Trade fairs & festivals

12th Belle Epoque Week in Kandersteg

At the end of every January, the holiday village of Kandersteg in the Bernese Oberland turns back the clock to bring the Belle Epoque era to life with sports and cultural events, and other highlights.

The large natural ice skating rink is the site for curling matches – in Belle Epoque attire of course. Visitors also use the rink to dance to period music on old-style ice skates. A further highlight during the week are the nostalgic bobsled races with 100-year-old sleighs. Afternoons feature the stylish “Thé Dansant” tea dance with music and games. 

Date

Belle Epoque Week

--> Event cancelled

Travel with a special train to the opening of the Belle Epoque week 

Exclusively from Basel via Bern to Kandersteg with a special train.

Notes

Belle Epoque Week in Kandersteg

What does Belle Epoque mean?

Belle Epoque (French for “Beautiful Era”) refers to the period at the turn of the 20th century (roughly between 1885 and 1914). During this era, the first tourists came to visit the region around Kandersteg and many winter sports that are still popular today, such as curling and ice hockey, began to establish themselves. Fashion and architecture from the Belle Epoque era also reflected the "good mood" of that special time, which came to an abrupt end with the outbreak of the First World War.

How long has Belle Epoque Week been taking place in Kandersteg?

“Everything was better in the old days” – this saying laid the foundation for the first Belle Epoque Week in 2010. The “good old days” were thus brought back to life in the last week of January in Kandersteg – with horse-drawn carriages, traditional meals and sports and social activities from the period around 1900.

What type of clothes should I wear?

There is no dress code for visitors to Belle Epoque Week; everyone can wear what they want to. However, the special atmosphere during Belle Epoque Week does invite you to dress in authentic attire as you stroll through the village, attend or participate in various sports events or enjoy entertaining performances.

Where can I find period attire?

People often find stylish original clothing in their own attics or cupboards, or those of their grandparents. An authentic Belle Epoque look can be quickly achieved by cleverly combining such clothes and adding some pieces from a costume hire shop if needed. Elegant attire, frock coats and top hats, as well as simple everyday clothing from the era, can be found in nearly all costume hire shops.

Do I need to register for Belle Epoque Week?

A varied and extensive programme of events is offered throughout the week in Kandersteg. In view of the great popularity of Belle Epoque Week and limitations on the number of participants, we strongly recommend that you register for all events. Reservations are required for all evening events in any case. All those who wish to attend the open-air sports events (curling, bobsled races etc.) are welcome to come and do not need a reservation.

Belle Epoque Bar

Stop by the cosy Belle Epoque Bar right opposite the railway station and get in the right mood for the classy afternoon and evening programmes.

Weather & webcam Today: sunny 4/13°

Today sunny 4/13°
Tomorrow sunny 3/13°
Saturday partly cloudy 3/12°
Sunday light showers 4/12°
Kandersteg, Gemeindehaus
(powered by www.kandersteg.ch)

No reviews 0 of 5 stars

Rate
Additional ratings

Location

 PLAN JOURNEY
Similar offers
Knowledge & culture
Schloss Burgdorf in seiner ganzen Pracht
Burgdorf Castle
Discover
Knowledge & culture
Simplon Dorf
The story of Simplon village
Experience
Knowledge & culture
Eine Auswahl an Früchten und Gebäck am wintermarkt im Tropenhaus Frutigen.
Wintermärit 13. November 2021 - 14. November 2021
Besuchen
Knowledge & culture
Eine Dame beim interessanten Rundgang in der Schaukäserei
Tour of the Show Dairy in Affoltern i. E.
Savour
Offers nearby
Special offers
wandern sunnbuel gemmipass 1
Classic walk
Benefit
Hiking & nature
Aussicht aufs Gasterntal bei Kandersteg
Walking trail to Gasterntal
Experience
Hiking & nature
Kandersteg, Rundwanderweg
Kandersteg circular trails
Experience
Hiking & nature
BLS Bahnwanderweg Lötschberger Nordrampe
Lötschberg north ramp
Discover
Newsletter
Download PDF
0 of 0 Media files

Messen & Volksfeste

12. Belle-Epoque-Woche in Kandersteg

Jeweils Ende Januar dreht der Berner Oberländer Ferienort Kandersteg die Uhr zurück und lässt die Zeit der Belle Epoque mit sportlichen, kulturellen und gesellschaftlichen Events wieder aufleben.

Auf der grossen Natureisbahn wird – natürlich stilecht gekleidet – Curling gespielt, mit alten Schlittschuhen zu nostalgischen Klängen getanzt und in den Nostalgie-Bobrennen kommen 100-jährige Schlitten zum Einsatz. Am Nachmittag gibt es ein gepflegtes «Thé Dansant», Musik und Spiel. 

Datum

Belle Époque Woche

23. bis 30. Januar 2022 

 

Änderungen vorbehalten.

Programm

Flanieren Sie durchs Dorf, besuchen Sie die verschiedenen Veranstaltungen, nützen Sie die einmalige Gelegenheit, sich in die wunderschöne Zeit der «Belle Epoque» zurückzuversetzen und geniessen Sie die Tage und Nächte in Kandersteg.

Hinweise

Was bedeutet Belle Époque?

Die Zeit um die Jahrhundertwende zwischen ca. 1885 bis 1914 wird als «Belle Époque», also als «schöne Epoche», bezeichnet. Die ersten Touristen kamen, und viele heute noch beliebte Wintersportarten wie beispielsweise Curling oder Eishockey etablierten sich. Auch die Mode und die Architektur passten sich der guten Stimmung der besonderen Zeit an, die mit dem Ausbruch des ersten Weltkrieges ein jähes Ende fand.

Seit wann gibt es die Belle-Époque-Woche Kandersteg?

Früher war alles besser – dieser Spruch legte den Grundstein für die erste Belle-Époque-Woche Kandersteg im Jahr 2010. Die gute, alte Zeit wurde wieder zum Leben erweckt und Pferdekutschen, traditionelle Speisen sowie das sportliche und gesellschaftliche Leben um 1900 stehen während der letzten Januarwoche in Kandersteg im Mittelpunkt.

Welche Kleider soll ich tragen?

Für Besucher und Gäste der Belle-Époque-Woche gibt es keine Kleidervorschriften, jeder trägt was er möchte. Die besondere Stimmung während der Belle-Époque-Woche lädt Sie ein, auch selbst in historischer Kleidung durch das Dorf zu flanieren oder an sportlichen oder unterhaltsamen Veranstaltungen teilzunehmen.

Wie komme ich zu historischer Kleidung?

Oft finden sich kostbare Originale im eigenen Familienfundus oder im Schrank der Grosseltern. Geschickt kombiniert und nach Bedarf mit Stücken aus dem Kostümverleih ergänzt, ist rasch eine stilechte Belle-Époque-Garnitur zusammengestellt. Elegante Kleider, Gehröcke und Zylinder, aber auch alltagstaugliche und einfache Kleidung ist in nahezu allen Kleiderverleihen erhältlich.

Muss ich mich anmelden?

Ein umfangreiches Programm wird während der ganzen Woche in Kandersteg geboten. Aufgrund der grossen Nachfrage und den beschränkten Teilnehmerzahlen empfehlen wir dringend eine Anmeldung für sämtliche Veranstaltung. Für die Abendanlässe ist die Reservation obligatorisch. Zuschauer der sportlichen Open-Air Veranstaltungen (Open-Air Curling, Bobrennen, etc.) sind herzlich willkommen und müssen sich nicht anmelden.

Belle Epoque Bar

Schauen Sie vorbei an der gemütlichen Belle Epoque Bar gleich gegenüber dem Bahnhof und stimmen Sie sich stilvoll auf das Nachmittags- und Abendprogramm ein.

Wetter & Webcam Heute: vereinzelte Gewitter 13/21°

Heute vereinzelte Gewitter 13/21°
Morgen gewitterhaft 15/21°
Dienstag gewitterhaft 12/19°
Mittwoch wolkig, aber kaum Regen 11/22°
Kandersteg, Gemeindehaus
(powered by meine-berge.ch)

Keine Kommentare 0 von 5 Sternen

Bewerten
Weitere Bewertungen

Standort

Anreise planen
Ähnliche Angebote
Wissen & Kultur
Schloss Burgdorf in seiner ganzen Pracht
Schloss Burgdorf
Entdecken
Wissen & Kultur
Eine Dame beim interessanten Rundgang in der Schaukäserei
Rundgang durch die Emmentaler Schaukäserei
Geniessen
Wissen & Kultur
Majestätisch thront das Schloss hoch über der Stadt Thun
Schloss Thun
besuchen
Kulinarik
Kulinarischer Ausflug Suedrampe: Geniessen Sie Walliser Spezialitäten im Biohof Fischerbiel.
Kulinarischer Ausflug an die Lötschberger Südrampe
geniessen
Angebote in der Nähe
Sparangebote
wandern sunnbuel gemmipass 1
Wanderklassiker Gemmipass Sunnbüel
Profitieren
Wandern & Natur
Aussicht aufs Gasterntal bei Kandersteg
Wanderung ins Gasterntal
Erleben
Wandern & Natur
Der Wanderweg durch die Felswand ist nur etwas für schwindelfreie Personen.
Wandern am Oeschinensee
Erleben
Wandern & Natur
Kandersteg, Rundwanderweg
Kandersteger Rundwanderwege
Erleben
Newsletter
PDF herunterladen
0 aus 0 Mediendateien