Construction projects

Modernisation of the Saane Viaduct and dual-track expansion of the Mauss–Gümmenen section

Since 1901, the Saane Viaduct has straddled the River Saane and the wide valley plane. It is one of BLS’s most spectacular listed structures. The company wants to adapt the viaduct to modern-day requirements and preserve its history by comprehensively modernising it. In addition, BLS is planning to expand the entire section between Mauss and Gümmenen to two tracks.

The Saane Viaduct on the Bern–Neuchâtel line is over 115 years old. As one would expect of such a venerable structure, the brickwork shows signs of frost and joint damage that now needs repairing. The viaduct’s existing trackbed, which was installed between 1958 and 1980, also shows defects in its waterproofing, which is causing more water to permeate into the brickwork. The steel-frame bridge has also reached the end of its service life. To ensure that the viaduct continues to meet the standards of a high-performance infrastructure, BLS is completely modernising it whilst simultaneously expanding it to two tracks. The company is thereby completing the continuous dual track on the Bern–Gümmenen section. The project has projected costs of 45 million francs.

An architectural monument of national importance

The 400-metre-long structure comprises a viaduct made of natural stone and a steel-frame bridge that cross the valley floor and the River Saane. The Gümmenen side also features a 450-metre-long dam.

The viaduct stands as testimony to the developments in industry and transport technology at the close of the nineteenth century, and is catalogued as a listed structure in the canton of Bern’s architectural inventory. As a significant element in the landscape of Saanetal, the entire viaduct is a monument of national importance and great historical and cultural significance.

To ensure that, among other things, the dual-track expansion does not negatively impact the viaduct’s aesthetic value, BLS has worked with the Federal Commission for Monument Preservation (FCMP) and the Federal Commission for the Protection of Nature and Cultural Heritage (FCNC) to determine the framework conditions. The best version was then selected as part of a commissioned study.
The winning project was selected in 2013. BLS is very pleased with the selection, as the project ideally combines the character of the original structure with all the requirements for an innovative and modern infrastructure.

Changes

  • The most distinctive change is the new steel-and-concrete bridge with framework struts of varying angles over the Saane. Otherwise, the character of the viaduct will be largely preserved. Because the existing steel-frame bridge has reached the end of its service life, it would have needed replacing by 2025 even without the dual-track expansion.
  • The viaduct’s pillars and arches will be repaired and freshly waterproofed at the top.
  • The 450-metre-long dam on the Gümmenen side (west) must be widened, and therefore have fresh rock added so that a second track can be installed.
  • Five pillars on the Mauss side (east) will also be widened for the dual track.
  • Also on the eastern side, the indent in the hillside must be enlarged to make room for the second track. To achieve this, part of the hillside must be removed.
  • The concrete trackbed on which the track rests will be removed and replaced with a wider trackbed for the dual track. The new trackbed will lie across the entire 400 metres, i.e. across the 22 stone arches, the new steel bridge and the five additional stone arches on the eastern side of the River Saane.

BLS is utilising synergies with a neighbouring project

BLS operates not just commercially but also sustainably, and wants to make careful use of the available resources. That is why it is planning the work in such a way that important synergies with a neighbouring project can be utilised. To the east of the Saane Viaduct lies another major BLS construction site: the construction of the new dual-track Rosshäusern Tunnel, which will become operational in 2018.

For an environmentally friendly project, BLS is utilising the following synergies:

  • A certain amount of gravel was already reserved at Mädersforst gravel pit during the “Rosshäusern Tunnel” project for the embankment work on the dam of the Saane Viaduct. The embankment work on the damn serves to prepare it for the construction of the second track.
  • As soon as the construction installations surrounding the Rosshäusern Tunnel have been removed, this freed-up consignment of gravel can then also be used for the Saane Viaduct during the dismantling of the installation sites and construction-access trails on the Rosshäusern Tunnel project.
  • The area around the old Rosshäusern Tunnel will be ecologically restored. Because the dual-track expansion on the Saane Viaduct also requires trees to be felled, BLS has already selected areas for reforestation in this ecological restoration area.

Key data

  • Start of construction: autumn 2018
  • Intensive 5-week construction phase with line closure and replacement bus between Brünnenen and Gümmenen: from 5 July 2020 to 9 August 2020
  • Planned commissioning: end of 2021
  • Costs: the total costs of the modernisation amount to 45 million francs
0 of 0 Media files

    What will the project achieve?

    An architectural monument of national importance will be preserved, whilst simultaneously being upgraded with cutting-edge technology.

    For passengers, the dual-track expansion means more punctual trains on the Bern–Neuchâtel line; for BLS, it means an increase in operational flexibility. With a longer dual track, trains travelling in opposite directions no longer have to wait for one another to pass. Delays thus take longer to affect other trains. This is important for the future service at 30-minute intervals of the RegioExpress between Bern and Neuchâtel.

    The travel time between Bern and Neuchâtel will be reduced, as trains will be able to travel this section at speeds of up to 160 km/h rather than 90 km/h.

    The dual track enables BLS to offer any future expansions in its service along this line without any difficulties.

    0 of 0 Media files
      Construction projects
      Flueelebach-wird-offengelegt
      Extension of the Rosshäusern–Mauss line to twin tracks

      Major construction site on the Bern–Neuchâtel route. The core component is the two-kilometre Rosshäusern Tunnel.

      More
      Construction projects
      Bauprojekt Guemmenen Arbeiter
      Modernisierung Bahnhof Gümmenen
      More
      Construction projects
      Construction noise and other disruptions

      Where there’s construction work, there’s noise

      More
      Newsletter

Travaux et constructions

Rénovation du viaduc de la Sarine et doublement de la voie Mauss–Gümmenen

Le viaduc de la Sarine: il enjambe la Sarine et sa large vallée depuis 1901 et compte parmi les ouvrages classés les plus spectaculaires du réseau BLS. BLS prévoit de le rénover complètement afin de l’adapter aux exigences actuelles tout en préservant son histoire. Le projet comprend également le doublement de la voie sur l’ensemble du tronçon entre Mauss et Gumine.

Situé sur la ligne Bern–Neuchâtel, le viaduc de la Sarine a été construit il y a plus de 115 ans. Étant donné sa vétusté, la maçonnerie des piles et des arcs présente des dommages dus au gel et des joints détériorés, qui nécessitent des travaux de rénovation. La plate-forme du viaduc bâtie entre 1958 et 1980 souffre également de problèmes d’étanchéité, ce qui cause des infiltrations d’eau supplémentaires dans la maçonnerie. Le pont à croisillons en acier a lui aussi fait son temps. Pour que le viaduc reste une infrastructure performante également pour l’avenir, BLS a prévu de le rénover entièrement et de l’étendre dans le même temps à deux voies. Ces travaux permettront d’obtenir une double voie continue sur l’ensemble du tronçon Bern–Gümmenen. Le coût du projet est estimé à 45 millions de francs.

Un ouvrage historique d’importance nationale

D’une longueur de 400 mètres, la construction se compose d’un viaduc en pierre naturelle et d’un pont à croisillons en acier qui traverse la Sarine et sa vallée. Elle inclut également une digue de 450 mètres de long en direction de Gumine.

Le viaduc est considéré comme un témoin du développement industriel et ferroviaire de la fin du XIXe siècle et est classé en tant qu’objet protégé dans le recensement architectural du canton de Berne. Élément caractéristique du paysage de la vallée de la Sarine, l’ensemble du viaduc constitue un monument d’importance nationale et d’une grande valeur historique et culturelle.

Afin de préserver entre autres les qualités esthétiques du viaduc malgré le doublement de la voie, BLS a défini les exigences du projet avec l’aide de la Commission fédérale des monuments historiques (CFMH) et de la Commission fédérale pour la protection de la nature et du paysage (CFNP). Ensuite, la meilleure variante a été sélectionnée dans le cadre d’un mandat d’étude.

Le projet retenu a été annoncé en 2013. BLS accueille ce choix à bras ouverts, car le projet conjugue parfaitement le caractère de l’ouvrage d’origine et toutes les exigences auxquelles une infrastructure innovante et moderne doit répondre.

Du changement dans l’air

  • Le changement le plus frappant est le nouveau pont en acier et en béton avec ses croisillons composés de traverses d’inclinaison variable qui enjambe la Sarine. Pour le reste, le viaduc conserve l’essentiel de son caractère. Étant donné que l’actuel pont à croisillons en acier est arrivé en fin de vie, il aurait dû être remplacé d’ici à 2025 même si la voie n’avait pas été doublée.
  • Les piles et les voûtes du viaduc seront réparées et leur revêtement d’étanchéité sera rénové.
  • La digue de 450 mètres de long du côté de Gumine (ouest) doit être élargie et donc, remblayée afin de pouvoir accueillir une deuxième voie.
  • Du côté de Mauss (est), cinq piles seront également élargies pour la double voie.
  • La brèche dans le versant doit aussi être élargie du côté est afin de permettre le doublement. Pour cela, une partie du versant devra être déblayée.
  • Le caniveau en béton dans lequel se trouve la voie sera enlevé et remplacé par un autre plus large. Celui-ci parcourra les 400 mètres du viaduc: il passera sur les 22 arcs en pierre, le nouveau pont en acier et les cinq autres arcs en pierre situés à l’est de la Sarine.

BLS exploite les synergies avec un projet voisin

Le groupe BLS agit avec esprit d’entreprise mais aussi dans un souci de durabilité, et tient à utiliser les ressources de manière raisonnée. C’est pourquoi il planifie les travaux de façon à pourvoir exploiter d’importantes synergies avec un projet voisin. En effet, à l’est du viaduc de la Sarine, se trouve un autre gros chantier, la construction du nouveau tunnel à deux voies de Rosshäusern, qui sera mis en service en 2018.

BLS exploite les synergies suivantes afin de préserver l’environnement:

  • Dès la phase de projet du tunnel de Rosshäusern, un certain volume de gravier de la gravière de Mädersforst a été réservé au remblai de la digue du viaduc de la Sarine. Celui-ci vise à élargir la digue afin de pouvoir construire la deuxième voie.
  • Dès que les installations de chantier autour du tunnel de Rosshäusern auront été retirées, le gravier résultant du démantèlement des sites et des pistes d’accès sera utilisé sur le chantier du viaduc de la Sarine.
  • Les alentours de l’ancien tunnel de Rosshäusern seront renaturés. Étant donné que le doublement de la voie exigera aussi d’abattre des arbres le long du viaduc de la Sarine, BLS a déjà prévu des surfaces de reboisement dans la zone de renaturation.

Chiffres-clés

  • Début des travaux: Automne 2018
  • Phase de construction intensive de 5 semaines avec fermeture de la ligne et bus de remplacement entre Brünnenen et Gümmenen: du 5 juillet 2020 au 9 août 2020
  • Mise en service prévue: Fin 2021
  • Coût: Le coût total de la rénovation se monte à 45 millions de francs.
0 de 0 Fichiers de médias

    Qu’apporte le projet?

    Un ouvrage historique d’importance nationale sera à la fois préservé et modernisé avec les techniques les plus avancées.

    Le doublement de la voie est synonyme de ponctualité des trains sur la ligne Bern–Neuchâtel pour les voyageurs, et de flexibilité opérationnelle pour BLS. L’allongement de la double voie supprimera l’attente due aux croisements des trains. Par conséquent, les retards se répercuteront moins rapidement sur d’autres trains. Cela constitue un élément déterminant pour la future cadence semi-horaire du RegioExpress entre Berne et Neuchâtel.

    La durée du trajet entre Berne et Neuchâtel diminuera car le tronçon pourra être parcouru à une vitesse de 160 km/h au lieu de 90 km/h.

    Grâce à la double voie, le groupe BLS est également à même d’accroître son offre sur cette ligne sans aucun problème. 

    0 de 0 Fichiers de médias
      Travaux et constructions
      Projet de construction Rosshäusern - travaux sur le Portail de l'Ouest
      Doublement de la voie Rosshäusern–Mauss

      Le grand chantier du tronçon Berne–Neuchâtel: BLS construit d’ici à 2020 une voie double entre Rosshäusern et Mauss, dont le tunnel de Rosshäuern de deux kilomètres constitue la pièce maîtresse.

      Plus
      Travaux et constructions
      Bauprojekt Guemmenen Arbeiter
      Modernisation de la gare de Gumine
      Plus
      Travaux et constructions
      Nuisances sonores et autres perturbations

      Pas de travaux sans nuisances sonores

      Plus
      Newsletter