Knowledge & culture

International Watch Museum La Chaux-de-Fonds

A fascinating journey through time

The International Watch Museum (MIH) is characterised by a unique architectural and museographic concept and exhibits a significant collection dedicated to everything to do with horology. The exhibition of new acquisitions, the monumental carillon clock, the restoration room for antique clocks and the wall frescos by Hans Erni are just a few of the museum’s abundance of hidden treasures. The Swiss Watchmaking Fair, which always takes place on the first Sunday in November, is another of the museum's highlights.

The same ticket allows you a free visit in the Musée d'histoire and in the Musée des beaux-arts. These 3 museums are not far away, about 50 meters. The ticket is valid for 3 consecutive days.

Audio guides (French, German, English, Italian and Spanish) are available to visitors free of charge. The audio application guide izi. TRAVEL from the Musée international d'horlogerie is available on iPhone, Android and Microsoft but also on the following web version


Events that are not to be missed

Treasure hunt

A treasure hunt allows children to learn about the museum through play. By taking part in the hunt, specially designed for young visitors, children are encouraged to wander around the whole museum looking for items as diverse as a sword, a boat, a dragon, or even Minnie and Snowy. Every year, a draw takes place with prizes issued to the winners.

Language: French, German and English 

Workshops and birthday parties

Play-based and educational workshops for a different way of encountering the museum! Why not come and build an object related to time or timekeeping and discover similar items in the museum’s collections?

Events that are not to be missed

9th Watchmaking Heritage Days (BPH)

2 November 2019 

An exceptional opportunity to visit the craftspeople and companies involved in the design and manufacture of “Swiss-made” watches. Visitors can also benefit from the chance to explore museums and other places in the towns of La Chaux-de-Fonds and Le Locle, both of which were listed as UNESCO World Heritage sites in 2009 for their urban landscapes associated with the watchmaking industry.

 

Swiss Watchmaking Fair

3 November 2019
This event, organised by the MIH at La Chaux-de-Fonds, pays homage to what are a great source of both Swiss and, in particular, local pride: the region’s famous clocks and watches. Visitors include connoisseurs of watchmaking, clock and watch dealers, antique specialists, and collectors. The programme includes opportunities to purchase and sell items and to interact and discuss with experts in the field.

Opening hours Today (Wednesday) open

Mon         closed
Tue–Sun  10.00–17.00 hours

The museum is closed on 24, 25 and 31 December and 1 January.
Open on Easter Monday and Whit Monday

Subject to change without prior notice

Entry fee

3-day tickets to 3 museums (MBA/MIH/MH)

The same ticket allows you a free visit in the Musée d'histoire and in the Musée des beaux-arts. These 3 museums are not far away, about 50 meters. The ticket is valid for 3 consecutive days.

The ticket also offers discounts by six partners : Musée paysan et artisanal  Maison blanche  Musée des beaux-arts du Locle  Musée d'horlogerie du Locle  Moulins souterrains du Col-des-Roches  Tourisme neuchâtelois - Montagnes (Small train and guided tour on schedule)

  • CHF 15.00 Adults
  • CHF 12.50 Students up to 25
  • CHF 7.50 Children 12 - 15.99 years old
  • CHF 12.50 Retirees
  • CHF 30.00 Families Parents and own children


Prices in CHF incl. VAT / Prices and products subject to alteration.

Audioguides

Audio guides (French, German, English, Italian and Spanish) are available to visitors free of charge. The audio application guide izi. TRAVEL from the Musée international d'horlogerie is available on iPhone, Android and Microsoft but also on the following web version

Weather & webcam Today: light snowfall 0/1°

Day Weather Temperature
Today light snowfall 0/1°
Tomorrow rain -1/5°
Friday light showers 4/9°
Saturday showers 3/8°
0 of 0 Media files

    3 reviews 4.5 of 5 stars

    Rate
    Additional ratings

    Location

    PLAN JOURNEY
    Similar offers
    Knowledge & culture
    Val-de-Travers, Mines d'Asphaltes 5
    From the Absinthe House to the Asphalt Mines
    Discover
    Knowledge & culture
    008Arctiqueantarctique
    Natural History Museum Neuchâtel
    Experience
    Knowledge & culture
    Taschenuhr
    A workshop on assembling your own watch
    Discover
    Knowledge & culture
    Neuchâtel Musee d'art et d'histoire
    Art and History Museum Neuchâtel
    Discover
    Offers nearby
    Knowledge & culture
    UNESCO Stadtplanung La Chaux de Fonds und Le Locle 1
    Stadtplanung im Zeichen der Uhrenindustrie
    Entdecken
    Knowledge & culture
    Führung in der Prestige-Uhren-Manufaktur Zenith in Le Locle
    Visit a manufacturer of premium watches
    Discover
    Knowledge & culture
    neuchatel-la-chux-de-fonds-interaktiv top
    Explore La Chaux-de-Fonds interactively
    discover
    Knowledge & culture
    CDF MH Expo permanente
    La Chaux-de-Fonds, a centre of watch-making
    experience​
    Newsletter

Culture & connaissance

Musée international d’horlogerie La Chaux-de-Fonds

Un voyage passionnant à travers le temps

Unique dans sa conception muséographique et architecturale, le Musée international d'horlogerie (MIH) présente une collection significative entièrement consacrée à l'horlogerie et à la mesure du temps. L'exposition des nouvelles acquisitions, le Carillon monumental, le centre de restauration en horlogerie ancienne ou les fresques de Hans Erni sont autant de joyaux à découvrir. La Bourse suisse d'horlogerie, qui se déroule traditionnellement le 1er dimanche de novembre, est également un point fort de la vie du musée.

Le billet MIH donne droit à la visite gratuite du Musée d'histoire et du Musée des beaux-arts. Les 3 musées se trouvent dans un périmètre de 50 mètres. Le billet d'entrée est valable durant 3 jours consécutifs

Le Musée international d'horlogerie propose un audio-guide en français, allemand, anglais, italien et espagnol. L'application audio guide izi. TRAVEL du Musée international d'horlogerie est disponible sur iPhone, Android et Microsoft mais aussi en version web.


Pour les enfants

Chasse au trésor 

Une chasse au trésor permet aux enfants de découvrir le musée de manière ludique. Un concours destiné à tous les jeunes visiteurs permet de parcourir l'entier du musée à la recherche d'éléments aussi divers qu'une épée, un bateau, un dragon ou encore Minnie ou Milou. Chaque année, un tirage au sort est effectué et les gagnants se voient remettre un lot.
Langue : Français, allemand et anglais

 

Ateliers et anniversaires

Des ateliers ludiques et pédagogiques pour une approche différente du musée ! Viens construire un objet en relation avec l'heure et la mesure du temps et découvre des objets similaires dans les collections du musée.

Manifestations à ne pas manquer

9e biennale du patrimoine horloger

2 novembre 2019

Une chance exceptionnelle de visiter des artisans et des entreprises où se conçoivent et se fabriquent les montres Swiss made. Mais aussi une occasion de parcourir musées et autres lieux des villes de La Chaux-de-Fonds et du Locle, toutes deux inscrites sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO en 2009 pour leur urbanisme horloger

 

Bourse suisse d'horlogerie La Chaux-de-Fonds

3 novembre 2019

Cette journée organisée par le Musée international d'horlogerie de La Chaux-de-Fonds fait honneur à l'une des grandes fiertés de la Suisse, et de la région en particulier : les montres et pendules. Les fins connaisseurs de l'horlogerie, marchands horlogers, antiquaires spécialisés et collectionneurs se retrouvent ici. Au programme : achat, vente, échanges et discussions avec des spécialistes.

Horaires d'ouverture Aujourd’hui (Vendredi) ouvert

Lun            fermé
Mar–Dim  10h00–17h00

Fermé les 24, 25 et 31 décembre ainsi que le 1er janvier
Ouvert les lundis de Pâques et de Pentecôtes

Sous réserve de modifications

Prix d'entrée

Billet 3 jours / 3 musées (MBA/MIH/MH)

Le billet MIH donne droit à la visite gratuite du Musée d'histoire et du Musée des beaux-arts. Les 3 musées se trouvent dans un périmètre de 50 mètres. Le billet d'entrée est valable durant 3 jours consécutifs

Chaque ticket d'entrée permet également d'obtenir des réductions chez six partenaires: Musée paysan et artisanal  Maison blanche  Musée des beaux-arts du Locle  Musée d'horlogerie du Locle  Moulins souterrains du Col-des-Roches  Tourisme neuchâtelois - Montagnes (Petit train et visite guidée à l'horaire).

  • CHF 15.00 Adultes
  • CHF 12.50 Tarif réduit avec carte jusqu'à 25 ans
  • CHF 7.50 Enfants 12 - 15.99 ans
  • CHF 12.50 AVS / AI
  • CHF 30.00 Famille Parents et propres enfants

 

Prix TVA comprise / Prix et offres sous réserve de changement.

Visites audioguidées

Le Musée international d'horlogerie propose un audio-guide en français, allemand, anglais, italien et espagnol. L'application audio guide izi. TRAVEL du Musée international d'horlogerie est disponible sur iPhone, Android et Microsoft mais aussi en version web.

Météo & webcam Aujourd’hui: beau temps -2/8°

Jour Météo Température
Aujourd’hui beau temps -2/8°
Demain averses éparses 3/7°
Dimanche averses éparses 2/8°
Lundi pluie et neige 2/3°
0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

    3 commentaires 4.5 sur 5 étoiles

    Évaluer
    D'autres évaluation

    Situation

    planifier
    Offres similaires
    Culture & connaissance
    neuchatel-la-chux-de-fonds-interaktiv top
    Découvrir La Chaux-de-Fonds de manière interactive
    découvrir
    Culture & connaissance
    UNESCO Stadtplanung La Chaux de Fonds und Le Locle 1
    Stadtplanung im Zeichen der Uhrenindustrie
    Entdecken
    Culture & connaissance
    Laténium, musée d'archéologie, les romains
    Laténium Parc et musée d’archéologie à Neuchâtel
    découvrir
    Culture & connaissance
    Neuchâtel Musee d'art et d'histoire
    Musée d’art et d’histoire Neuchâtel
    découvrir
    Offres à proximité
    Culture & connaissance
    Führung in der Prestige-Uhren-Manufaktur Zenith in Le Locle
    Visite d’une manufacture horlogère de prestige
    découvrir
    Culture & connaissance
    Musée horlogerie Expo permanente
    La métropole horlogère de La Chaux-de-Fonds
    découvrir
    Sport
    Traumhafte Loipen locken
    Paradis du ski-de-fond Montagnes neuchâteloises
    découvrir
    Divertissement
    Schnitzeljagd im Winter im Neuenburger Jura
    Chasse au trésor & fondue au chocolat à la Vue-des-Alpes
    découvrir
    Newsletter