Railway adventures

Centovalli and Valle Vigezzo

A fascinating panoramic journey at any time of year

Enjoy a breath-taking scenic journey of discovery through 100 valleys and Valle Vigezzo. The train ride from Domodossola to Locarno is like something from the pages of a beautiful picture book: every moment is a new discovery. Nature offers a series of breath-taking views here – enjoy her fascinating creations, as well as the 83 bridges and viaducts.

It's worth stopping for. Visit the chimney sweep museum, the perfume shop and the Praudina adventure park in Santa Maria Maggiore, the pilgrimage church in Re or the museum with the highest bell tower in Ticino in Intragna.

Railway line

Nearly 100 years old, the Vigezzina-Centovalli Railway is a panoramic, narrow-gauge railway line connecting Domodossola and Locarno. The line is 52 km long and includes 83 bridges and 31 tunnels. Today, it is one of the major attractions of the Ossola Valley. Nestled amidst the pristine landscape, it offers passengers a leisurely and exciting journey between Valle Vigezzo and Centovalli, between Italy and Switzerland.

Route and journey time

Route Domodossola–Valle Ossola–Valle Vigezzo–Centovalli–Lago Maggiore–Locarno
Distance 52 km
Travel time 1 hour 54 minutes

Free audio guide

Follow your journey on the map. Discover all the details, curiosities and interesting information along the entire railway line.

What do you require for this? Your smartphone and earphones. With no additional data charges.

Highlights

Get off at any station of your choice along the way and visit one of the historical villages, enjoy a walk through the beautiful landscape or savour the authentic cuisine at a typical osteria.

Domodossola

Domodossola is the starting point for your journey and a town with medieval charm. It lies at the foot of the Ossola Valley, is bisected by the River Toce and enchants visitors with its romantic squares and narrow alleyways. Before you continue your journey with the Vigezzina-Centovalli Railway, you can enjoy a cappuccino on the piazza (square) or visit the vibrant weekly market in the historic centre on a Saturday.

Santa Maria Maggiore

A charming village with an enchanting centre, a piazza and streets with colourful house façades. This little settlement is home to three highly interesting museums dedicated to local history and ancient traditions. The Chimney Sweep Museum, the Casa del Profumo (House of Perfume) and the pinacoteca of the Scuola di Belle Arti Rossetti Valentini.

Re

The village of Re is famed for its impressive pilgrimage church of the Madonna del Sangue, which towers high above the plain. The legend goes that in 1494, a little fresco of the “Madonna del latte” was struck by a stone and began to bleed. This resulted in the veneration of the wounded Madonna, whose image is today located in the cathedral of Santa Croce.

Intragna

Intragna, the gateway to the Centovalli, is a small Ticino village with narrow alleyways, typical stone houses and historic palazzi. At 65 metres in height, the belfry – which is part of the San Gottardo church – is the tallest in the entire canton. If you climb the 165 steps to the top, you will be rewarded with a fantastic panoramic view of the Centovalli, the Terre di Pedemonte and the Onsernone Valley. 

Locarno

This is the end-point of your journey on the Vigezzina-Centovalli Railway. Locarno, the cinematic town by Lake Maggiore, offers experiences to suit every taste. Here you will find interesting museums and tranquil parks. Surrounded by mountains, this beautiful little town offers breath-taking views at any time of day..

Madonna del Sasso

The pilgrimage church of Madonna del Sasso was founded here in 1487 by the Franciscan friar Frá Bartolomeo, after, according to legend, the Virgin Mary appeared to him. Popular belief led to the construction of the first chapel. In the following centuries, the idea of erecting a place of pilgrimage started to form, a religious architectural form very common in the lake region: a complex of churches and chapels along a penitential trail, nestled in the beautiful and solitary nature. The architectural complex includes the Basilica and the Franciscan Monastery standing high on the rock, the Church of the Annunciation, the Way of the Cross and other chapels.

The cable car is closed in November for maintenance.

Museo Casa del Padre

The museum is located in the oldest part of the monastery and occupies the original rooms where the first four monks lived, including the refectory with its magnificent fresco of the Last Supper. The eight exhibition rooms tell of the monastic life of the Capuchin fathers, as well as the history of the monastery in connection with the pilgrimage sites in the foothills of the Alps. Also on display are paraments and cult objects, as well as drawings and paintings by the Ticino painter Antonio Ciseri (1821-1891).

Availability Today (Tuesday) open

The ride from Domodossola to Locarno takes about 2 hours.

Timetable recommendation

Domodossola dep. 10.26
Masera dep. 10.34
Trontano dep. 10.45
Druogno dep. 11.07
S. Maria Maggiore dep. 11.12
Maleso dep. 11.18
Re dep. 11.24
Camedo arr. (only for disembarking) 11.40
Intragna arr. (only for disembarking) 11.58
Ponte Brolla arr.(only for disembarking, stopping on demand) 12.08
Locarno S. Antonio arr. 12.14
Locarno FART arr. 12.20

Train from Domodossola 10.25

  • All stops from Masera to Re are on request
  • Camedo without restriction (for embarking and disembarking)

Important notice: Works to adapt the stations of the Vigezzina-Centovalli Railway to LDis (Law for the Disabled). The works will last until 2023. We recommend you to consult the online timetable before traveling (FSS app or Arcobaleno).

BLS suggestion

Take the opportunity to experience a journey in the atmosphere of times gone by on board the historic train consisting of an electric multiple unit ABDe 6/6 built in 1963 and two AB4 coaches built in 1923. A plunge into the past during the journey between Locarno and Camedo.

How to get there

With the RegioExpress Bern – Spiez – Kandersteg – Brig – Domodossola you travel comfortably from Bern direct to Domodossola. From Domodossola Railway Station, it’s an approximately 8-minute walk to the departure point of the Vigezzina-Centovalli Railway. For the return journey, we recommend the shorter route via the Gotthard line.

Notes

Seat reservations

Seat reservations are compulsory. You can make your reservation at your local BLS Travel Centre or online using the following link:

Luggage drop-off

You can drop off your luggage at your local BLS Travel Centre up until 19.00 hours and collect it from 09.00 hours two days later – please note the opening times.

No reviews 0 of 5 stars

Rate
Additional ratings

Location

Tickets & Timetable
Similar offers
Railway adventures
MIKA unterwegs im Kandertal
Rail round trip Lötschberg and GoldenPass
Experience
Railway adventures
Loetschberger Kambly Winter
Kambly round trip
benefit
Railway adventures
Herkömmliche Käseherstellung im Restaurant Le Chalet
GoldenPass Cheese Train Montreux–Château-d’Œx
Discover
Railway adventures
Freizeitpfad Langnau Familie
Interaktiver Dorfrundgang durch Langnau i. E.
Erleben
Offers nearby
Hiking & nature
Domodossola - Monte Calvario - Pilgerweg
Sacro Monte Calvario in Domodossola
Discover
Hiking & nature
Wanderung Via Stockalper unterwegs
ViaStockalper Val Divedro hike
Entdecken
Trade fairs & festivals
Domodossola lockt jeden Samstag viele Ausflügler an seinen bekannten und beliebten Markt.
Market in Domodossola
Visit
BLS car transport service
Skigebiet Hannig, Saas-Fee
BLS car transport service
discover
Newsletter
Download PDF
0 of 0 Media files

Bahnerlebnisse

Centovalli und Valle Vigezzo

Eine faszinierende Panoramareise zu jeder Jahreszeit

Entdecken Sie das Centovalli und das Valle Vigezzo auf einer bezaubernden Bahnreise. Die Fahrt von Domodossola nach Locarno gleicht dem Betrachten eines schönen Bildbandes: wohin Sie auch schauen, bieten sich Ihnen atemberaubende Aussichten und faszinierende Landschaften. Geniessen Sie die gemütliche Fahrt auf dieser aussergewöhnlichen Bahnstrecke, welche Sie über 83 Brücken und Viadukte führt.

Ein Zwischenhalt in einem der kleinen, historischen Dörfer lohnt sich. Besuchen Sie das Schornsteinfegermuseum, die Casa del Profumo und den Parco Avventura Praudina in Santa Maria Maggiore, das Santuario di Re oder das Museum mit dem höchsten Glockenturm des Tessins in Intragna.

Bahnstrecke

Die Vigezzina-Centovalli-Bahn ist eine panoramareiche, fast 100-jährige Schmalspurbahn welche Domodossola mit Locarno verbindet. Die Strecke ist 52 Kilometer lang und führt über 83 Brücken und durch 31 Tunnel und zählt heute zu den bedeutendsten Attraktionen des Ossola-Tals. Eingebettet in die authentische Natur bietet sie den Passagieren eine langsame und aufregende Reise zwischen dem Valle Vigezzo und dem Centovalli, zwischen Italien und der Schweiz.

Route und Reisedauer

Route Domodossola–Valle Ossola–Valle Vigezzo–Centovalli–Lago Maggiore–Locarno
Distanz 52 km
Fahrtdauer 1 Std. 54 Min.

Kostenloser Audioguide

Verfolgen Sie Ihre Reise auf der Karte. Entdecken Sie alle Details, Kurioses und interessante Informationen auf der gesamten Bahnstrecke.

Was brauchen Sie dazu? Ihr Smartphone und Kopfhörer. Ohne zusätzliche Kosten für die Telefonverbindung.

Highlights

Steigen Sie unterwegs an einer beliebigen Haltestelle aus und besuchen Sie eines der historischen Dörfer, machen Sie einen Spaziergang durch die schöne Landschaft oder geniessen Sie die authentische Küche in einer typischen Osteria.

Domodossola

Domodossola ist der Ausgangspunkt Ihrer Reise und eine Stadt mit mittelalterlichem Charme. Sie liegt am Fusse des Ossola-Tals, durch das der Toce fliesst und verzaubert mit romantischen Plätze und engen Gassen. Geniessen Sie vor Ihrer Weiterfahrt mit der Vigezzina-Centovall-Bahn einen Cappuccino auf der Piazza oder besuchen Sie am Samstag den bunten Wochenmarkt in der Altstadt.

Santa Maria Maggiore

Ein charmanter Ort mit bezauberndem Dorfkern, einer Piazza und Strassen mit farbigen Häuserfassaden. Die kleine Siedlung beherbergt drei sehr interessante Museen, die sich der lokalen Geschichte und den alten Traditionen widmen. Das Kaminfegermuseum, die Casa del Profumo (Haus des Parfüms) und die Pinakothek der Scuola di Belle Arti Rossetti Valentini.

Re

Das Dorf Re ist bekannt für die beeindruckende Wallfahrtskirche der Madonna del Sangue, die hoch über der Ebene thront. Die Legende besagt, dass 1494 ein kleines Fresko der «Madonna del latte» von einem Stein getroffen wurde und zu bluten begann. Daraus entstand die Verehrung der verwundeten Madonna, deren Bildnis sich heute in der Kathedrale von Santa Croce befindet.

Intragna

Intragna, das Tor zum Centovalli, ist ein kleines Tessiner Dorf mit engen Gassen, typischen Steinhäusern und historischen Palazzi. Sein Glockenturm, der zur Kirche San Gottardo gehört, ist mit seinen 65 Metern, der höchste im ganzen Kanton. Wer die 165 Stufen hinaufklettert, wird mit einem fantastischen Rundumblick auf das Centovalli, die Terre di Pedemonte und das Onsernonetal belohnt. 

Locarno

Hier endet Ihre Fahrt mit der Vigezzina-Centovalli-Bahn. Locarno, die Filmstadt am Lago Maggiore bietet Erlebnisse für jeden Geschmack. Hier erwarten Sie interessante Museen und ruhige Parkanlagen. Umgeben von Bergen sorgt das wunderschöne Städtchen zu jeder Tageszeit für atemberaubende Ausblicke.

Madonna del Sasso

Der Wallfahrtsort Madonna del Sasso wurde im Jahr 1487 vom Franziskanerbruder Frá Bartolomeo gegründet. Dies, nachdem ihm gemäss Überlieferungen, an dieser Stelle die Jungfrau Maria erschienen war. Der Volksglaube bewirkte darauf den Bau einer ersten Kapelle. In den folgenden Jahrhunderten reifte die Idee zur Errichtung eines Wallfahrtsortes, eine religiöse Architekturform, die in der Seeregion sehr verbreitet ist: ein Komplex von Kirchen und Kapellen entlang einem Bussweg, der sich in die schöne und einsame Natur einfügt. Zum architektonischen Komplex gehören die Basilika und das Franziskanerkloster, die hoch auf dem Felsen stehen, die Verkündungskirche, der Kreuzweg und weitere Kapellen.

Die Standseilbahn ist im November wegen Unterhaltsarbeiten geschlossen.

Museo Casa del Padre

Das Museum befindet sich im ältesten Teil des Klosters und belegt die ursprünglichen Räumlichkeiten, in denen die ersten vier Mönche gelebt hatten, inklusive das Refektorium mit seinem grossartigen Fresko des Letzten Abendmahls. In den acht Ausstellungsräumen wird vom Klosterleben der Kapuzinerpater erzählt sowie die Geschichte des Klosters im Zusammenhang mit den Pilgerstätten im Voralpenraum. Zu sehen sind unter anderem auch Paramente, Kultgegenstände, Zeichnungen und Bilder des Tessiner Malers Antonio Ciseri (1821-1891).

Fahrplan Centovalli-Bahn Heute Montag verfügbar

Die Fahrt von Domodossola nach Locarno dauert rund 2 Stunden.

Fahrplanempfehlung

Domodossola ab   10.26
Masera ab 10.34
Trontano ab 10.45
Druogno ab 11.07
S. Maria Maggiore ab 11.12
Maleso ab 11.18
Re ab 11.24
Camedo an (nur zum Aussteigen)  11.40
Intragna an (nur zum Aussteigen) 11.58
Ponte Brolla an (nur zum Aussteigen, Halt auf Verlangen) 12.08
Locarno S. Antonio an  12.14
Locarno FART an 12.20

Zug von Domodossola 10.26

  • Alle Haltestellen von Masera nach Re sind auf Anfrage
  • Camedo ohne Einschränkung (zum Ein- und Aussteigen)

Wichtiger Hinweis: Arbeiten zur Anpassung der Bahnhöfe der Vigezzina-Centovalli-Bahn an die LDis (Behindertengesetz). Die Arbeiten werden bis 2023 dauern. Wir empfehlen Ihnen, vor der Reise den Online-Fahrplan zu konsultieren (FSS-App oder Arcobaleno).

BLS-Tipp

Nützen Sie die Gelegenheit, eine Reise in der Atmosphäre vergangener Zeiten an Bord eines historischen Zuges zu erleben, der aus einem elektrischen Triebzug ABDe 6/6 aus dem 1963 und zwei AB4-Wagen aus dem Jahr 1923 besteht. Ein Eintauchen in die Vergangenheit während der Reise zwischen Locarno und Camedo.

Anreise

Mit dem RegioExpress Bern – Spiez – Kandersteg – Brig – Domodossola reisen Sie bequem ab Bern direkt bis nach Domodossola. Vom Bahnhof Domodossola aus erreichen Sie den Abfahrtsort der Vigezzina-Centovalli Bahn in ca. 8 Gehminuten. Für die Rückreise empfehlen wir Ihnen die kürzere Strecke über die Gotthardlinie.

Hinweise

Sitzplatzreservation

Reservieren Sie Ihren Sitzplatz in der Vigezzina-Centovalli Bahn in Ihrem BLS Reisezentrum.

Reservationsgebühr:
Normale Züge CHF 5.00
Panoramazüge CHF 5.00

Bei Fragen ist das BLS Reisezentrum Bern Bümpliz Nord gerne für Sie da.

Gepäckaufgabe

Sie können Ihr Gepäck bis 19 Uhr in Ihrem BLS Reisezentrum aufgeben und am übernächsten Tag ab 9 Uhr abholen – beachten Sie die Öffnungszeiten.

1 Kommentar 5 von 5 Sternen

Bewerten
Weitere Bewertungen

Standort

Tickets & Fahrplan
Ähnliche Angebote
Öffentliche Führung
Bahnwanderung 7
Geführte Bahnwanderung Lötschberg Südrampe 05. Juni 2024
Besuchen
Wandern & Natur
Wanderung auf der Lötschberger-Südrampe
Lötschberger Südrampe
Erleben
Bahnerlebnisse
Spass fuer die ganze Familie im Tuffelenbahn
Rätselspass rund um Biel/Bienne
profitieren
Bahnerlebnisse
MOB Rundreise_GoldenPass Bern Montreux
Bahnrundreise Lötschberg und GoldenPass
erleben
Angebote in der Nähe
Wandern & Natur
Valle-Vigezzo
Wandern im Piemont
Entdecken
Wandern & Natur
Domodossola - Monte Calvario - Pilgerweg
Sacro Monte Calvario in Domodossola
entdecken
Wandern & Natur
Wanderung Via Stockalper unterwegs
Wanderung ViaStockalper Val Divedro
Entdecken
Messen & Volksfeste
Ein junges Paar verhandelt mit dem Verkäufer über den Preis der Antipasti.
Markt in Domodossola
besuchen
Newsletter
PDF herunterladen
0 aus 0 Mediendateien