Trade fairs & festivals

13th Belle Epoque Week in Kandersteg

At the end of every January, the holiday village of Kandersteg in the Bernese Oberland turns back the clock to bring the Belle Epoque era to life with sports and cultural events, and other highlights.

Curling will be enjoyed – in authentic costume, of course – on the large natural ice rink, there’ll be dancing in old-style ice skates to nostalgic tunes, and participants in the nostalgia ski races will use skis made of wood. In the afternoon, there’ll be a refined “Thé Dansant”, along with music and games.

Date Available on 22.01.2023

Belle Epoque Week

From 22 to 29 January 2023

Program will follow soon

Stroll through the village, visit the various events, take advantage of the unique opportunity to take yourself back to the magnificent time of the “Belle Epoque”, and enjoy the days and nights in Kandersteg.
  • Program will follow soon

Notes

Belle Epoque Week in Kandersteg

What does Belle Epoque mean?

Belle Epoque (French for “Beautiful Era”) refers to the period at the turn of the 20th century (roughly between 1885 and 1914). During this era, the first tourists came to visit the region around Kandersteg and many winter sports that are still popular today, such as curling and ice hockey, began to establish themselves. Fashion and architecture from the Belle Epoque era also reflected the "good mood" of that special time, which came to an abrupt end with the outbreak of the First World War.

How long has Belle Epoque Week been taking place in Kandersteg?

“Everything was better in the old days” – this saying laid the foundation for the first Belle Epoque Week in 2010. The “good old days” were thus brought back to life in the last week of January in Kandersteg – with horse-drawn carriages, traditional meals and sports and social activities from the period around 1900.

What type of clothes should I wear?

There is no dress code for visitors to Belle Epoque Week; everyone can wear what they want to. However, the special atmosphere during Belle Epoque Week does invite you to dress in authentic attire as you stroll through the village, attend or participate in various sports events or enjoy entertaining performances.

Where can I find period attire?

People often find stylish original clothing in their own attics or cupboards, or those of their grandparents. An authentic Belle Epoque look can be quickly achieved by cleverly combining such clothes and adding some pieces from a costume hire shop if needed. Elegant attire, frock coats and top hats, as well as simple everyday clothing from the era, can be found in nearly all costume hire shops.

Do I need to register for Belle Epoque Week?

A varied and extensive programme of events is offered throughout the week in Kandersteg. In view of the great popularity of Belle Epoque Week and limitations on the number of participants, we strongly recommend that you register for all events. Reservations are required for all evening events in any case. All those who wish to attend the open-air sports events (curling, bobsled races etc.) are welcome to come and do not need a reservation.

Belle Epoque Bar

Stop by the cosy Belle Epoque Bar right opposite the railway station and get in the right mood for the classy afternoon and evening programmes.

Arrival

Travel by train to Kandersteg.

No reviews 0 of 5 stars

Rate
Additional ratings

Location

Tickets & Timetable
Similar offers
Knowledge & culture
Eine Dame beim interessanten Rundgang in der Schaukäserei
Rundgang durch die Emmentaler Schaukäserei
Savour
Knowledge & culture
Schloss Burgdorf im Winter von schneebedeckten Bäumen umgeben
Burgdorf Castle
Discover
Knowledge & culture
Spiez - Bucht mit Schloss Winter
Spiez entdecken
Tickets & Fahrplan
Knowledge & culture
Auch im Winter ist die einzigartige Baukunst der traditionellen Häuser zu sehen.
Reichenbach House Trail
Discover
Offers nearby
Hiking & nature
Kandersteg im Winter
Kandersteg circular trails
Experience
Railway adventures
Lötschberger auf dem Kanderviadukt bei Frutigen
Round trip with the RegioExpress Lötschberger
Experience
Sport
Langlauf in Kandersteg
Cross-country skiing in Kandersteg
Experience
Leisure activities
Eisfischen am Oeschinensee ob Kandersteg
Ice fishing on Oeschinen Lake
Experience
Newsletter
Download PDF
0 of 0 Media files

Salons & fêtes populaires

12ème Semaine de la Belle Epoque à Kandersteg

C’est un événement qui se produit tous les ans au mois de janvier: Kandersteg, lieu de villégiature de l’Oberland bernois, remonte le temps et fait revivre la Belle Époque à travers des manifestations sportives, culturelles et sociales.

Habitants et visiteurs portent des tenues de cette époque charnière entre le XIXe et le XXe siècle. Les participants jouent au curling sur la grande piste de glace naturelle, les plus courageux enfilent d’anciens patins et s’essaient à quelques pas de danse sur des musiques d’autrefois, tandis que les courses de bobsleigh se font sur des luges centenaires. Quant aux skieurs, ils dévalent les pentes sur de vieux skis en bois. L’après-midi, tout le monde se retrouve au thé dansant. Ces dames et ces messieurs s’adonnent à la musique et au jeu pour se divertir avant d’aller dîner. 

Date

Manifestation annulée

Semaine de la Belle Époque

-> Manifestation annulée

Avec un train supplémentaire à l'ouverture de la Semaine de la Belle Époque

Exclusivement de Bâle à Kandersteg via Berne avec un train spécial.

Informations complémentaires

Semaine de la Belle Époque à Kandersteg

Qu’est-ce que la Belle Époque?

Le terme «Belle Époque» désigne l’époque qui s’est étendue d’environ 1885 à 1914. C’est à cette période que les premiers touristes firent leur arrivée, et que de nombreux sports d’hiver encore pratiqués aujourd’hui, comme le curling ou le hockey sur glace, se sont popularisèrent. La mode et l’architecture se mirent également au diapason de la belle ambiance qui régnait et qui prit brutalement fin avec le début de la Première Guerre mondiale.

Depuis quand la semaine de la Belle Époque est-elle célébrée à Kandersteg?

«C’était mieux avant» – cette rengaine a jeté les bases de la première semaine de la Belle Époque à Kandersteg en 2010. Durant la dernière semaine de janvier, le bon vieux temps reprend vie, et les attelages de chevaux, les plats traditionnels ainsi que la vie sportive et sociale des années autour de 1900 retrouvent leurs lettres de noblesse à Kandersteg.

Quels vêtements dois-je porter?

Les visiteurs et les invités de la semaine de la Belle Époque ne se voient imposer aucun code vestimentaire, chacun s’habille comme il le souhaite. L’ambiance particulière qui règne pendant la semaine de la Belle Époque vous invite également à flâner dans le village en tenue d’époque ou à participer aux manifestations sportives et récréatives.

Comment puis-je trouver des vêtements d’époque?

Vous avez de bonnes chances de trouver de précieuses pièces originales dans votre trésor familial ou dans l’armoire de vos grands-parents. Si vous les combinez astucieusement et les complétez si nécessaire avec des articles loués dans un magasin spécialisé, vous obtiendrez rapidement un ensemble Belle Époque de bon goût. Quasiment tous les magasins de location de costumes proposent des vêtements distingués, des redingotes, des hauts-de-forme ainsi que des vêtements plus simples et du quotidien.

Dois-je m’inscrire?

Des activités diversifiées sont proposées toute la semaine à Kandersteg. Vu la forte demande et le nombre restreint de participants, nous vous invitons à vous inscrire très rapidement à l’ensemble de la manifestation. La réservation est obligatoire pour les événements organisés en soirée. Les spectateurs des manifestations sportives à ciel ouvert (curling en extérieur, bobsleigh, etc.) sont les bienvenus sans inscription.

Belle Epoque Bar

Venez profiter du cadre charmant et convivial du Bar Belle Epoque face à la gare et préparez-vous au programme de l’après-midi et de la soirée.

Météo & webcam

Kandersteg, Gemeindehaus
(powered by www.kandersteg.ch)
0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

    Aucun commentaire 0 sur 5 étoiles

    Évaluer
    D'autres évaluation

    Situation

    PLANIFIER trajet
    Offres similaires
    Culture & connaissance
    Simplon Dorf im Winter
    Petite histoire du souper à Simplon
    découvrir
    Culture & connaissance
    Schloss Burgdorf im Winter
    Château de Berthoud
    Decouvrir
    Culture & connaissance
    Helles Bier vom Zapfhahnen
    Tournée bernoise des bières
    Découvrir
    Culture & connaissance
    Rundgang Schaukaeserei innen
    Visite de la fromagerie de démonstration à Affoltern i. E.
    Savourer
    Offres à proximité
    Nature et randonnée
    Kandersteg im Winter
    Circuits de randonnée de Kandersteg
    Découvrir
    Sur les rails
    Bahnrundreise mit dem RegioExpress Lötschberger im Winter
    Circuit à bord du RegioExpress Lötschberger
    découvrir
    Nature et randonnée
    Schneeschuhtrail 1
    Tour du «Höh» en raquettes à la découverte de Kandersteg
    Découvrir
    Sport
    Langlauf in Kandersteg
    Ski de fond à Kandersteg
    découvrier
    Newsletter