Press release 07.03.2019

BLS Cargo acquires Crossrail

On 5th March 2019, BLS Cargo signed an agreement, giving the company a 100% shareholding in Belgian rail freight operator Crossrail. The acquisition strengthens BLS Cargo’s position on the North-South freight corridor and access to the Belgian ports.

Crossrail was previously owned by international logistics service provider Rhenus and operates in both Belgium and Germany as a railway undertaking. On 5th March 2019, Rhenus and BLS Cargo reached an agreement allowing BLS Cargo to acquire Crossrail’s entire shareholding, backdated with effect from 01.01.2019. The takeover is subject to approval by the relevant competition authorities. The parties have agreed not to disclose the purchase price.

BLS Cargo generates around one third of its turnover with traffic flows starting or terminating in Belgium. BLS Cargo has already been working closely with Crossrail for two years, primarily for services running east of the Rhine through Germany, with Crossrail providing traction in Germany and Belgium on behalf of BLS Cargo.

BLS Cargo and Crossrail have similar lean company structures and both focus on traffic carried on the Belgium-Germany-Switzerland-Italy freight corridor. Crossrail currently employs around 180 staff and has a turnover of 70 mill. Euros. «As a freight corridor service provider, Crossrail is very similar to BLS Cargo, in addition to which we are a perfect match geographically» notes BLS Cargo CEO Dirk Stahl. The takeover enables BLS Cargo to secure long-term access to transport services in Belgium and Germany. «It means that we can further improve our position on the north-south corridor whilst safeguarding and expanding the important link to Belgium and the ports of Antwerp and Zeebrugge», states BLS Cargo CEO Dirk Stahl.

0 of 0 Media files
    Information
    Contact for media representatives

    BLS Ltd, media office
    telephone +41 58 327 29 55
    fax +41 58 327 29 10
    media@bls.ch

    (Monday to Friday during office hours)

    BLS Cargo
    BLS Cargo Alpinist
    «The Alpinists»
    www
    Automatically up to date
    Receive our press releases via RSS feed
    Subscribe
    Newsletter

Medienmitteilung 07.03.2019

BLS Cargo übernimmt Crossrail

BLS Cargo hat am 5. März 2019 eine Vereinbarung zur Übernahme sämtlicher Aktienanteile der belgischen Güterbahn Crossrail unterzeichnet. Mit der Übernahme stärkt BLS Cargo ihre Position auf dem Nord-Süd-Güterverkehrskorridor und den Zugang zu den belgischen Häfen.

Crossrail gehörte bisher dem internationalen Logistikdienstleister Rhenus und ist in Belgien und Deutschland als Eisenbahnverkehrsunternehmen tätig. Rhenus und BLS Cargo haben am 5. März 2019 die Übernahme von 100% der Anteile von Crossrail durch BLS Cargo rückwirkend auf den 1.1.2019 vereinbart. Die Übernahme steht unter dem Vorbehalt der Zustimmung der zuständigen Wettbewerbsbehörden. Über den Kaufpreis wurde Stillschweigen vereinbart.

BLS Cargo erwirtschaftet rund einen Drittel ihres Umsatzes mit Verkehren, die in Belgien starten oder enden. Vor allem für die Züge, die auf der rechten Rheinstrecke via Deutschland verkehren, arbeitet BLS Cargo bereits seit zwei Jahren eng mit Crossrail zusammen. Dabei fährt Crossrail im Auftrag von BLS Cargo in Deutschland und Belgien.

BLS Cargo und Crossrail haben vergleichbare schlanke Strukturen und konzentrieren sich gemeinsam auf den Güterkorridor Belgien – Deutschland – Schweiz – Italien. Crossrail verantwortet heute mit rund 180 Mitarbeitern 70 Millionen Euro Umsatz. «Crossrail ist uns als Korridoranbieter sehr ähnlich und wir ergänzen uns zudem geografisch perfekt», so Dirk Stahl, CEO von BLS Cargo. Durch die Übernahme sichert sich BLS Cargo nachhaltig den Zugang zu Transportleistungen in Belgien und Deutschland. «Mit der Übernahme können wir uns noch besser auf dem Nord-Süd-Korridor positionieren und den wichtigen Anschluss nach Belgien und an die Häfen Antwerpen und Zeebrügge sichern und ausbauen», kommentiert Dirk Stahl.

0 aus 0 Mediendateien
    Information
    Kontakt für Medienschaffende

    BLS AG, Medienstelle
    Telefon +41 58 327 29 55
    Fax +41 58 327 29 10
    media@bls.ch

    (von Montag bis Freitag, 08.00–17.00 Uhr)

    BLS Cargo
    BLS Cargo Alpinist
    «Die Alpinisten»
    www
    Automatisch auf dem Laufenden
    Erhalten Sie unsere Medienmitteilungen mittels RSS-Feed
    Abonnieren
    Newsletter