Historic

Ae 8/8 – “Muni” – historic locomotive

In the 1950s, the volume of train traffic on the Lötschberg line began to rise and the maximum trailer load was increased to 900 tons at a maximum gradient of 27‰. This necessitated the use of more than one locomotive at the head of the train, or one or more locomotives in between carriages. The solution chosen by BLS to reduce the number of locomotives needed involved the use of a linked double locomotive that basically consisted of two permanently coupled Ae 4/4 engines. This led in 1956 to the first order for an Ae 8/8.

The plan now is to get engine number 273 rolling again, which is why the BLS Foundation is seeking sources of funding that will allow it and extrazug.ch to put the locomotive back into operation. Why not help out and give a donation that will make it possible to refurbish this historic rail vehicle?
  • Ae 485 273 Designation formerly: Ae 8/8
  • 1 Quantity
  • 273 Number
  • 1963 Put into service
0 of 0 Media files

    Rail vehicle details technical data

    • 30.2 m Length
    • 160 t Weight
    • 6,475 kW Power output
    • 125 km/h Maximum speed
    • EW I Can be combined with

    History historic rail vehicle

    Ae 8/8 locomotives were put into service by BLS Lötschbergbahn between 1959 and 1966.

    Although it was used mostly to pull heavy freight trains, the locomotive popularly known as the “Muni” (bull) could also sometimes be seen heading up passenger trains. As time went on, more modern engines or locomotive combinations began to replace many of the Ae 8/8 locomotives. One of the last applications for locomotive Ae 8/8 No. 273 involved transporting rail excavators loaded with excavated materials from the Lötschberg Base Tunnel during its construction.

    Other offers
    Charter trains
    EWI-Pendelzug
    EWI A – standard carriage I
    more
    Charter trains
    EWI-Pendelzug
    BDt – control car
    more
    Charter trains
    Blauer Pfeil Huttwil
    Nostalgic twin railcar service – “Blauer Pfeil” (Blue Arrow)
    more
    Charter trains
    Ae 4 4
    Ae 4/4 – historic locomotive
    more
    bls-muni.ch
    The plan now is to get engine number 273 rolling again. Please help to make the legendary "BLS-Muni" fully operational again.
    Connect
    Newsletter

Historiques

Ae 8/8 – «Muni»: une locomotive historique

Dans les années 1950, il fallait employer beaucoup de locomotives de renfort en tête ou intercalée compte tenu de la croissance du trafic sur la ligne du Lötschberg et de la hausse de la charge remorquée, qui atteignait 900 tonnes pour une inclinaison maximale de 27‰. La solution choisie par BLS en vue de diminuer ces renforts prévoyait une double locomotive bien fixée, le plus souvent constituée de deux Ae 4/4 couplées. C’est ainsi que la première commande pour une Ae 8/8 fut passé en 1956.

La no 273 devrait circuler à nouveau. La fondation BLS et extrazug.ch sont actuellement à la recherche de fonds pour que cette locomotive puisse être remise sur les rails. Participez et faites un don pour la restauration de ce véhicule historique.
  • Ae 485 273 Désignation précédemment: Ae 8/8
  • 1 Nombre d’exemplaires
  • 273 Numérotation
  • 1963 Mise en service
0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

    Détails sur le véhicule données techniques

    • 30.2 m Longueur
    • 160 t Poids
    • 6475 kW Puissance
    • 125 km/h Vitesse maximale
    • VU I Compatible avec

    Histoire véhicule historique

    L’Ae 8/8 du Chemin de fer du Lötschberg BLS a été en service entre 1959 et 1966.

    Elle était essentiellement attelée à des trains de marchandises lourds, mais on retrouvait également les Ae 8/8, que la population surnommait «Muni» (taureaux), en tête des trains de voyageurs. De nombreux renforts ont été progressivement remplacés par des machines plus modernes. L’Ae 8/8 no 273 a terminé sa carrière en tractant des trains de déblais du nouveau tunnel de base du Lötschberg.

    Autres offres
    Trains charters
    Blauer Pfeil Huttwil
    La double automotrice rétro Flèche bleue
    plus
    Trains charters
    Ae 4 4
    Ae 4/4 – Locomotive historique
    plus
    Trains charters
    EWI-Pendelzug
    VUI A – Voiture unifiée I
    plus
    Trains charters
    Ae 6 8 Seftigen
    Ae 6/8 – Locomotive historique
    plus
    bls-muni.ch
    Die Nr. 273 soll wieder fahren. Helfen Sie mit, den legendären «BLS-Muni» wieder betriebsfähig herzurichten.
    VERBINDEN
    Newsletter