Knowledge & culture

Murten: an idyll by the lake

A peaceful retreat with Mediterranean flair

Immerse yourself in a world where picturesque alleys meet centuries of history and Lake Murten offers a backdrop of breathtaking nature. An unforgettable experience awaits you here, combining culture, relaxation and discovery with a touch of Mediterranean flair.

Travel comfortably by train to Murten. The old town is about a 10-minute walk from the station.

Sights

Discover the enchanting town of Murten with its historical highlights - from the picturesque Rathausgasse to the imposing Murten Castle and the imposing circular wall. Also explore the fascinating German and French churches and the impressive Berntor.

Rathausgasse

Rathausgasse is a picturesque street that exudes historical charm. Its cobblestones and well-preserved buildings reflect the town's rich history. A stroll along this alley provides a glimpse into past eras and immerses visitors in the character of the city. The shops, boutiques and cosy cafés along Rathausgasse not only offer shopping and leisure opportunities, but also contribute to Murten's lively atmosphere. In this historic setting, the bustling present blends pleasantly with the city's rich history.

Castle Murten

Castle Murten, high above the charming town on the shores of Lake Murten, is a captivating relic of past times. The castle dates back to the time of Count Peter II of Savoy (1255). The castle has been rebuilt several times and has been in its present form since 1755. Today, the castle opens its doors to curious visitors who can immerse themselves in the historic halls and, at the same time, enjoy the panoramic views over the city and Lake Murten. A tour of the castle allows you to experience history first-hand and capture the atmosphere of days gone by.

Ring wall

Murten's circular wall is an impressive relic from days gone by. This well-preserved city wall surrounds the historic old town of Murten and tells of the strategic importance and protection the town once enjoyed. The ring wall was built in several construction phases from different materials such as pebbles, tuff and sandstone. The first 15 layers predate the foundation of the city in the 12th century. You can walk along the almost intact circular wall in all weathers and it offers a panoramic view over the charming roofs of Murten, as well as Lake Murten, on which the routes of the Three Lakes Cruises run. Strolling along the picturesque lakeside with a view of the Vully wine-growing region opposite, you immediately get that “holiday” feeling.

The German and French Churches

German Church

The German Church stands as an important religious building in the heart of the city. Originally, there was a Lady Chapel on the site of the German Church from 1399. The present church was built in 1710 in the Baroque style as a new building, whereby the former chapel choir was preserved. As a meeting place for the German-speaking community, it serves not only as a place of faith and devotion, but also as a cultural centre. Its architecture and presence shape the townscape and bear witness to the rich history of Murten.

French Church

The late Gothic French Church replaced the former St. Catherine's Chapel in 1481. A commemorative plaque to the reformer William Farel (1530) is placed above the entrance. The church marks an important place of faith and community, and its historical value and cultural relevance emphasise the city's connection with different languages and traditions.

Berntor

The Berntor in Murten is a remarkable historic town gate that is part of the well-preserved town wall. It was totally destroyed in the Battle of Murten and had to be rebuilt several times over later years. Today's Berntor dates from the second half of the 18th century, when it was built by Bernese master builder Niklaus Hebler, who also renovated the Bernese Zeitglockenturm. It stands to the north of the old town and is an important relic of days gone by. With its imposing presence, it is a reminder of Murten's rich history and offers visitors an insight into the town's medieval defensive structure.

Activities

Taste the heavenly delicious "Nidelkuchen" at the Aebersold bakery and experience the captivating world of "Circuit Secret Murten Licht" with impressive light projections. The Murten Museum reveals the town's history from ancient times to the present day, while "Murten on Ice" offers winter family fun on ice skates.

Aebersold's Nidelkuchen

Tasting Nidelkuchen

The Aebersold bakery in Murten is known for its house speciality, Nidelkuchen. This unique recipe has been passed down and refined over three generations. Whilst visiting, guests have the opportunity to watch the bakers at work and get a glimpse of the production process. There is an opportunity to try both traditional Nidelkuchen and a savoury variation with bacon or tomatoes.

Further information about Aebersold's Nidelkuchen

Circuit Secret Murten Licht

Mysterious light experience

Experience a mysterious and luminous journey through six interactive rooms! On a tour through the city with a total of six interactive stations, you will be taken on a mysterious and exciting journey. Creative light projections and animations interact with you in a variety of ways. This extraordinary experience stirs the emotions and leaves you wanting to explore further.

Further information about the Secret Circuit Murten Licht

Museum Murten

Murten's journey through time: history and the present in the museum

The Museum Murten presents a diverse collection of exhibits that illuminate Murten's development from antiquity to the present day. From archaeological finds to contemporary art, the museum offers a fascinating insight into the multi-faceted identity of this historic city. The exhibitions encourage visitors to explore the past, understand the present and experience the unique atmosphere of Murten.

Further information about the Museum Murten

Murten on Ice

Skating pleasure

Murten on Ice invites you to enjoy a wintery treat. This seasonal event transforms the place into a frosty oasis of fun and activity. The ice rink offers young and old the opportunity to put on their skates and glide on the ice. Music and lights create a festive atmosphere while families, friends and visitors brave the cold with fun and enthusiasm. 

Further information about Murten on Ice

Events

Visit the event highlights in Murten: the enchanting Christmas market, the fascinating light festival and the thrilling carnival.

Murten Christmas Market 8.–10. 12.2023

Magical Christmas atmosphere

During three days (from 8 to 10 December 2023), you can immerse yourself in the magical festivity of the Murtner Weihnachtsmarktest. This annual event transforms the historic streets of Murten into a winter oasis of joy and community spirit. The market is the perfect place to get in the mood for the festive season and experience the anticipation of Christmas. The stalls are filled with handmade gifts, festive decorations and culinary delights.

Murten Light Festival 17.–28.1.2024

Magic lights in Murten

From 17 to 28 January 2024, the Light Festival will once again take place in the old town of Murten. During the Murten Light Festival, breathtaking light installations, projections and creative works of art are presented on the town's historic buildings and squares. These vibrant creations interact with the environment and create an impressive play of colours and shapes. Immerse yourself in a spectacle that transforms the city into a shimmering wonderland and creates a very special atmosphere.

Further information about the Murten Light Festival

Murten Carnival 1.–4.3.2024

Dress up and celebrate!

Let yourself be swept away by the lively atmosphere of Murten Carnival (from 1 to 4 March 2024)! The Murten Carnival events offer a variety of activities for all ages. Be it the rousing parades, the creative costume competitions or the wide range of entertainment - there is something for everyone here. You have the opportunity to immerse yourself in the colourful world of carnival, dress up and share the fun with the community.

Further information about the Murten Carnival

Food & drink

How to get there

Travel comfortably by train to Murten.

No reviews 0 of 5 stars

Rate
Additional ratings

Standort

Tickets & timetable
Ähnliche Angebote
Knowledge & culture
Bire Mandli
House of Museums Kandersteg
Visit
Knowledge & culture
Museum fuer Kommunikation Dauerausstellung
Museum of Communication in Bern
Visit
Knowledge & culture
Kreuz am Wegrand
Lötschental - Experience culture and tradition
explore
Knowledge & culture
Reichenbacher Häuserweg
Reichenbach House Trail
Discover
Angebote in der Nähe
Special offers
Fribourg_Region_Region_Murtensee_Genussreise_Murten_7
Cycling tours in the Lake Murten region
erleben
Bikes & e-bikes
slowUp Murtensee Velofahren Familien
The Lake Murten slowUp 28. April 2024
Experience
Bikes & e-bikes
Occasions-Outlet von «Rent a Bike»
Second-hand bicycles from "Rent a Bike" in Murten
discover
Knowledge & culture
BirdLife Naturzentrum La Sauge
Discover the BirdLife Nature Centre at La Sauge
Discover
Newsletter
Download PDF
0 of 0 Media files

Culture & connaissance

Morat: une idylle au bord du lac

Un lieu de retraite paisible aux accents méditerranéens

Plongez dans un monde où les ruelles pittoresques côtoient une histoire vieille de plusieurs siècles et où le lac de Morat offre un décor naturel à couper le souffle. Une expérience inoubliable vous y attend, alliant culture, détente et découverte, avec une touche d'ambiance méditerranéenne.

Voyagez confortablement en train jusqu'à Morat. La vieille ville est à environ 10 minutes à pied de la gare.

Attractions

Découvrez la charmante ville de Morat et ses points forts historiques - de la pittoresque ruelle de l'hôtel de ville à l'imposant mur d'enceinte en passant par l'imposant château de Morat. Explorez également les fascinantes églises allemandes et françaises ainsi que l'impressionnante porte de Berne.

Rathausgasse

La Rathausgasse est une rue pittoresque qui dégage un charme historique. Ses rues pavées et ses bâtiments bien conservés reflètent la riche histoire de la ville. Une promenade le long de cette ruelle donne un aperçu des époques passées et immerge les visiteurs dans le caractère de la ville. Les magasins, boutiques et cafés agréables le long de la Rathausgasse offrent non seulement des possibilités d'achat et de loisirs, mais contribuent également à l'atmosphère animée de Morat. Dans ce décor historique, le présent animé se fond agréablement avec la riche histoire de la ville.

Château de Morat

Le château de Morat, qui surplombe la charmante ville sur les rives du lac de Morat, est un vestige captivant des temps passés. Le château date de l'époque du comte Pierre II de Savoie (1255). Le château a subi de nombreuses transformations et sa forme actuelle date de 1755. Aujourd'hui, le château ouvre ses portes aux visiteurs curieux qui s'immergent dans les salles historiques tout en profitant des vues panoramiques sur la ville et le lac de Morat. Une visite du château permet de vivre l'histoire de près et de s'imprégner de l'atmosphère d'une époque révolue.

Remparts

Les remparts de Morat sont un vestige impressionnant du passé. Ces remparts bien conservés entourent la vieille ville historique de Morat et soulignent l'importance stratégique et la protection dont jouissait autrefois la ville. Les remparts ont été construits en plusieurs étapes à l'aide de différents matériaux tels que le gravier, le tuf et la molasse. Les 15 premières couches datent d'avant la fondation de la ville au 12e siècle. Les remparts, presque intacts, sont accessibles par tous les temps et offrent une vue panoramique sur les charmants toits de Morat ainsi que sur le lac de Morat où circulent les bateaux de navigation sur les Trois-Lacs. Quand on se promène sur les rives pittoresques du lac tout en profitant de la vue sur le vignoble du Vully situé en face, on ressent immédiatement une ambiance de vacances.

L'église allemande et l'église française

Église allemande

L'église allemande se trouve au cœur de la ville et est un édifice religieux important. À l'origine, une chapelle dédiée à la Vierge Marie se trouvait à l'emplacement de l'église allemande à partir de 1399. L'église actuelle a été construite en 1710 dans le style baroque, l'ancien chœur de la chapelle ayant été conservé. Point de rencontre pour la communauté germanophone, elle sert non seulement de lieu de foi et de recueillement, mais aussi de centre culturel. Son architecture et sa présence sont les emblèmes de la ville et témoignent de la riche histoire de Morat.

Église française

L'église française de style gothique tardif a remplacé l'ancienne chapelle Sainte-Catherine à partir de 1481. Une plaque commémorative du réformateur Guillaume Farel (1530) est placée au-dessus de l'entrée. L'église est un lieu important de foi et de communauté, et sa valeur historique et sa pertinence culturelle soulignent les liens de la ville avec différentes langues et traditions.

Porte de Berne

La porte de Berne à Morat est une porte historique remarquable qui fait partie des remparts bien conservés de la ville. Elle a été totalement détruite lors de la bataille de Morat et a dû être reconstruite plusieurs fois par la suite. L'actuelle porte de Berne date de la deuxième moitié du 18e siècle, lorsqu'elle a été construite par l'architecte bernois Niklaus Hebler, qui a également rénové le clocher de l'horloge de Berne. Elle se trouve au nord de la vieille ville et constitue un important vestige des temps passés. Imposante, elle rappelle la riche histoire de Morat et offre aux visiteurs un aperçu de la structure défensive médiévale de la ville.

Activités

Dégustez le divin et délicieux «Nidelkuchen» à la boulangerie Aebersold et découvrez l'univers captivant du «Circuit Secret Murten Licht» avec ses impressionnantes projections lumineuses. Le musée de Morat dévoile l'histoire de la ville de l'Antiquité à nos jours, tandis que «Murten on Ice» offre des plaisirs hivernaux en famille sur les patins à glace.

Aebersold's Nidelkuchen

Dégustation de Nidelkuchen, les gâteaux à la crème moratois

La boulangerie Aebersold à Morat est connue pour sa spécialité maison, le Nidelkuchen. Cette recette unique a été transmise et améliorée au fil de trois générations. Lors d'une visite, les curieux peuvent regarder le travail des boulangers et se faire ainsi une idée de la fabrication. C'est l'occasion de goûter aussi bien le Nidelkuchen traditionnel que sa variante salée au lard ou à la tomate.

Plus d'informations sur le Nidelkuchen d'Aebersold

Circuit Secret Murten Licht

Circuit Secret Morat Lumières

Entreprenez un voyage mystérieux et lumineux à travers six salles interactives! Une visite de la ville comprenant en tout six stations interactives vous emmènera dans un voyage mystérieux et passionnant. Des projections lumineuses et des animations créatives interagissent avec vous de diverses manières. Cette expérience hors du commun suscite des émotions et donne envie de poursuivre l'exploration. 

Plus d'informations sur Circuit Secret Morat Lumières

Musée de Morat

Le voyage dans le temps de Morat : histoire et présent au musée

Le musée de Morat présente une collection variée d'objets qui mettent en lumière l'évolution de Morat de l'Antiquité à nos jours. Des découvertes archéologiques à l'art contemporain, le musée offre un aperçu fascinant de l'identité complexe de cette ville historique. Les expositions incitent à explorer le passé, à comprendre le présent et à vivre l'atmosphère unique de Morat.

Plus d'informations sur le Musée de Morat

Morat on Ice

Les plaisirs du patinage

Morat on Ice vous invite à un divertissement hivernal. Cette manifestation saisonnière transforme le lieu en une oasis glaciale pleine de joie et d'effervescence. La patinoire offre aux jeunes et aux moins jeunes l'occasion de chausser leurs patins et de glisser sur la glace. La musique et les lumières créent une atmosphère festive, tandis que les familles, les amis et les visiteurs bravent le froid avec plaisir et enthousiasme.

Plus d'informations sur Murten on Ice

Manifestations

Visitez les événements phares de Morat : le charmant marché de Noël, le fascinant festival des lumières et l'entraînant carnaval.

Marché de Noël de Morat 8.–10. 12.2023

Ambiance magique de Noël

Pendant trois jours (du 8 au 10 décembre 2023), vous pourrez vous plonger dans l'ambiance festive et féerique du marché de Noël de Morat. Cet événement annuel transforme les rues historiques de Morat en une oasis hivernale pleine de joie qui contribue à rapprocher les gens. Le marché est l'endroit idéal pour se mettre dans l'ambiance des fêtes de Noël. Les stands regorgent de cadeaux faits main, de décorations festives et de délices culinaires.

Festival des lumières de Morat 17.–28.1.2024

Magie des lumières à Morat

Du 17 au 28 janvier 2024, la vieille ville de Morat accueillera à nouveau le Festival des lumières. Pendant le Festival des lumières de Morat, des installations lumineuses époustouflantes, des projections et des œuvres d'art créatives sont présentées sur les bâtiments et les places historiques de la ville. Ces créations animées interagissent avec l'environnement et créent un jeu impressionnant de couleurs et de formes. Plongez dans un spectacle qui transforme la ville en un pays des merveilles chatoyant et crée une ambiance très particulière.

Plus d'informations sur le Festival des lumières de Morat

Carnaval de Morat 1.–4.3.2024

Se déguiser et faire la fête !

Laissez-vous emporter par l'ambiance animée du Carnaval de Morat (du 1er au 4 mars 2024)! Le Carnaval de Morat propose une multitude d'activités pour tous les âges. Qu'il s'agisse de défilés entraînants, de concours de costumes créatifs ou d'offres de divertissement variées, chacun y trouvera son compte. Vous avez la possibilité de vous plonger dans l'univers bariolé du carnaval, de vous déguiser et de partager le plaisir avec la communauté.

Plus d'informations sur le Carnaval de Morat

Restauration

Vous trouverez ici quelques recommandations de plats délicieux et de boissons rafraîchissantes:

Comment s'y rendre

Voyagez confortablement en train jusqu’à Morat.

Aucun commentaire 0 sur 5 étoiles

Évaluer
D'autres évaluation

Standort

Billets & horaire
Ähnliche Angebote
Culture & connaissance
Reichenbacher Häuserweg
Sentier des maisons à Reichenbach
Découvrir
Culture & connaissance
Kirche Erlenbach im Sommer
Le sentier des maisons du Simmental
Vivre
Culture & connaissance
Schloss Thun
Château de Thoune
Visiter
Culture & connaissance
Schweizerisches Agrarmuseum Burgrain Ausstellungsraum
Musée suisse de l’agriculture de Burgrain
Visiter
Angebote in der Nähe
Vélos & vélos électriques
Fribourg_Region_Region_Murtensee_Genussreise_Murten_7
Tours en vélo dans la région du lac de Morat
vivre
Vélos & vélos électriques
slowUp Murtensee Velofahren Familien
SlowUp du lac de Morat 28. avril 2024
Vivre
Vélos & vélos électriques
Occasions-Outlet von «Rent a Bike»
Vélo d’occasion de «Rent a Bike» à Morat
découvrir
Culture & connaissance
BirdLife Naturzentrum La Sauge
Découverte du centre-nature BirdLife de la Sauge
découvrir
Newsletter
PDF herunterladen
0 de 0 Fichiers de médias