Hiking & nature

Via della Fede (Path of Faith): Varzo – Trasquera

Varzo Railway Station – Via Galtrossa – Fontana district – Bertonio district – Ponte Boldrini – Trasquera church – Trasquera village square

The route initially follows small village streets within Varzo before taking the Veia di Brocc, a beautiful cobbled mule track that leads from Ponte Boldrini via Bertonio to Trasquera church. Because of the many chapels along the way, this route was once known as a path for meditation. Until 1961, when the navigable road was constructed, this was the main way of accessing Trasquera.

Availability Today (Saturday) open

The offer is available all year round.

Plan journey

The trail is accessed with a return rail ticket to Iselle di Trasquera.

Rates

The hiking trails can be followed free of charge. 

Notes

From the square by Varzo Railway Station, take the street leading to the right. Cross the old trunk road and continue straight ahead towards the centre of Varzo along Viale Castelli as far as the beautiful parish church of San Giorgio and the medieval tower.

In front of the tourist office, recross the stream and ascend Via Zanalda to the pretty oratory of San Rocco in the Alneda district. Continue on a level gradient along the main road (Via Alneda) between fine stone houses until you cross the main road leading to San Domenico.

On the left-hand side, there is a beautiful building with a tower. This is the base for the administrative authority responsible for the protected areas of the Ossola region. Here, you can ask for information about the Veglia Devero Park and visit the recently built “Archeomuseo” multimedia archaeology museum. Follow the level Via Galtarossa for its full length to reach Bertonio, where you will find the former Simplon trunk road at the Antica Osteria. Remaining on the pavement for a short time, follow the main road to the Ponte Boldrini Bridge, which crosses the Cairasca Valley.

The (signposted) mule track begins immediately after the bridge on the right-hand side.
This mule track, Vèia d’Brocc, was the principal means of reaching Trasquera before the road was built in 1961. You continue ascending for some time via a number of sharp bends between beech and chestnut trees, using the resting places of the Cappella del Pianzolo and the Cappella del Sasso along the route.

In this way, you tackle the 500-metre ascent that brings you to the Trasquera parish church, dedicated to Saint Gervasio and Saint Protasio and situated in an evocative location on a cliff with views over the valley floor. Continue on the main road (Via Alpi Lepontine) to the centre of the village.

Weather & webcam Today: fair weather 1/10°

Day Weather Temperature
Today fair weather 1/10°
Tomorrow sunny 0/8°
Monday light showers 4/9°
Tuesday fair weather 4/8°
0 of 0 Media files

    No reviews 0 of 5 stars

    Rate
    Additional ratings

    Location

    Plan journey
    Similar offers
    Hiking & nature
    Winter-Erlebnisweg Lauchernalp
    The winter adventure trail on the Lauchernalp
    discover
    Hiking & nature
    Die Pflanzen an der Promenade von Muralto Locarno stehen in der Herbstblüte.
    Locarno and its dreamy gardens in winter
    ​discover
    Hiking & nature
    Sonntags-Brunch im Restaurant Blausee
    Excursion destination: Blausee Lake
    Discover
    Hiking & nature
    Kippel
    Audio highlights of the Lötschental Valley
    Discover
    Offers nearby
    Hiking & nature
    San Domenico Ski Blumenweg 1
    Wanderung durch das Valle Cairasca 07. December 2019 - 08. September 2027
    entdecken
    Hiking & nature
    San Domenico Ski Blumenweg 1
    “Giro di Agro” circular trail
    experience​
    Knowledge & culture
    Simplon Dorf im Winter
    The story of Simplon village
    Experience
    Sport
    Brig Simplon - Aussicht auf die Sonnenterasse Rosswald ob Brig
    Ski and wellness on the Rosswald and in Brigerbad
    Discover
    Newsletter

Nature et randonnée

Via della fede, la route de la foi de Varzo à Trasquera

Gare de Varzo – Via Galtarossa – Localité de Fontana – Localité de Bertonio – Pont Boldrini – Église de Trasquera – Place du village de Trasquera

L’itinéraire suit d’abord de petites rues de village à Varzo puis emprunte le superbe chemin muletier pavé Veia di Brocc, qui mène du pont Boldrini à l’église de Trasquera en passant par Bertonio. Les nombreuses chapelles qui jalonnent ce chemin lui ont autrefois valu le surnom de «sentier de la méditation». Jusqu’en 1961, année de construction d’une route praticable, il constituait la principale liaison avec Trasquera.

Disponibilité Aujourd’hui (Dimanche) ouvert

Le sentier est accessible toute l’année.

Planifier mon trajet

Prenez le train pour faire le trajet aller-retour à Iselle di Trasquera.

Prix

Le chemin de randonnée est accessible gratuitement. 

Informations complémentaires

Depuis la place de la gare de Varzo, prendre la rue qui bifurque à droite. Traversez l’ancienne route nationale et continuez tout droit en direction du centre, en suivant la rue Viale Castelli jusqu’à la magnifique église paroissiale de San Giorgio et la tour médiévale.

Traversez de nouveau le ruisseau devant l’office de tourisme, puis empruntez la rue Via Zanalda qui monte jusqu’au bel Oratoire de San Rocco, à Fraz. Alneda. La rue principale sans dénivelé (Via Alneda) vous conduit entre de très belles maisons en pierre, jusqu’à traverser la route menant à San Domenico.

À gauche, vous pouvez voir un beau bâtiment doté d’une tour: c’est le siège de l’autorité administrative de la zone protégée d’Ossola. Vous pouvez y obtenir des informations sur le parc Veglia Devero et visiter le musée archéologique multimédia qui a ouvert récemment ses portes. En suivant la Via Galtarossa, une rue également plate, vous arriverez dans la localité de Bertonio, où se trouve l’ancienne route nationale du Simplon, au pied du restaurant Antica Osteria. Après un court tronçon sur le trottoir, suivez la route principale jusqu’à Ponte Boldrini, qui traverse T. Cairasca.

Le chemin muletier (balisé) commence immédiatement au sortir du pont, sur la droite.
Ce chemin, la Vèia d’Brocc, permettait autrefois d’atteindre Trasquera, avant la construction de la route en 1961. Commence alors une longue ascension sur ce chemin sinueux, entre hêtres et châtaigniers, jusqu’à la petite place tranquille des chapelles Cappella del Pianzolo et Cappella del Sasso, où vous pourrez reprendre votre souffle.

Vous venez de venir à bout de 500 mètres de dénivelé en parvenant à l’église paroissiale de la Trasquera dédiée aux Saints Gervasio et Protasio. Gracieusement posée sur un rocher, celle-ci domine le fond de la vallée. Continuez sur la route principale Via Alpi Lepontine jusqu’au centre du village.

Météo & webcam

0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

    Aucun commentaire 0 sur 5 étoiles

    Évaluer
    D'autres évaluation

    Situation

    Planifier mon trajet
    Offres similaires
    Nature et randonnée
    Wanderung von Kandersteg zum Oeschinensee
    Randonnée au lac d’Oeschinen
    Vivre
    Nature et randonnée
    Wanderung Wispile–Lauenensee
    Randonnée Wispile–Lac de Lauenen
    Découvrir
    Culture & connaissance
    Ueppig verziertes Wirtshausschild
    Sentier des maisons de l’Obersimmental
    Découvrir
    Culture & connaissance
    IMG_9911
    Sentier des maisons du Simmental
    Vivre
    Offres à proximité
    Nature et randonnée
    San Domenico Ski Blumenweg 1
    Wanderung durch das Valle Cairasca 22. septembre 2019 - 08. septembre 2027
    entdecken
    Nature et randonnée
    San Domenico Ski Blumenweg 1
    Circuit «Giro di Agro»
    découvrir
    Nature et randonnée
    Urriezo Schluchten 1
    Les gorges d’Urriezo
    découvrir
    Culture & connaissance
    Simplon Dorf
    Petite histoire du souper à Simplon
    découvrir
    Newsletter