Railway adventures

Locarno and Madonna del Sasso

Visit the Madonna del Sasso pilgrimage church by train and funicular railway.

Your journey to Locarno with the Vigezzina-Centovalli Railway will take you across bridges and rivers and past vineyards. Once in Locarno, a five-minute ride in the historic funicular railway will take you up to the Madonna del Sasso pilgrimage church, a popular viewing point out over Lago Maggiore.

The Sacred Mount of the Madonna del Sasso is one of the most significant religious and historical sites in the canton of Ticino. Set on a spectacular rock promontory, this holy site is surrounded by a large piazza from which visitors can enjoy the splendid views of the valley and surrounding mountains.

  • Coronavirus notice Please take note of the protection plan and any restrictions set by the provider.

Railway adventure Vigezzina–Centovalli Bahn

Vigezzina-Centovalli Railway

Nearly 100 years old, the Vigezzina-Centovalli Railway is a panoramic, narrow-gauge railway line connecting Domodossola and Locarno. The line is 52 km long and includes 83 bridges and 31 tunnels. Today, it is one of the major attractions of the Ossola Valley. Nestled amidst the pristine landscape, it offers passengers a leisurely and exciting journey between Valle Vigezzo and Centovalli, between Italy and Switzerland.

Free audio guide  

Follow your journey on the map. Discover all the details, curiosities and interesting information along the entire railway line. What do you require for this? Your smartphone and earphones. With no additional data charges.

Sights Sacro Monte Madonna del Sasso

Madonna del Sasso

The Madonna del Sasso pilgrimage site was founded in 1487 by the Franciscan monk Frá Bartolomeo after – so tradition has it – the Virgin Mary appeared to him in a vision here. Pious locals then erected the first chapel here. In the centuries that followed, the idea came to fruition of building a pilgrimage site, a form of religious architecture that is very common in the lakeland region: an ensemble of churches and chapels along the ‘penitents’ way’ that is embedded into the beautiful, rural landscape. The architectural ensemble includes the basilica and Franciscan monastery, which stand high up on the rock, the church of the annunciation, the stations of the cross and other chapels.

Museo Casa del Padre

The museum is located in the oldest part of the monastery, within the rooms once inhabited by the first four months, including the refectory with its splendid fresco of the Last Supper. The eight exhibition rooms give insights into the monastic life of the Capuchin monks and the history of the monastery in the context of the pilgrimage in the region of the alpine foothills. The exhibits also include paraments, cult objects, and drawings and paintings by the Ticino painter Antonio Ciseri (1821-1891).

 

Availability Today (Wednesday) open

The offer is available all year round.

The funicular railway is closed in November due to repair work.

Subject to change without prior notice

How to get there

The RegioExpress Lötschberger takes you directly and in comfort from Bern to Domodossola. From Domodossola Train Station, it’s an approximately 8-minute walk to the departure point of the Vigezzina-Centovalli Railway. The journey from Domodossola to Locarno takes around two hours. The funicular railway is located next to Locarno Train Station and take you to Sacro Monte.
For the return journey, we recommend the shorter route via the Gotthard line.

Timetable recommendation

Arrival

Bern departure 07.39
Domodossola arrival 09.54
Domodossola departure  10.25
Locarno arrival  12.19

Return

Locarno departure 18.31
Bellinzona departure 19.02
Bern arrival  21.56

Notes

Free audio guide

Follow your journey on the map. Discover all the details, curiosities and interesting information on the entire railway line.

What do you need? Your smartphone and headphones. Without additional costs for the telephone connection.

Seat reservations

Reserve your seat on board the Centovalli Railway at your BLS Travel Centre.

Reservation fee

Normal trains CHF 5.00
Panorama trains CHF 5.00

If you have any questions, the BLS Travel Centre Bern Bümpliz Nord will be happy to help:

Weather & webcam Today: sunny 1/15°

Today sunny 1/15°
Tomorrow sunny 1/14°
Friday sunny 2/13°
Saturday sunny 0/11°
Locarno: Madonna del Sasso
0 of 0 Media files

    No reviews 0 of 5 stars

    Rate
    Additional ratings

    Location

    Tickets & Timetable
    Similar offers
    Hiking & nature
    Panorama von der Panoramabrücke Sigriswil
    Panorama circular trail at Lake Thun
    Discover
    Guided group tour
    Lötschberg Basistunnel
    Lötschberg Base Tunnel
    Visit
    Hiking & nature
    Winterwandern auf dem Gemmipass
    Winter hiking at the Gemmi Pass
    Discover
    Food & drink
    Gemütliches Beisammensein im Restaurant Niederhorn
    Culinary outing to the Niederhorn
    Experience
    Offers nearby
    Knowledge & culture
    Locarno-Piazza-Grande
    Ascona and Locarno
    Discover
    Hiking & nature
    Camedo Intragna Parco dei Mulini - ©Ticino Turismo – foto Rémy Steinegger
    Via del Mercato
    Discover
    Hiking & nature
    Valle-Vigezzo
    Valle dei Pittori – the valley of the painters
    Discover
    Knowledge & culture
    BLS_146213
    Verbania, on the shores of Lake Maggiore
    Discover
    Newsletter

Sur les rails

Locarno et Madonna del Sasso

À bord du train et du funiculaire, direction le sanctuaire de la Madonna del Sasso

La ligne ferroviaire Vigezzina-Centovalli traverse des ponts, des rivières et des vignobles pour vous conduire à Locarno. De là, le funiculaire historique vous emmène en seulement cinq minutes au sanctuaire de la Madonna del Sasso, un lieu prisé pour contempler le panorama du lac Majeur.

Le mont sacré de la Madonna del Sasso à Orselina est l’un des sites historiques et religieux les plus importants du Tessin. Dressé sur un éperon spectaculaire, le sanctuaire est précédé d’une grande place depuis laquelle les visiteurs découvrent une vue époustouflante sur la vallée et les montagnes environnantes.

Sur les rails Vigezzina–Centovalli Bahn

Ligne ferroviaire Vigezzina-Centovalli

La ligne ferroviaire Vigezzina-Centovalli, déjà presque centenaire, est une ligne panoramique à voie étroite qui relie Domodossola à Locarno. La ligne s’étend sur 52 kilomètres et traverse 83 ponts et 31 tunnels. Elle fait partie aujourd’hui des principales attractions du val d’Ossola. Sur fond de nature authentique, elle offre aux passagers un voyage lent et passionnant à travers le val Vigezzo et les Centovalli, à la frontière entre la Suisse et l’Italie.

Audioguide gratuit  

Suivez votre voyage sur la carte. Découvrez tous les détails, toutes les curiosités et informations intéressantes sur l’ensemble de la ligne ferroviaire. De quoi avez-vous besoin pour cela? De votre smartphone et d’écouteurs. Et ce, sans coûts supplémentaires pour la liaison téléphonique.

Sites touristiques Sacro Monte Madonna del Sasso

Madonna del Sasso

Le sanctuaire de la Madonna del Sasso a été érigé en 1487 par le moine franciscain Frá Bartolomeo à l’endroit où, selon la légende, la Vierge Marie lui est miraculeusement apparue. Cette croyance populaire y entraîna la construction d’une première chapelle. Dans les siècles qui ont suivi, cette dernière s’est transformée en site de pèlerinage, forme architecturale religieuse très répandue dans cette région de lacs: un complexe d’églises et de chapelles sur un itinéraire spirituel au cœur d’une nature sublime et sauvage. Le complexe architectural comprend la basilique et le monastère franciscain, tout en haut du rocher, ainsi que son église de l’Annonciation, le chemin de croix et d’autres chapelles.

Museo Casa del Padre

Le musée se situe dans la partie la plus ancienne du monastère, dans les espaces initialement occupés par les quatre premiers moines, y compris le réfectoire avec sa fresque grandiose de la Dernière Cène. Les huit salles d’exposition racontent la vie monastique des prêtres capucins ainsi que l’histoire du monastère comme l’un des lieux de pèlerinage des Préalpes. On peut notamment y admirer des parements, des objets de culte, des dessins et des tableaux du peintre tessinois Antonio Ciseri (1821–1891).

 

Disponibilité Aujourd’hui (Mercredi) ouvert

L’offre est disponible toute l’année.

En novembre, le funiculaire est fermé en raison de travaux de maintenance.

Sous réserve de modifications

Comment s'y rendre

À bord du RegioExpress Lötschberger, vous voyagez en toute sérénité et sans escale jusqu’à Domodossola. De la gare de Domodossola, vous marchez approximativement huit minutes jusqu’à l’arrêt de départ du train Vigezzina-Centovalli. Le trajet Domodossola-Locarno dure environ deux heures. Le funiculaire se trouve à proximité de la gare de Locarno et vous emmène directement au Sacro Monte.
Pour le retour, nous vous recommandons d’emprunter le trajet plus court via la ligne du Gothard.

Horaire recommandé

Arrivée

Bern départ 07.39
Domodossola arrivée 09.54
Domodossola départ  10.25
Locarno arrivée  12.19

Retour

Locarno départ 18.31
Bellinzona départ 19.02
Bern arrivée  21.56

Informations complémentaire

Guide audio gratuit

Suivez votre voyage sur la carte. Découvrez tous les détails, curiosités et informations intéressantes sur l'ensemble de la ligne ferroviaire.

De quoi avez-vous besoin ? Votre smartphone et vos écouteurs. Sans frais supplémentaires pour le raccordement téléphonique.

Réservation de places assises

Réservez une place assise dans le chemin de fer Centovalli dans votre Centre de voyages BLS.

Frais de réservation

Trains normaux CHF 5.00
Trains panoramiques CHF 5.00

Le Centre de voyages BLS de Berne Bümpliz Nord répond volontiers à vos questions:

Météo & webcam Aujourd’hui: beau temps 1/15°

Aujourd’hui beau temps 1/15°
Demain beau temps 1/14°
Vendredi beau temps 2/13°
Samedi beau temps 0/11°
Locarno: Madonna del Sasso
0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

    Aucun commentaire 0 sur 5 étoiles

    Évaluer
    D'autres évaluation

    Situation

    Billets & Horaire
    Offres similaires
    Nature et randonnée
    Winterpanoramaweg Lauchernalp
    Chemin panoramique d’hiver Lauchernalp
    Vivre
    Panoramas
    Brienzer Rothorn Aussichtsplattform im Winter
    L’hiver sur le plus haut sommet de Lucerne
    savourer
    Sur les rails
    BLS-Loksimulator in Burgdorf
    Simulateur de locomotive BLS à Berthoud
    Découvrir
    Nature et randonnée
    Winterwandern auf dem Gemmipass
    Randonnée hivernale sur le col de la Gemmi
    Découvrir
    Offres à proximité
    Culture & connaissance
    Locarno-Piazza-Grande
    Ascona et Locarno
    Découvrir
    Nature et randonnée
    Camedo Intragna Parco dei Mulini - ©Ticino Turismo – foto Rémy Steinegger
    Via del Mercato
    Découvrir
    Nature et randonnée
    Valle-Vigezzo
    Valle dei Pittori – la vallée des peintres
    Découvrir
    Culture & connaissance
    Citta di Verbania: Schiffsstation Verbania
    Verbania au bord du Lac Majeur
    Découvrir
    Newsletter