Lötschberger country

Railway adventure

Your journey into the Lötschberger country

Even after the opening of the Lötschberg Base Tunnel, the traditional Lötschberg mountain line between the Bernese Oberland and Valais has lost none of its charm. Train and nature aficionados therefore leave the trip through the 34.6-kilometre-long base tunnel to those in a hurry, and instead enjoy the splendid views reaching as far as Kandertal and the journey across the breathtaking viaducts of the southern approach. Yet the places and valleys along the railway line also entice guests back for another visit with their appealing leisure opportunities.

One train – two destinations: board the section of the train appropriate for your destination

The RegioExpress Lötschberger takes you directly from Bern to either Brig or Zweisimmen. The train is split up at Spiez. The two front sections of the train travel to Frutigen-Kandersteg-Goppenstein-Brig, while the latter section(s) continues on to Zweisimmen. So please note the destinations shown on the train when boarding.

The Bern–Spiez section

The valley between Bern and Thun is named after the Aare, one of Switzerland's longest and most beautiful rivers. The source of the Aare is the Aar glaciers in the Grimsel region, from where it flows through lakes Brienz and Thun, before winding its way past Mount Belp on its way to Münsingen and Bern. In Bern, the Aare flows around the medieval city centre and the idyllic Engel peninsula.

The Bernese love their river: a swim in its cooling waters and the boat ride from Thun to Bern (a good three hours) are some of the most popular leisure activities here, and are as frequently engaged in by the locals as a Sunday walk is in other parts of the world. When crossing the Uttigen bridge, train passengers catch a glimpse of the lively goings-on on and around the Aare. Depending on how high and choppy the water is, below the Uttigen bridge is the only precarious spot along the otherwise comfortable route.

Once arrived in Thun, travellers will immediately notice why the picturesque town by the lake of the same name is called the “gateway to the Bernese Oberland”. Thun lies nestled in the majestic mountain landscape of the Alps.

Spiez lies nestled between hills and vineyards on the shore of Lake Thun, with views out onto the mountains of the Bernese Oberland. The town is home to the famous “Spiezer” wine.

The Spiez–Zweisimmen section

Simmental is the longest valley in the Bernese Oberland. It measures 50 kilometres in length, from the Wildstrubel massif in Lenk to the valley exit at Wimmis. There is therefore lots to see during the journey from Spiez to Zweisimmen or vice versa.

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy, a famous German composer, was an early admirer of the Simmental, praising it as “the greenest valley in Europe” during his travels. And indeed, the threatening confinement at the start of the valley soon gives way to a wonderful green expanse, laced with artfully decorated farmhouses dating from the seventeenth and eighteenth century, which tell of long bygone times. The Säbelzahnhaus (literally “sabretooth house”) in Oey dating from 1738 is a good example, its inscription “Come and rest, you weary wanderer” inviting visitors to take their ease on its shaded wooden bench.

And the upper and lower Simmental both have plenty in store to make the hearts of nature lovers, sports enthusiasts and walkers beat faster. Guests from around the world wonder at the raging torrents of the Simmen waterfall and the slightly hidden Iffigfall waterfall near Lenk; walk around the deep-blue Flueseeli lake in the Wildstrubel region; and – in winter – enjoy lightning-fast descents on the pistes of the area’s many ski resorts.

The Spiez–Kandersteg section

From Spiez, the line initially ascends at a steady incline of 15 millimetres per metre through Frutigtal via Reichenbach and on to Frutigen. Only here does the 13-kilometre-long Kandertal begin, which connects Frutigen with Kandersteg and is classified as the actual mountain section of the BLS northern approach.

Why this is so will soon become apparent: upon exiting Frutigen, the line ascends at 27 millimetres per metre, and passes the ruins of Tellenburg Castle on its way to the most photographed structure of the Lötschberg line – the imposing Kander viaduct. The train then reaches Kandergrund, the only town in Kandertal. The name Kander derives from the Celtic “kandara” (the luminous, the white). And the traveller does indeed catch repeated glimpses, between the countless tunnels, of the luminous and creamy white River Kander, which winds its way through the valley bottom.

After an about-turn from south to north, the route continues to wind its way further up the mountain slope. Time and again, it disappears into dark tunnels or traverses spectacular viaducts, such as the 40-metre-long Haltenwald viaduct. Here the train plunges into the 1,655-metre-long helical tunnel which restores the north-south direction of travel. The breathtaking journey continues through additional tunnels and across bridges, reaching Kandersteg, the gateway to the Lötschberg Tunnel, after 31.5 kilometres.

The Goppenstein–Brig section

After travelling through the Lötschberg Tunnel for around eight minutes, the train stops at Goppenstein station. Well over 3,000 workers lived in this small town during the early twentieth century when the rail tunnel was being built. Today, only a handful of Lötschental’s 1,500 inhabitants live in the hamlet. Many customs and traditions have been preserved in Lötschental, which has always been a remote region, attracting quite a few tourists each year.

The train continues its journey on the eastern face, along the narrow Lonza ravine, and crosses the Lonza viaduct before disappearing into the darkness once more. The change from light to dark continues for a while before one suddenly emerges in the wonderful expanse of Rhonetal.

This section, the southern approach, is not called the Südrampe (literally “southern ramp”) for nothing: travelling across sun-kissed slopes, the train slowly descends 450 metres in altitude into the valley bottom. It is not only the impressive Bietschtal viaduct, which can even be purchased in miniature by model railway enthusiasts, but also the many exciting sights that have earned this section its status as a classic: the train carries passengers past small, steep vineyards, historic man-made irrigation systems and the grave of the poet Rainer Maria Rilke.

Once arrived at the valley bottom following the Südrampe, the train soon reaches Brig station. This little town, home of the distinctive Stockalper Palace, is waiting to be explored.

The Brig–Domodossola stretch

Shortly after Brig, the train disappears into the 19.8-kilometre-long Simplon Tunnel. Since its opening in 1906, the Simplon Tunnel has been facilitating direct train travel between Italy and Switzerland. After a breathtaking stretch, the train arrives in the Italian city of Domodossola. This provincial capital combines Alpine backdrop with Mediterranean flair. Its ancient alleys give hints of the city’s eventful history. To this day, the Saturday market attracts many excursionists to the former trade hub, while the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Sacri Monti offers impressive landscapes and vistas for walkers to enjoy.

The Lötschberg line – facts and figures

The mountain line

Culmination point in the Lötschberg Tunnel at Km 7.234
(Switzerland's highest standard-gauge tunnel)

Entire length, Frutigen–Brig

Length, northern approach Frutigen–North portal, Lötschberg Tunnel
Height difference, northern approach from Frutigen to culmination point

Length, southern approach Brig–South portal Lötschberg Tunnel
Height difference, southern approach from Brig to culmination point

Largest gradient on the approaches

Smallest bend radius
Number of bends along the entire line, Frutigen–Brig

Number of stations and stops, Frutigen–Brig

Number of bridges
Longest bridge (Kander viaduct II)
Highest bridge (Bietschtal)

Number of tunnels
Total length
Longest Tunnel (Lötschberg high-elevation tunnel)

1,240 MASL

60 km

20 km
460 m

26 km
562 m

27‰

280 m
55%

8

166
285 m
78 m above ground

51
38.961 km
14.612 km

Construction

Licensing
Construction of northern and souther approach begins
Mechanised tunnel drilling on north side begins
Breakthrough, Lötschberg Tunnel
First train travels through tunnel
BLS begins operations
Completion of twin-track expansion, Spiez-Brig
Completion of rolling road expansion
23.12.1891
15.10.1906
07.03.1907
31.03.1911
03.06.1913
15.07.1913
08.05.1992
11.06.2001
Construction costs, Frutigen–Brig (price in 1913)
Max. number of workers, northern approach
Max. number of workers, southern approach
Max. number of workers per day on both sides, high-elevation tunnel
CHF 138 m
2,500 people
3,000 people
3,250 people

Construction of the high-elevation tunnel

Average advance per day
Highest recorded rock temperature
Construction period
Explosive used

 

7.33 m
34.0 °C
66 months
961 t

     
0 Media files
    Lötschberger country
    Domodossola Stadtzentrum
    The finest excursions in the Bernese Oberland, Upper Valais and Piedmont
    Discover
    Lötschberger country
    Partners
    More
    Newsletter

Pays du Lötschberger

Voyage découverte en train

En route vers le Pays du Lötschberger

Malgré l’ouverture du tunnel de base du Lötschberg, l’ancienne ligne de montagne du Lötschberg, qui relie l’Oberland bernois et le Valais, n’a rien perdu de son attrait. Alors que les plus pressés passeront par le tunnel de base de 34,6 km, les amoureux des chemins de fer et de la nature préfèreront quant à eux profiter du panorama spectaculaire de la vallée de la Kander et de la vue à couper le souffle du haut des viaducs de la rampe sud. Les localités et les vallées qui bordent la ligne offrent également des activités intéressantes et attirent régulièrement les touristes.

Un train – deux destinations: prendre le bon train pour bien arriver

Le RegioExpress Lötschberger vous amène directement de Berne à Brigue ou à Zweisimmen. Le train est scindé à Spiez. Les deux rames de tête partent en direction de Frutigen–Kandersteg–Goppenstein–Brig, tandis que la ou les rame(s) de queue poursuivent leur route vers Zweisimmen. Lorsque vous embarquez, faites donc bien attention aux indications (destinations) à l’extérieur du train.

Ligne Bern–Spiez

La vallée qui sépare Berne et Thoune porte le nom de l’Aar, l’un des plus beaux et des plus longs fleuves de Suisse. L’Aar prend sa source dans le glacier du même nom, dans le col du Grimsel. Il traverse les lacs de Brienz et de Thoune, passe non loin de Belpberg et poursuit sa course jusqu’à Münsingen et Berne. À Berne, l’Aar contourne la vieille ville médiévale et la presqu’île idyllique d’Enge.

Les Bernoises et les Bernois affectionnent leur fleuve: ils aiment par-dessus tout se baigner dans son eau fraîche et remonter son cours en bateau de Thoune à Berne, le temps d’une échappée de trois heures. Pour eux, c’est un loisir aussi apprécié que la promenade du dimanche. Lorsque le train traverse le pont d’Uttigen, les voyageurs peuvent apercevoir la foule qui se baigne et prend le soleil sur les rives. Selon le niveau de l’eau et le courant, le pont de l’Utiggen est le seul passage délicat du tronçon.

Aussitôt arrivé à Thoune, on comprend immédiatement pourquoi ce lieu pittoresque situé sur le bord du lac du même nom a été baptisé la «porte de l’Oberland bernois». Thoune est enchâssée dans le cadre majestueux des Alpes.

Au cœur d’un paysage de collines et de vignobles, Spiez offre une vue imprenable sur les montagnes de l’Oberland bernois, depuis les rives du lac de Thoune. C’est aussi la patrie du célèbre vin de Spiez.

Ligne Spiez–Zweisimmen

Le Simmental est la plus longue vallée de l’Oberland bernois. 50 kilomètres séparent Lenk, dans le massif du Wildstrubel, de la sortie de la vallée, à Wimmis. Durant un trajet de Spiez à Zweisimmen et dans le sens inverse, il y a donc beaucoup à voir.

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy, illustre compositeur allemand, avait déjà célébré le Simmental, qu’il avait dépeint comme «la vallée la plus verte d’Europe». En effet, l’entrée de la vallée dangereusement étroite laisse bien vite place à une grande et magnifique étendue verte où dominent les chalets richement ornés du XVIIe et du XVIIIe siècles, qui évoquent un passé révolu. À Oey, la maison Sälbeze, a par exemple été construite en 1738. Par ces mots, elle invite le voyageur à une pause bienvenue à l’ombre, sur un banc en bois : «Viens te reposer, toi le voyageur fatigué».

Que l’on soit un amoureux de la nature, un sportif ou un randonneur, le Niedersimmental et l’Obersimmental ne laissent personne indifférent. Les touristes du monde entier admirent les cascades imposantes de la Simme ou la cascade d’Iffig, qui se cache près de Lenk. Ils se promènent autour des eaux bleutées du lac Flueseeli, dans le Wildstrubbel et l’hiver, ils dévalent les pistes des domaines skiables de la région.

Ligne Spiez–Kandersteg

Depuis Spiez, la ligne remonte d’abord une pente régulière de 15 ‰ à travers la vallée de Frutigen et passe par Reichenbach pour rejoindre Frutigen. C’est ici que débute la vallée de la Kander, longue de 13 km. Reliant Frutigen et Kandersteg, elle est considérée comme la véritable ligne de montagne de la rampe nord de BLS.

On comprend d’emblée pourquoi: à la sortie de Frutigen, le tronçon progresse à 27 ‰, salue les ruines du Tellenburg puis enjambe l’ouvrage le plus photographié de la ligne du Lötschberg: l’imposant viaduc de la Kander. Le train passe ensuite par Kandergrund, le seul village de la vallée. Le nom «Kander» provient du celte «kandara» (celle qui brille, la blanche). En effet, entre les innombrables tunnels, le regard du voyageur est régulièrement happé par les eaux brillantes et l’écume blanche de la Kander, dont les méandres se perdent ensuite dans le fond de la vallée.

Après une volte-face du sud au nord, la ligne se hisse sur le versant de la montagne. Lorsqu’il ne disparaît pas dans de sombres tunnels, le train franchit des viaducs spectaculaires, comme le viaduc du Haltenwald, long de 40 mètres. Il s’engouffre ensuite dans le tunnel en courbe de 1655 mètres, qui le ramène sur une trajectoire nord-sud. Ce voyage grandiose se poursuit au rythme des tunnels et des ponts, et s’achève au bout de 31,5 kilomètres, à Kandersteg, porte du tunnel du Lötschberg.

Ligne Goppenstein–Brig

Après environ huit minutes de trajet dans le tunnel du Lötschberg, le train s’arrête en gare de Goppenstein. Au début du XXe siècle, lorsque le tunnel ferroviaire était en construction, plus de 3000 ouvriers s’étaient établis dans cette petite bourgade. Aujourd’hui, sur les 1500 habitants que compte le Lötschental, peu d’entre eux résident dans le hameau. Dans cette vallée reculée depuis toujours, de nombreuses coutumes et traditions ont survécu. Aujourd’hui, elles attirent quelques touristes chaque année.

Le train poursuit sa route sur le versant est, le long des gorges escarpées de la Lonza, puis traverse le viaduc du même nom, avant de plonger à nouveau dans les ténèbres. Lumière et obscurité continuent de se succéder, jusqu’à ce que la vallée du Rhône se déploie soudainement, dans toute son étendue.

Ce tronçon de ligne n’a pas été appelé rampe sud sans raison: sur des versants ensoleillés, le train parcourt un dénivelé de 450 mètres en pente douce, jusque dans la vallée. S’il est vrai que le viaduc de Bietschtal est impressionnant (on le retrouve même dans les modèles réduits du chemin de fer), cette ligne doit également sa renommée aux multiples curiosités qu’elle croise sur son chemin: du train, on peut admirer de petits vignobles abrupts, des systèmes d’irrigation ancestraux, et l’on passe même devant la tombe du poète Rainer Maria Rilke.

Une fois au fond de la vallée, après avoir parcouru la rampe sud, le train n’est plus bien loin de la gare de Brigue. La bourgade et l’imposant château de Stockalpert n’attendent plus qu’une chose: dévoiler leurs secrets.

Ligne Brig–Domodossola

Peu après avoir dépassé Brigue, le train disparaît dans le tunnel du Simplon. Long de 19,8 kilomètres et ouvert en 1906, il permet aux trains de circuler directement entre l’Italie et la Suisse. Pour conclure un tronçon féérique, le train fait son entrée dans la gare de la ville italienne de Domodossola. La capitale de la province mêle arrière-plan alpin et ambiance méridionale. Dans les anciennes ruelles, on devine le passé mouvementé de la ville. Aujourd’hui encore, le marché du samedi attire de nombreux excursionnistes dans cette ancienne ville marchande, tandis que les Sacri Monti du Piémont, inscrits au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, invitent les randonneurs à contempler des paysages et des panoramas d’une grande beauté.

Faits et chiffres sur le Lötschberger

Ligne de montagne

Point culminant dans le tunnel du Lötschberg au kilomètre 7234
(tunnel à voie normale le plus élevé de Suisse)

Longueur totale Frutigen–Brig

Longueur de la rampe nord Frutigen–portail nord du tunnel du Lötschberg
Dénivelé de la rampe nord, de Frutigen au point culminant

Longueur de la rampe sud Brigue–portail sud du tunnel du Lötschberg
Dénivelé de la rampe sud, de Brigue au point culminant

Inclinaison la plus forte sur les rampes

Rayon de courbe le moins élevé
Proportion de courbes sur la ligne Frutigen–Brig 

Nombre de gares et d’arrêts sur la ligne Frutigen–Brig

Nombre de ponts
Pont le plus long (viaduc de la Kander II)
Pont le plus haut (Bietschtal)

Nombre de tunnels
Longueur totale
Tunnel le plus long (tunnel de faîte du Lötschberg) 

 
1240 m d’altitude

60 km

20 km
460 m

26 km
562 m

27‰

280 m
55%

8

166
285 m
78 m au-dessus du sol

51
38,961 km
14,612 km

Construction

Octroi de la concession
Début des travaux des rampes sud et nord
Début du forage mécanique du tunnel, côté nord
Percement du tunnel du Lötschberg
Premier passage de train dans le tunnel
Mise en service par BLS
Achèvement des travaux de doublement de la voie Spiez–Brig
Achèvement des travaux d’extension de la chaussée roulante
23.12.1891
15.10.1906
07.03.1907
31.03.1911
03.06.1913
15.07.1913
08.05.1992
11.06.2001  
Coûts des travaux Frutigen–Brig (prix en 1913)
Effectifs max. sur la rampe nord
Effectifs max. sur la rampe sud
Effectifs max. quotidiens des deux côtés du tunnel de faîte
CHF 138 mio
2500 personnes
3000 personnes
3250 personnes

Construction du tunnel de faîte

Progression moyenne par jour
Température la plus haute mesurée dans la roche
Durée du chantier
Explosifs utilisés

 

7,33 m
34,0 °C
66 mois
961 t

               
0 Fichiers de médias
    Toutes les excursions
    Familienspass auf der Lauchernalp
    Idées d’excursions dans la région desservie par BLS
    Découvrir
    Pays du Lötschberger
    Partenaires
    Plus
    Newsletter