Projects and background

SmartRail 4.0 – a project of the Swiss rail industry.

Switzerland is a railway nation. To keep it this way, SBB, BLS, Schweizerische Südostbahn AG (SOB), the Rhaetian Railway (RhB) and the Swiss Association of Public Transport (VöV) are collaborating and involving the entire rail industry in the process. With the SmartRail 4.0 project, we are working together to make the railway fit for the digital future.

Due to their age, numerous technical systems important to the operating of trains will be replaced over the coming years. At the same time, technology is developing at ever greater speed and offers new opportunities for trains to operate more efficiently and punctually.

To ensure that railway customers truly benefit from the digital era, we work together in a coordinated manner on the SmartRail 4.0 project. During the initial stage, the concept will be developed and finalised in an exact plan by 2019.

The SmartRail 4.0 project is divided into five sub-projects and focuses on technological development over the next 20 years. We are developing new systems for the rail industry and will achieve our objectives together: lower costs. Increased capacity. Increased punctuality. Increased safety.

Infos
SmartRail 4.0: Innovationsprogramm der Schweizer Bahnbranche
zur Website
Projects and background
Construction projects

We’re building for you

More
Rollick stock
Rolling-stock order

New trains for carefree travel

More
Projects and background
Expansion of our infrastructure

A 420-kilometre rail network ready for the future

More
Newsletter

Projekte & Hintergründe

SmartRail 4.0: Ein Programm der Schweizer Bahnbranche.

Die Schweiz ist ein Bahnland. Damit dies auch so bleibt, machen die SBB, die BLS, die Schweizerische Südostbahn AG (SOB), die Rhätische Bahn (RhB) und der Verband öffentlicher Verkehr (VöV) gemeinsame Sache und beziehen dabei die ganze Bahnbranche mit ein. Mit dem Programm SmartRail 4.0 machen wir die Bahn gemeinsam fit für die digitale Zukunft.

Viele technische Systeme, die für das Zugfahren wichtig sind, werden in den nächsten Jahren altersbedingt ersetzt. Gleichzeitig entwickelt sich die Technologie immer rasanter und bietet den Bahnen neue Möglichkeiten, effizienter und pünktlicher unterwegs zu sein.

Damit das Zeitalter der Digitalisierung den Bahnkunden auch wirklich nutzt, gehen wir mit SmartRail 4.0 koordiniert und gemeinsam an die Arbeit. Im ersten Schritt wird bis 2019 das Konzept vertieft und erhärtet und ein genauer Plan erstellt.

Das Programm SmartRail 4.0 ist in fünf Teilprogramme unterteilt und befasst sich mit der technologischen Entwicklung in den nächsten 20 Jahren. Wir entwickeln neue Systeme für die Bahnbranche und kommen gemeinsam zum Ziel: Tiefere Kosten. Mehr Kapazität. Höhere Pünktlichkeit. Mehr Sicherheit.

Infos
SmartRail 4.0: Innovationsprogramm der Schweizer Bahnbranche
zur Website
Projekte & Hintergründe
Bauprojekte

Wir bauen für Sie

Mehr
Rollmaterial
Rollmaterialbeschaffung

Neue Züge für sorgloses Reisen

Mehr
Projekte & Hintergründe
Erweiterung unserer Infrastruktur

420 Kilometer Schienennetz bereit für die Zukunft

Mehr
Newsletter