Construction projects

Upgrading of Lötschberg Base Tunnel

BLS upgrades the Lötschberg Base Tunnel. This will put in place the prerequisites for a half-hourly Intercity service between Bern and Valais. And freight trains will therefore travel more frequently through the Base Tunnel instead of using the Lötschberg mountain line, thus increasing productivity.

7 Kilomter up to the double track extension

The Lötschberg Base Tunnel is now on the cusp of full capacity. More and more passenger and freight trains are travelling through the approximately 35 kilometre-long tunnel. The main challenge: only around 40% of the line through the base tunnel is twin track. A second 14-kilometre tunnel tube has indeed been cut, but it has not yet been equipped for railway operation. A further seven kilometres are still to be cut through, so that trains can travel continuously through the tunnel on two tracks.

In the summer of 2019, the Swiss parliament gave the green light for upgrading the Lötschberg Base Tunnel. As a result, BLS can extend the unfinished tunnel tube which already exists between Ferden and Mitholz. Planning of the partial extension of the Lötschberg Base Tunnel is already well advanced. Public disclosure is scheduled for 2020, so that, in an ideal world, construction work can start in 2022. This means the earliest it can be put into service would be from the end of 2028.

0 of 0 Media files

    Partial extension means:

    • In the existing unfinished tunnel, the floor will be concreted, the vault firstly sealed with a special kind of sheeting and then clad with an inner tube of concrete. A concrete floor will also be built in.
    • Fitting the existing basic tunnel tube with railway equipment between Ferden and Mitholz:
      • a slab track will be built in. Instead of traditional ballast, the sleepers will be laid on a fixed concrete bed. In addition, catenary wires are to be installed along the entire length of the new rail tunnel.
      • Other technical equipment, such as ventilation and water systems, high-voltage plants and equipment, rail tunnel portals, radio equipment, lighting and safety equipment will be extended and adapted.
    • Installation of high-speed points in Mitholz, connecting the newly upgraded tunnel tube with the remaining single-track line. This set of points is 160 metres long, so that trains travelling at a speed of 180 kph (112 mph) can run through.
    • Installation of three additional sets of points in Ferden.This will provide the option of shifting maintenance work from one tunnel tube to another.
    • The second, existing, unfinished tunnel tube of the Engtsligen Tunnel between Frutigen and Wengy-Ey will also be fitted out with rail equipment and connected to the existing line.

    Eckdaten

    • CHF 920 million Cost
    0 of 0 Media files
      Projects & backgrounds
      Lötschberg Base Tunnel: a new Alpine rail link to connect Europe

      The Lötschberg Base Tunnel is the centrepiece of the BLS infrastructure. It is one of the safest, most modern and most technically complex rail tunnels in the world.

      CONNECT
      Construction projects
      New track in the Lötschberg Summit Tunnel

      Investing in the future: The tracks in the Lötschberg Summit Tunnel were last replaced in the 1970s. BLS is now investing in a modern and sustainable track so that our customers can continue to travel safely and conveniently through the tunnel between Goppenstein and Kandersteg.

      More
      Newsletter

Travaux et constructions

Aménagement du tunnel de base du Lötschberg

BLS aménage le tunnel de base du Lötschberg. Les travaux permettront d’introduire ensuite la cadence semi-horaire pour l’Intercity entre Berne et le Valais. En outre, les trains de marchandises circuleront davantage par le tunnel de base plutôt que par la ligne de faîte du Lötschberg, ce qui améliorera la productivité.

7 Kilomètres jusqu'à l'extension à double voie

Le tunnel de base du Lötschberg a aujourd’hui atteint la limite de ses capacités. De plus en plus de trains de voyageurs et de marchandises empruntent ce tunnel de 35 kilomètres de long, mais seulement 40% environ du tunnel de base est à double voie. Un deuxième tube a bien été percé sur une longueur de 14 kilomètres, mais il n’est pas équipé pour l’exploitation ferroviaire. Il faudrait également percer sept kilomètres de plus pour que les trains puissent circuler sur deux voies dans l’ensemble du tunnel.

Au cours de l’été 2019, l’Assemblée fédérale a donné le feu vert pour l’aménagement du tunnel de base du Lötschberg. BLS peut ainsi aménager le tube existant déjà à l’état de gros œuvre entre Ferden et Mitholz. La planification de l’aménagement partiel du tunnel de base du Lötschberg est déjà bien avancée. La mise à l’enquête publique est prévue pour 2020 afin que les travaux puissent, dans l’idéal, débuter en 2022. La mise en service pourrait ainsi être possible dès fin 2028.

0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

    L’aménagement partiel comprend les travaux suivants:

    • Dans le tube à l’état de gros œuvre, le sol du tunnel sera bétonné et la voûte, après avoir été couverte d’une feuille spéciale d’étanchéité, sera pourvue d’un anneau intérieur en béton. Une semelle en béton sera également installée.
    • Équipement du tube existant entre Ferden et Mitholz pour l’exploitation ferroviaire
      • Une première voie sur dalle sera construite. À la place du ballast traditionnel, les traverses seront munies d’une superstructure fixe en béton. Des lignes de contact seront en outre installées sur toute la longueur du nouveau tunnel
      • Les autres équipements techniques tels que les installations pour l’eau et l’aération, les installations à haute tension, les portails du tunnel ferroviaire, les installations radio, l’éclairage et les installations de sécurité seront agrandis et adaptés.
    • Installation d’une aiguille à grande vitesse à Mitholz, qui reliera le tube nouvellement aménagé du tunnel au tronçon à simple voie restant: elle aura une longueur de 160 mètres afin de permettre aux trains de circuler à une vitesse de 180 km/h
    • Installation de trois aiguilles supplémentaires à Ferden. Cet aménagement permettra de passer d’un tube à l’autre du tunnel pour les travaux de maintenance.
    • Le deuxième tube à l’état brut du tunnel d’Engstligen entre Frutigen et Wengy-Ey sera également pourvu d’installations de technique ferroviaire et relié au tronçon existant.

    Eckdaten

    • CHF 920 millions Coûts
    0 de 0 Fichiers de médias
      Projets et informations
      Tunnel de base du Lötschberg: la NLFA relie l’Europe

      Pièce maîtresse de l’infrastructure de BLS, le tunnel de base du Lötschberg est l’un des tunnels ferroviaires les plus modernes, sûrs et sophistiqués au monde.

      Plus
      Travaux et constructions
      Nouvelle voie ferrée dans le tunnel de faîte du Lötschberg

      Investir dans l’avenir: les voies dans le tunnel de faîte du Lötschberg ont été remplacées pour la dernière fois dans les années 1970. BLS investit maintenant dans une voie ferrée moderne et durable afin que nos clients puissent se déplacer facilement et en toute sécurité entre Goppenstein et Kandersteg via le tunnel.

      Plus
      Newsletter