Knowledge & culture

Discover Spiez

Discover Spiez

The winegrowing town nestles gently between Lake Thun, vineyards and Spiez Castle, surrounded by the impressive panorama of the Bernese Alps. Numerous activities and attractions tempt visitors to this idyllic spot all year round: fine Spiez wine, historic Spiez castle, exciting water sports and much more.

Spiez, at the foot of the Niesen mountain known as the “Swiss Pyramid”, is easy to reach by train and boat.

Culture

Wine has been cultivated in Spiez for over 1,000 years. These days, it even wins awards. And the imposing Spiez Castle has towered over the bay for just as long. At the Museum of Local History and Viticulture, you’ll learn interesting facts about life in Spiez in the 18th century.

Spiez Castle

Spiez Castle – 1,300 years of history

Here, you’ll find out about the lives of the medieval lords of the castle and their families. Particularly impressive features are the well-equipped castle kitchen and the early Baroque banqueting hall. And in contrast to other museums, touching is allowed: Ancient robes and knights’ shirts are available to try on, while anyone wanting to rest a bit can try out the antique bed.

In addition to the permanent exhibition, Spiez Castle offers an annually changing art exhibition.

Combine the castle tour with a walk through the well-tended castle garden and enjoy the dreamlike location with a glass of wine from the Spiez vineyards in the castle café.

Spiez Castle

Museum of Local History and Viticulture

Spiez local history and traditions

The museum is located not far from the castle and vineyard and consists of three buildings from the early 18th century, including an ornate Simmental farmhouse with its “Spycher” storehouse and baroque farm garden, the “Trottenscheune” barn with its remarkable grape press, the original wine cellar and a workshop used by Spiez’s last cooper.

Museum of Local History and Viticulture

Spiez wine

Spiez alpine wine culture

Vine growing in Spiez has been documented since the 13th century and has had an eventful history. These days, the Spiez vineyards cover an area of around 13 hectares, making this the second-largest winegrowing area in the canton of Bern. A team of eleven full- and part-time staff take care of the vines. Year after year, the entire wine harvest from Faulensee, Spiez and Spiezwiler is processed in the cellar of the castle and pressed into excellent wine.

Spiezer Alpine viticulture

Wine tasting

The Spiezer Rebbau-Genossenschaft, the town’s viticulture collective, organises a wine tasting every Wednesday evening between 5 and 7 p.m. Following a short theoretical introduction to the basics of tasting, you’ll learn lots of interesting facts about the history and production of Spiez wine.

Wine tasting

Where to buy Spiez wine

Would you like to enjoy the local wine at home or buy a nice bottle as a gift? This fine tipple is available in various sales outlets in Spiez.

Selling points

Activities on the water

Spiez also has a lot to offer in, on and by the water. The turquoise-blue Lake Thun is enchanting, and the municipality of Spiez boasts 13 kilometres of lakefront. A dozen types of watersports equipment are available for rent, while scheduled boats dock at four landing stages in the municipality: Gwatt, Einigen, Spiez and Faulensee.

Boat rides and boat rental

Canoe, stand-up paddleboard, sailboat or pedalo

What’s your preferred way to discover Lake Thun and its shores? Various providers can supply you with the practical rental equipment so that you can explore Lake Thun on your own. On the canoeing trail, which leads from Gwatt to Leissigen, you can experience nature at its very best. Canoes and stand-up paddleboards are available to rent at the info point by Spiez Bay, while sailing, pedal and motor boats can be rented at the sailing school near the Schlosspintli restaurant.

Suggested canoeing trail routes

Scheduled boats

On a boat trip on Lake Thun, Bern Canton’s largest lake, you can enjoy the wonderful alpine panorama comfortably from the water. From Spiez, you have ideal connections to Thun and Interlaken.

BLS boat trip

Sealander – the floating caravan

How about a fun afternoon swimming, an evening outing with an aperitif, a cosy fondue cruise in winter, or even a romantic overnight stay in a floating hotel room on Lake Thun? If you’re after something special, the Sealander is the perfect choice for you.

Sealander fondue fun

Activities on land

Between the bay and the train station, the nostalgic Spiezer Zügli train links up this holiday destination. A ride on this mobile landmark is the perfect way to discover Spiez. Alternatively, e-bikes are available to rent at several locations. Meanwhile, a whole host of activities await you around the bay. In addition to a new skate facility and an innovative playground, the popular minigolf course provides for happy family moments. An extensive network of hiking trails also invites you to discover Spiez on foot. The 14 km circular hiking trail takes you to the most beautiful corners of Spiez. There is also the themed “Vineyard discovery trail” to enjoy among the vines.

Circular hiking trail and discovery trail

Discover the very best of Spiez on a circular hiking trail. The 14 km hiking trail is divided into four varied stages and passes a number of bus stops. This means you can tailor your route to start or finish wherever is convenient for you. White signposts with green pictograms ensure that everyone can easily find their way.

Beach trail (2.5 km)

The idyllic lakeside path between Spiez and Faulensee starts at the open-air swimming pool and leads through impressive tunnels of trees, past art sculptures and natural wonders. Along the way there are secluded bathing spots, a playground and a fire pit.

High-altitude trail (5.5 km)

The high-altitude trail takes you from Faulensee up into the Seeholzwald forest, and on to the mountain village of Hondrich with its many traditional Bernese farmhouses. From there, the trail descends again to Spiezwiler.

Spiezwiler trail (4.5 km)

You can enjoy a stunning landscape and numerous impressive views of the lake and the mountains as you hike between Spiezwiler and Spiezmoos. It’s particularly recommended in spring and autumn on a clear day for the view of the Niesen.

Vineyard trail (1.5 km)

Sun-worshippers and those with a thirst for knowledge will enjoy a hike over the Spiezberg to the vineyard. The information boards along the way present facts about Spiez viticulture as well as flora and fauna. The highlight is the fantastic view from the Katzenstein over Lake Thun. This erratic granite block is considered a place of power and, from certain angles, resembles a reclining cat.

Ludotrail

Play your way around Spiez

Discover Spiez in a playful way from post to post. The total of 30 game stations are individually designed with themes oriented towards the relevant site of the game.

Ludotrail Spiez

Open Standard Minigolf

Play a round of minigolf in Spiez Bay

Experience the unique mix between golf and minigolf on a visit to the one-of-a-kind minigolf course at Spiez Bay. The course is the “Open Standard” type, meaning you use a real golf club to play on putting green lanes up to 21 metres long.

Minigolf in Spiez

Wellness

Fancy relaxing with a massage, enjoying a cosy sauna or swimming a few energetic laps in the pool?

Four first-rate spa facilities invite you to relax and enjoy yourself in Spiez:

Events

Spiez has made a name for itself in recent years as a lively event location. Throughout the year, cultural, sporting and traditional events offer a variety of experiences.

Seaside Festival

Musical fun at the Seaside Festival

Every year as summer draws to a close, live music fills the air in Spiez. The Seaside Festival brings Swiss “Mundart” rock and international greats to the town, along with contemporary sounds and classic rock. Enjoy quality time with friends and family at Spiez Bay: a dip in the cool waters of Lake Thun, fine food, local wine and, not least, rocking out to the excellent programme.

Seaside Festival

Läset-Sunntig

The only wine festival in the Bernese Oberland

Läset-Sunntig is one of the high points of Spiez’s event programme. A large, colourful procession forms the centrepiece of the traditional event, which has attracted both locals and guests to Spiez for over 50 years. In addition to the procession, food tents with folk entertainment and concerts add to the festive mood.

Läset Sunntig

How to get there

Travel in comfort by train to Spiez, or by boat from Thun to Spiez.

No reviews 0 of 5 stars

Rate
Additional ratings

Location

Tickets & timetable
Similar offers
Knowledge & culture
BirdLife Naturzentrum La Sauge
Discover the BirdLife Nature Centre at La Sauge
Discover
Knowledge & culture
Naturhistorisches Museum Neuchâtel - Insektensaal
Natural History Museum Neuchâtel
Experience
Knowledge & culture
Kulturweg Ausserberg-Raron
The Kulturweg Ausserberg–Raron
Discover
Special offers
St Beatus Hoehlen Hauptbild
Discover the St. Beatus Caves
Visit
Offers nearby
Hiking & nature
Rebberg Walenrain bei Spiez am Thunersee
Spiez–Thun panorama trail
Discover
Lakes & boats
Schifffahrt Thuner- & Brienzersee
Discover the Lake Thun region by boat
Benefit
Leisure activities
Ludotrail Spiez - Spielerisch das Dorf entdecken
Fun and games in Spiez
Timetable & tickets
Leisure activities
Kanuweg Thunersee
Canoe Trail
Experience
Newsletter
Download PDF
0 of 0 Media files

Culture & connaissance

Découvrir Spiez

Spiez, perle du lac de Thoune

Ce village de vignerons est blotti entre le lac de Thoune, des vignobles et le château de Spiez. Il offre un panorama impressionnant sur les Alpes bernoises qui l’encadrent. Tout au long de l’année, de nombreuses activités et attractions attirent les visiteurs dans ce lieu idyllique: les vins fins de Spiez, le château historique de Spiez, des sports aquatiques exaltants et bien plus encore.

Situé au pied du Niesen, la pyramide suisse, vous rejoignez Spiez facilement en train et en bateau.

Culture

La culture du vin à Spiez remonte à plus de 1000 ans, et ce vin est aujourd’hui primé. C’est depuis tout aussi longtemps que l’imposant château de Spiez domine la baie. Rendez-vous au musée du patrimoine et de la viticulture (Heimat- und Rebbaumuseum) pour en savoir plus sur la vie à Spiez au 18e siècle.

Château de Spiez

Château de Spiez – 1300 ans d’histoire

Plongez-vous dans la vie des seigneurs du Moyen-Âge et de leurs familles. La cuisine du château, bien aménagée, et la salle de banquet, datant du début de l’ère baroque, sont particulièrement impressionnantes. Et contrairement à bien d’autres musées, il est ici permis de toucher: essayez les vêtements médiévaux et chemises de chevalier mis à votre disposition! Si vous voulez vous reposer quelques instants, vous pouvez aussi vous allonger sur le lit médiéval.

En plus de l’exposition permanente, le château de Spiez propose une exposition temporaire changeant chaque année.

Après la visite du château, promenez-vous dans son jardin bien entretenu puis admirez le cadre splendide tout en sirotant un verre de vin issu des vignobles de Spiez au café du château.

Château de Spiez

Musée du patrimoine et de la viticulture

Histoire et traditions de Spiez

Situé non loin du château et des vignes, le musée se compose de trois bâtiments datant du début du 18e siècle, dont une magnifique ferme du Simmental avec un grenier et un jardin paysan de style baroque, une grange typique avec un imposant pressoir, la cave à vins d’origine et un atelier du dernier tonnelier de Spiez.

Musée du patrimoine et de la viticulture

Vin de Spiez

Viticulture alpine à Spiez

Attestée depuis le 13e siècle, la culture du vin à Spiez a connu une histoire mouvementée. S’étendant sur près de 13 hectares, les vignobles de Spiez sont aujourd’hui le deuxième plus vaste domaine viticole du canton de Berne. Onze collaborateurs travaillent à temps plein ou partiel pour s’occuper des vignes. Chaque année, toute la récolte de Faulensee, Spiez et Spiezwiler est traitée dans la cave du château avant d’être pressée pour obtenir un vin d’excellente qualité.

Viticulture alpine à Spiez

Dégustations

La coopérative viticole de Spiez organise une dégustation de vins tous les mercredis soir de 17h à 19h. Après une brève initiation théorique aux bases de la dégustation, vous apprendrez quantité d’informations intéressantes sur l’histoire et la fabrication des vins de Spiez.

Dégustations

Où acheter du vin de Spiez

Vous souhaitez déguster le vin local chez vous ou acheter une belle bouteille à offrir? Différents points de vente en proposent à Spiez.

Points de vente

Activités aquatiques

Que ce soit au bord de l’eau, dans l’eau ou sur l’eau, Spiez a beaucoup à offrir. Le lac de Thoune fascine par son bleu turquoise et la commune de Spiez possède 13 kilomètres d’accès au lac. Une douzaine d’appareils pour sports aquatiques sont disponibles à la location. Quant aux bateaux de ligne, ils larguent les amarres à quatre endroits dans la commune: Gwatt, Einigen, Spiez et Faulensee.

Service de navigation et location de bateau

Canoë, stand up paddle, voilier ou pédalo

De quelle manière préférez-vous découvrir le lac de Thoune et ses rives? Différents prestataires peuvent vous louer le matériel nécessaire pour explorer le lac de Thoune en toute autonomie. En canoë, empruntez l’itinéraire de Gwatt à Leissigen pour admirer la nature sous son plus beau jour. Vous pouvez louer des canoës et des stand up paddles au point d’information de la baie de Spiezer, des voiliers, des pédalos et des bateaux à moteur à l’école de voile située à côté du restaurant Schlosspintli.

Propositions d’itinéraire en canoë

Bateaux de ligne

Une croisière sur le lac de Thoune, plus grand lac du canton de Berne, vous permet de profiter confortablement du merveilleux panorama sur les Alpes. Depuis Spiez, il existe d’excellentes liaisons vers Thoune et Interlaken.

Service de navigation de BLS

Sealander, la caravane flottante

Que diriez-vous d’un agréable après-midi baignade, d’un apéritif sur l’eau, d’une confortable excursion fondue en hiver ou même d’une nuit romantique dans une chambre d’hôtel voguant sur le lac de Thoune? Si vous recherchez des expériences hors du commun, le Sealander a exactement ce qu’il vous faut.

Voyage fondue à bord du Sealander

Activités terrestres

Circulant entre la baie et la gare, le petit train ancien de Spiez dessert ce lieu de villégiature. Un véhicule emblématique depuis lequel vous découvrirez Spiez de la meilleure des manières. Sinon, vous pouvez louer des vélos électriques à plusieurs endroits. De nombreuses activités vous attendent dans la baie, dont un nouveau skate park, une aire de jeux ultramoderne et un minigolf populaire qui plaira à toute la famille. De plus, un vaste réseau de chemins de randonnée vous invite à découvrir Spiez à pied. La boucle de 14 km vous amène jusqu’aux plus beaux lieux de Spiez. Un chemin thématique vous attend également dans le vignoble.

Randonnée en boucle et chemins thématiques

Découvrez Spiez sous son plus beau jour à l’occasion d’une randonnée. Longue de 14 km, cette boucle est divisée en quatre tronçons variés et passe à côté de nombreux arrêts de bus. Vous pouvez ainsi personnaliser le circuit en le commençant ou le terminant à l’endroit de votre choix. Des panneaux blancs dotés de pictogrammes verts vous permettront de trouver votre chemin facilement.

Chemin de la plage (2,5 km)

Ce chemin idyllique, qui longe le lac entre Spiez et Faulensee, démarre à côté de la piscine extérieure, emprunte des arbres-tunnels impressionnants et passe à côté de sculptures et de beautés naturelles. Il séduit également par ses coins de baignade discrets, son aire de jeux et son aire de grillades.

Chemin d’altitude (5,5 km)

Depuis Faulensee, ce chemin grimpe dans la forêt de Seeholzwald avant de vous mener au village montagnard de Hondrich avec ses nombreuses fermes traditionnelles. De là, vous redescendez jusqu’à Spiezwiler.

Chemin de Spiezwiler (4,5 km)

Entre Spiezwiler et Spiezmoos, c’est un beau paysage avec de nombreux points de vue impressionnants sur le lac et les montagnes qui vous attend. Ce chemin est particulièrement recommandé au printemps et à l’automne, par temps clair, pour sa vue sur le Niesen.

Chemin des vignes (1,5 km)

Cette promenade dans le vignoble de Spiez convient à tous ceux qui aiment le soleil et ont soif de connaissances. Au bord du chemin, des panneaux renseignent sur la viticulture, la flore et la faune de Spiez. En apothéose, le point de vue fantastique sur le lac de Thoune depuis le Katzenstein. Ce bloc de granite erratique est considéré comme un lieu d’énergie et, vu sous un certain angle, il fait penser à un chat allongé.

Ludotrail

Amuse-toi en parcourant Spiez

Découvrez Spiez de manière ludique en passant d’une étape à une autre. Le parcours comporte 30 stations de jeu individuelles et thématiques portant sur le lieu parcouru.

Ludotrail Spiez

Minigolf Open Standard

Jouer au minigolf dans la baie de Spiez

Découvrez une combinaison unique de minigolf et de golf en vous rendant au minigolf original de la baie de Spiez. Ce parcours est de type «Open Standard». Vous jouez avec un vrai club de golf sur des putting greens atteignant jusqu’à 21 mètres de longueur.

Minigolf à Spiez

Bien-être

Vous voulez vous détendre avec un massage, profiter d’une séance de sauna ou faire quelques longueurs sportives dans une piscine?

Quatre espaces spa de standing vous invitent au plaisir et à la détente à Spiez:

Événements

Ces dernières années, Spiez s’est taillé une réputation de localité dynamique pour les manifestations. Toute l’année, elle offre un large éventail d’événements culturels, sportifs et traditionnels.

Seaside Festival

La plaisir de la musique au Seaside Festival

Chaque année, à la fin de l’été, la musique live envahit les rues de Spiez. Le Seaside Festival attire les foules avec son rock en dialecte, ses pointures internationales, ses sons contemporains et son rock classique. Passez un bon moment entre amis ou en famille dans la baie de Spiez: piquez une tête dans les eaux vivifiantes du lac de Thoune, dégustez de bons plats accompagnés de vin local et profitez d’un programme de rock exceptionnel.

Seaside Festival

Läset-Sunntig

La seule fête des vendanges de l’Oberland bernois

Le Läset-Sunntig est l’un des temps forts de l’agenda de Spiez. Un grand défilé bariolé constitue le clou de cet événement traditionnel. Un spectacle qui attire à Spiez autochtones et visiteurs depuis plus de 50 ans. En plus du défilé, des divertissements populaires et des concerts assurent l’ambiance des festivités.

Läset Sunntig

Comment s'y rendre

Voyagez confortablement en train jusqu’à Spiez ou en bateau de Thoune à Spiez.

Aucun commentaire 0 sur 5 étoiles

Évaluer
D'autres évaluation

Situation

Billets & horaire
Offres similaires
Culture & connaissance
Stadt Bern, Zytglogge und Kramgasse
La vieille ville de Berne
découvrir
Culture & connaissance
Burgdorf Stadtfuehrungen
Visites guidées aventureuses à travers Berthoud
vivre
Culture & connaissance
Naturhistorisches Museum Neuchâtel - Insektensaal
Muséum d’histoire naturelle Neuchâtel
découvrir
Offres spéciales
Zentrum Paul Klee
Centre Paul Klee à Berne
Profiter
Offres à proximité
Nature et randonnée
Thun Winter
Sentier panoramique Spiez–Thoune
Découvrir
Lacs & bateaux
Winterschiff Thunersee_2
Découvrir la région du lac de Thoune en bateau
Profiter
Divertissement
Ludotrail Spiez - Spielerisch das Dorf entdecken
Jouer et s’amuser à Spiez
Horaire & billets
Gastronomie
Sealander Fondueplausch Winter
Fondueausfahrt auf dem Thunersee
Savourer
Newsletter
PDF herunterladen
0 de 0 Fichiers de médias