Knowledge & culture

Discover Thun

Culture, nature and urban life by Lake Thun

The River Aare wends its way through the late-medieval historic centre of Thun, with its wooden bridges and locks. The castle towers high above the historic buildings and the famous 4,000-metre-plus-high mountain peaks draw the gaze off into the distance. The town of Thun lies approximately one kilometre from the shore of Lake Thun and is regarded as the gateway to the Bernese Oberland.

In Thun – the Alpine city with a distinctive flair – there’s always something going on. Traditional businesses and trendy bars, cultural highlights and historic buildings shape this town by the water’s edge.

You can explore the town in a variety of ways.

0 of 0 Media files

    Sights

    The castles of Lake Thun

    Thun Castle

    The 12th century Thun Castle overlooks the town in imposing style. Between 1180 and 1190, Thun Castle was built by the Dukes of Zähringen on the town’s Schlossberg. The castle overlooks the whole town of Thun, giving a unique panorama of the Bernese Alps and Lake Thun.

    Over five storeys, the museum showcases the cultural development of the region over the last 4,000 years. The Thun Castle Museum is one of the most visited historical museums in Switzerland. The Knights’ Hall and all four corner towers are accessible to visitors. In addition, there is always something new to discover in the annually changing special exhibition.

    Schadau Castle

    The beautiful Schadau Park is situated right on the shore of Lake Thun. In wintertime, too, the park is worth visiting – both for its views over the lake and those of the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau mountains. In the centre of the park stands Schadau Castle, a remarkable example of historicism built in 1850 in the style of the Loire châteaux.

    Since June 2019, Schadau Castle has been reopened after 1.5-year renovation period and presents itself in new splendour. Nine wonderful hotel rooms and suites have been added, together with a bar featuring a large selection of sherry and port as well as a restaurant serving modern interpretations of classic dishes. 
    In truly castle-like fashion, the culinary offering of course also includes Sunday brunch and afternoon tea, while guests can select the contents of their picnic basket for an aperitif or meal in Schadau Park.

    The castles of Lake Thun

    Five splendid castles, each surrounded by extensive parkland, lie directly on the lakeside, offering incomparable panoramas of the Bernese Alps. The castles of Spiez, Hünegg, Oberhofen, Schadau and Thun will spirit you away into the historic world of the Swiss nobility. All of the locations can be easily reached by boat or bus from Thun.

    0 of 0 Media files

      Thun Panorama

      The centre of Schadau Park is home to the oldest preserved circular panoramic painting in the world. This impressive painting was created around 200 years ago by artist Marquard Wocher. The Basel-born artist was so fascinated by the Bernese Oberland that he created the first Swiss panoramic painting in about 1814. This richly detailed artwork provides a fascinating insight into life in Thun during that era.

      Children and adults alike are captivated by the countless stories depicted in this work of art so teeming with life.

      Please observe the opening times. The Thun Panorama is open seasonally.

      0 of 0 Media files

        Kunstmuseum Thun

        The former Grandhotel Thunerhof is situated directly by the Aare and offers views of the Alps. Its historic walls have been home to Thun’s art collection since 1949. The Kunstmuseum Thun presents mainly contemporary art during four to five temporary exhibitions every year. Alongside the themed special exhibitions, the museum hosts an annual exhibition in which pieces from its collection are presented with a particular focus.

        After visiting the museum, you can enjoy coffee and cake on the terrace of the Café Thunerhof. A unique view of the green waters of the Aare and the mountains awaits you.

        The museum is closed between exhibitions. Please observe the opening times.

        0 of 0 Media files

          Historical buildings of Thun

          In Thun, a total of 28 historic buildings have been provided with uniform signage by the town council. You can learn more about the buildings on an individual tour.

          0 of 0 Media files

            Lake Thun

            Escape from everyday life, let your mind wander for a few hours, and relax. The cruises on lakes Thun and Brienz are perfect for this. Enjoy the wonderful views of the impressive mountains, historic castles and romantic shoreside villages, and combine your cruise with a delicious lunch on board.

            0 of 0 Media files

              Guided tours

              Thun’s tour guides will show you the town’s hidden treasures, secret corners and culinary highlights during exceptional tours of Thun.
              Please register for the public guided tours

              Tour of the historic centre

              Experience Thun’s civic history

              On the classic tour of the historic town centre and castle hill, you will learn about the diversity, culture and history of Thun. The town guides will tell you how Thun’s high pavements were created and why the town’s shopping precinct, Bälliz, is situated amidst two arms of the Aare.

              An interesting tour with interesting background information on the town’s richly traditional culture.

              • Public tours of the historic centre are held regularly from June to November.
              • 1 ½-hour guided tour of central Thun
              • Tour of the historic centre and castle hill
              • The classic town tour
              • Public guided tours are offered in German
              • CHF 15.00 per person/ticket

              «Spooky Thun» guided town tour

              Accompany the night watchman on an approximately 1.5-hour round tour of night-time Thun. He will take you on a journey through the centuries and explain the significance of the former defensive walls, fire brigade and guilds. Along the way he will reveal hair-raising secrets to send shivers down your spine. He will tell of foul deeds, licentious living and prostitution. Let yourself be captivated by his tales, especially those based on historical fact.

              Guided group tour: Get to know the culinary side of Thun

              A guided city tour and fine dining all in one – the culinary tour of Thun-
              Take some traditional establishments and some trendy bars. Add canapés, appetisers, a main course and a dessert. Season with local wines and regional products. Then add a sprinkling of stories about the town of Thun. The result: the culinary tour. The ample time provided and the short walk between the various “courses” make this a very enjoyable dining adventure.

              Children’s town map

              High pavements, money on the ground, the “Fulehung” (a traditional Thun carnival mask) and a number of fascinating museums are just waiting to be discovered by little guests. The children’s town map helps families and school groups to explore the town on a puzzle tour with 20 different stops. And the fun continues in the museums, as everywhere children are actively invited to express their creativity and curiosity. The museums can also supply the answer sheet and information on the puzzle tour of the town. The children’s town map lists important addresses for little ones and indicates meeting places and leisure facilities. Why not download the children’s town map from the comfort of your own home?

              FoodTrail

              On the FoodTrail in Thun, visitors can sample six well-known specialities to eat or drink. Along the way, you also learn some fascinating facts about the town and its history. You’re sure to feel you’ve eaten and drunk well on the FoodTrail, in fact.

              0 of 0 Media files

                Shopping and dining

                Bälliz is the town’s popular shopping precinct, where you will find everything from department stores to specialised boutiques. The town-hall square is the historic centre of Thun. This is where the weekly Saturday market with regional products is held. Immediately adjacent is the beginning of the Obere Hauptgasse, with its famous high pavements. The split-level construction of Thun’s historic centre is unique. Family-run businesses, trendy shops, elegant stores and hip bars await you on the town’s two levels.

                Time for a break? Around Mühleplatz you will find a lively gastro scene with restaurants, bars and cafés directly by the water – the Thun Riviera.

                0 of 0 Media files

                  Hiking tip

                  Shore path

                  A great many people enjoy strolling along the approximately 2 km-long “Aarequai”, which leads from the Thun Town Hall along the inner Aare River and the shores of Lake Thun to the Hilterfingen boat landing stage. In winter, too the magnificent mountain panorama, the closeness to the water and the lovely views invite visitors to linger.

                  Panorama circular trail at Lake Thun

                  The route leads from Thun to Sigriswil and then across an impressive, 340-metre-long, panorama bridge some 180 metres above the ground.

                  0 of 0 Media files

                    Availability Today (Friday) open

                    Thun is a place that offers plenty to see all year round.

                    Public guided tour of the Old Town

                    Sat           14.00−15.30 hours (May to November)
                    Wed         14.0015.30 hours (July to August)

                    “Spooky Thun” guided town tour

                    Every Friday from 23 October 2020 to 11 December 2020 and from 15 January to 26 March 2021. The meeting point is the Hotel Freienhof (in front of the hotel entrance) at 19.00 hours.

                    Foodtrail

                    Sat            10.00–14.00 hours  Tue–Fri      09.00–12.15 / 13.30–14.30 hours 

                    How to get there

                    Travel comfortably by train to Thun.

                    Weather & webcam Today: wafts of mist -1/4°

                    Day Weather Temperature
                    Today wafts of mist -1/4°
                    Tomorrow wafts of mist -1/4°
                    Sunday fog or high fog 0/3°
                    Monday partly cloudy 0/3°
                    0 of 0 Media files

                      No reviews 0 of 5 stars

                      Rate
                      Additional ratings

                      Location

                      Tickets & Timetable
                      Similar offers
                      Family
                      Aktivieren Sie Ihre sinnlichen Wahrnehmungen an 70 Erlebnisstationen im Sensorium Rüttihubelbad.
                      Experience the Rüttihubelbad Sensorium
                      benefit
                      Knowledge & culture
                      Auch im Winter ist die einzigartige Baukunst der traditionellen Häuser zu sehen.
                      Reichenbach House Trail
                      Discover
                      Guided group tour
                      Ferden-11
                      Guided tour of the Ferden emergency stop area
                      Visit
                      Knowledge & culture
                      Stadt Bern, Zytglogge und Kramgasse
                      The Old City of Bern
                      discover
                      Offers nearby
                      Knowledge & culture
                      Stadtführung «Unheimliches Thun»
                      “Spooky Thun” guided town tour
                      Experience
                      Knowledge & culture
                      Schloss Thun im Winter
                      Thun Castle
                      Visit
                      Knowledge & culture
                      Altstadt Thun in der Adventszeit
                      Advent stroll in Thun 02. December 2020
                      Experience
                      Railway adventures
                      Loetschberger Kambly Winter
                      Kambly round trip
                      benefit
                      Newsletter

Culture & connaissance

Découvrir Thoune

Culture, nature et vie urbaine au bord du lac de Thoune

L’Aar serpente à travers la vieille ville de Thoune datant de la fin du Moyen-Âge avec ses ponts en bois et ses écluses. Le château surplombe les bâtisses anciennes et l’horizon s’ouvre sur de célèbres sommets de plus de 4000 mètres. La ville de Thoune est située à environ un kilomètre de la rive du lac de Thoune et est considérée comme la porte d’entrée de l’Oberland bernois.

Il se passe toujours quelque chose à Thoune, la ville alpine au charme incomparable. Des boutiques traditionnelles et des bars branchés, des attractions culturelles et des bâtiments historiques caractérisent cette ville au bord du lac.

Partez à sa découverte, de différentes manières.

0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

    Sites touristiques

    Châteaux du lac de Thoune

    Château de Thoune

    Le château de Zähringen datant du XIIe siècle surplombe la ville de Thoune. Le château de Thoune a été érigé entre 1180 et 1190 par les ducs de Zähringen sur la colline de Thoune. Le château permet d’admirer toute la ville; la vue sur les Alpes bernoises et le lac de Thoune est extraordinaire.

    Sur cinq étages, le musée retrace l’évolution culturelle de la région au cours des 4000 dernières années. Le musée du château de Thoune compte parmi les musées historiques les plus visités de Suisse. Il est possible d’accéder à la salle des chevaliers, mais aussi aux quatre tours d’angle. Grâce aux expositions spéciales qui changent chaque année, il y a toujours quelque chose de nouveau à découvrir.

    Château de Schadau

    Le magnifique parc de Schadau est situé directement au bord du lac. Ce dernier vaut le détour même en hiver, rien qu’en raison de la vue qu’il offre sur le lac ou les sommets de l’Eiger, du Mönch et de la Jungfrau. Au centre de ce parc, se trouve le château de Schadau, un vrai joyau de l’historicisme dans le style des châteaux de la Loire, qui a été construit autour de 1850. 

    Depuis juin 2019, le château de Schadau est rouvert après un an et demi de transformations et se présente dans une nouvelle splendeur. il comprend neuf chambres d’hôtel et suites de rêve, d’un bar proposant un vaste choix de vins de xérès et de portos, ainsi que d’un restaurant servant des classiques revisités. 
    Tout à fait dans l’esprit de la vie de château, l’offre culinaire comprend aussi des brunchs dominicaux, des thés l’après-midi ou un panier de pique-nique personnalisé à déguster à l’apéritif ou au repas dans le parc de Schadau.

    Châteaux du lac de Thoune

    Cinq châteaux majestueux entourés de vastes parcs s’élèvent directement sur les rives du lac, et offrent un vue unique sur les Alpes bernoises. À Spiez, Hünegg, Oberhofen, Schadau et Thoune, ils vous feront découvrir la vie des nobles d’autrefois. Tous ces châteaux sont facilement accessibles en bateau ou en bus à partir de Thoune ou d’Interlaken Ouest.

    0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

      Panorama de Thoune

      Le parc de Schadau abrite le plus ancien tableau circulaire encore préservé au monde. Cette impressionnante toile a été peinte il y a près de 200 ans par Marquard Wocher. L’artiste bâlois était tellement fasciné par l’Oberland bernois qu’il a créé vers 1814 ce qui sera le premier panorama de la Suisse. L’œuvre d’art détaillée donne un aperçu intéressant de la vie dans la ville de Thoune à cette époque.

      Grands et petits sont fascinés par ce jeu d’objets cachés aux innombrables histoires. Veuillez tenir compte des horaires d’ouverture.

      Le Panorama de Thoune est ouvert en saison.

      0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

        Musée des beaux-arts de Thoune

        L’ancien Grand Hôtel Thunerhof est situé directement sur l’Aar et offre une magnifique vue sur les Alpes. Cet édifice historique abrite la collection d’art de la ville de Thoune depuis 1949. Chaque année, le musée des beaux-arts de Thoune propose quatre ou cinq des expositions temporaires, principalement dédiées à l’art contemporain. Outre ces expositions temporaires, il organise une exposition annuelle pour présenter sous un angle particulier une partie de la collection.

        Après la visite du musée, vous pouvez faire une petite pause pour déguster un café et une pâtisserie sur la terrasse du Café Thunerhof. Un panorama unique sur l’Aar verte et les montagnes vous y attend.

        Le musée est fermé entre les expositions. Veuillez tenir compte des horaires d’ouverture.

        0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

          Monuments historiques

          Thoune compte 28 monuments historiques, tous signalés de manière uniforme dans la ville. Apprenez-en davantage sur ces bâtiments lors d’une visite guidée de la ville.

          0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

            Lac de Thoune

            Fuir le quotidien, laisser libre cours à ses pensées pendant quelques heures et se détendre. Voilà ce que vous promettent les croisières sur les lacs de Thoune et de Brienz. Profitez de panoramas à couper le souffle et contemplez le superbe paysage de montagne, les châteaux historiques et les villages romantiques sur le rivage, tout en dégustant un savoureux déjeuner à bord.

            0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

              Visites guidées

              Les trésors et les recoins cachés ainsi que les plaisirs gastronomiques incontournables de Thoune vous seront présentés par les guides de la ville lors de visites exceptionnelles dans la ville.
              Réservation souhaitée pour les visites guidées publiques.

              Visite guidée de la vieille ville – Découvrez l’histoire de la ville de Thoune

              La visite guidée classique à travers la vieille ville et sur la colline du château vous permettra de découvrir la diversité, la culture et l’histoire de Thoune. Les guides de la ville vous expliqueront comment les hauts trottoirs de Thoune ont été érigés et pourquoi la rue commerçante Bälliz est entourée par deux bras de la rivière.

              Une visite intéressante et des références passionnantes sur une culture riche en traditions.

              • Des visites guidées publiques de la vieille ville sont régulièrement organisées de juin à novembre.
              • Visite guidée d’une heure et demi dans le centre-ville de Thoune
              • Visite de la vieille ville et de la colline du château
              • La visite classique de la ville
              • Les visites guidées publiques sont proposées en allemand
              • CHF 15.00 par personne/billet

              Visite guidée «Thoune sous un jour lugubre»

              Accompagnez un veilleur de nuit le temps d’une ronde nocturne de près d’une heure et demie à travers Thoune. Dans un voyage à travers les siècles, il vous expliquera l’importance des anciennes fortifications, de la surveillance des incendies et des corporations. En chemin, vous découvrirez d’horribles secrets qui vous donneront la chair de poule. Des histoires d’infamies, de vies dissolues et de prostitution. Laissez-vous entraîner dans ces récits qui reposent sur des faits historiques.

              Visite guidée pour groupes: Découvrir la gastronomie de Thoune

              Découverte de la ville et aventure culinaire: la visite gastronomique de Thoune.
              Prenez quelques restaurants et établissements traditionnels, rajoutez un amuse-bouche, une entrée, un plat principal et un dessert, relevez le tout avec des vins locaux et des produits régionaux, dégustez le plat en écoutant de passionnantes histoires sur la ville de Thoune, et vous obtenez la visite gastronomique. Vous apprécierez cette aventure culinaire en prenant votre temps et en effectuant de courtes promenades entre les plats.

              Plan de la ville pour enfants

              Les hauts trottoirs de Thoune, un sol couvert d’argent, le fameux bouffon Fulehung et de passionnants musées attendent les touristes les plus jeunes. Le plan de la ville pour enfants est proposé aux familles et aux écoles pour leur faire découvrir la ville à travers un parcours de 20 énigmes. La visite se poursuit dans les musées, qui stimulent constamment la créativité et la curiosité des enfants. Vous y trouverez également la feuille de solutions et des indications sur le parcours d’énigmes dans la ville. Le plan de la ville répertorie les lieux intéressants pour les enfants et indique les points de rencontre et activités sportives. Vous pouvez facilement télécharger le plan de la ville pour enfants depuis chez vous.

              Foodtrail

              Thoune organise un sentier gastronomique nommé «Foodtrail», qui fait découvrir aux visiteurs six célèbres spécialités à boire et à manger. Parallèlement, c’est l’occasion d’apprendre des anecdotes passionnantes sur l’Histoire et la ville. Et tout le long du parcours, vous aurez droit à des plaisirs culinaires.
              0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

                Shopping et dégustation

                La rue commerçante du Bälliz est très fréquentée, vous y trouverez de tout, des grands magasins aux boutiques spécialisées. La place de l’Hôtel de ville est le centre historique de la ville. Elle accueille tous les samedis un marché avec des produits régionaux. Juste à côté, l’Obere Hauptgasse commence avec les célèbres hauts trottoirs. La construction de la vieille ville de Thoune est unique avec ses rez-de-chaussée surélevés et ses sous-sols. Sur deux niveaux, des boutiques familiales, des magasins tendances et chics et des bars branchés attendent votre visite.
                Envie de faire une pause? Autour de la Mühleplatz animée, vous aurez l’embarras du choix avec des restaurants, des bars et des cafés situés directement au bord de l’eau, sur la Riviera du lac de Thoune.
                0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

                  Conseil de randonnée

                  Itinéraire des berges

                  Très prisés des promeneurs, les «quais de l’Aar» s’étendent sur deux kilomètres le long de l’Aar et des rives du lac de Thoune, et conduisent de l’hôtel de ville de Thoune à l’embarcadère de Hilterfingen. Même en hiver, ce panorama grandiose de montagnes, la proximité de l’eau et les points de vue invitent à la détente.

                  Circuit de randonnée panoramique, lac de Thoune

                  Cette randonnée conduit de Thoune à Sigriswil, où elle franchit le spectaculaire pont panoramique d'une longueur de 340 mètres et de 180 mètres de haut.

                  0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

                    Accessibilié Aujourd’hui (Jeudi) ouvert

                    Information Coronavirus: 

                    Au vu de la situation actuelle nous ne garantissons pas l’exactitude des informations sur les horaires d’ouverture et les condition d’utilisation. Nous vous recommandons de vous renseigner directement sur le site internet du prestataire de service.

                    La ville de Thoune offre de nombreuses attractions tout au long de l’année.

                    Visite guidée publique de la vieille ville

                    Sam           14h00−15h30 (mai à novembre)
                    Mer           14h00−15h30 (juillet à août)

                    Visite guidée «Thoune sous un jour lugubre»

                    Tous les vendredis du 23 octobre 2020 au 11 décembre 2020 et du 15 janvier au 26 mars 2021. Rendez-vous à 19h00 à l’hôtel Freienhof (devant l’entrée). Inscription obligatoire, nombre de places limité

                    Foodtrail

                    Sam            10h00–14h00
                    Mar–Ven     9h00–12h15 / 13h30–14h30

                    Châteaux et musées

                    Veuillez vous informer directement auprès du prestataire sur les horaires d’ouverture.

                     

                    Comment s'y rendre

                    Voyagez confortablement en train jusqu'à Thoune.

                    Météo & webcam

                    0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

                      Aucun commentaire 0 sur 5 étoiles

                      Évaluer
                      D'autres évaluation

                      Situation

                      Billets & Horaire
                      Offres similaires
                      Famille
                      Aktivieren Sie Ihre sinnlichen Wahrnehmungen an 70 Erlebnisstationen im Sensorium Rüttihubelbad.
                      Univers du Sensorium de Rüttihubelbad
                      profiter
                      Culture & connaissance
                      Uhrenmuseum La Chaux-de-Fonds
                      Jeu de piste Les Barons
                      Entdecken
                      Nature et randonnée
                      Valle-Vigezzo
                      Valle dei Pittori – la vallée des peintres
                      Découvrir
                      Culture & connaissance
                      Schloss Thun im Winter
                      Château de Thoune
                      Visiter
                      Offres à proximité
                      Culture & connaissance
                      Stadtführung «Unheimliches Thun»
                      Visite guidée «Thoune sous un jour lugubre»
                      Vivre
                      Culture & connaissance
                      Altstadt Thun in der Adventszeit
                      Shopping de l’Avent à Thoune 09. décembre 2020
                      Découvrir
                      Sur les rails
                      Lötschberger Kambly en hiver
                      Circuit Kambly
                      profiter
                      Groupes & écoles
                      Regionale Produkte auf der kulinarischen Stadtführung durch Thun.
                      Découvrir la gastronomie de Thoune
                      Savourer
                      Newsletter