastructure ferroviaire et le matériel roulant doivent vibrer au diapason.

0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

    Les cantons et la Confédération décident où proposer des liaisons ferroviaires et en fixent les modalités. Les cantons et la Confédération passent d’une prestation commandée à une offre concrète en matière de transports publics. L’infrastructure doit faire en sorte que le rail ait les capacités d’accueillir le trafic supplémentaire. D’ailleurs, tous les trains doivent se glisser dans les horaires nationaux et internationaux. Pour faire circuler plus de trains, il faut plus de place sur les rails. Dans cet objectif, il faudra par exemple élargir les tronçons de ligne sur une voie à deux voies ou plus. L’amélioration de l’offre requiert également des trains modernes et plus longs – un matériel roulant qu’il est nécessaire de commander. Si les trains s’allongent, il faut dès lors adapter l’infrastructure des gares, dont les quais sont par exemple trop courts.

    Cette planification s’avère donc extrêmement complexe: ces trois paramètres influent les uns sur les autres ; ils présentent au demeurant différents horizons de planification et différentes formes de financement à définir en coordination avec les cantons et la Confédération. La Confédération décide des travaux d’aménagement de l’infrastructure ferroviaire, car elle les finance également. BLS s’efforce de concilier au mieux les dispositions en matière d’aménagement du territoire et les besoins de sa clientèle et des parties directement concernées. Ces travaux d’aménagement doivent être menés à bien de façon aussi rentable que possible.

    Projets d’aménagement les plus importants de l’infrastructure BLS

    Le canton de Berne a décidé d’améliorer l’offre du S-Bahn Bern dans le cadre de la «deuxième extension partielle». Les trains circuleront toutes les quinze minutes dans le périmètre autour de Berne, et toutes les 30 minutes dans le reste du réseau. En outre, des trains plus longs doivent circuler. Parallèlement au S-Bahn Bern, les offres des autres RER sont également étendues, à l’exemple du S-Bahn Luzern ou du RER Fribourg. Ces changements appellent de vastes travaux d’aménagement. Les projets d’aménagement ci-dessous de l’infrastructure BLS se trouvent en phase d’étude conceptuelle, d’étude de projet, de construction, ou ont été réalisés récemment.

    Tronçon Bern–Neuchâtel:

    • Travaux de modernisation des gares et modification de la hauteur et de la longueur des quais à Gümmenen et Müntschemier
    • Doublement de la voie de la ligne Rosshäusern–Mauss et mise en service du nouveau tunnel de Rosshäusern
    • Doublement de la voie de la ligne Mauss–Gümmenen et extension du viaduc de la Sarine
    • Prolongements des quais de Bern Stöckacker, Gampelen, St-Blaise-Lac
    • Troisième voie (voie de rebroussement) à Bern Brünnen
    • Cinquième voie à Ins
    • Doublement de la voie du tronçon Müntschemier–Ins
    • Doublement de la voie du tronçon Zihlbrücke–Marin-Epagnier

    Tronçon Berne–Belp–Thun:

    • Doublement de la voie du tronçon Wabern–Kehrsatz Nord, prolongation des quais de la gare de Kehrsatz Nord et travaux de modernisation de la gare de Wabern
    • Prolongation des quais à Belp Steinbach, Toffen et Kaufdorf
    • Modernisation de la gare de Thurnen

    Tronçon Bern–Schwarzenburg

    • Modifications des voies de Niederscherli pour mettre en place une possibilité de rebroussement
    • Modifications du quai de Gasel
    • Doublement de la voie du tronçon Liebefeld–Köniz

    Tronçon Solothurn–Burgdorf–Ramsei (-Sumiswald-Grünen)–Langnau

    • Travaux de modernisation des gares et modification de la hauteur et de la longueur des quais à Kirchberg-Alchenlfüh, Wiler, Gerlafingen, Biberist Ost, Burgdorf Steinhof, Ramsei, Grünenmatt, Sumiswald-Grünen

    Tronçon Hasle-Rüegsau–Thun

    • Travaux de modernisation des gares et modification de la hauteur et de la longueur des quais à in Biglen, Grosshöchstetten, Oberdiessbach, Brenzikofen, Heimberg et Steffisburg
    • Diverses rectifications de virages

    Tronçon Spiez–Zweisimmen

    • Travaux de modernisation des gares et modification de la hauteur et de la longueur des quais
    • Points de croisement plus longs sur toute la ligne

    Tronçon Langenthal–Huttwil–Wolhusen

    • Travaux de modernisation des gares et modification de la hauteur et de la longueur des quais

    Ligne Solothurn–Moutier

    • Travaux de modernisation des gares et modification de la hauteur et de la longueur des quais

    L’aménagement de la gare de Berne et de ses accès joue un rôle capital dans l’extension du S-Bahn Bern. Les structures d’accueil de la gare de Berne ont été dotées d’un nouveau passage et quatre grands chantiers de désenchevêtrement seront lancés à Holligen, Wylerfeld, Wankdorf Süd et Gümligen dans les années à venir. Les voies ferrées sont réorganisées en deux niveaux grâce à des systèmes de rampes et de tunnels afin que les trains croisent moins les voies ferrées d’autres trains. Ces projets sont menés à bien par les CFF.

    Autres aménagements de l’infrastructure sur le réseau de BLS

    • Pour que les trains longues distances circulent toutes les 30 minutes entre Berne et Brigue et afin d’accroître les capacités pour le trafic de marchandises, BLS compte poursuivre l’aménagement du tunnel de base du Lötschberg, où seuls 14km sur 35 sont praticables en double voie.
    • Aujourd’hui, tous les trains de 400m de long ne peuvent pas encore circuler sur le tronçon longues distances Basel–Bern–Interlaken Ost. Pour mieux connecter Interlaken et l’Oberland bernois au trafic longues distances, BLS prévoit de rallonger le point de croisement à Leissigen.
    Projets & informations
    Bauprojekte Rosshaeuserntunnel
    Travaux et constructions
    Plus
    Informations
    S-Bahn Bern
    vers le site
    Informationen
    Zukunft Bahnhof Bern
    zur Website
    Projets & informations
    Handlauf im Zug
    Voyager sans obstacles
    Plus
    Informationen
    Entflechtung Wylerfeld
    zur Website
    Information
    Planung des Bundes zum Ausbau der Bahninfrastruktur
    zur Website
    Newsletter