Construction projects

Upgrading of Lötschberg Base Tunnel

BLS upgrades the Lötschberg Base Tunnel. This will put in place the prerequisites for a half-hourly Intercity service between Bern and Valais. And freight trains will therefore travel more frequently through the Base Tunnel instead of using the Lötschberg mountain line, thus increasing productivity.

7 Kilomter up to the double track extension

The Lötschberg Base Tunnel is now on the cusp of full capacity. More and more passenger and freight trains are travelling through the approximately 35 kilometre-long tunnel. The main challenge: only around 40% of the line through the base tunnel is twin track. A second 14-kilometre tunnel tube has indeed been cut, but it has not yet been equipped for railway operation. A further seven kilometres are still to be cut through, so that trains can travel continuously through the tunnel on two tracks.

In the summer of 2019, the Swiss parliament gave the green light for upgrading the Lötschberg Base Tunnel. As a result, BLS can extend the unfinished tunnel tube which already exists between Ferden and Mitholz. Planning of the partial extension of the Lötschberg Base Tunnel is already well advanced. Public disclosure is scheduled for 2020, so that, in an ideal world, construction work can start in 2022. This means the earliest it can be put into service would be from the end of 2028.

0 of 0 Media files

    Partial extension means:

    • In the existing unfinished tunnel, the floor will be concreted, the vault firstly sealed with a special kind of sheeting and then clad with an inner tube of concrete. A concrete floor will also be built in.
    • Fitting the existing basic tunnel tube with railway equipment between Ferden and Mitholz:
      • a slab track will be built in. Instead of traditional ballast, the sleepers will be laid on a fixed concrete bed. In addition, catenary wires are to be installed along the entire length of the new rail tunnel.
      • Other technical equipment, such as ventilation and water systems, high-voltage plants and equipment, rail tunnel portals, radio equipment, lighting and safety equipment will be extended and adapted.
    • Installation of high-speed points in Mitholz, connecting the newly upgraded tunnel tube with the remaining single-track line. This set of points is 160 metres long, so that trains travelling at a speed of 180 kph (112 mph) can run through.
    • Installation of three additional sets of points in Ferden.This will provide the option of shifting maintenance work from one tunnel tube to another.
    • The second, existing, unfinished tunnel tube of the Engtsligen Tunnel between Frutigen and Wengy-Ey will also be fitted out with rail equipment and connected to the existing line.

    Eckdaten

    • CHF 920 million Cost
    0 of 0 Media files
      Projects & backgrounds
      Lötschberg Base Tunnel: a new Alpine rail link to connect Europe

      The Lötschberg Base Tunnel is the centrepiece of the BLS infrastructure. It is one of the safest, most modern and most technically complex rail tunnels in the world.

      CONNECT
      Construction projects
      New track in the Lötschberg Summit Tunnel

      Investing in the future: The tracks in the Lötschberg Summit Tunnel were last replaced in the 1970s. BLS is now investing in a modern and sustainable track so that our customers can continue to travel safely and conveniently through the tunnel between Goppenstein and Kandersteg.

      More
      Newsletter

Bauprojekte

Ausbau Lötschberg-Basistunnel

Die BLS baut den Lötschberg-Basistunnel aus. Damit schafft sie Voraussetzungen für den Intercity-Halbstundentakt zwischen Bern und dem Wallis. Und Güterzüge fahren damit öfter durch den Basistunnel statt über die Lötschberg-Bergstrecke – das steigert die Produktivität.

7 Kilomter bis zum Doppelspurausbau

Heute ist der Lötschberg-Basistunnel bis an seine Grenze ausgelastet. Immer mehr Personen- und Güterzüge fahren durch den rund 35 Kilometer langen Tunnel. Die Herausforderung: Der Basistunnel ist nur zu rund 40 Prozent zweispurig befahrbar. Auf einer Länge von 14 Kilometern ist eine zweite Röhre zwar ausgebrochen, aber nicht für den Bahnbetrieb ausgerüstet. Weitere sieben Kilometer müssten noch ausgebrochen werden, damit die Züge den Tunnel durchgängig auf zwei Spuren befahren könnten.

Im Sommer 2019 hat das Parlament grünes Licht für den Ausbau des Lötschberg-Basistunnels gegeben. Die BLS kann damit die bereits bestehende Rohbauröhre zwischen Ferden und Mitholz ausbauen. Die Planung für den Teilausbau des Lötschberg-Basistunnels ist bereits weit fortgeschritten. Die öffentliche Auflage ist für 2020 geplant, sodass die Bauarbeiten im Idealfall 2022 starten können. Eine Inbetriebnahme ist damit frühestens ab Ende 2028 möglich.

0 aus 0 Mediendateien

    Teilausbau heisst:

    • In der bereits bestehenden Rohbauröhre wird der Tunnelboden betoniert, das Gewölbe mit einer speziellen Folie zuerst abgedichtet und mit einer Innenring aus Beton ausgekleidet. Zudem wird eine Sohle aus Beton eingebaut.
    • Bahntechnische Ausrüstung der bestehenden Rohbauröhre zwischen Ferden und Mitholz:
      • Eine feste Fahrbahn wird eingebaut. Anstelle des klassischen Schotters werden die Schwellen mit einem festen Oberbau aus Beton verlegt. Zudem werden auf der gesamten Länge des neuen Bahntunnels Fahrleitungen installiert
      • Die weiteren technischen Einrichtungen wie Anlagen für Lüftung und Wasser, Hochspannungsanlagen, Bahntunneltore, Funkanlagen, Beleuchtung und Sicherungsanlagen werden erweitert und angepasst.
    • Einbau einer Hochgeschwindigkeits-Weiche in Mitholz, welche die neu ausgebaute Tunnelröhre mit der verbleibenden Einspurstrecke verbindet. Diese Weiche ist 160 Meter lang, damit die Züge mit einem Tempo von 180 km/h fahren können.
    • Einbau von drei zusätzlichen Weichen in Ferden. Damit wird die Möglichkeit geschaffen, für Unterhaltsarbeiten von einer Tunnelröhre in die andere zu wechseln.
    • Die zweite, bereits bestehende Rohbauröhre des Engstligentunnels zwischen Frutigen und Wengy-Ey wird ebenfalls bahntechnisch ausgerüstet und an die bestehende Strecke angeschlossen

    Eckdaten

    • CHF 920 Mio. Kosten
    0 aus 0 Mediendateien
      Projekte
      Lötschberg-Basistunnel: Die NEAT verbindet Europa

      Der Lötschberg-Basistunnel ist das Herzstück der BLS-Infrastruktur. Er ist einer der modernsten, sichersten und technisch komplexesten Bahntunnel der Welt.

      Mehr
      Bauprojekte
      Neue Fahrbahn im Lötschberg-Scheiteltunnel

      Eine Investition in die Zukunft: Die Gleise im Lötschberg-Scheiteltunnel wurden das letzte Mal in den 1970er Jahren ersetzt. Die BLS investiert jetzt in eine moderne und nachhaltige Fahrbahn, damit unsere Kunden auch in Zukunft sicher und bequem durch den Tunnel zwischen Goppenstein und Kandersteg reisen können.

      Mehr
      Newsletter