Hiking & nature

Hiking in Piedmont

Located in the north-west of Italy, Piedmont is surrounded on three sides by the Alps. The name means "at the foot of the mountain". So it's no wonder that there are some wonderful hiking trails in this area.

If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and experience the beauty of nature in its purest form, then you've come to the right place. No matter which of the hikes you choose, the mountain landscape and charming villages will delight you.

Nature lovers and hiking enthusiasts can travel quickly and comfortably on the BLS RegioExpress service Bern–Spiez–Kandersteg–Brig–Domodossola to this region, which is also famous for its exquisite cuisine and excellent wines.

Valle Cairasca – from Varzo to San Domenico

A panoramic hike through alpine landscapes and fairytale forests

This beautiful hike through the Cairasca Valley leads across low mountain pastures and Alpine meadows from Varzo to San Domenico. The trail, which was included in the "Alps without borders" map series, also connects Veglia, Devero and Formazza with Airolo in the canton of Ticino (CH).

The route begins in the historic centre of Varzo. Take the lovely mule track, which follows the true left bank of the stream that criss-crosses Varzo to reach the hamlet of Colla. From here, you continue towards the castle and then follow the path upwards to Coggia and Alpe Nava. From here, you should follow the signs for the “Sentiero Naturalistico” (nature trail), which passes through a long series of Varzo’s Alpine meadows until it reaches first the Bosco delle Fate (Fairytale Forest) and then San Domenico.

Key data

Hiking route Varzo–Colla–Coggia–Alpe Nava–Plé –Loi–Torba–Fernone–Bosco delle Fate–San Domenico
Distance 9.5 km
Elevation difference Ascent: 912 m / Descent: 68 m
Duration 3 hours 45 minutes
Level of difficulty medium
Availability The hiking trail is accessible all year round

Archaeological Museum of Varzo

Visit the Archaeological Museum in Varzo before the hike. It offers a small, multimedia exhibition about the early history of the valleys, in particular about the Mesolithic hunters who came to the Veglia valley 8,000 years ago.

How to get there

The BLS RegioExpress service Bern–Spiez–Kandersteg–Brig–Domodossola takes you directly from Bern to Varzo. Your hike through the Valle Cairasca to San Domenico, paese starts there. The return journey is by bus to Varzo and then by train back to your starting point.

Recommended timetable

Arrival

Berne from 07.39
Varzo to 09.41

Return journey


* San Domenico, paese Mon-Fri from 17.30
* Varzo to 17.50
Varzo from  18.08
Brig to 18.33
Brig from 18.48
Berne to 19.54

* On-call bus: Prontobus must be booked the day before by calling +39 339 4045429. Timetable valid until 9 June 2024.

Valle Vigezzo – Known as the Valley of the Painters

Discover art from the past on the "Circuito dei Santi" in the form of richly decorated façades, chapels and places of worship.

From Domodossola, take the Centovalli railway to the historic Vigezzo Valley, which has been a great inspiration to many artists of the past thanks to its beauty. Quite a few of these artists left their mark decorating the facades of homes and churches with ornate murals that are still preserved today, which is why the valley is also often known as the “Valley of the Painters”. Follow in the footsteps of the great painters and artists of the 17th century. The hiking trail shows the artistic and historical wealth of that time and takes you to the valley's large churches and small oratories, where both Vigezzo artists and important foreign artists worked.

The "Circuito dei Santi" is an extensive network of hiking trails that stretches across the entire valley and connects the sacred monuments. Information boards can be found at the religious buildings along the entire route. There you will receive information on religion, art and history in the Vigezzo Valley. Particularly worthwhile is a visit to the main town of Santa Maria Maggiore and the connecting trail through pine forests to Druogno. 

The "Circuito dei Santi" runs along three different routes. The western trail leads from Santa Maria Maggiore to Druogno. This hiking route takes approx. 1 hour and 15 minutes. From Druogno, the Centovalli railway takes you back to Domodossola.

The hiking trail is accessible all year round.

The sights of Santa Maria Maggiore

Large Market

A large market is held every Monday in Santa Maria Maggiore. It is about a 10-minute walk from Santa Maria Maggiore railway station.

Chimney Sweep Museum

Established in 1983, the museum tells of the customs and traditional occupations of the Vigezzo Valley.

House of Perfume

This small but fine mountain museum aims to recount the little-known origins of the famous Eau de Cologne.

Praudina Adventure Park

This rope park in the pine forest near Santa Maria Maggiore offers fun for all the family.

How to get there

Travel in comfort with the BLS RegioExpress service to Domodossola. Start with a trip on the Vigezzina-Centovalli railway from Domodossola to Santa Maria Maggiore. From there, set off on the footpath through the lush pine forest as far as Druogno. From Druogno, the circular route loops back to Domodossola.

Via della Fede: Varzo–Trasquera

Via della Fede (Path of Faith): Varzo–Trasquera

The route initially follows small village streets within Varzo before taking the Veia di Brocc, a beautiful cobbled mule track that leads from Ponte Boldrini via Bertonio to Trasquera church. Because of the many chapels along the way, this route was once known as a path for meditation. Until 1961, when the navigable road was constructed, this was the main way of accessing Trasquera.

From the square by Varzo Railway Station, take the street leading to the right. Cross the old trunk road and continue straight ahead towards the centre of Varzo along Viale Castelli as far as the beautiful parish church of San Giorgio and the medieval tower.
In front of the tourist office, recross the stream and ascend Via Zanalda to the pretty oratory of San Rocco in the Alneda district. Continue on a level gradient along the main road (Via Alneda) between fine stone houses until you cross the main road leading to San Domenico.

On the left-hand side, there is a beautiful building with a tower. This is the base for the administrative authority responsible for the protected areas of the Ossola region. Here, you can ask for information about the Veglia Devero Park and visit the recently built “Archeomuseo” multimedia archaeology museum. Follow the level Via Galtarossa for its full length to reach Bertonio, where you will find the former Simplon trunk road at the Antica Osteria. Remaining on the pavement for a short time, follow the main road to the Ponte Boldrini Bridge, which crosses the Cairasca Valley.

The (signposted) mule track begins immediately after the bridge on the right-hand side. This mule track, Vèia d’Brocc, was the principal means of reaching Trasquera before the road was built in 1961. You continue ascending for some time via a number of sharp bends between beech and chestnut trees, using the resting places of the Cappella del Pianzolo and the Cappella del Sasso along the route.

In this way, you tackle the 500-metre ascent that brings you to the Trasquera parish church, dedicated to Saint Gervasio and Saint Protasio and situated in an evocative location on a cliff with views over the valley floor. Continue on the main road (Via Alpi Lepontine) to the centre of the village.

Key data

Hiking route Varzo Railway Station–Via Galtarossa–Fontana district–Bertonio district–Ponte Boldrini–Trasquera church–Trasquera village square
Elevation difference
546 m uphill, 10 m downhill
Distance 5,7 km
Duration 2 hours 10 minutes
Level of difficulty
medium difficulty
Availability The hiking trail is accessible all year round

How to get there

The trail is accessed with a return rail ticket to Iselle di Trasquera.

"Giro di Agro" circular trail

A very panoramic circular route that follows the line of the ridge separating the Divedro Valley from the Cairasca Valley.

From the town hall square, follow the signs to Agro Fuori and you will soon arrive at a well-marked crossroads. This leads you into the lovely Fraccia pine forest, where there is a fine farm building. At the signposted junction (path F38), take the side track towards Agro. This soon becomes a narrow path that begins to re-ascend the steep forested slope. The significant difference in height is tackled with the aid of hefty steps carved into the rock and sections equipped with safety barriers.

After this steep part of the walk, you reach the plateau on which the huts of the Alpe Agro Fuori are located, offering a sweeping view over the triptych of the Simplon mountains. First, the route continues further along the slope before descending towards the Alpe Agro Dentro (path F40). The Alpine meadow marks the start of a steep and quite challenging descent, which finishes on the Trasquera - Bugliaga road near the Ponte del Diavolo (Devil’s Bridge), constructed in 1880. The bridge is approximately 100 metres high with a 33.3-metre span.

Key data

Hiking route  Trasquera–La Sotta–Agro Fuori–Agro Dentro–Schiaffo– Trasquera
Distance 8,4 km
Elevation difference 700 m
Duration 3 hours 40 minutes
Lefel of difficulty Route of medium difficulty, in places very steep
Paths F38 + F40 + F40 + F00 
Availability The hiking trail is accessible all year round

How to get there

The trail is accessed with a return rail ticket to Iselle di Trasquera.

Domodossola–Preglia winter hike

Historical winter hike in northern Italy

The route from Domodossola to Preglia passes numerous historical locations, such as the Tower of Ardignaga, and heads through the typical northern Italian villages of Caddo, Monte, Canei and Bosco. Between the wooded and open areas, the view widens to encompass the plain of Domodossola, right across to the snowy peaks in the background. In winter especially, when the trees are bare, this hike across the sunny, terraced landscape is extremely rewarding and so characteristically Italian. 

Part of one of the roads that historically connected central Europe with the Po Valley, the Via Francisca Ossolana, passes close to Domodossola. This first part, from Domodossola to Crevoladossola, does not follow the actual road, but passes instead through ancient settlements. The route initially encounters the sunny, scenically located villages of Crevola di Bosco, Canei and Monte. It then heads downhill, past the Tower of Ardignaga, to Mocogna, where it crosses the Bogna stream before the old dams come into view.

The trail to Caddo in Ardignaga is clearly sign-posted, and from there the trail begins to climb, with high stone walls marking the path. After crossing an area of woodland, where small cultivated fields supported by terraces are still well preserved, you are greeted by a beautiful panoramic view of the plain, from which the medieval Tower of Ardignaga rises. This is one of the most beautiful and majestic signal towers that are scattered across the Ossola region, whose existence is documented as far back as the 17th century.

Key data

 Hiking route Domodossola–Mocogna–Preglia
 Distance 7.27 km
 Elevation difference 575 m
 Duration 2 hours 30 minutes
 Level of difficulty T2
 Viewpoints Ardignaga Turm, Canei
 Availability The trail is available all year round, but is particularly recommended in the winter months (from November to March) as the entire trail is very exposed to the sun.

BLS suggestion

At the market in Domodossola, a culinary paradise, every Saturday you can discover fresh local ingredients and enjoy the flavours of the region. Just a stone’s-throw away, the Casa dei Ravioli invites you to experience the art of traditionally prepared, hand-made ravioli. And if you would like to experience the best of the Italian aperitif culture, the Piazza Mercato offers you the opportunity to enjoy refreshing drinks and delicious snacks in a relaxed atmosphere.

How to get there

With the RegioExpress Bern–Spiez–Kandersteg–Brig–Domodossola you travel comfortably from Bern direct to Domodossola. From there, it’s just a 20-minute walk to the starting point.

The Uriezzo Gorges

Incredible – the power of water when it is allowed to flood, bubble and gurgle for thousands of years

The Uriezzo gorges are located in the heart of the Valle Antigorio and tell the story of thousands of years of erosion by ancient glaciers.

During the last ice age around 12,000 years ago, the flowing waters eroded the rock here and left behind ludicrous formations: Glacial potholes, cauldrons, mills, grooves and niches. Some places are only a few metres wide, others up to 30 metres deep – a visit to the Uriezzo gorges is like a journey to the centre of the earth.

There are three gorges that have dried out and can therefore be walked through completely. The south gorge is the most spectacular. It is approx. 200 metres long and up to 30 metres deep.

The hiking trail is well developed and signposted. The differences in height can be overcome easily using iron steps. The rocky ground is covered in a layer of dried mud and can be muddy and slippery in wet weather. A complex ecosystem awaits you, characterised by high humidity, minimal light, and smooth, polished walls. Plants thrive here that are rarely found anywhere else. Mosses and ferns in particular have adapted perfectly to the difficult conditions.

Key data

Starting point Baceno  
Distance 6.5 km
Elevation difference 200 m
Duration 2 hours
Level of difficulty easy
Availability accessible from March to November

How to get here

The journey is uncomplicated and easy to reach with the RegioExpress service Bern–Spiez–Kandersteg–Brig–Domodossola via the Lötschberg mountain railway directly to Domodossola and then by bus to Baceno. Walk to the church of San Gaudenzio (historical national monument) and follow the signs to "orridi".

No reviews 0 of 5 stars

Rate
Additional ratings

Location

Tickets & timetable
Similar offers
Family
Wasserspielplatz Wasserlauf
“Gwunderwasser” water playground in the Diemigtal
Discover
Knowledge & culture
Kirche Erlenbach im Sommer
Simmental House Trail
Experience
Knowledge & culture
Frühling in Boltigen
Obersimmental House Trail
Discover
Knowledge & culture
Kreuz am Wegrand
Lötschental - Experience culture and tradition
explore
Offers nearby
Hiking & nature
Wanderung Via Stockalper unterwegs
ViaStockalper Val Divedro hike
Entdecken
Trade fairs & festivals
Ein junges Paar verhandelt mit dem Verkäufer über den Preis der Antipasti.
Market in Domodossola
Visit
Hiking & nature
Domodossola - Monte Calvario - Pilgerweg
Sacro Monte Calvario in Domodossola
Discover
Railway adventures
Intragna Centovalli Alessio Pizzi
Discover the Centovalli and Valle Vigezzo by train
Discover
Newsletter
Download PDF
0 of 0 Media files

Wandern & Natur

Wandern im Piemont

Im Nordwesten von Italien gelegen, ist das Piemont auf drei Seiten von den Alpen umgeben. Der Name bedeutet notabene «Am Fusse des Berges». Kein Wunder also, dass es in dieser Gegend wunderschöne Wanderungen gibt.

Wenn Sie von der Hektik des Alltags abschalten und die Schönheit der Natur in ihrer reinsten Form erleben möchten, dann sind Sie hier genau richtig. Egal für welche der Wanderungen Sie sich entscheiden, die Berglandschaft und die charmanten Dörfer werden auch Sie begeistern.

Naturliebhaber und Wanderfreunde gelangen mit dem BLS Regioexpress Bern–Spiez–Kandersteg–Brig–Domodossola schnell und bequem in diese Region, die übrigens auch für ihre erlesene Küche und ihre ausgezeichneten Weine berühmt ist.

Valle Cairasca – von Varzo nach San Domenico

Eine aussichtsreiche Wanderung durch alpine Landschaften und Märchenwälder

Diese schöne Wanderung durch das Cairasca-Tal führt über Mittelgebirgsweiden und Almen von Varzo bis nach San Domenico. Der Weg, der in das Kartenwerk «Alpen ohne Grenzen» aufgenommen wurde, verbindet zudem Veglia, Devero und Formazza mit Airolo im Kanton Tessin (CH).

Die Route beginnt im historischen Zentrum von Varzo. Nehmen Sie den schönen Saumpfad, der am Bach entlang durch Varzo bis zum Dorf Colla hinaufführt. Von hier aus geht es weiter bis zum Dorf Castello und dann den Weg hinauf nach Coggia und zur Alpe Nava. Von hier aus folgen Sie dem «Sentiero Naturalistico» (Naturlehrpfad), der durch eine weitläufige Almenlandschaft bis zum Bosco delle Fate (Märchenwald) und dann nach San Domenico führt.

Eckdaten

Wanderroute Varzo–Colla–Coggia–Alpe Nava–Plé –Loi–Torba–Fernone–Bosco delle Fate–San Domenico
Distanz 9.5 km
Höhendifferenz Aufstieg: 912 m / Abstieg: 68 m
Wanderzeit 3 Std. 45 Min.
Schwierigkeitsgrad mittel
Verfügbarkeit Der Wanderweg ist ganzjährig begehbar

Archäologisches Museum von Varzo

Besuchen Sie vor der Wanderung das Archäologische Museum in Varzo. Es bietet eine kleine, multimediale Ausstellung über die frühe Geschichte der Täler, insbesondere über die mittelsteinzeitlichen Jäger, die vor 8000 Jahren in die Talmulde von Veglia kamen.

Anreise

Der BLS RegioExpress Bern–Spiez–Kandersteg–Brig–Domodossola bringt Sie von Bern direkt bis nach Varzo. Dort beginnt Ihre Wanderung durch das Valle Cairasca bis nach San Domenico, paese. Die Rückreise erfolgt per Bus bis Varzo und dann weiter mit dem Zug zurück an Ihren Ausgangsort.

Fahrplanempfehlung

Anreise

Bern ab 07.39
Varzo an 09.41

Rückreise


* San Domenico, paese Mo-Fr ab 17.30
* Varzo an 17.50
Varzo ab   18.08
Brig an 18.33
Brig ab 18.48
Bern an 19.54

* Rufbus: Prontobus muss unter der Telefonnummer +39 339 4045429 am Vortag bestellt werden. Fahrplan gültig bis 9.6.2024. 

Valle Vigezzo – genannt das Tal der Maler

Entdecken Sie auf dem «Circuito dei Santi» Kunst aus der Vergangenheit in Form von reich dekorierten Fassaden, Kapelle und Kultstätten.

Von Domodossola her kommend, erreichen Sie mit der Centovalli-Bahn das geschichtsträchtige Vigezzo-Tal, welches dank seiner Schönheit für viele Künstler der Vergangenheit eine grosse Inspiration war. Nicht wenige dieser Künstler haben ihre Spuren hinterlassen und die Fassaden von Wohnhäusern und Kirchen mit reichen, bis heute erhaltenen, Wandmalereien dekoriert. Deshalb wird das Tal auch oft als «das Tal der Maler» bezeichnet. Wandern Sie auf den Spuren der grossen Maler und Künstler des 17. Jahrhunderts. Der Wanderweg zeigt den künstlerischen und historischen Reichtum jener Zeit und führt Sie zu den grossen Kirchen und kleinen Oratorien des Tals, in denen sowohl Künstler aus Vigezzo als auch bedeutende ausländische Künstler wirkten.

Der «Circuito dei Santi» ist ein umfangreiches Wanderwegnetz das sich über das gesamte Tal erstreckt und die sakralen Monumente miteinander verbindet. Entlang der gesamten Strecke befinden sich Informationstafeln bei den religiösen Gebäuden. Sie erhalten Informationen zur Religion, Kunst und Geschichte im Vigezzotal. Besonders lohnend ist der Besuch des Hauptortes Santa Maria Maggiore und die anschliessende Wanderung durch Pinienwälder nach Druogno. 

Der «Circuito dei Santi» führt entlang drei verschiedenen Strecken. Die westliche Strecke führt von Santa Maria Maggiore nach Druogno. Diese Wanderstrecke dauert ca. 1 Stunde und 15 Minuten. Ab Druogno bringt Sie die Centovalli-Bahn nach Domodossola zurück.

Der Wanderweg ist ganzjährig begehbar. 

Sehenswürdigkeiten in Santa Maria Maggiore

Grosser Markt

Jeden Montag findet in Santa Maria Maggiore ein grosser Markt statt. Zu Fuss ist er etwa 10 Minuten vom Bahnhof Santa Maria Maggiore entfernt.

Kaminfeger-Museum

Das 1983 eingerichtete Museum berichtet von den Sitten und traditionellen Berufen des Vigezzotals.

Parfumhaus

Das kleine, aber feine Bergmuseum möchte an die kaum bekannten Ursprünge des berühmten Kölnisch Wassers erinnern.

Praudina Adventure Park

Der Seilpark im Pinienwald neben Santa Maria Maggiore bietet Spass für Gross und Klein.

Anreise

Reisen Sie bequem mit dem BLS RegioExpress nach Domodossola. Mit der Vigezzina-Centovalli Bahn geht es ab Domodossola nach S. Maria Maggiore. Dort beginnt der Fussweg durch den lauschigen Pinienwald bis nach Druogno. Von Druogno aus geht die Rundreise wieder zurück nach Domodossola.

Via della Fede – von Varzo nach Trasquera

Via della Fede (Weg des Glaubens): Varzo–Trasquera

Die Route folgt zuerst kleinen Dorfstrassen in Varzo und dann dem wunderschönen gepflasterten Saumpfad Veia di Brocc, der von Ponte Boldrini über Bertonio zur Kirche von Trasquera führt. Aufgrund der zahlreichen Kapellen war diese Route einst als Meditationsweg bekannt. Bis im Jahr 1961, in dem die befahrbare Strasse gebaut wurde, war dies die Hauptverbindung nach Trasquera.

Vom Platz vor dem Bahnhof Varzo aus nehmen Sie die Strasse, die nach rechts führt. Überqueren Sie die alte Staatsstrasse und gehen Sie geradeaus in Richtung Varzo Zentrum entlang der Viale Castelli bis zur wunderschönen Pfarrkirche San Giorgio und dem mittelalterlichen Turm.
Vor dem Tourismusbüro überqueren Sie den Bach und wandern weiter entlang der Via Zanalda hinauf zum schönen Oratorium von San Rocco in Fraz. Alneda. Auf flacher Ebene auf der Hauptstrasse (Via Alneda) zwischen schönen Steinhäusern wandern Sie weiter, bis man die Hauptstrasse überquert, die nach San Domenico führt.

Auf der linken Seite befindet sich ein schönes Gebäude mit einem Turm: Es ist der Sitz der Verwaltungsbehörde für die Schutzgebiete von Ossola, wo Sie Informationen über den Veglia Devero Park anfordern können und wo Sie das kürzlich errichtete multimediale Archäomuseum besuchen können. In der Via Galtarossa, die auf flachem Niveau weitergeht, folgen Sie ihr in ihrer Gesamtheit bis zur Ortschaft Bertonio, wo Sie an der Antica Osteria die alte Simplon-Staatsstrasse finden. Mit einem kurzen Stück auf dem Bürgersteig folgen Sie der Hauptstrasse bis zur Ponte Boldrini, die den T. Cairasca überquert.

Der Saumpfad (ausgeschildert) beginnt unmittelbar nach der Brücke auf der rechten Seite. Dieser Saumpfad, Vèia d'Brocc, ermöglichte es, Trasquera vor dem Bau der Strasse im Jahr 1961 zu erreichen. Mit zahlreichen Kehren zwischen Buchen und Kastanien steigen Sie lange Zeit auf und nutzen die Ruheplätze der Cappella del Pianzolo und der Cappella del Sasso.

Die 500 Höhenmeter, die sich bis zur Pfarrkirche von Trasquera erheben, die den Heiligen Gervasio und Protasio gewidmet ist und in einer suggestiven Position auf einem Felsen mit Blick auf den Talboden liegt, werden so überwunden. Weiter auf der Hauptstrasse Via Alpi Lepontine bis zum Dorfzentrum.

Eckdaten

Wanderroute Bahnhof Varzo–Via Galtarossa–Ortsteil Fontana–Ortsteil Bertonio–Ponte Boldrini–Kirche von Trasquera–Dorfplatz Trasquera
Höhendifferenz
546 m Bergauf, 10 m Bergab
Distanz 5,7 km
Wanderzeit 2 Stunden 10 Minuten
Schwierigkeitsgrad mittelschwer
Verfügbarkeit Der Wanderweg ist ganzjährig begehbar

Anreise

Mit dem Zug nach Varzo und zurück ab Iselle di Trasquera.

Rundweg «Giro di Agro»

Diese Rundtour mit atemberaubendem Panorama folgt dem Grat, der das Val Divedro vom Valle Cairasca trennt.

Vom Rathausplatz aus folgen Sie den Schildern nach Agro Fuori und in kurzer Zeit kommen Sie an eine gut markierte Kreuzung, die Sie in den schönen Pinienwald von Fraccia führt. An der ausgeschilderten Kreuzung (Wegcode F38) nehmen Sie den Abstecher nach Agro. Auf einem schmalen Pfad geht es bergauf. Der steile Höhenunterschied wird durch kräftige, in den Fels gehauene Stufen und Abschnitte mit Sicherheitsbarrieren überwunden.

Nach dieser steilen Strecke kommen Sie auf das Plateau, wo sich die Hütten der Alpe Agro Fuori befinden. Zuerst geht es weiter am Hang entlang, dann bergab zur Alpe Agro Dentro (Wegcode F40). Von der Alp aus beginnt ein steiler und recht anspruchsvoller Abstieg. Wenn Sie die befahrbare Strasse von Bugliaga nach Trasquera erreicht haben, empfiehlt sich der Besuch der Teufelsbrücke (Ponte del Diavolo). Diese rund 100 Meter hohe Brücke mit einer Bogenspannweite von 33,3 Metern wurde 1880 erbaut.

Eckdaten

Wanderroute  Trasquera–La Sotta–Agro Fuori–Agro Dentro–Schiaffo– Trasquera
Länge 8,4 km
Höhenunterschied  700 m
Zeit  3 Stunden 40 Minuten
Schwierigkeitsgrad  Route mit mittlerer Schwierigkeit, teilweise sehr steil 
Pfade  F38 + F40 + F40 + F00 
Verfügbarkeit Der Wanderweg ist ganzjährig begehbar

Anreise

Mit dem Zug hin und zurück nach Iselle di Trasquera. 

Winterwanderung Domodossola–Preglia

Historische Norditalien-Wanderung

Der Weg von Domodossola nach Preglia führt an zahlreichen historischen Zeugen wie z.B. dem Turm von Ardignaga vorbei und durch die typischen norditalienischen Ortschaften Caddo, Monte, Canei und Bosco. Zwischen Wäldern und offenen Abschnitten öffnet sich der Blick über die Ebene von Domodossola bis zu den verschneiten Gipfeln im Hintergrund. Gerade im Winter, wenn die Bäume ohne Laub sind, ist diese Wanderung auf der Sonnenterrasse äusserst lohnenswert und voller Italianità.

In der Nähe von Domodossola verlief ein Teil der Via Francisca Ossolana, die eine der Strassen war, die Mitteleuropa mit der Poebene verband. Dieser erste Teil von Domodossola bis Crevoladossola folgt nicht der eigentlichen Strasse, sondern führt durch alte Siedlungen. Die Ortschaften Crevola di Bosco, Canei und Monte liegen in sonnigen und landschaftlich reizvollen Gegenden. Die Route führt dann bergab, wo der Turm von Ardignaga steht, um nach Mocogna zu gelangen, wo man nach der Überquerung des Baches Bogna die alten Dämme sehen kann.

Deutliche Wegmarkierungen ermöglichen Caddo in Ardignaga zu erreichen, von wo aus der Aufstieg beginnt, vorbei an hohen Steinmauern, die den Weg markieren. Nach dem Durchqueren eines Waldstücks, in dem die Terrassen, die die kleinen bewirtschafteten Felder stützten, noch gut erhalten sind, weitet sich das Panorama und bietet einen schönen Blick auf die Ebene, in der sich der mittelalterliche Turm von Ardignaga erhebt, einer der schönsten und majestätischsten Signaltürme, die im ganzen Ossola-Gebiet verstreut sind und deren Existenz bereits im 17. Jahrhundert dokumentiert ist.

Eckdaten

 Route Domodossola–Mocogna–Preglia
 Distanz 7.27 km
 Höhenmeter 575 m
 Dauer 2 Std. 30 Min.
 Schwierigkeitsgrad mittel (T2)
 Aussichtspunkte Ardignaga Turm, Canei
 Verfügbarkeit Der Weg ist über das ganze Jahr verfügbar, wird aber besonders in den Wintermonaten (von November bis März) empfohlen, da der gesamte Weg stark der Sonne ausgesetzt ist.

BLS-Tipp

Auf dem Markt Domodossola, einem kulinarischen Paradies, können Sie jeden Samstag frische lokale Zutaten entdecken und die Aromen der Region geniessen. Gleich in der Nähe lädt die Casa dei Ravioli dazu ein, die Kunst handgemachter Ravioli zu erleben, die mit Tradition zubereitet werden. Und wenn Sie das Beste der italienischen Aperitifkultur erleben möchten, bietet die Piazza Mercato Ihnen die Gelegenheit, erfrischende Getränke und köstliche Snacks in entspannter Atmosphäre zu geniessen.

Anreise

Mit dem RegioExpress Bern–Spiez–Kandersteg–Brig–Domodossola reisen Sie bequem ab Bern direkt bis nach Domodossola. Anschliessend Fussmarsch von ca. 20 Minuten zum Startpunkt.

Die Uriezzo-Schluchten

Unglaublich – welche Kraft das Wasser besitzt, wenn man es tausende von Jahren fliessen, sprudeln und gurgeln lässt

Die Uriezzo-Schluchten befinden sich im Herzen des Valle Antigorio und erzählen von der jahrtausendealten Erosionstätigkeit der alten Gletscher.

Hier haben in der letzten Eiszeit vor etwa 12000 Jahren die abfliessenden Ströme den Felsen ausgewaschen und aberwitzige Formationen hinterlassen: Gletschertöpfe, Kessel, Mühlen, Rillen und Nischen. Manche Stellen sind nur wenige Meter breit, andere bis zu 30 Meter tief – ein Besuch der Uriezzo-Schluchten gleicht einer Reise zum Mittelpunkt der Erde.

Es gibt drei Schluchten die ausgetrocknet und daher komplett durchlaufen werden können. Die Süd-Schlucht ist die spektakulärste. Sie ist ca. 200 m lang und bis zu 30 m tief.

Der Wanderweg ist gut ausgebaut und ausgeschildert. Die Höhenunterschiede kann man bequem durch Eisentreppen überwinden. Der felsige Boden ist von einer getrockneten Schlammschicht bedeckt und kann bei nassem Wetter matschig und glitschig sein. Es erwartet Sie ein komplexes Ökosystem, gekennzeichnet durch hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit, wenig Licht, glatte und polierte Wände. Hier gedeihen Pflanzen, die man anderswo kaum noch antrifft. Vor allem Moose und Farne haben sich perfekt an die schwierigen Bedingungen angepasst. 

Eckdaten

Ausgangspunkt Baceno  
Distanz 6.5 km
Höhendifferenz 200 m
Wanderzeit 2 Std.
Schwierigkeitsgrad leicht
Verfügbarkeit von März bis November begehbar

Anreise

Die Anreise geht unkompliziert und einfach mit dem RegioExpress Bern–Spiez–Kandersteg–Brig–Domodossola über die Lötschberg-Bergstrecke direkt bis Domodossola und weiter mit dem Bus bis nach Baceno. Gehen Sie bis zur Kirche San Gaudenzio (historisches Nationaldenkmal) und folgen Sie den Wegweisern Richtung «orridi».

Keine Bewertungen 0 von 5 Sternen

Bewerten
Weitere Bewertungen

Standort

Tickets & Fahrplan
Ähnliche Angebote
Wandern & Natur
Die über 1000 Jahre alte Wahlfahrtskirche Würzbrunnen im Morgengrauen.
Auf dem Weg der Pilger nach Würzbrunnen
Entdecken
Wissen & Kultur
Kirche Erlenbach im Sommer
Simmentaler Hausweg
Erleben
Wissen & Kultur
Ausserberg
Schnitzeljagd Finding-Daniel
Entdecken
Wissen & Kultur
Kulturweg Ausserberg-Raron
Kulturweg Ausserberg–Raron
Entdecken
Angebote in der Nähe
Wandern & Natur
Wanderung Via Stockalper unterwegs
Wanderung ViaStockalper Val Divedro
Entdecken
Messen & Volksfeste
Ein junges Paar verhandelt mit dem Verkäufer über den Preis der Antipasti.
Markt in Domodossola
besuchen
Wandern & Natur
Domodossola - Monte Calvario - Pilgerweg
Sacro Monte Calvario in Domodossola
entdecken
Bahnerlebnisse
Intragna Centovalli Alessio Pizzi
Entdecken Sie das Centovalli und Valle Vigezzo per Bahn
Entdecken
Newsletter
PDF herunterladen
0 aus 0 Mediendateien