Railway adventures

By train through magical autumn forests

Take it easy and enjoy the autumnal mood as you travel on the “Treno del Foliage” through the stunning colours of the autumn forests.

On this route of the Vigezzina-Centovalli Railway, you’ll experience a truly golden autumn with an explosion of colour. The enchanted landscape between Domodossola and Locarno is well worth the trip. So why not experience how the region changes in autumn? The forests glow in warm tones and are a wonderful sight to behold.

The trains are equipped with large windows that allow a magnificent view of the majestic panorama.

The railway line

The Vigezzina-Centovalli railway is a panoramic, almost 100-year-old narrow-gauge railway that connects Domodossola with Locarno. The line is 52 kilometres long and passes over 83 bridges and through 31 tunnels and is today one of the most important attractions of the Ossola Valley. Immersed in the authentic nature, it offers passengers a slow and exciting journey between Valle Vigezzo and Centovalli, between Italy and Switzerland.

A stopover at one of the 32 stations allows you to visit one of the historical villages, take a walk through the wonderful landscape or enjoy the authentic cuisine in a typical osteria.

Domodossola

Domodossola is the starting point of your trip and a town with medieval charm. It lies at the foot of the Ossola Valley, through which the Toce River flows and enchants with romantic squares and narrow streets. Enjoy a cappuccino in the piazza before continuing your journey on the Vigezzina-Centovall railway or visit the weekly market on Saturday.

Santa Maria Maggiore

A charming village with an enchanting centre, a piazza and streets with colourful house facades. The small village houses three very interesting museums dedicated to local history and ancient traditions. The Chimney Sweep Museum, the Casa del Profumo (House of Perfume) and the Pinacoteca of the Scuola di Belle Arti Rossetti Valentini.

Re

The village of Re is famous for the impressive sanctuary of the Madonna del Sangue, which towers high above the plain. Legend has it that in 1494 a small fresco of the "Madonna del latte" was hit by a stone and began to bleed. This led to the veneration of the wounded Madonna, whose effigy is now in the Cathedral of Santa Croce.

Intragna

Intragna, the gateway to Centovalli, is a small Ticino village with narrow streets, typical stone houses and historic palazzi. Its bell tower, which belongs to the church of San Gottardo, is 65 metres high and is the highest in the whole canton. Those who climb the 165 steps are rewarded with a fantastic panoramic view of the Centovalli, Terre di Pedemonte and the Onsernone Valley. 

Locarno

Here your journey with the Vigezzina-Centovalli railway ends. Locarno, the film city on Lake Maggiore offers experiences for every taste. Interesting museums and quiet parks await you here. Surrounded by mountains, the beautiful town offers breathtaking views at any time of day.

Availability

From 11th September to 6th November 2022

Subject to change without prior notice

Rates

Special ticket of the Foliage Train (Domodossola–Locarno retour)

  • CHF 45.00 Adults 2nd class Mon–Fri
  • CHF 49.00 Adults 1st class Sat–Sun
  • CHF 35.00 Adults 2nd class Mon–Fri
  • CHF 39.00 Adults 2nd class Sat–Sun
  • 1/2 price Children aged 6–15.99

 

Information about the special ticket 

  • the ticket is valid for two days
  • includes one outward and one return trip on the entire line
  • offers the possibility to make an intermediate stop (on the outward or on the return), to allow you to visit even one of the picturesque villages that dot the railway route.
    includes seat reservation (mandatory)
  • includes the panoramic supplement
  • children under 6 years travel for free 

Are you in possession of a GA travelcard or a day pass? The tickets are valid for the Domodossola-Locarno route (outward and return journey). In this case, we recommend that you only reserve a seat (CHF 5.00 or 6.00) at a BLS Travel Centre.

Prices per person in CHF incl. VAT / Prices and offers subject to alteration.

Plan journey

No reviews 0 of 5 stars

Rate
Additional ratings

Location

Plan journey
Similar offers
Hiking & nature
BLS Bahnwanderweg Lötschberger Nordrampe
Lötschberg north ramp
Discover
Railway adventures
Prestigeklasse des GoldenPass Express Montreux–Interlaken
The new GoldenPass Express
Savour
Railway adventures
Lötschberger in Goppenstein
Ride in the driver’s cab on the Lötschberg line
Experience
Public guided tour
Nothaltestelle Ferden
Lötschberg Base Tunnel 07. December 2022
Visit
Offers nearby
Trade fairs & festivals
Santa Maria Maggiore Mercatini Natale
Santa Maria Maggiore Christmas market
Discover
Hiking & nature
Domodossola - Monte Calvario - Pilgerweg
Sacro Monte Calvario in Domodossola
Discover
Hiking & nature
Wanderung Via Stockalper unterwegs
ViaStockalper Val Divedro hike
Entdecken
Trade fairs & festivals
Domodossola lockt jeden Samstag viele Ausflügler an seinen bekannten und beliebten Markt.
Market in Domodossola
Visit
Newsletter
Download PDF
0 of 0 Media files

Bahnerlebnisse

Mit dem Zug durch magische Herbstwälder

Entschleunigen und die herbstliche Stimmung geniessen – bei einer Fahrt im «Treno del Foliage» durch die bunt belaubten Herbstwälder.

Geniessen Sie den goldenen Herbst bei einer Bahnfahrt mit der Vigezzina-Centovalli-Bahn. Die 52 km lange Strecke zwischen Domodossola und Locarno verwandelt sich in diesen Tagen in ein buntes Naturschauspiel. Eine atemberaubende Landschaft mit spektakulären Aussichten erwartet Sie auf der Fahrt durch bunte Wälder und wilde Täler.

Die Züge sind mit grossen Fenstern ausgestattet, die einen herrlichen Blick auf das grandiose Panorama ermöglichen.

Bahnstrecke

Die Vigezzina-Centovalli-Bahn ist eine panoramareiche, fast 100-jährige Schmalspurbahn welche Domodossola mit Locarno verbindet. Die Strecke ist 52 Kilometer lang und führt über 83 Brücken und durch 31 Tunnel und zählt heute zu den bedeutendsten Attraktionen des Ossola-Tals. Eingebettet in die authentische Natur bietet sie den Passagieren eine langsame und aufregende Reise zwischen dem Valle Vigezzo und dem Centovalli, zwischen Italien und der Schweiz.

Ein Zwischenhalt an einer der 32 Haltestellen ermöglicht die Besichtigung eines der historischen Dörfer, einen Spaziergang durch die wunderbare Landschaft oder die authentische Küche in einer typischen Osteria zu geniessen.

Domodossola

Domodossola ist der Ausgangspunkt Ihrer Reise und eine Stadt mit mittelalterlichem Charme. Sie liegt am Fusse des Ossola-Tals, durch das der Toce fliesst und verzaubert mit romantischen Plätzen und engen Gassen. Geniessen Sie vor Ihrer Weiterfahrt mit der Vigezzina-Centovall-Bahn einen Cappuccino auf der Piazza oder besuchen Sie am Samstag den bunten Wochenmarkt in der Altstadt.

Santa Maria Maggiore

Ein charmanter Ort mit bezauberndem Dorfkern, einer Piazza und Strassen mit farbigen Häuserfassaden. Die kleine Siedlung beherbergt drei sehr interessante Museen, die sich der lokalen Geschichte und den alten Traditionen widmen. Das Kaminfegermuseum, die Casa del Profumo (Haus des Parfüms) und die Pinakothek der Scuola di Belle Arti Rossetti Valentini.

Re

Das Dorf Re ist bekannt für die beeindruckende Wallfahrtskirche der Madonna del Sangue, die hoch über der Ebene thront. Die Legende besagt, dass 1494 ein kleines Fresko der «Madonna del latte» von einem Stein getroffen wurde und zu bluten begann. Daraus entstand die Verehrung der verwundeten Madonna, deren Bildnis sich heute in der Kathedrale von Santa Croce befindet.

Intragna

Intragna, das Tor zum Centovalli, ist ein kleines Tessiner Dorf mit engen Gassen, typischen Steinhäusern und historischen Palazzi. Sein Glockenturm, der zur Kirche San Gottardo gehört, ist mit seinen 65 Metern, der höchste im ganzen Kanton. Wer die 165 Stufen hinaufklettert, wird mit einem fantastischen Rundumblick auf das Centovalli, die Terre di Pedemonte und das Onsernonetal belohnt. 

Locarno

Hier endet Ihre Fahrt mit der Vigezzina-Centovalli-Bahn. Locarno, die Filmstadt am Lago Maggiore bietet Erlebnisse für jeden Geschmack. Hier erwarten Sie interessante Museen und ruhige Parkanlagen. Umgeben von Bergen sorgt das wunderschöne Städtchen zu jeder Tageszeit für atemberaubende Ausblicke.

Verfügbarkeit

Die Sonderfahrkarte ist vom 11. September bis 6. November 2022 erhältlich.

Änderungen vorbehalten

Preise

Sonderfahrkarte «Foliage Zug» (Domodossola–Locarno retour)

  • CHF 45.00 Erwachsene 1. Kl. Mo–Fr
  • CHF 49.00 Erwachsene 1. Kl. Sa–So
  • CHF 35.00 Erwachsene 2. Kl. Mo–Fr
  • CHF 39.00 Erwachsene 2. Kl. Sa–So
  • 1/2 Preis Kinder 6–15.99 Jahre

 

Hinweise zur Sonderfahrkarte «Foliage Zug» 

  • Das Ticket ist zwei Tage gültig
  • Umfasst die Hin- und Rückfahrt (Domodossola–Locarno) oder umgekehrt
  • Bietet die Möglichkeit, einen Zwischenstopp einzulegen (auf der Hin- oder Rückfahrt), um z.B. eines der malerischen Dörfer entlang der Bahnstrecke zu besichtigen
  • Die Sitzplatzreservation ist inbegriffen
  • Der Zuschlag für den Panoramazug ist inbegriffen
  • Kinder unter 6 Jahren reisen kostenlos.

Sind Sie im Besitz eines GAs oder einer Tageskarte? Die Fahrausweise sind für die Strecke Domodossola–Locarno (Hin- und Rückfahrt) gültig. Wir empfehlen Ihnen in diesem Fall lediglich die Sitzplatzreservation (CHF 5.00 resp. 6.00) in einem BLS Reisezentrum vorzunehmen.

Preisangaben pro Person in CHF, inkl. MwSt. / Angebots- und Preisänderungen bleiben vorbehalten.

Keine Kommentare 0 von 5 Sternen

Bewerten
Weitere Bewertungen

Standort

Anreise planen
Ähnliche Angebote
Bahnerlebnisse
MIKA Kandertal 03
MIKA hält Hof 02. Dezember 2022 bis 03. Dezember 2022
Besuchen
BLS-Führungen
Historischer Bahnhof Frutigen in neuem Gewand.
BLS Besucherzentrum im historischen Bahnhof Frutigen
Besuchen
Bahnerlebnisse
BLS-Loksimulator in Burgdorf
BLS-Loksimulator in Burgdorf
Erleben
Wandern & Natur
BLS Bahnwanderweg Lötschberger Nordrampe
Lötschberger Nordrampe
Entdecken
Angebote in der Nähe
Messen & Volksfeste
Santa Maria Maggiore Mercatini Natale
Weihnachtsmarkt in Santa Maria Maggiore
Entdecken
Wandern & Natur
Domodossola - Monte Calvario - Pilgerweg
Sacro Monte Calvario in Domodossola
entdecken
Wandern & Natur
Wanderung Via Stockalper unterwegs
Wanderung ViaStockalper Val Divedro
Entdecken
Messen & Volksfeste
Domodossola lockt jeden Samstag viele Ausflügler an seinen bekannten und beliebten Markt.
Markt in Domodossola
besuchen
Newsletter
PDF herunterladen
0 aus 0 Mediendateien