Railway adventures

By train through magical autumn forests

Take it easy and enjoy the autumnal mood as you travel on the “Treno del Foliage” through the stunning colours of the autumn forests.

On this route of the Vigezzina-Centovalli Railway, you’ll experience a truly golden autumn with an explosion of colour. The enchanted landscape between Domodossola and Locarno is well worth the trip. So why not experience how the region changes in autumn? The forests glow in warm tones and are a wonderful sight to behold.

The trains are equipped with large windows that allow a magnificent view of the majestic panorama.

The railway line

The Vigezzina-Centovalli railway is a panoramic, almost 100-year-old narrow-gauge railway that connects Domodossola with Locarno. The line is 52 kilometres long and passes over 83 bridges and through 31 tunnels and is today one of the most important attractions of the Ossola Valley. Immersed in the authentic nature, it offers passengers a slow and exciting journey between Valle Vigezzo and Centovalli, between Italy and Switzerland.

A stopover at one of the 32 stations allows you to visit one of the historical villages, take a walk through the wonderful landscape or enjoy the authentic cuisine in a typical osteria.

Domodossola

Domodossola is the starting point of your trip and a town with medieval charm. It lies at the foot of the Ossola Valley, through which the Toce River flows and enchants with romantic squares and narrow streets. Enjoy a cappuccino in the piazza before continuing your journey on the Vigezzina-Centovall railway or visit the weekly market on Saturday.

Santa Maria Maggiore

A charming village with an enchanting centre, a piazza and streets with colourful house facades. The small village houses three very interesting museums dedicated to local history and ancient traditions. The Chimney Sweep Museum, the Casa del Profumo (House of Perfume) and the Pinacoteca of the Scuola di Belle Arti Rossetti Valentini.

Re

The village of Re is famous for the impressive sanctuary of the Madonna del Sangue, which towers high above the plain. Legend has it that in 1494 a small fresco of the "Madonna del latte" was hit by a stone and began to bleed. This led to the veneration of the wounded Madonna, whose effigy is now in the Cathedral of Santa Croce.

Intragna

Intragna, the gateway to Centovalli, is a small Ticino village with narrow streets, typical stone houses and historic palazzi. Its bell tower, which belongs to the church of San Gottardo, is 65 metres high and is the highest in the whole canton. Those who climb the 165 steps are rewarded with a fantastic panoramic view of the Centovalli, Terre di Pedemonte and the Onsernone Valley. 

Locarno

Here your journey with the Vigezzina-Centovalli railway ends. Locarno, the film city on Lake Maggiore offers experiences for every taste. Interesting museums and quiet parks await you here. Surrounded by mountains, the beautiful town offers breathtaking views at any time of day.

Availability

From 11th September to 6th November 2022

Subject to change without prior notice

Rates

Special ticket of the Foliage Train (Domodossola–Locarno retour)

  • CHF 45.00 Adults 2nd class Mon–Fri
  • CHF 49.00 Adults 1st class Sat–Sun
  • CHF 35.00 Adults 2nd class Mon–Fri
  • CHF 39.00 Adults 2nd class Sat–Sun
  • 1/2 price Children aged 6–15.99

 

Information about the special ticket 

  • the ticket is valid for two days
  • includes one outward and one return trip on the entire line
  • offers the possibility to make an intermediate stop (on the outward or on the return), to allow you to visit even one of the picturesque villages that dot the railway route.
    includes seat reservation (mandatory)
  • includes the panoramic supplement
  • children under 6 years travel for free 

Are you in possession of a GA travelcard or a day pass? The tickets are valid for the Domodossola-Locarno route (outward and return journey). In this case, we recommend that you only reserve a seat (CHF 5.00 or 6.00) at a BLS Travel Centre.

Prices per person in CHF incl. VAT / Prices and offers subject to alteration.

Plan journey

No reviews 0 of 5 stars

Rate
Additional ratings

Location

Plan journey
Similar offers
Hiking & nature
BLS Bahnwanderweg Lötschberger Nordrampe
Lötschberg north ramp
Discover
Railway adventures
Prestigeklasse des GoldenPass Express Montreux–Interlaken
The new GoldenPass Express
Savour
Railway adventures
Lötschberger in Goppenstein
Ride in the driver’s cab on the Lötschberg line
Experience
Public guided tour
Nothaltestelle Ferden
Lötschberg Base Tunnel 07. December 2022
Visit
Offers nearby
Trade fairs & festivals
Santa Maria Maggiore Mercatini Natale
Santa Maria Maggiore Christmas market
Discover
Hiking & nature
Domodossola - Monte Calvario - Pilgerweg
Sacro Monte Calvario in Domodossola
Discover
Hiking & nature
Wanderung Via Stockalper unterwegs
ViaStockalper Val Divedro hike
Entdecken
Trade fairs & festivals
Domodossola lockt jeden Samstag viele Ausflügler an seinen bekannten und beliebten Markt.
Market in Domodossola
Visit
Newsletter
Download PDF
0 of 0 Media files

Sur les rails

Une traversée magique des bois en train

Ralentissez le rythme et imprégnez-vous de l’atmosphère automnale des bois chamarrés, à bord du «Treno del Foliage».

Sur la ligne Vigezzina-Centovalli, admirez l’éclat doré de l’automne dans une explosion de couleurs. Le paysage enchanté vaut le voyage entre Domodossola et Locarno. Contemplez cette région se parer de nouvelles teintes. Les feuillages flamboyants offrent des vues inoubliables.

Les trains sont équipés de grandes fenêtres qui permettent une vue magnifique sur le superbe panorama.

Ligne ferroviaire

Le chemin de fer Vigezzina-Centovalli est une voie étroite panoramique, vieille de presque 100 ans, qui relie Domodossola à Locarno. La ligne, longue de 52 kilomètres, passe par 83 ponts et 31 tunnels et constitue aujourd'hui l'une des plus importantes attractions de la vallée de l'Ossola. En pleine nature, il offre aux passagers un voyage lent et passionnant entre la Valle Vigezzo et les Centovalli, entre l'Italie et la Suisse.

Une escale dans l'une des 32 gares permet de visiter l'un des villages historiques, de se promener dans le merveilleux paysage ou de déguster une cuisine authentique dans une osteria typique.  

Domodossola

Domodossola est le point de départ de votre voyage et une ville au charme médiéval. Elle se trouve au pied de la vallée de l'Ossola, traversée par le fleuve Toce, et enchante par ses places romantiques et ses ruelles étroites. Dégustez un cappuccino sur la piazza avant de poursuivre votre voyage sur la ligne ferroviaire Vigezzina-Centovall ou visitez le marché hebdomadaire le samedi.

Santa Maria Maggiore

Un charmant village avec un centre ravissant, une piazza et des rues aux façades colorées. La petite localité abrite trois musées très intéressants consacrés à l'histoire locale et aux traditions anciennes. Le Musée du Ramoneur, la Casa del Profumo (Maison du Parfum) et la Pinacothèque de la Scuola di Belle Arti Rossetti Valentini.

Re

Le village de Re est célèbre pour l'impressionnant sanctuaire de la Madonna del Sangue, qui domine la plaine. La légende dit qu'en 1494, une petite fresque de la «Madonna del latte» a été touchée par une pierre et s'est mise à saigner. Cela a conduit à la vénération de la Vierge blessée, dont l'effigie se trouve maintenant dans la cathédrale de Santa Croce.

Intragna

Intragna, la porte des Centovalli, est un petit village tessinois avec des rues étroites, des maisons en pierre typiques et des palais historiques. Son clocher, qui appartient à l'église de San Gottardo, mesure 65 mètres de haut et est le plus haut de tout le canton. Ceux qui gravissent les 165 marches sont récompensés par une vue panoramique fantastique sur les Centovalli, les Terre di Pedemonte et la vallée Onsernone.

Locarno

Ici s'achève votre voyage avec la ligne ferroviaire Vigezzina-Centovalli. Locarno, la ville du cinéma sur le lac Majeur, offre des expériences pour tous les goûts. Des musées intéressants et des parcs tranquilles vous attendent ici. Entourée de montagnes, la belle ville offre des vues à couper le souffle à toute heure de la journée.

Disponibilité

Du 11 septembre au 6 novembre 2022

Sous réserve de modifications

Prix

Billet spécial du Train du Feuillage (Domodossola–Locarno retour)

  • CHF 45.00 Adultes, 2e cl. Lun–Ven
  • CHF 49.00 Adultes, 1re classe Sam–Dim
  • CHF 35.00 Adultes, 2e cl. Lun–Ven
  • CHF 39.00 Adultes, 2e classe Sam–Dim
  • 1/2 tarif Enfant de 6 à 15.99 ans

 

Informations sur le billet spécial 

  • Le billet est valable deux jours
  • Comprend un aller et un retour sur toute la ligne
  • Offre la possibilité de faire un arrêt intermédiaire (à l'aller ou au retour), pour vous permettre de visiter un des villages pittoresques qui jalonnent le parcours
  • Comprend la réservation des places (obligatoire)
  • Comprend le supplément panoramique
  • Les enfants de moins de 6 ans voyagent gratuitement


Êtes-vous en possession d'un AG ou d'une carte journalière ? Les billets sont valables pour le trajet Domodossola-Locarno (aller et retour). Dans ce cas, nous vous recommandons de réserver uniquement une place (CHF 5.00 ou 6.00) dans un centre de voyages BLS.

Prix par personne en CHF, TVA incl. / Sous réserve de modifications d’offre et de prix.

Planifier mon trajet

Aucun commentaire 0 sur 5 étoiles

Évaluer
D'autres évaluation

Situation

Planifier trajet
Offres similaires
Visite guidée pour groupes
Inside Betriebszentrale Markus Dummermuth
Centrale d’exploitation de Spiez
Visiter
Sur les rails
BLS-Loksimulator in Burgdorf
Simulateur de locomotive BLS à Berthoud
Découvrir
Sur les rails
Spass fr die ganze Familie im Tuffelenbahn
Des énigmes ludiques à résoudre autour de Biel/Bienne
profitieren
Private Gruppenführung
Lösch- und Rettungswagen
Centre d’intervention et d’entretien de Frutigen
Besuchen
Offres à proximité
Nature et randonnée
Domodossola - Monte Calvario - Pilgerweg
Sacro Monte Calvario à Domodossola
découvrir
Salons & fêtes populaires
Domodossola lockt jeden Samstag viele Ausflügler an seinen bekannten und beliebten Markt.
Marché de Domodossola
visiter
Transport autos BLS
Skigebiet Hannig, Saas-Fee
Région touristique de Saas-Fee / vallée de Saas
découvrir
Transport autos BLS
Alteschgletscher Wanderpaar Bettmerhorn
Aletsch Arena – Le plus grand glacier des Alpes
découvrir
Newsletter
PDF herunterladen
0 de 0 Fichiers de médias