Construction projects

Refurbishing of the eastern bore of the Lötschberg Base Tunnel

No more sand in the Lötschberg Base Tunnel

Following an event of water and sand ingress in the eastern bore of the Lötschberg Base Tunnel, BLS is refurbishing the affected area. It is excavating a large cavity to the side of the bore so that sand can be deposited there in future.

In February and March 2020, water and sand were washed into the dual-track section of the Lötschberg Base Tunnel. As a result, the tunnel’s eastern bore had to be temporarily closed to trains three times in succession. As an immediate remedy, BLS installed a steel sedimentation tank in the affected area of the tunnel bore. As an additional measure, the company is now excavating a cavern outside the tunnel bore, into which the water can run off and the sand be deposited.

Why did sand enter the tunnel?

Above the affected area, there is a karst spring that was drilled into during the tunnel-excavation work over 15 years ago. The water from this karst spring was fed into a pipe and diverted through the tunnel bore. Our experts assume that the conditions in the karst recently changed so that much more sand was suddenly carried into the pipe, forming a blockage. The pressure grew too great, as a result of which the water pipe was damaged and a tear formed in the tunnel’s waterproofing. This leak allowed water and sand to enter the tunnel bore. The refurbishment work has shown that the experts’ hypothesis was correct: after the tunnel lining had been demolished, it became clear that the water pipe was damaged and that the water was leaking out in this specific location.

How BLS is refurbishing the affected area

In the affected area, BLS is excavating a cavern to the side of the eastern tunnel bore and installing a sedimentation tank there with a 2,000-cubic-metre capacity. The mountain runoff flows into this sedimentation tank; any sand is then deposited as sediment and the purified mountain runoff diverted to the Raron portal. The cavern and its tank are similar to an indoor swimming pool – there is therefore plenty of space for the sand to settle. As part of the regular maintenance work in the tunnel, the deposited sand can in future be removed from the tunnel in rail wagons. Based on current plans, the cost of the refurbishment will be around 15 million Swiss francs.

With the refurbishment project, BLS developed a good solution within a short period of time which can be implemented before the next snowmelt in the spring of 2021, thus significantly reducing the risk of more sand entering the tunnel. However, residual risks cannot be entirely eliminated because karst is unpredictable. If the situation inside the mountain changes and much more sand than expected is washed into the sedimentation tanks next to the eastern bore, BLS can expand the cavern.

0 of 0 Media files

    Eastern bore closed off during construction work

    BLS wishes to refurbish the tunnel as quickly as possible to prevent any more water and sand making its way onto the tracks. The refurbishment work will last from August 2020 to January 2021. The eastern bore will be closed off from 7 September to 23 December 2020; trains will be diverted through the western bore on a single track. During this period, the majority of SBB passenger trains will continue to run through the Base Tunnel. A second closure of the eastern bore is planned from 3 January to 28 February 2021. Thanks to the staggered construction schedule, trains can travel through the Lötschberg Base Tunnel during the busy Christmas and New Year season.
    0 of 0 Media files
      Projects & backgrounds
      Spurwechseldiagonale Ferden Süd - Foto St. Irmgartinger/BLS
      BLS is upgrading the Lötschberg Base Tunnel
      More
      Construction projects
      New track in the Lötschberg Summit Tunnel
      More
      Newsletter

Travaux et constructions

Rénovation du le tube est du tunnel de base du Lötschberg

Le sable ne s’infiltre plus dans le tunnel de base du Lötschberg

Suite à des infiltrations d’eau et de sable dans le tube est du tunnel de base du Lötschberg, BLS rénove actuellement la zone endommagée. Elle a creusé une énorme cavité à côté du tube du tunnel pour permettre au sable de décanter.

En février et mars 2020, de l’eau et du sable se sont infiltrés dans le tronçon à deux voies du tunnel de base du Lötschberg. Le tube est du tunnel a dû être temporairement fermé à la circulation à trois reprises. BLS a pris des mesures immédiates en installant un bassin de décantation en acier dans la zone endommagée. En guise de mesure supplémentaire, elle a percé une galerie à l’extérieur du tube du tunnel, où l’eau peut s’écouler et le sable se déposer.

Pourquoi du sable s’est-il infiltré dans le tunnel?

Au-dessus de la zone endommagée du tube est se trouve une source karstique qui a été forée il y a une quinzaine d’années, lors de la construction du tunnel. L’eau de cette source a été captée dans une conduite et acheminée dans le tube du tunnel. Les experts supposent que la situation a récemment évolué dans le karst et qu’une plus grande quantité de sable a soudain été charriée dans la conduite, au point de la boucher. La pression était si forte que le captage de l’eau en a été endommagé et que l’étanchéité du tunnel s’est fissurée. C’est par cette fissure que l’eau et le sable ont pu pénétrer dans le tube du tunnel. Les travaux de rénovation confirment l’hypothèse des experts: la démolition de la voûte intérieure du tunnel a révélé que le captage a été endommagé et que de l’eau s’écoulait localement à cet endroit.

Voici comment BLS restaure la zone endommagée

BLS creuse, à côté du tube est, au niveau de la zone endommagée, une caverne et y installe un bassin de décantation d’une capacité de plus de 2000 mètres cubes. Les eaux d’infiltration coulent dans ce bassin, le sable éventuel se dépose et les eaux propres sont évacuées vers le portail de Rarogne. La caverne et son bassin font office de piscine couverte destinée à accueillir le sable qui s’écoule. Dans le cadre des travaux d’entretien réguliers dans le tunnel, le sable collecté pourra désormais être transporté hors du tunnel à bord de wagons. Selon la planification actuelle, les coûts de la rénovation s’élèvent à près de 15 millions de francs.

Avec ce projet de rénovation, BLS a rapidement mis au point une bonne solution, qui pourra être réalisée avant la prochaine fonte des neiges au printemps 2021, ce qui réduit nettement le risque de nouvelle infiltration de sable. Des risques résiduels n’en demeurent pas moins, parce que le karst est imprévisible. Si la situation à l’intérieur de la montagne vient à évoluer et que les quantités de sable déposées dans les bassins de décantation excèdent largement les prévisions, BLS peut agrandir la caverne.

0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

    Tube est fermé pendant les travaux

    BLS souhaite rénover le tunnel aussi vite que possible afin d’éviter de nouvelles infiltrations d’eau et de sable dans la partie ferroviaire. Les travaux de rénovation sont prévus d’août 2020 à janvier 2021. Du 7 septembre au 23 décembre 2020, le tube est sera fermé à la circulation et le trafic ferroviaire empruntera une voie unique dans le tube ouest. Les trains voyageurs des CFF continueront également de circuler en majeure partie par le tunnel de base durant cette phase. Une seconde fermeture est prévue entre le 3 janvier et la fin février 2021. Grâce à l’échelonnement des travaux, le trafic de la période de Noël et de Nouvel An pourra avoir lieu sans restriction dans le tunnel de base du Lötschberg.
    0 de 0 Fichiers de médias
      Projets et informations
      Spurwechseldiagonale Ferden Süd - Foto St. Irmgartinger/BLS
      BLS aménage le tunnel de base du Lötschberg
      Plus
      Travaux et constructions
      Nouvelle voie ferrée dans le tunnel de faîte du Lötschberg
      Plus
      Newsletter