Construction projects

New track in the Lötschberg Summit Tunnel

Investing in the future: The tracks in the Lötschberg Summit Tunnel were last replaced in the 1970s. BLS is now investing in a modern and sustainable track so that our customers can continue to travel safely and conveniently through the tunnel between Goppenstein and Kandersteg.

The old tracks in the Lötschberg Summit Tunnel will be removed, including the ballast and sleepers, and replaced with a so-called non-ballasted track. With a non-ballasted track, the rails are encased in a concrete foundation with elastically mounted individual blocks, as is already the case in the Lötschberg Base Tunnel. Ballast is no longer required. BLS is also modernising the tunnel’s drainage system. The tunnel vault is still in good condition, though.

To prevent railway operations from being too badly affected, BLS is carrying out the work in stages across several smaller sections.

Key data

  • Scheduled start of construction: mid-2018
  • Planned commissioning: end of 2022
  • Costs: the total costs for the track replacement amount to CHF 83.5 million.

What will the project achieve?

The non-ballasted track provides a series of benefits:

  • Comfort: because the tracks are laid more precisely, there are fewer bumps. The ride will therefore be noticeably smoother.
  • Service life: a normal ballasted track has a service life of around 40 years, whereas that of a non-ballasted track is around 60 years.
  • Maintenance: a non-ballasted track has far lower maintenance costs, as it is much easier to keep in good condition. With a conventional track, the ballast needs to be replenished regularly in order to keep the tracks stable. This and other work will no longer be necessary.

Why is this tunnel called the Summit Tunnel?

For a long time, what is today the Lötschberg Summit Tunnel was simply called the Lötschberg Tunnel. The 14.6-kilometre-long tunnel was constructed between 1907 and 1913. Since BLS also took the Lötschberg Base Tunnel – situated deeper in the mountain – into operation in 2007, the older tunnel on the mountain line has been called the Lötschberg Summit Tunnel, as it sits below the mountain summit.

Why is the tunnel still needed following the construction of the Lötschberg Base Tunnel?

Together with the Lötschberg Base Tunnel, the Summit Tunnel forms a holistic system on the Lötschberg axis, which is situated on Europe’s most important rail freight corridor. Of the up to 110 freight trains that travel via the axis each day, between 20 to 50 of them travel the mountain line via the Summit Tunnel. The Summit Tunnel is also of vital importance to BLS’s Car Transport service. During peak times, up to 180 car trains travel through the tunnel, making it an important connection for passenger transport between Bern and Valais. Furthermore, BLS’s RegioExpress trains travelling between Bern, Brig and Domodossola use the Summit Tunnel each day.

0 Media files
    Car Transport
    Autoverlad Lötschberg im Winter bei Kandersteg
    With the BLS Lötschberg Car Transport
    More
    Lötschberger country
    RABe 535 Lötschberger bei Blausee
    Railway adventure
    More
    Projects & backgrounds
    NEAT Lötschberg: Lötschberg-Basistunnel Nordportal
    Lötschberg Base Tunnel: a new Alpine rail link to connect Europe
    CONNECT
    Construction projects
    Construction noise and other disruptions

    Where there’s construction work, there’s noise

    More
    Newsletter

Bauprojekte

Neue Fahrbahn im Lötschberg-Scheiteltunnel

Eine Investition in die Zukunft. Die Gleise im Lötschberg-Scheiteltunnel wurden das letzte Mal in den 1970er Jahren ersetzt. Die BLS investiert jetzt in eine moderne und nachhaltige Fahrbahn, damit unsere Kunden auch in Zukunft sicher und bequem durch den Tunnel zwischen Goppenstein und Kandersteg reisen können.

Die alten Gleise im Lötschberg-Scheiteltunnel werden mitsamt Schotter und Schwellen entfernt und durch eine sogenannte Feste Fahrbahn ersetzt. Bei einer Festen Fahrbahn werden die Gleise mit elastisch gelagerten Einzelblöcken in ein Betonfundament eingegossen, so wie bereits im Lötschberg-Basistunnel. Schotter braucht es keinen mehr. Weiter erneuert die BLS das Entwässerungssystem des Tunnels. Das Tunnelgewölbe hingegen ist noch in einem guten Zustand.

Damit der Bahnbetrieb nicht allzu stark beeinträchtigt wird, führt die BLS die Arbeiten etappenweise auf mehreren kurzen Abschnitten durch.

Eckdaten

  • Geplanter Baubeginn: Mitte 2018
  • Geplante Inbetriebnahme: Ende 2022
  • Kosten: Die Gesamtkosten der Fahrbahnerneuerung belaufen sich auf CHF 83,5 Millionen.

Was bringt das Projekt?

Die Feste Fahrbahn bringt eine Reihe von Vorteilen mit sich:

  • Komfort: Da die Gleise präziser angeordnet sind, gibt es weniger Erschütterungen. Die Fahrt wird dadurch deutlich ruhiger.
  • Lebensdauer: Eine normale Schotterfahrbahn weist eine Nutzungsdauer von ungefähr 40 Jahren auf, jene einer Festen Fahrbahn beträgt ungefähr 60 Jahre.
  • Wartung: Eine feste Fahrbahn weist geringere Unterhaltskosten auf, da sie pflegeleichter ist. Bei einer herkömmlichen Fahrbahn muss regelmässig der Schotter neu gestopft werden, damit die Gleise stabil bleiben. Diese und andere Arbeiten fallen künftig weg. 

Wieso heisst der Tunnel eigentlich Scheiteltunnel?

Während langer Zeit hiess der heutige Lötschberg-Scheiteltunnel ganz einfach Lötschbergtunnel. Der 14,6 Kilometer lange Tunnel  wurde zwischen 1907 und 1913 erbaut.  Seit die BLS im Jahr 2007 ebenfalls den tiefer gelegenen Lötschberg-Basistunnel in Betrieb genommen hat, wird der ältere Tunnel auf der Bergstrecke Lötschberg-Scheiteltunnel genannt, da er sich unterhalb des Bergscheitels befindet.

Wieso braucht es den Tunnel auch nach dem Bau des Lötschberg-Basistunnels?

Der Scheiteltunnel bildet mit dem Basistunnel ein Gesamtsystem auf der Lötschbergachse, welche auf dem wichtigsten Schienengüterkorridor Europas liegt. Von den bis zu 110 Güterzügen, die täglich über die Achse verkehren,  fahren zwischen 20 und 50 durch den Scheiteltunnel auf der Bergstrecke. Für den Autoverlad der BLS ist der Scheiteltunnel ebenfalls von grösster Wichtigkeit. Er führt in Spitzenzeiten bis zu 180 Autozüge durch den Tunnel und ist so die wichtigste Verbindung für den Individualverkehr zwischen Bern und dem Wallis. Weiter verkehren die RegioExpress-Züge der BLS  zwischen Bern, Brig und Domodossola täglich durch den Scheiteltunnel.

0 Mediendateien
    Autoverlad
    autoverlad06
    Schneller ins Wallis
    Verbinden
    Lötschberger-Land
    RABe 535 Lötschberger zwischen Lalden und Brig
    Erlebnis Bahnfahrt
    Verbinden
    Projekte & Hintergründe
    NEAT Lötschberg: Lötschberg-Basistunnel Nordportal
    Lötschberg-Basistunnel: Die NEAT verbindet Europa
    Verbinden
    Bauprojekte
    Baulärm und andere Beeinträchtigungen

    Wo gebaut wird, gibt’s Lärm

    Verbinden
    Newsletter