Projects & backgrounds

BLS is upgrading the Lötschberg Base Tunnel

The Lötschberg Base Tunnel is the centrepiece of the BLS infrastructure and a central element of the NRLA, the New Rail Link through the Alps. BLS upgrades the Tunnel. This will put in place the prerequisites for a half-hourly Intercity service between Bern and Valais. And freight trains will therefore travel more frequently through the Base Tunnel instead of using the Lötschberg mountain line, thus increasing productivity.

Since the Lötschberg Base Tunnel was first commissioned in 2007, it has been impossible to imagine Swiss transport infrastructure without it. Whether commuters on their way from Valais to Berne, holidaymakers travelling from German-speaking Switzerland to the Valais mountains or business travellers making the journey to northern Italy, the tunnel reduces the journey time for them all. Freight, too, passes through the Lötschberg section of what is termed the "Rhine Alpine Corridor" at all hours of the day and night.

0 of 0 Media files

    7 Kilometer up to the double track extension

    The Lötschberg Base Tunnel is now on the cusp of full capacity. More and more passenger and freight trains are travelling through the approximately 35 kilometre-long tunnel. The main challenge: only around 40% of the line through the base tunnel is twin track. A second 14-kilometre tunnel tube has indeed been cut, but it has not yet been equipped for railway operation. A further seven kilometres are still to be cut through, so that trains can travel continuously through the tunnel on two tracks.

    Partial or full upgrade? The Swiss parliament will decide

    In 2019, the Swiss parliament gave the green light for partially upgrading the Base Tunnel: BLS has the task of upgrading the railway infrastructure within the existing unfinished tunnel bore between Ferden and Mitholz. Major construction work is required in order to connect the new tunnel section to the existing single-track section at Mitholz. For this purpose, the tunnel must be closed for eight months. Owing to this lengthy closure, the Swiss parliament has commissioned the Federal Council to once more review the full upgrade of the tunnel. This is why BLS is also continuing to plan the project for the full upgrade, so that both project versions are available at a comparable level of planning maturity by late-2022.

    At that point, parliament will have the choice: it is scheduled to decide by early 2023 whether it wishes to adhere to the previously approved partial upgrade or whether the tunnel should be fully upgraded. Until this decision is made, BLS will not issue its invitation to tender for the primary construction work on the partial upgrade. Instead, from 2022 onwards the company will conduct certain preparatory tasks required for both versions. The partial-upgrade project is also open to public consultation in the summer of 2020. This means that BLS can speedily implement the partial upgrade if this is the version that parliament ends up choosing. Should parliament instead opt for a full upgrade, BLS will publish a project amendment for public consultation.

    0 of 0 Media files

      Partial extension means

      • In the existing unfinished tunnel bore, a concrete floor will be built, the vault sealed with a special kind of sheeting and then clad with an inner tube of concrete.
      • Fitting the existing basic tunnel tube with railway equipment between Ferden and Mitholz:
        • a slab track will be built in. Instead of traditional ballast, the sleepers will be laid on a fixed concrete bed. In addition, catenary wires are to be installed along the entire length of the new rail tunnel.
        • Other technical equipment, such as ventilation and water systems, high-voltage plants and equipment, rail tunnel portals, radio equipment, lighting and safety equipment will be extended and adapted.
        • Installation of high-speed points in Mitholz, connecting the newly upgraded tunnel tube with the remaining single-track line. This set of points is 160 metres long, so that trains travelling at a speed of 180 kph (112 mph) can run through.
        • Installation of three additional sets of points in Ferden. This will provide the option of shifting maintenance work from one tunnel tube to another.
      • The second, existing, unfinished tunnel tube of the Engtsligen Tunnel between Frutigen and Wengy-Ey will also be fitted out with rail equipment and connected to the existing line.

      Key facts and figures

      Construction period

      • Partial upgrade: 2025 – 2031
      • Full upgrade: 2026 – 2033

      Cost (as of: Cost-benefit analysis 2015, +/- 30%)

      • Partial upgrade: CHF 920 million
      • Full upgrade: CHF 1.34 billion
      • Phased full upgrade: CHF 1.45 billion

      Advantages of an expansion

      Advanteages of a partial upgrade

      • This will make a half-hourly long-distance service between the Cantons of Bern and Valais possible
      • It will reduce production costs associated with freight traffic, because trains will no longer need to take the significantly longer mountain route.This would make rail freight more competitive compared to road haulage and support implementation of the Federal Government's policy of transferring heavy goods traffic from road to rail.
      • The Alpine region continues to present topographical difficulties. Alternative options are important. The Lötschberg and Gotthard routes therefore offer complementary solutions.
      • The mountain line will be relieved of freight traffic. This will benefit both the environmentally-sensitive Alpine region and local tourism.

      Advantages of a full upgrade

      • The full upgrade of the Base Tunnel doesn’t require a complete closure of the tunnel. This avoids a negative economic impact.
      • The direct full upgrade is cheaper than the phased expansion and costs tax-payers less in the long term.
      • The full upgrade will increase timetable reliability and flexibility throughout the entire Swiss rail network.
      • The tunnel can be refurbished without disrupting rail operations.

      Key figures

      • 410,520 This is the number of trains travelling through the Base Tunnel (as of late-2019).
      • A total of 50 passenger trains and up to 80 freight trains use the Base Tunnel every day. It is therefore operating at an average of 80% capacity – higher capacity utilisation of the rail line can scarcely be achieved if seasonal fluctuations are taken into consideration.
      • The base tunnel is 34.6 kilometres long. Of those, however, only 14 kilometres currently consist of double-track lines. Structural work is still being carried out on parts of the western tube, while another section has not yet been tunnelled.
      • In 2018, 31.3 million gross tonnes of freight were transported on the Lötschberg axis (Base Tunnel and mountain line). The market share of the Lötschberg axis in transalpine freight transport through Switzerland was therefore 47.7 per cent.
      0 of 0 Media files

        Brochures

        Public guided tour
        Nothaltestelle Ferden
        Lötschberg Base Tunnel

        Visit this masterpiece of railway engineering

        Visit
        Gruppenführung
        Interventionszentrum Frutigen
        Interventionszentrum Frutigen
        Besuchen
        Public guided tour
        Nothaltestelle Ferden
        Nothaltestelle Ferden
        Visit
        Guided group tour
        Erhaltungszentrum Frutigen
        Maintenance centre in Frutigen
        Visit
        Schweizerisches Bundesarchiv
        Alptransit-Portal

        Entdecken Sie die Neue Eisenbahn-Alpentransversale und ihre Geschichte.

        www
        Newsletter

Projekte

Die BLS baut den Lötschberg-Basistunnel aus

Der Lötschberg-Basistunnel ist das Herzstück der BLS-Infrastruktur und ein zentrales Element der NEAT, der Neuen Eisenbahn-Alpentransversale. Die BLS baut den Tunnel aus und schafft damit die Voraussetzung für den Intercity-Halbstundentakt zwischen Bern und dem Wallis. Und Güterzüge fahren damit öfter durch den Basistunnel statt über die Lötschberg-Bergstrecke – das steigert die Produktivität.

Seit seiner Inbetriebnahme im Jahr 2007 ist der Lötschberg-Basistunnel aus der Schweizer Verkehrslandschaft nicht mehr wegzudenken. Sei es als Pendler vom Wallis in Richtung Bern, als Feriengast auf dem Weg von der Deutschschweiz in die Walliser Berge oder als Geschäftsreisender auf dem Weg nach Norditalien: Der Tunnel verkürzt die Reise. Auch Güter nehmen rund um die Uhr das Teilstück Lötschberg des sogenannten Rhine Alpine Corridor unter die Räder.

0 aus 0 Mediendateien

    7 km bis zum Doppelspurausbau

    Heute ist der Lötschberg-Basistunnel bis an seine Grenze ausgelastet. Immer mehr Personen- und Güterzüge fahren durch den rund 35 Kilometer langen Tunnel. Die Herausforderung: Der Basistunnel ist nur zu rund 40 Prozent zweispurig befahrbar. Auf einer Länge von 14 Kilometern ist eine zweite Röhre zwar ausgebrochen, aber nicht für den Bahnbetrieb ausgerüstet. Weitere sieben Kilometer müssten noch ausgebrochen werden, damit die Züge den Tunnel durchgängig auf zwei Spuren befahren könnten.

    Teil- oder Vollausbau? Das Parlament entscheidet

    2019 hat das Parlament grünes Licht für den teilweisen Ausbau des Basistunnels gegeben: Die BLS hat den Auftrag, die bereits bestehende Rohbauröhre zwischen Ferden und Mitholz bahntechnisch auszubauen. Um die neue Tunnelstrecke bei Mitholz an den bestehenden Einspurabschnitt anzuschliessen, sind umfangreiche Bauarbeiten nötig. Dafür muss der Tunnel acht Monate lang gesperrt werden. Aufgrund dieser langen Sperrung hat das Parlament den Bundesrat beauftragt, den vollständigen Ausbau des Tunnels nochmals zu prüfen. Deshalb arbeitet die BLS parallel zum Teilausbau die Planung für den Vollausbau weiter aus, damit beide Varianten bis Ende 2022 auf einem vergleichbaren Planungsstand vorliegen.

    Das Parlament hat danach die Wahl: Es entscheidet voraussichtlich anfangs 2023, ob es am Teilausbau festhalten will oder ob der Tunnel voll ausgebaut werden soll. Bis zu diesem Entscheid wartet die BLS mit der Ausschreibung der Hauptarbeiten für den Teilausbau ab. Hingegen führt sie ab 2022 bereits gewisse Vorbereitungsarbeiten aus, die für beide Varianten nötig sind. Ebenfalls liegt das Projekt Teilausbau im Sommer 2020 öffentlich auf.

    So kann die BLS den Teilausbau zügig realisieren, falls sich das Parlament dann für diese Variante entscheidet. Sollte sich das Parlament für einen Vollausbau entscheiden, legt die BLS eine Projektänderung auf.

    0 aus 0 Mediendateien

      Teilausbau heisst

      • In der bereits bestehenden Rohbauröhre wird eine Sohle aus Beton eingebaut das Gewölbe mit einer speziellen Folie zuerst abgedichtet und mit einem Innenring aus Beton ausgekleidet.
      • Bahntechnische Ausrüstung der bestehenden Rohbauröhre zwischen Ferden und Mitholz:
        • Eine feste Fahrbahn wird eingebaut. Anstelle des klassischen Schotters werden die Schwellen mit einem festen Oberbau aus Beton verlegt. Zudem werden auf der gesamten Länge des neuen Bahntunnels Fahrleitungen installiert
        • Die weiteren technischen Einrichtungen wie Anlagen für Lüftung und Wasser, Hochspannungsanlagen, Bahntunneltore, Funkanlagen, Beleuchtung und Sicherungsanlagen werden erweitert und angepasst.
        • Einbau einer Hochgeschwindigkeits-Weiche in Mitholz, welche die neu ausgebaute Tunnelröhre mit der verbleibenden Einspurstrecke verbindet. Diese Weiche ist 160 Meter lang, damit die Züge mit einem Tempo von 180 km/h fahren können.
        • Einbau von drei zusätzlichen Weichen in Ferden. Damit wird die Möglichkeit geschaffen, für Unterhaltsarbeiten von einer Tunnelröhre in die andere zu wechseln.
      • Die zweite, bereits bestehende Rohbauröhre des Engstligentunnels zwischen Frutigen und Wengy-Ey wird ebenfalls bahntechnisch ausgerüstet und an die bestehende Strecke angeschlossen 

      Eckdaten

      Bauzeit

      • Teilausbau: 2025–2031
      • Vollausbau: 2026–2033

      Kosten

      • Teilausbau: CHF 920 Mio.
      • Vollausbau: CHF 1,34 Mia.
      • Etappierter Vollausbau: CHF 1,45 Mia.

      Vorteile eines Ausbaus

      Vorteile eines Teilausbaus

      • Er ermöglicht im Fernverkehr den Halbstundentakt zwischen den Kantonen Bern und Wallis.
      • Er senkt die Produktionskosten im Güterverkehr, weil die Züge nicht mehr wie heute über die deutlich längere Bergstrecke verkehren müssen. Damit wird die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Schiene gegenüber der Strasse gestärkt und die Verlagerungsziele des Bundes gefördert.
      • Das Alpengebiet bleibt topographisch schwierig. Ausweichmöglichkeiten sind wichtig. Die Lötschberg- und die Gotthardstrecke ergänzen sich daher gegenseitig.
      • Die Bergstrecke wird vom Güterverkehr entlastet. Davon profitiert der sensible Alpenraum wie auch der regionale Tourismus.

      Vorteile eines Vollausbaus

      • Der Vollausbau des Basistunnels hat keine Totalsperre des Tunnels zur Folge. Damit werden volkswirtschaftliche Kosten vermieden.
      • Der direkte Vollausbau ist günstiger als der etappierte Ausbau und kostet die Steuerzahlenden auf lange Sicht weniger.
      • Der Vollausbau erhöht die Fahrplanstabilität- und Flexibilität im gesamten Schweizer Schienennetz.
      • Der Tunnel kann ohne Betriebsunterbrüche saniert werden.

      Wichtige Zahlen

      • 410'520 Züge befuhren den Basistunnel (Stand Ende 2019).
      • 50 Personenzüge und bis zu 80 Güterzüge befahren den Basistunnel täglich. Damit ist er im Schnitt zu 80 Prozent ausgelastet. - eine höhere Auslastung der Bahnstrecke lässt sich unter Berücksichtigung der saisonalen Schwankungen kaum erreichen.
      • 34.6 Kilometer lang ist der Basistunnel. Davon sind aber bis heute nur 14 Kilometer zweispurig befahrbar. Ein Teil der westlichen Röhre ist noch im Rohbau, ein weiterer noch nicht ausgebrochen.
      • 31,3 Millionen Bruttotonnen Güter wurden 2018 über die Lötschberg-Achse transportiert (Basistunnel und Bergstrecke). Der Marktanteil der Lötschberg-Achse im alpenquerenden Güterverkehr durch die Schweiz lag damit bei 47.7 Prozent.
      0 aus 0 Mediendateien

        Broschüren

        Öffentliche Führung
        Nothaltestelle Ferden
        Lötschberg-Basistunnel

        Ein Meisterwerk der Bahntechnik

        Besuchen
        Gruppenführung
        Interventionszentrum Frutigen
        Interventionszentrum Frutigen
        Besuchen
        Öffentliche Führung
        Nothaltestelle Ferden
        Nothaltestelle Ferden
        Besuchen
        Gruppenführung
        Erhaltungszentrum Frutigen
        Erhaltungszentrum Frutigen
        Besuchen
        Schweizerisches Bundesarchiv
        Alptransit-Portal

        Entdecken Sie die Neue Eisenbahn-Alpentransversale und ihre Geschichte.

        www
        Newsletter