Press release 08.04.2020

BLS Cargo: a good year in 2019, but bleak outlook for 2020

BLS Cargo financial performance in 2019 was good as the company successfully completed acquisition of Belgian rail freight operator Crossrail Benelux NV. It is important that we are in a strong position in order to meet the challenge of the current coronavirus crisis.

BLS Cargo turnover last year rose to CHF 293 mill. (+ 24.7%; 2018: CHF 235 mill.), mainly due to the acquisition of Belgian operator Crossrail. On 5th March 2019, BLS Cargo acquired Crossrail Benelux NV’s entire shareholding, backdated with effect from 01.01.2019. 2019 was therefore the first joint business year for the two companies. Profit remained stable at CHF 5.6 mill., the same level as the previous year. The total number of trains operated was 22’265 compared to 17’051 in 2018. The BLS Cargo group now employs over 350 staff in four different countries. 

A successful start with Crossrail

BLS Cargo and Crossrail Benelux’s first year of corporate operations was a success. Crossrail is responsible for running trains in Germany and Belgium solely on behalf of BLS Cargo. Conversely, BLS Cargo has assumed responsibility for all sales activity and is the single point of contact for customers. Separating the roles in this way has facilitated joint development of new traffic flows and consolidation of our market position.

Both companies have lean organisational structures, enabling them to reach agreement quickly on production processes and thus generate significant benefits. The planning of demand, operation and maintenance of the locomotives are centralised at a single point. By combining locomotive fleets, excess demand or deficits within the BLS Cargo group can be better compensated and there are further advantages to be derived from standardising the fleet.

The challenge of coronavirus

The coronavirus crisis is currently keeping BLS Cargo on its toes and we are doing all we can to safeguard the health of our staff whilst keeping services running. At present, services are disrupted because the section of the Rhine corridor between Freiburg im Breisgau (D) and Basel is closed following the tragic accident last week at Auggen involving a RoLa service.

As part of the logistic sector, BLS Cargo is responsible for ensuring that supplies of goods to the general public are guaranteed. It is a duty which BLS Cargo performs day after day. Nevertheless, the company anticipates a drastic loss in volume and earnings of around 30 percent in the coming months due to the corona crisis, which is mainly due to industrial shutdown in Italy and closure of whole sectors of industry such as automobile manufacturing. There are some positive signs, with trade from China starting to pick up again.

The financial loss for BLS Cargo as a result of the crisis will be severe, though exact figures are not yet available. However, the company is in good shape, both operationally and commercially, and has demonstrated on many occasions in the past that it can weather the storm. For this reason, BLS Cargo intends to maintain service capability in order to be ready when customers re-start operations. Support for measures designed to encourage the transfer of freight traffic to rail continues to be one of our primary objectives.

 

 

For further information please contact Stefanie Burri, Head of Staff / Communication BLS Cargo AG on tel. 058 327 30 17 or stefanie.burri@bls.ch

 

Information
Contact for media representatives

BLS Ltd, media office
telephone +41 58 327 29 55
fax +41 58 327 29 10
media@bls.ch

(Monday to Friday, 08.00–17.00 hours)

Subsidiaries
BLS Cargo Lokfuehrer
BLS Cargo Ltd

With its experience and expertise in Alpine and rail freight transport, BLS Cargo Ltd ensures that mountains are no obstacle to reaching your destination.

More
Automatically up to date
Receive our press releases via RSS feed
Subscribe
Newsletter

Communiqué de presse 08.04.2020

BLS Cargo: une bonne année 2019, mais des perspectives sombres pour 2020

BLS Cargo SA a réalisé de bons résultats financiers en 2019 et a mené à bien avec succès l’acquisition de la société belge de transport ferroviaire de marchandises Crossrail Benelux NV. Cette bonne position est importante pour survivre à la crise actuelle du Coronavirus.

L’année dernière, le chiffre d’affaires de BLS Cargo a atteint 293 millions de francs suisses (+ 24,7% ; 2018: 235 millions de francs suisses). La croissance du chiffre d’affaires est principalement due à l’acquisition de l’opérateur belge de fret ferroviaire Crossrail en 2019. Le 5 mars 2019, BLS Cargo a acquis toutes les actions de Crossrail Benelux NV avec effet rétroactif au 1er janvier 2019. Ainsi, 2019 est le premier exercice commun. Le bénéfice annuel est resté au niveau de l’année précédente, à 5,6 millions de francs suisses. Le volume du trafic s’est élevé à 22 265 trains et a donc été supérieur à celui de l’année précédente (17 051 trains). Le groupe BLS Cargo emploie aujourd’hui plus de 350 personnes dans quatre pays différents.

Un démarrage réussi avec Crossrail

La première année de coopération a été couronnée de succès pour BLS Cargo et pour Crossrail Benelux. Crossrail Benelux se concentre sur la production de trains en Allemagne et en Belgique et opère exclusivement pour BLS Cargo. En contrepartie, BLS Cargo a repris toutes les activités de vente et est l’unique interlocuteur des clients. Cette division du travail a permis de renforcer la position de l’entreprise sur le marché et de traiter conjointement le nouveau trafic.

Les structures comparativement légères des deux entreprises ont permis de coordonner rapidement les processus de production et de générer des avantages. La planification de la demande, l'exploitation et l'entretien des locomotives sont effectuées de manière centralisée par une seule ressource. Grâce à cette fusion en un seul parc de locomotives, toute augmentation ou diminution de la demande au sein du groupe BLS Cargo peut mieux être absorbée. La standardisation du parc de locomotives apporte d’autres avantages.

Le défi du coronavirus

La crise du coronavirus tient actuellement BLS Cargo en haleine. BLS Cargo fait tout ce qui est en son pouvoir pour protéger la santé de ses employés et pour maintenir ses activités opérationnelles. Le service est actuellement entravé par la fermeture de la ligne de la vallée du Rhin entre Fribourg-en-Brisgau (D) et Bâle, suite au tragique accident d’un train Rola près d’Auggen la semaine dernière.

Chaînon du secteur logistique, BLS Cargo assume une responsabilité dans la sécurité de l’approvisionnement de la population. BLS Cargo s’acquitte de cette responsabilité chaque jour. Néanmoins, l’entreprise a enregistré une baisse drastique de ses volumes et de son chiffre d’affaires d’environ 30% dans les mois à venir à la suite de la crise du coronavirus. Cette baisse est principalement due aux fermetures d'industries en Italie et à l'arrêt de secteurs entiers tels que l’industrie automobile. Le trafic en provenance de Chine marque un signe positif avec une reprise notable.

L’impact financier résultant de la crise sera sévère pour BLS Cargo. Les chiffres exacts ne sont pas encore disponibles. BLS Cargo est toutefois bien positionné sur le plan opérationnel et économique et a déjà prouvé à plusieurs reprises dans le passé qu’il peut tenir bon dans les périodes de tempête. C’est pourquoi BLS Cargo entend maintenir son efficacité afin d’être prêt lorsque ses clients reprendront leurs activités de transport. Le soutien à la politique de transfert reste l’une des principales préoccupations de BLS Cargo.

 

Pour tout complément d’information, contactez Stefanie Burri, responsable de l’équipe direction/communication de BLS Cargo SA, au +41 (0) 58 327 30 17 ou en envoyant un e-mail à stefanie.burri@bls.ch.

Information
Contact pour les représentants des médias

BLS AG, Service des médias
Téléphone +41 58 327 29 55
Fax +41 58 327 29 10
media@bls.ch

(lundi à vendredi, 08h00–17h00)

Restez automatiquement au courant
Recevez nos communiqués de presse au moyen du RSS feed
S’abonner
Newsletter