Press release 07.03.2019

BLS Cargo acquires Crossrail

On 5th March 2019, BLS Cargo signed an agreement, giving the company a 100% shareholding in Belgian rail freight operator Crossrail. The acquisition strengthens BLS Cargo’s position on the North-South freight corridor and access to the Belgian ports.

Crossrail was previously owned by international logistics service provider Rhenus and operates in both Belgium and Germany as a railway undertaking. On 5th March 2019, Rhenus and BLS Cargo reached an agreement allowing BLS Cargo to acquire Crossrail’s entire shareholding, backdated with effect from 01.01.2019. The takeover is subject to approval by the relevant competition authorities. The parties have agreed not to disclose the purchase price.

BLS Cargo generates around one third of its turnover with traffic flows starting or terminating in Belgium. BLS Cargo has already been working closely with Crossrail for two years, primarily for services running east of the Rhine through Germany, with Crossrail providing traction in Germany and Belgium on behalf of BLS Cargo.

BLS Cargo and Crossrail have similar lean company structures and both focus on traffic carried on the Belgium-Germany-Switzerland-Italy freight corridor. Crossrail currently employs around 180 staff and has a turnover of 70 mill. Euros. «As a freight corridor service provider, Crossrail is very similar to BLS Cargo, in addition to which we are a perfect match geographically» notes BLS Cargo CEO Dirk Stahl. The takeover enables BLS Cargo to secure long-term access to transport services in Belgium and Germany. «It means that we can further improve our position on the north-south corridor whilst safeguarding and expanding the important link to Belgium and the ports of Antwerp and Zeebrugge», states BLS Cargo CEO Dirk Stahl.

0 of 0 Media files
    Information
    Contact for media representatives

    BLS Ltd, media office
    telephone +41 58 327 29 55
    fax +41 58 327 29 10
    media@bls.ch

    (Monday to Friday during office hours)

    BLS Cargo
    BLS Cargo Alpinist
    «The Alpinists»
    www
    Automatically up to date
    Receive our press releases via RSS feed
    Subscribe
    Newsletter

Communiqué aux médias 07.03.2019

Reprise de Crossrail par BLS Cargo

Le 5 mars 2019, BLS Cargo a conclu un accord pour la reprise de l’intégralité des actions de l’opérateur de fret ferroviaire belge Crossrail. L’opération permet à BLS Cargo de se renforcer sur le corridor de fret nord-sud et d’obtenir l’accès aux ports belges.

Crossrail appartenait jusqu’à présent au groupe logistique international Rhenus. L’entreprise de transport ferroviaire opère en Belgique et en Allemagne. Le 5 mars 2019, Rhenus et BLS Cargo ont conclu un accord pour le rachat de 100% des parts de Crossrail par BLS Cargo avec effet rétroactif au 1er janvier 2019. La reprise s’effectue sous réserve de l’approbation des autorités de la concurrence compétentes. Les parties sont convenues de ne pas communiquer le prix d’achat.

Le trafic depuis ou à destination de la Belgique représente environ un tiers du chiffre d’affaires de BLS Cargo. BLS Cargo travaille en étroite collaboration avec Crossrail depuis deux ans déjà, notamment pour les trains qui traversent l'Allemagne par la rive orientale du Rhin. Crossrail assure ainsi les liaisons en Allemagne et en Belgique pour le compte de BLS Cargo.

BLS Cargo et Crossrail possèdent le même type de structures simples, et se concentrent ensemble sur le corridor de fret Belgique-Allemagne-Suisse-Italie. Crossrail réalise actuellement un chiffre d’affaires d’environ 70 millions d’euros et emploie 180 collaborateurs et collaboratrices. «Crossrail propose des services par corridor similaires aux nôtres. De plus, nous nous complétons à merveille au niveau géographique», se félicite Dirk Stahl, PDG de BLS Cargo. Avec cette reprise, BLS Cargo s’assure un accès à long terme aux services de transport en Belgique et en Allemagne. «Grâce à ce rachat, nous sommes à même d’optimiser notre position sur le corridor nord-sud. En outre, nous garantissons et développons la connexion vers la Belgique ainsi qu’aux ports d’Anvers et de Zeebruges», ajoute Dirk Stahl.

0 de 0 Fichiers de médias
    Information
    Contact pour les représentants des médias

    BLS AG, Service des médias
    Téléphone +41 58 327 29 55
    Fax +41 58 327 29 10
    media@bls.ch

    (lundi à vendredi, pendant les heures de bureau)

    BLS Cargo
    BLS Cargo Alpinist
    «Les alpinistes»
    www
    Restez automatiquement au courant
    Recevez nos communiqués de presse au moyen du RSS feed
    S’abonner
    Newsletter