Construction projects

Construction noise and other disruptions

Everyone wants clean, convenient and modern public transport with a frequent timetable and quick connections. The demands placed on transport companies are constantly growing, as people’s mobility behaviour is changing. And that’s a good thing. In order to meet customer expectations, however, we have to continuously renew and expand our route network.

This work is organised in such a way that extremely noisy projects are executed during the daytime where possible. Furthermore, we often conduct several pending construction or maintenance projects at once on the same route and during the same period. This prevents the noise lasting several months, and means that construction machines and manpower can be utilised more efficiently. The construction workers on site are also routinely given awareness training on how to be quieter at night in particular, without their work being limited in its efficacy.

Why does construction work also need to be carried out at night?

Night shifts are sometimes necessary because certain kinds of work (e.g. on the overhead lines or tracks) can only be carried out when no trains are operating. Time as a factor is crucial, however: large construction machines need to be booked months in advance. And these machines can also be rather costly. The longer they stand at the construction site, the more expensive the whole thing becomes. This is why night-time construction work allows costs to be kept down.

BLS informs local residents in good time

Construction work on railway systems in particular is highly complex and requires careful planning. Because public transport is based in the hearts of our towns and villages, construction sites negatively impact our daily lives. Railway bridges are closed, trains are rerouted or replaced with buses, and we are confronted with dust and noise. In order to help residents and passengers prepare themselves better, we inform them in good time via dedicated channels. We send out information to residents, alert local media and authorities, place adverts, and are active on social media. In collaboration with our project partners, we also continue to host information events in the municipalities affected.

 
Newsletter

Travaux et constructions

Nuisances sonores et autres perturbations

Qui dirait non à des transports publics propres, confortables et modernes, aux horaires aussi réguliers que possible et aux liaisons rapides? Le rapport des usagers à la mobilité change, augmentant en permanence leurs exigences vis-à-vis des sociétés de transport. Et nous le comprenons. Toutefois, afin d’être à la hauteur des attentes, nous devons aussi rénover et étendre notre réseau en permanence.

Les travaux sont planifiés de telle sorte que les opérations les plus bruyantes sont réalisées autant que possible pendant la journée. De plus, nous exécutons souvent simultanément différents travaux de construction ou d’entretien sur le même tronçon. Ainsi, les nuisances sonores ne surviennent pas pendant plusieurs mois et les machines de chantier comme le personnel sont mis à contribution plus efficacement. Les ouvriers sont également régulièrement sensibilisés pour travailler plus silencieusement, en particulier la nuit, sans se limiter dans leurs opérations. 

Pourquoi les travaux doivent-ils aussi se poursuivre pendant la nuit?

Les travaux nocturnes sont en partie nécessaires car certaines tâches (par ex. sur les lignes de contact ou sur les voies) ne peuvent s’effectuer que lorsqu’aucun train ne circule. Le facteur temps est aussi primordial: les gros engins de chantier doivent être réservés des mois à l’avance, en plus d’être parfois coûteux. Plus ils restent sur un chantier, plus la facture est élevée. Le travail de nuit permet donc de maîtriser les coûts.  

BLS informe les riverains à l’avance

Les travaux, surtout dans le domaine ferroviaire, sont très complexes et sont tributaires d’une bonne planification. Les transports publics se trouvent en plein milieu de nos villes et villages, donc les travaux perturbent notre quotidien. Les passages à niveau sont abaissés, les trains sont déviés ou bien les bus sont remplacés et nous sommes confrontés au bruit et à la poussière. Pour que riverains et voyageurs puissent mieux se préparer, nous les informons à l’avance à l’aide des canaux appropriés: nous envoyons des informations par courrier, informons les autorités et médias locaux, publions des annonces et sommes présents sur les réseaux sociaux. Enfin, comme toujours, nous organisons des séances d’informations avec nos chefs de projet dans les communes concernées.

 
Newsletter