Construction projects

Modernisation of Zweisimmen Railway Station

A world first in the Oberland: people travelling from Montreux to Interlaken will soon no longer have to change trains in Zweisimmen but can instead remain comfortably seated in their carriages. BLS is making this possible by installing an innovative piece of equipment for the GoldenPass Express at the Zweisimmen Railway Station that will allow GoldenPass Express trains to switch from a narrow gauge to a standard gauge track.

Zweisimmen Railway Station has grown old. Its security facilities no longer meet the modern technological standard; its platforms are old and not disabled-friendly; and the entire rail system at the station is outdated and in need of restoration. This is why the railway station has been undergoing modernisation work since 2015, costing around CHF 58 million.

Two different track systems are in use at Zweisimmen. One is the BLS standard-gauge tracks, the other is the MOB’s narrow-gauge tracks. As part of the modernisation work, the two systems are being connected by means of a technically innovative feature, so that passengers can in future remain on board at Zweisimmen.

Key data for the modernisation

  • Construction start: August 2015
  • Work due for completion: end of 2018
  • Costs: the total costs for the comprehensive modernisation of Zweisimmen Railway Station amount to CHF 58 million.

What will the project achieve?

The main features of the modernisation

  • Construction of a new electronic signal tower for automatic train guidance. This allows BLS to make its railway operations more efficient.
  • Adjustment of the platform height and length. Zweisimmen Railway Station must meet the requirements of the Swiss Disability Discrimination Act (DDA), which enshrines in law the discrimination-free access to public transport. Railway operators must adapt their railway infrastructure and trains by the end of 2023.
  • Adjustment of the “Untere Tüllistrasse” railway bridge and remodelling of the station area
  • Modernisation and widening of the bridges over the Kleine Simme stream
  • Track construction: the entire track system is being simplified. In addition, an innovative gauge conversion system is being created so that narrow-gauge and normal-gauge tracks can be combined. This will make it possible to travel to Interlaken from Montreux without having to change over.
0 of 0 Media files
    Information
    Goldenpass Express

    Chemin de fer Montreux Oberland Bernois

    more
    Construction projects
    Construction noise and other disruptions

    Where there’s construction work, there’s noise

    More
    Projects and background
    Barrier-free travel
    More
    Newsletter

Travaux et constructions

Modernisation de la gare de Zweisimmen

Une nouveauté mondiale dans l’Oberland: bientôt, les voyageurs entre Montreux et Interlaken pourront dire au revoir à la correspondance à Zweisimmen et rester tranquillement assis dans le train. En effet, BLS installe un dispositif innovant pour le Goldenpass-Express à la gare de Zweisimmen afin de permettre aux trains de passer de l’écartement de voie étroite à normale.

La gare de Zweisimmen accuse le poids des années. Les installations de sécurité ne correspondent plus à l’état actuel de la technique, les quais sont vieux et inaccessibles aux personnes handicapées et même les voies tout autour de la gare sont vétustes et insalubres. Pour ces raisons, la gare est en phase de modernisation depuis 2015, pour un coût d’environ CHF 58 millions. 

Deux systèmes ferroviaires cohabitent à Zweisimmen. D’un côté, les voies normales de BLS, de l’autre, les voies étroites de MOB. Dans le cadre de la modernisation, les deux systèmes sont reliés à l’aide d’un dispositif techniquement novateur qui permettra aux voyageurs de rester dans leur train à Zweisimmen. 

Chiffres-clés de la modernisation

  • Début des travaux: août 2015
  • Fin des travaux: fin 2018
  • Coûts: le coût total pour la rénovation complète de la gare de Zweisimmen s’élève à
    CHF 58 millions.

Qu’apportera le projet?

Les principaux éléments de modernisation

  • Construction d’un poste d’enclenchement électronique pour la gestion automatique de la circulation des trains pour que BLS gère plus efficacement le service ferroviaire.
  • Adaptation de la hauteur et de la longueur des quais. La gare de Zweisimmen doit satisfaire aux exigences de la loi sur l’égalité pour les handicapés (LHand), qui prescrit un accès non discriminatoire aux transports publics. Les gares doivent ainsi adapter leurs infrastructures et leurs trains avant fin 2023.
  • Adaptation du passage à niveau «Untere Tüllistrasse» et réaménagement des alentours de la gare.
  • Rénovation et élargissement des ponts sur la Petite Simme.
  • Travaux de construction des voies, prévoyant la simplification de l’ensemble des voies. De plus, il s’agira de créer un dispositif de changement d’écartement pour relier les voies étroites et les voies normales. Il sera ainsi possible de voyager entre Montreux et Interlaken sans changer de train.
0 de 0 Fichiers de médias
    Informations
    Goldenpass-Express

    Chemin de fer Montreux Oberland Bernois

    plus
    Travaux et constructions
    Nuisances sonores et autres perturbations

    Pas de travaux sans nuisances sonores

    Plus
    Projets & informations
    Voyager sans obstacles
    Plus
    Newsletter