Corporate responsibility

Environment

Another of our sustainability principles is as follows: “We utilise natural resources responsibly and work to reduce the negative impact our business activities have on the environment and society.”

This principle forms the basis for several other goals for 2020. For example, we plan to maintain or increase the already high share of renewable energy sources used to generate the electricity we need for our operations. It is also important to us that we reduce our energy consumption in general and limit the amount of noise, vibrations and pollution caused by our operations.

New habitats

A railway tunnel is creating new wildlife habitats

BLS construction projects are supervised by environmental specialists. It is important that such projects are also carried out with due consideration of the nature in the immediate environment. For example, during the construction of the new Rosshäusern Tunnel, BLS rewilded a brook in the immediate vicinity. In addition, the old tunnel has been preserved as a wildlife habitat. This is a holistic approach that balances the needs of wildlife, residents and BLS itself.

0 of 0 Media files

    Resources and use of materials

    BLS utilises a variety of resources, the majority of which are the construction materials needed for our railway infrastructure. Such materials include ballast, tracks and sleepers, the lubricants and chemicals used in our workshops and the de-icing salt that we spread on our platforms.

    Global resource scarcity presents a challenge to us as well. With regard to the value chain as a whole, we therefore plan to achieve major progress over the next few years with the systematic management and reduction of the materials we employ. We will also extend the service life of our production materials and increase the use of recyclables and recycled materials.

    Waste and recycling

    Our customers only feel comfortable if they are able to travel in clean trains, buses and boats and enjoy well-maintained railway stations, stops and wharfs. For this reason, more than 100 BLS employees remove more than 1,000 tonnes of paper, PET bottles, aluminium and other waste from trains, buses, boats and public facilities each year, and also clean all vehicles and public facilities.

    However, the largest amount of waste by far – 35,000 tonnes per year – is produced through construction activities, railway infrastructure maintenance and vehicle maintenance. Our Group-wide Waste Disposal Manual lays out a professional approach to the collecting and storing of materials such as ballast, sleepers, hazardous waste and metals. Material recycling activities are carried out for us by external, certified, expert and environmentally friendly service providers.

    A more sustainable approach here is to avoid waste altogether, among other ways by creating closed-loop material cycles. BLS is pursuing such an approach within the framework of its optimised materials strategy – starting with the procurement of products. For example, the new rail vehicles purchased by BLS not only have to be safe, reliable, energy efficient and low in emissions; they also have to be long-lasting and, above all, made of materials that can later be converted into secondary raw materials.

    Energy efficiency and climate protection

    Our mobility requirements in Switzerland account for more than one-third of the country's final energy consumption. With 55 million passengers per year, as well as 1.25 million vehicles transported on the Lötschberg line and a huge amount of freight transport, BLS is an important player in the Swiss transport system. However, BLS also makes a key contribution to climate protection, as hydropower accounts for more than 95 per cent of the electricity used to drive our trains.

    Increasing energy efficiency is a major priority at BLS. The focus here is on the identification and assessment of energy-saving measures for technical systems and general operations. For example, BLS exploits energy-saving potential by improving the heating, air conditioning and lighting systems in existing trains, setting high energy efficiency standards for new trains and making engine drivers more aware of the importance of using energy responsibly. BLS is also currently developing an energy management system in order to more precisely regulate energy consumption in various areas. In addition, the company is implementing energy-saving measures for technical facilities and buildings.

    Noise reduction

    It is important to BLS to take proactive measures that reduce noise emissions from trains and shunting, train-parking and construction activities. In line with this policy, BLS completed noise reduction measures on its fleet at the end of 2015: Here, all BLS passenger and freight carriages were equipped with quieter brakes made of composites, and noise barriers have been installed on nearly all rail lines.

    Most of this type of work is done at night in order to keep disruptions to services at a minimum. This, however, can also lead to disturbing construction noises. BLS always makes sure it informs local residents of such activities in advance and we also develop solutions with partners and suppliers in situations where very loud work needs to be performed.

    People tend to hear more noise these days due to the increase in the number of trains that now travel on the rail network, or which have to be shunted and parked, as well as the greater number of urban residential housing units now located near tracks. In addition, modern passenger trains equipped with complex technical systems and equipment make a lot more noise when parked than older trains do. BLS is looking to implement innovative solutions here – for example completely shutting down sub-systems (“sleep mode”).

    Land use

    The extensive rail network in Switzerland means that rail operators use a lot of land and also cut through landscapes and animal and plant habitats. At the same time, the embankments, hedges and woods along tracks offer a valuable ecological habitat for flora and fauna. Rare plants and small animals have in fact found new homes as a result of extensive upkeep measures, the promotion of ecological niches and the restoration of migration routes by BLS along its more than 490-kilometre rail network.

    A special register contains the names of all locations where underlying soil has been damaged or contaminated by workshops or filling stations. These locations pose no risk to the people who live in the vicinity, or to groundwater, which is why no clean-up work is necessary.

    0 of 0 Media files
      Corporate responsibility
      Verantwortung - Gesellschaft
      Society
      More
      Who we are
      Sponsoring SCB
      Partnerships and sponsorship
      More
      Our topics
      Barrier-free travel

      Easy boarding, barrier-free access to information, travelling safely – everyone benefits from unobstructed mobility. By the end of 2023, our passengers will be able to enjoy barrier-free access to all stations and trains throughout the entire BLS network. In this manner, BLS will meet the requirements of the Swiss Disability Discrimination Act in all of its trains and at all of its 119 stations and stops.

      More
      myclimate
      MyClimate
      Travel responsibly
      more
      Newsletter

Verantwortung

Umwelt

Einer unserer Nachhaltigkeitsleitsätze lautet: «Wir gehen verantwortungsvoll mit den natürlichen Ressourcen um und verringern negative Auswirkungen unserer Geschäftstätigkeit auf Umwelt und Gesellschaft.»

Daraus haben wir Ziele für das Jahr 2020 abgeleitet – beim Stromverbrauch gehört zum Beispiel das Halten oder Steigern eines schon heute hohen Anteils erneuerbarer Energien dazu. Das Verringern unseres Energieverbrauchs und das Vermeiden oder Begrenzen von Lärm, Erschütterungen und von Schadstoffeinträgen in die Umwelt sind uns ebenso wichtig.

Neue Lebensräume

Ein Bahntunnel schafft neue Lebensräume für Tiere

Bauprojekte werden bei der BLS von Umweltspezialisten begleitet. Wichtig ist dabei, stets auch die Natur im direkten Umfeld eines Projektes im Blick zu haben. So hat die BLS beispielsweise beim Bau des neuen Rosshäusern-Tunnels einen Bach in unmittelbarer Nähe renaturiert. Der alte Tunnel bleibt zudem als Lebensraum für Tiere erhalten. Ein ganzheitlicher Ansatz, der die Bedürfnisse von Tieren, Anwohnern und der BLS in Einklang bringt.

Ressourcen und Materialeinsatz

Die BLS setzt vielfältige Ressourcen ein. Den grössten Anteil machen dabei die Baumaterialien für die Eisenbahninfrastruktur aus: Hierzu gehören Schotter, Schienen und Schwellen für den Gleisbau, Schmierstoffe und Chemikalien in den Werkstätten oder Streusalz auf unseren Bahnsteigen.

Die weltweite Verknappung der Ressourcen stellt auch für uns eine Herausforderung dar. Mit Blick auf die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette stellen wir uns daher der Verantwortung: Wir wollen bei der systematischen Steuerung und Reduzierung des Materialverbrauchs in den nächsten Jahren grosse Fortschritte erreichen, die Lebensdauer unserer Produktionsmittel verlängern und den Einsatz von Recyclingmaterialien erhöhen.

Abfall und Recycling

Nur in sauberen Zügen, Bussen und Schiffen sowie an gepflegten Bahnhöfen, Haltestellen und Schiffländten fühlen sich unsere Kunden wohl. Darum sammeln über 100 Mitarbeitende jährlich über 1000 Tonnen Papier, PET, Alu und andere Abfälle aus Fahrzeugen, Schiffen und Publikumsanlagen und reinigen diese.

Die weitaus grössere Entsorgungsmenge – 35‘000 Tonnen pro Jahr – entsteht jedoch beim Bau und bei der Instandhaltung der Bahninfrastruktur sowie beim Unterhalt der Fahrzeuge. Unser konzernweit gültiges Entsorgungshandbuch regelt ein professionelles Vorgehen beim Sammeln und Lagern, zum Beispiel von Schotter, Schwellen, Sonderabfällen und Metallen. Das Recycling von Werkstoffen übernehmen externe, kompetente, zertifiziert umweltfreundliche Dienstleister für uns.

Nachhaltiger ist das Vermeiden von Abfällen und das Schliessen von Stoffkreisläufen. Ein Ansatz, den die BLS im Rahmen ihrer optimierten Wertstoffstrategie verfolgt, setzt schon beim Einkauf der Produkte an. So sollen neue Schienenfahrzeuge nicht nur sicher, zuverlässig, energieeffizient und emissionsarm sein, sondern auch langlebig. Und vor allem: Sie sollen aus Materialien bestehen, die später in Sekundärrohstoffe umgewandelt werden können.

Energieeffizienz und Klimaschutz

Für unser Bedürfnis nach Mobilität verwenden wir in der Schweiz gut ein Drittel des gesamten Endenergieverbrauchs. Mit jährlich 55 Millionen Fahrgästen, 1,25 Millionen verladenen Autos am Lötschberg und einer grossen Menge transportierter Güter, ist die BLS ein wichtiger Akteur im Schweizer Transportsystem. Mit einem Wasserkraft-Anteil von über 95 Prozent im Bahnstrommix leistet die BLS einen wichtigen Beitrag zum Klimaschutz.

Das Erhöhen der Energieeffizienz ist ein Kernanliegen der BLS. Das Aufspüren und die Bewertung von Energiesparmassnahmen in den Bereichen Technik, Verhalten und Angebot stehen dabei im Vordergrund. Die BLS schöpft zum Beispiel Sparpotentiale aus, indem sie bei bestehenden Zügen die Heizung, Kühlung und Beleuchtung verbessert, bei neuen Flotten hohe Energieeffizienz-Standards setzt oder die Lokführer für einen verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit Energie sensibilisiert. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt liegt derzeit im Aufbau eines eigenen Energiemanagements zur genaueren Steuerung der diversen Energieverbräuche sowie der Umsetzung von Energiesparmassnahmen bei technischen Anlagen und Gebäuden.

Lärmreduktion

Der BLS ist es ein Anliegen, aktiv an Verbesserungen für den Lärmschutz zu arbeiten – sei es im Bereich Bahn- und Rangierbetrieb, Baulärm oder Lärm durch abgestellte Züge. So konnte die Lärmsanierung der Flotte Ende 2015 abgeschlossen werden: Alle BLS-Personenwagen und Güterwagons wurden mit leiseren Bremsen aus Verbundstoffen ausgestattet und das Errichten von Schallschutzwänden an den Bahnlinien ist weitgehend abgeschlossen.

Um den Verkehr möglichst gering zu beeinträchtigen, erfolgt der Unterhalt der Bahnanlagen meistens nachts. Hierbei kann störender Baulärm entstehen. Die BLS bemüht sich immer, die Anwohner im Voraus zu informieren und für besonders störende Vorgänge gemeinsam mit beauftragten Drittfirmen Lösungen zu finden.

Die zunehmende Anzahl Züge, die auf dem Schienennetz verkehren und parkiert werden sowie innerstädtisches Wohnungswachstum in Gleisnähe führt zu mehr wahrgenommenem Lärm. Kommt dazu, dass moderne Reisezüge mit ihren technischen und komplexen Aggregaten im abgestellten Zustand deutlich mehr Lärm verursachen als ältere Zugtypen. Die BLS sucht hier nach innovativen Lösungen, zum Beispiel das komplette Ausschalten von Teilsystemen («Schlummermodus»).

Boden- und Landnutzung

Wegen des dichten Schienennetzes ist die Bahn ein grosser Flächenverbraucher, denn sie zerschneidet Landschaften und Lebensräume von Tieren und Pflanzen. Die Bahn bietet dank den Böschungen, Hecken und Wäldern entlang der Geleise allerdings auch einen wertvollen ökologischen Lebensraum für Flora und Fauna. Die ausgedehnte Pflege, die Förderung von ökologischen Nischen und das Wiedererrichten von Wanderkorridoren haben entlang des gut 490 Kilometer langen BLS-Schienennetzes zu neuen Lebensräumen für seltene Pflanzen und Kleintiere geführt.

In einem Register wurden sämtliche Standorte erfasst, deren Untergründe durch Werkstätten oder Tankstellen verunreinigt wurden. Sie bergen kein Risiko für die dort lebenden Menschen oder das Grundwasser und dadurch ist keine Sanierung nötig.

Verantwortung
Verantwortung - Gesellschaft
Gesellschaft
Mehr
Wer wir sind
Sponsoring SCB
Partnerschaften und Sponsoring
Mehr
Unsere Themen
Barrierefrei reisen

Bequem einsteigen, barrierefrei Informationen abrufen, sicher reisen: Von einer Mobilität ohne Hindernisse profitieren alle. Bis Ende 2023 können unsere Fahrgäste auf dem BLS-Streckennetz und in unseren Zügen fast ausnahmslos hindernisfrei reisen. Die BLS erfüllt damit die Vorgaben des Behindertengleichstellungsgesetzes.

Mehr
MyClimate
MyClimate
Reisen mit Verantwortung
mehr
Newsletter
PDF herunterladen
0 aus 0 Mediendateien