Press release 30.06.2020

FAIRTIQ and BLS join forces

FAIRTIQ and BLS with its “lezzgo” app, the two pioneers of automatic ticketing, are teaming up: customers will now have access to FAIRTIQ’s back-end system for check-in functionality. This means that “lezzgo” will thereby be discontinued. BLS now champions the interests of automatic ticketing on public transport committees in Switzerland.

Since 2016, FAIRTIQ and BLS have served as the key driving forces behind the development and growth of a national standard for automatic ticketing (AT) in Switzerland. This pioneering act is still unique world-wide. These two technological leaders are now taking one step further in the pooling of resources and the focus on customer benefit. In future, “BLS Mobil” will utilise the back-end systems of FAIRTIQ’s AT functionality. This adaptation will occur with the timetable change in December 2020.

A unique success story 


“What we have managed to achieve in such a short time here in Switzerland is a globally unparalleled success story,” states Gian-Mattia Schucan, CEO of FAIRTIQ. “We are thereby providing the perfect foundation for using this Swiss solution to also generate international headlines.” The competition between the two systems has meant that, in technological terms and in comparison to the sector’s regulations, this development has been achieved much faster than if one of these players had forged this path alone. Today, over 200,000 customers are already using the functionality provided by these two technological leaders via a range of apps. 

BLS uses its influence on public transport committees


BLS will no longer continue to develop its proprietary “lezzgo” app, although parts of the “lezzgo” programme code may yet be integrated into FAIRTIQ. This will help to further improve and refine the check-in functionality. As Switzerland’s second-biggest railway operator, BLS will in future use its influence on public transport committees and will champion the evolution of the ticket standard. At the same time, BLS will work closely with FAIRTIQ and bring its experience in automatic ticketing to bear. “By taking this step, we are focusing on customers and simplifying access to public transport even further – for innovative and modern mobility in Switzerland”, says Daniel Hofer, Director of Passenger Mobility at BLS. 

BLS backs its BLS Mobil app


Alongside the check-in and check-out function from FAIRTIQ, BLS Mobil offers numerous additional features such as a real-time timetable, the ability to purchase and validate multi-trip tickets, discounts such as supersaver tickets, an easy-to-use Saver Day Pass calendar for the next two months, SwissPass compatibility and the purchasing of Switzerland-wide tickets and day tickets. FAIRTIQ Ltd continues to operate the popular FAIRTIQ App - in Switzerland and internationally.

Information
Contact for media representatives

BLS Ltd, media office
telephone +41 58 327 29 55
fax +41 58 327 29 10
media@bls.ch

(Monday to Friday, 08.00–17.00 hours)

Ticket & timetable App
 BLS Mobil - Ticket- & Fahrplan-App
BLS Mobil

Contactless payment

More
Automatically up to date
Receive our press releases via RSS feed
Subscribe
Newsletter

Communiqué 30.06.2020

FAIRTIQ et BLS unissent leurs forces

Les deux pionniers de la billetterie automatique FAIRTIQ et BLS, créateurs de «lezzgo», s’associent: le système d’arrière-plan pour la fonctionnalité de check-in sera dorénavant fourni par FAIRTIQ, substituant ainsi l’application «lezzgo». BLS, en revanche, représente les intérêts de la billetterie automatique auprès des comités des transports publics suisses.

Depuis 2016, BLS et FAIRTIQ sont les principaux moteurs du développement et de l’expansion d’une norme nationale en matière de billetterie automatique (BA). À ce jour, ce travail de pionnier reste unique dans le monde. Les deux leaders en technologie souhaitent aujourd’hui regrouper leurs forces et offrir davantage encore à leur clientèle. À l’avenir, les systèmes d’arrière-plan de la fonctionnalité de BA pour «BLS Mobil» seront fournis par FAIRTIQ. Cette nouveauté sera mise en place avec le changement d’horaire de décembre 2020.

Un succès hors du commun

«Ce que nous avons accompli en Suisse en si peu de temps est absolument hors du commun, affirme Gian-Mattia Schucan, CEO de FAIRTIQ. Nous offrons ainsi la fondation idéale pour implanter avec le même succès la solution suisse à l’échelle internationale.» La concurrence entre les deux systèmes a permis d’accélérer le développement technique, y compris en comparaison avec les dispositions sectorielles. L’évolution n’aurait certainement pas été si rapide si un acteur avait emprunté cette voie seul. À l’heure actuelle, déjà plus de 200 000 clientes et clients utilisent dans plusieurs applications la fonctionnalité développée par ces deux leaders en technologie.

BLS use de son influence dans les comités des TP

BLS ne poursuivra pas l’exploitation de sa propre création «lezzgo», bien que certaines parties du programme «lezzgo» pourraient un jour être intégrées à FAIRTIQ. De cette façon, la fonctionnalité de check-in pourra être davantage optimisée et affinée. Deuxième entreprise ferroviaire de Suisse, BLS use dorénavant son influence dans les comités de TP et s’engage pour le développement continu d’une norme relative à la billetterie. Dans le même temps, BLS et FAIRTIQ collaborent étroitement, apportant leur expérience dans la billetterie automatique. «Nous mettons ainsi l’accent sur les clients et simplifions davantage l’accès aux transports publics, pour une mobilité innovante et moderne en Suisse», explique Daniel Hofer, chef de la mobilité des voyageurs chez BLS.

BLS mise sur son application BLS Mobil

En plus de la fonction de check-in et de check-out de FAIRTIQ, BLS Mobil offre une multitude d’autres fonctions, telles que l’horaire en temps réel, l’achat et l’oblitération des cartes multicourses, les avantages comme les billets dégriffés, un calendrier intelligible des cartes journalières dégriffées pour les deux prochains mois, l’enregistrement du SwissPass ainsi que l’achat des billets et cartes journalières dans toute la Suisse. FAIRTIQ SA continue d’exploiter son appli FAIRTIQ populaire en Suisse et à l’étranger.

Information
Contact pour les représentants des médias

BLS AG, Service des médias
Téléphone +41 58 327 29 55
Fax +41 58 327 29 10
media@bls.ch

(lundi à vendredi, 08h00–17h00)

Application billets & horaires
Paar mit Maske am Bahnhof
BLS Mobil

Paiement sans contact

Plus
Restez automatiquement au courant
Recevez nos communiqués de presse au moyen du RSS feed
S’abonner
Newsletter