Knowledge & culture

Olten – a town with charm

The small town of Olten is historically, culturally and regionally significant and invites you on a voyage of discovery.

Visit the town of Olten in the canton of Solothurn and discover its most beautiful gems. The picturesque old town with its wooden bridge, which is over 200 years old, the emblematic medieval tower, museums and cultural events are just a few of the treasures waiting to be explored.

Travel comfortably by train to Olten. The town centre is around 10 minutes’ walk from the train station.

Gems of the old town

Entdecken Sie die faszinierende Geschichte von Olten, indem Sie die charmante Alte Holzbrücke überqueren, den imposanten Oltner Stadtturm besuchen und die eindrucksvolle Stadtkirche St. Martin besichtigen. Tauchen Sie ein in die einzigartige Kultur und Architektur dieser malerischen Stadt.

Old wooden bridge

For more than 700 years, the old wooden bridge has connected the two banks of the Aare. Over the centuries, the bridge has been damaged or even torn away completely several times by fire, flooding and ice drifts. Bridge builder Blasius Baltenschwiller constructed an emergency bridge after the French invasion, which was replaced by the current bridge in 1803. The old wooden bridge consists of wooden joists and is built in a charming, traditional style. It offers a picturesque view of the Aare and the surrounding landscape.

Olten tower

The 42-metre-high tower, also known as the “bell tower”, towers above the medieval heart of the old town. It was built in 1521 by Konrad Gibelin of Solothurn as the bell tower for the town’s former church. Over the years, the tower has been restored and renovated several times to preserve its historic character. The tower is of cultural significance to the residents of Olten – it symbolises the town’s history and identity. The “tower concerts” take place here every year.  

St. Martin church

St. Martin church with its two dark, pointed towers is a symbol of the town. Its construction dates back to the 15th century, though the church has experienced several renovations and expansions over the course of time. The church not only serves the church community itself, but also offers space for events and meetings, church groups and concerts. It is an important meeting point for the community and represents a significant cultural heritage site. The church combines various architectural styles, including Gothic, Baroque and Romanesque.

Activities

How about a hike or a walk around Olten? We have two great tips for you:

Swiss Writers' Trail

Experience the Swiss Writers' Trail with over 70 listening stations where 21 authors, including Alex Capus, Franz Hohler, Pedro Lenz and slam poets such as Kilian Ziegler, Patti Basler and Lisa Christ, inspire you in short 2- to 4-minute stories in German and French. Use your own QR code-enabled smartphone to listen to them for free. Also enjoy the historic old town of Olten, ideal for lunch and shopping, and you may even be lucky enough to meet one of the authors in person.

More information about the Swiss Writers' Trail

Circular hike to the Säli-Schlössli

Erkunde eine abwechslungsreiche Rundwanderung von Olten zum Säli-Schlössli mit Blick auf Aarburg und der Aare entlang zurück. Die Tour bietet ein wunderschönes Panorama, den Wildpark Mühletäli, die Ruine Alt-Wartburg und verschiedene Grillplätze – perfekt für Familien und Kinder.

Weitere Informationen zur Rundwanderung Säli-Schlössli Olten

Museums

Explore Olten and its rich art and cultural history. The Haus der Mussen houses three interesting museums under one roof: the Archaeological Museum of Canton Solothurn, the History Museum and the Nature Museum. In the Olten Art Museum you can admire historical art and contemporary works.

House of Museums

Archaeological Museum of the Canton of Solothurn

The Archaeological Museum is one of the most important in Switzerland and is home to an extensive collection of artefacts from various eras. The museum presents diverse legacies from 80,000 years of history and conveys a vibrant image of past times.

Historical Museum

The Historical Museum in Olten not only documents the history of the town, but also the development of neighbouring communities. One of the museum’s focal points is the history of transport, as significant trading routes have long since met and crossed here. The museum’s collections and exhibitions also feature the modern history of technology.

Museum of Nature

In the Museum of Nature in Olten, you can experience biology and geology up close. The museum offers insights into the past with an impressive collection of fossils and finds from the Ice Age, while it also presents the diverse animals to be found in the region in their different habitats.

Art Museum

An attraction for art lovers

The Art Museum in Olten was opened in 1905 and offers a collection of the works of artist Martin Disteli as well as modern art exhibitions. The focus is mainly on the works of Martin Disteli, a political artist and caricaturist who was born in Olten. The museum is a vibrant place for the discovery of historical and contemporary art and a meeting point for art lovers.

Events

Immerse yourself in the traditional atmosphere of the Olten Chilbi, discover the fascinating world of photography at the International Photo Festival Olten and be enchanted by authors and stories at the Book Festival.

International Photo Festival Olten

Some of the world’s best photographers, visual storytellers and photo editors get together in Olten every two years to present their work to a wide audience. The festival includes seminars, exhibitions, workshops and portfolio reviews.

Book Festival

Olten Book Festival offers a multitude of events and activities. There are readings, music and films by various authors, and visitors have the chance to make contact with them directly. The 2023 Book Festival takes place from 2 to 5 November.

Olten Cabaret Days

Olten becomes the cabaret capital of Switzerland for one week.

Further information on the Olten Cabaret Days

Oltner Chilbi

Oltner Chilbi is a popular festival that takes place annually. There is a multitude of attractions and entertainment options for visitors of all ages. There are also numerous stalls and stands selling food, drinks and sweets.

Food & Drink

Here are a few suggestions for delicious food or refreshing drinks:

How to get there

Travel comfortably by train to Olten.

No reviews 0 of 5 stars

Rate
Additional ratings

Standort

Tickets & Timetable
Ähnliche Angebote
Hiking & nature
Kandersteg, Rundwanderweg
Kandersteg circular trails
Experience
Knowledge & culture
Schweizerisches Agrarmuseum Burgrain Ausstellungsraum
Schweizerisches Agrarmuseum Burgrain
Entdecken
Knowledge & culture
Solothurn
Solothurn: Switzerland’s dazzling pearl of the baroque
Discover
Special offers
Kunstmuseum Bern von Aussen
Kunstmuseum Bern
Benefit
Angebote in der Nähe
Knowledge & culture
Mit dem Handy auf Schnitzeljagd zur Stadtnatur Solothurn
Solothurn: Schnitzeljagd zur Stadtnatur
Discover
Knowledge & culture
Solothurn Herbst
Stroll through the baroque town of Solothurn
Discover
Special offers
Aare-Schifffahrt bei Büren
Aare boat trip Solothurn-Biel
Discover
Special offers
Ausblick vom Weissenstein
Weissenstein
Discover
Newsletter
Download PDF
0 of 0 Media files

Culture & connaissance

Olten – une ville pleine de charme

Jouant un rôle significatif dans l’histoire, la culture et le paysage suisses, la petite ville d’Olten vous offre un véritable voyage de découvertes.

Visitez la ville d’Olten, dans le canton de Soleure, et découvrez ses plus beaux joyaux. La vieille ville pittoresque, avec son pont en bois de plus de 200 ans, la tour moyenâgeuse, véritable symbole, les musées et les manifestations culturelles sont quelques-uns des nombreux trésors que vous réserve la ville.

Voyagez confortablement en train jusqu’à Olten. Le centre est situé à environ 10 minutes à pied de la gare.

Les joyaux de la vieille ville

Entdecken Sie die faszinierende Geschichte von Olten, indem Sie die charmante Alte Holzbrücke überqueren, den imposanten Oltner Stadtturm besuchen und die eindrucksvolle Stadtkirche St. Martin besichtigen. Tauchen Sie ein in die einzigartige Kultur und Architektur dieser malerischen Stadt.

L’ancien pont en bois

L’ancien pont en bois relie les deux rives de l’Aar depuis plus de 700 ans. Au cours des siècles, il a été incendié à plusieurs reprises, endommagé, voire arraché par les incendies, les crues ou la glace. Après l’invasion française, Blasius Balteschwiler a construit un pont provisoire, qui a été remplacé par le pont actuel en 1803. Avec son bardage en bois, l’ancien pont présente une charmante conception traditionnelle. Il offre un panorama pittoresque sur l’Aar et les environs. 

Tour de la ville d’Olten

De ses 42 mètres de haut, la tour de la ville (également appelée «Glockenturm»), domine le centre médiéval de la vieille ville. La tour a été érigée en 1521 par Konrad Gibelin von Solothurn en tant que clocher de l’ancienne église. Au fil des ans, elle a été plusieurs fois restaurée et rénovée pour conserver sa substance historique. Elle revêt une importance culturelle pour les habitants d’Olten car elle symbolise l’histoire et l’identité de la ville. Chaque année s’y tiennent les «Konzerte am Turm».

Chiesa cittadina di San Martino

L’église Saint-Martin, avec ses deux clochers sombres, est un véritable symbole de la ville. Sa construction remonte au 15e siècle, bien qu’elle ait fait l’objet de plusieurs rénovations et agrandissements au fil du temps. L’église sert non seulement à la paroisse, mais offre également un espace pour des temps de prière, des événements et des rencontres œcuméniques, des services religieux d’autres confessions et des concerts. C’est un lieu de rassemblement important pour la commune, chargé d’un grand héritage culturel. L’église allie différents styles architecturaux, dont les styles gothique, baroque et roman.  

Activités

Que diriez-vous d'une randonnée ou d'une promenade autour d'Olten ? Nous avons deux bons conseils pour vous :

Sentier suisse des écrivains

Découvrez le Sentier des écrivains suisses avec plus de 70 stations d'écoute où 21 auteurs, dont Alex Capus, Franz Hohler, Pedro Lenz et des poètes slameurs comme Kilian Ziegler, Patti Basler et Lisa Christ, vous enthousiasmeront avec de courtes histoires de 2 à 4 minutes en allemand et en français. Utilisez votre propre smartphone muni d'un code QR pour les écouter gratuitement. Profitez également de la vieille ville historique d'Olten, idéale pour le déjeuner et le shopping, et peut-être aurez-vous même la chance de rencontrer l'un des auteurs en personne.

Plus d'informations sur le Sentier des écrivains suisses

Randonnée en boucle vers le Säli-Schlössli

Erkunde eine abwechslungsreiche Rundwanderung von Olten zum Säli-Schlössli mit Blick auf Aarburg und der Aare entlang zurück. Die Tour bietet ein wunderschönes Panorama, den Wildpark Mühletäli, die Ruine Alt-Wartburg und verschiedene Grillplätze – perfekt für Familien und Kinder.

Weitere Informationen zur Rundwanderung Säli-Schlössli Olten

Musées

Découvrez Olten et sa riche histoire artistique et culturelle. La Maison des musées abrite trois musées intéressants sous un même toit : le Musée archéologique du canton de Soleure, le Musée historique et le Musée de la nature. Au Musée des beaux-arts d'Olten, vous pourrez admirer de l'art historique et des œuvres contemporaines.

Maison des musées

Musée archéologique du canton de Soleure

Ce musée archéologique est l’un des plus importants de Suisse. Il abrite une vaste collection d’objets de diverses époques. Tous ces vestiges vous replongent dans 80’000 ans d’histoire.

Muséum historique

Le musée historique d’Olten retrace non seulement l’histoire de la ville mais aussi l’évolution des communes voisines. Il nous retrace en particulier l’histoire des transports car Olten est depuis longtemps le lieu de croisement de grandes routes commerciales. Les collections et expositions du musée présentent aussi l’évolution des techniques modernes.

Musée d’histoire naturelle

Au musée d’histoire naturelle d’Olten, vous découvrirez la biologie et la géologie de près. Le musée vous plonge dans l’histoire avec son impressionnante collection de fossiles et de vestiges datant de la période glaciaire. Il vous présente aussi la diversité des animaux de la région dans leurs différents habitats.

Musée d’art

Pôle d'attraction pour les amateurs d'art

Le musée d’art d’Olten a ouvert ses portes en 1905 et propose une collection d’œuvres du dessinateur Martin Disteli, ainsi que des expositions d’art moderne. La collection se compose principalement d’œuvres du dessinateur et caricaturiste politique Martin Disteli, né à Olten. Ce musée est un véritable lieu de découverte de l’art ancien et contemporain, mais aussi un lieu de rencontre pour les amateurs d’art.

Événements

Plongez dans l'atmosphère riche en traditions de la Chilbi d'Olten, découvrez le monde fascinant de la photographie lors de l'International Photo Festival Olten et laissez-vous envoûter par les auteurs et les histoires du Festival du livre.

International Photo Festival Olten

Tous les deux ans, les photographes, visual storytellers et directeurs photo les plus célèbres du monde se retrouvent à Olten pour présenter leurs œuvres au grand public. Le festival inclut des séminaires, des expositions, des ateliers et des revues de portfolios.

Festival du livre

Le Festival du livre Olten offre une multitudes d’événements et d’activités. Au programme: lectures, musiques et films de divers auteurs, avec lesquels les visiteurs peuvent entrer directement en contact. Le Buchfestival de 2023 se déroulera du 2 au 5 novembre.

Journées du cabaret d'Olten

Pendant une semaine, Olten devient la capitale du cabaret en Suisse.

Plus d'informations sur les journées du cabaret d'Olten

Oltner Chilbi

L’Oltner Chilbi est une fête populaire qui a lieu chaque année. Elle réserve de nombreuses attractions et offres de divertissements aux visiteurs de tous les âges. De plus, les nombreux stands et baraques vous proposent de la nourriture, des boissons et des sucreries.

Restauration

Vous trouverez ici quelques idées pour de délicieux repas ou des boissons rafraîchissantes :

Comment s'y rendre

Voyagez confortablement en train jusqu’à Olten.

Aucun commentaire 0 sur 5 étoiles

Évaluer
D'autres évaluation

Standort

Billets & Horaire
Ähnliche Angebote
Culture & connaissance
Schloss Burgdorf im Winter von schneebedeckten Bäumen umgeben
Château de Berthoud
Decouvrir
Culture & connaissance
Spiez - Bucht mit Schloss Winter
Découvrir Spiez
Entdecken
Culture & connaissance
Latenium von aussen
Laténium Parc et musée d’archéologie à Neuchâtel
découvrir
Culture & connaissance
Les vitrines sphériques reposent sur des piliers ou sont suspendues au plafond. À l'intérieur se trouvent diverses montres d'importance mondiale, véritables trésors et chefs-d'œuvre de l'industrie horlogère.
Visite de la ville de La Chaux-de-Fonds
découvrir
Angebote in der Nähe
Culture & connaissance
Altsstad Solthurn im Winter
Soleure, joyau du Baroque en Suisse
Découvrir
Divertissement
Hauptgasse- und Zytglogge in Solothurn
Parcours de détectives de Soleure
Découvrir
Culture & connaissance
Solothurn Herbst
Solothurn Altstadtführung
Entdecken
Offres spéciales
Seilbahn Weissenstein im Winter
Weissenstein, paradis hivernal
découvrir
Newsletter
PDF herunterladen
0 de 0 Fichiers de médias