Bijouland

The Lake Murten region

Murten, Avenches, Seeland district

The medieval town of Murten and the Roman town of Avenches are a gateway to a bygone age. On the shores of Lake Murten or during an adventure in the Three lakes region or the wine-growing region of Mont Vully, you are bound to get that holiday feeling. The Lake Murten region enchants with its Mediterranean charm. A stay in the Lake Murten region is like travelling through time. The romantic town of Murtin, with its cosy arcades, beautifully preserved houses and accessible encircling town wall, enchants every visitor. Located nearby, Avenches allows visitors to follow in the footsteps of the Romans. You can immerse yourself in a long-vanished era with a visit to the Roman Museum and a tour of the amphitheatre. When strolling through modern-day Avenches, you will find yourself surrounded by the simple charm of its medieval architecture. The shores of Lake Murten can be walked along in many areas. Cyclists appreciate the Three lakes region, where they can effortlessly explore all the diversity of the local countryside on two wheels.

Carnival

In March of every year, the two picturesque medieval towns mark the end of winter with carnival celebrations. After months of preparation, the time has finally come: carnival clubs, carnival musicians and lots of costumed carnival revellers form a procession through the avenues. The colourful goings-on last three days and nights. Each year, the procession of colourfully decorated carnival floats on Sunday afternoon marks the highlight of carnival. Anyone who enjoys loud music, colourful costumes and a cheerful, celebratory atmosphere should visit the carnival. 

Adventures in the Kerzers Signal Tower

To be a railway controller – that’s the childhood dream of many people both young and old. And it’s a dream that can come true in Switzerland's oldest preserved signal tower. Here little, big and grown-up children alike become signalmen or railway controllers, and shunt trains from one track to the other using lever, light and sound signals. The signal tower, which was built in 1901, has been renovated and preserved thanks to the Kerzers Signal Tower Association and the help of many volunteers. Guided tours are offered on request.

The Roman town of Aventicum

Two millennia ago, the former capital of Roman Helvetia, Aventicum, had almost 20,000 inhabitants. Today, Avenches is one of Switzerland's most archaeologically significant cities. Numerous historic monuments stand as testimony of its erstwhile greatness.

In 15 BC, the Romans annexed all the territory of modern-day Switzerland. Aventicum became the capital city of the Helvetians. The city not only enjoyed an ideal strategic position beside the road network of that era, but was also connected to shipping lanes via a river channel which joined the suburbs with a port by Lake Murten. Under Emperor Vespasian, the city was elevated to colony status in around 71/72 AD. The majority of the historic monuments still visible today were constructed after this period. Today, the Roman site of Aventicum offers its visitors numerous important relics: the amphitheatre, which is also the setting of spectacular performances; the Roman theatre; the baths of the Forum; the Cigognier temple; the Eastern gate; and the famous Tornallaz tower, the sole survivor of the 73 erstwhile towers of the Roman city wall. The archaeological findings of Aventicum are exhibited in Avenches’ Roman Museum.

Arrival of the Trojan elephant in Murten

Since 25 June 2016, the grounds of the Historical Museum in Murten have been home to a life-sized Trojan elephant. This objet d’art, which is accessible to the public, serves as a reminder of the tragic story that unfolded in Murten 150 years ago.

In the summer of 1866, an American circus was visiting Murten. Its great attraction was its two trained elephants. On the day after the performance, one of the two elephants escaped its enclosure, killing the elephant keeper in the process. The animal, which had grown manic, then ran through the town. As no one was able to tame the elephant, there was no choice but to kill it – with a cannon ball, which had been ordered from Fribourg. Since then, the lower part of the Rathausgasse, or Town Hall Alley, where this tragedy played out has also been known as Elefantengasse, or Elephant Alley. The aforementioned cannon ball can be viewed in Murten’s Historical Museum. The elephant’s skeleton is exhibited in the Bern Natural History Museum.

How was the famous Nidlechueche cake invented?

One legend has it that the delicate Nidlechueche cake was created in the oven houses. In times gone by, people baked their bread together in oven houses. Back then, it was done without thermometers. To check the oven’s temperature, scraps of flattened dough were shoved into the oven. The oven’s temperature could be gauged based on how quickly the dough baked. A baker had the idea of adding some Nidle (cream) and sugar on top of these dough scraps. It turned out that the sugar caramelised wonderfully, creating a delicious cake. Today, the Murten region is famous for this legendary Nidlechueche. It can be bought in all the local bakeries.
0 Media files
    Bijouland
    Zug bei der Ausfahrt aus dem Bahnhof La Chaux-de-Fonds
    Your way to the Bijouland
    More
    Bijouland
    Zwei Freundinnen informieren sich über Kopfhörer über die Ausstellung im Museum.
    Lake Murten, Neuchâtel and Neuchâtel Jura excursions
    Discover
    Newsletter

Bijouland

Région Lac de Morat

Morat, Avenches, Seeland

Le bourg moyenâgeux de Morat et la ville romaine d'Avenches vous font voyager dans le temps. Que ce soit au bord du lac de Morat ou lors d'activité dans le Seeland et dans le vignoble du Mont Vully, vous vous sentirez en vacances. La Région Lac de Morat vous subjuguera par son charme méditerranéen. Une excursion dans la région du lac de Morat ressemble à un voyage dans le temps. Le bourg romantique de Morat enchante les visiteurs avec ses arcades, ses magnifiques maisons si bien préservées et ses remparts que l'on peut parcourir à pied. Non loin de là, Avenches nous emmène sur les traces des romains. Une visite du Musée romain et des arènes transporte le visiteur dans un passé lointain alors que la partie plus récente de la ville charmera par son architecture moyenâgeuse. Tandis que les rives du Lac de Morat invitent à la flânerie, les cyclistes apprécieront le Seeland, dont les paysages se laissent aisément découvrir à vélo.

Carnaval de Morat et d‘Avenches

Chaque année, en mars, ces deux villes moyenâgeuses annoncent haut et fort la sortie de lhiver. Après des mois de préparatifs, nous y voilà: groupes carnavalesques, fanfares et nombreux carnavaliers déguisés empliront les ruelles de Morat et dAvenches. Cette animation haute en couleur durera trois jours et trois nuits, avec en point dorgue un défilé de chars décorés avec goût, le dimanche après-midi. Vous aimez le tumulte, les costumes bariolés et les ambiances joyeuses et débridées? Alors, cest pour vous! 

Expérience au poste d’enclenchement de Chiètres

Être chef de gare: voilà un rêve que nombreux caressent, petits ou grands. Et dans le plus ancien poste d’enclenchement encore préservé de Suisse, à Chiètres, c’est possible. Les petits et grands enfants comme les adultes sont conviés à être les chefs de la circulation ou chefs de gare d’un jour et à déplacer des trains d’une voie à une autre à l’aide de leviers et de signaux lumineux et sonores. C’est grâce à l’association Stellwerk Kerzers (Poste d’enclenchement de Chiètres) et à la mobilisation de nombreux bénévoles que ce poste datant de 1901 a pu être restauré et préservé. Possibilité de visites guidées sur demande.

Avenches la romaine

Ancienne capitale de l'Helvétie, Aventicum comptait il y a deux millénaires presque 20'000 habitants. Aujourd'hui Avenches est l'un des principaux sites archéologiques de Suisse. De nombreux monuments témoignent encore de sa grandeur passée.
 
Les romains annexèrent l'ensemble de l'actuel territoire de la Suisse en l'an 15 av. J.C et firent d'Aventicum leur capitale. La ville était non-seulement idéale située à la croisée des voies romaines, mais aussi accessible par bateau. Un canal reliait la ville au Lac de Morat. Sous le règne de l'empereur Vespasien, la ville reçu le statut de colonie en l'an 71/72 ap. J-C. La plus grande partie des monuments encore visibles furent érigés après cette date. Aujourd'hui de nombreux vestiges sont accessible au visiteur: l'amphithéâtre, cadre de spectacles grandioses, le théâtre romain, les thermes du forum et le sanctuaire du « Cigognier », ainsi que la Porte de l'Est et la fameuse Tour de la Tornallaz, la seule encore intacte des 73 tours de l'enceinte romaine. Les trouvailles archéologiques quand à elles sont exposées au Musée romain d'Avenches.

L’éléphant de Morat

Depuis le 25 juin 2016, un « éléphant de Troie » est exposé dans les jardins du Musée de Morat. L'oeuvre d'art dans laquelle on peut entrer célèbre une histoire tragique vieille de 150 ans.

Durant cet été 1866, la venue d'un cirque américain fait événement à Morat. Une foule de citoyens curieux accourt pour assister à une scène insolite: l'arrivée de deux éléphants asiatiques à Morat, des animaux que les habitants n'ont encore jamais vu. Tout bascule après le gros succès de la représentation: à 2h du matin, l'un des éléphants devient fou pour une raison qui reste mystérieuse et il parvient à sortir de son enclos. Le pachyderme court à travers les rues et bouscule tout sur son passage.Le dresseur essaie de s'interposer mais il est piétiné et tué sur place sous les yeux des habitants. On finit par barricader la rue et on appelle à l'aide. Un gros canon est amené sur place, on attire l'éléphant avec un appât et on ordonne un feu libre. Le boulet de canon est exposé au Musée de Morat. Quand au squelette de l'animal, on peut l'admirer au Musée d'histoire naturelle de Berne.

Comment est né le célèbre gâteau du Vully ?

Une légende raconte que le gâteau du Vully est né dans les fours communaux, où l'on cuisait le pain dans le passé. Bien sûr sans thermomètre. Pour mesurer la température, on plaçait dans le four un reste de pâte. On évaluait alors la température selon la vitesse à la quelle ce bout de pâte cuisait. Un boulanger eu l'idée de verser un peu de crème et de sucre sur la pâte. On se rendit compte que le sucre caramélisait, ce qui donnait un arome merveilleux à la pâte et on decida de faire des gâteaux selon cette recette. Aujourd'hui le gâteau du Vully ou « Nidlekueche » se trouve dans la pluspart des boulangerie de la région.
0 Fichiers de médias
    Bijouland
    RE Neuchâtel-La Chaux-de-Fonds im Val de Ruz bei Les Hauts-Geneveys
    Votre trajet jusqu’au Bijouland
    Plus
    Bijouland
    Region Neuchâtel im Winter
    Lac de Morat, de Neuchâtel et des Montagnes neuchâteloises
    Découvrir
    Newsletter