Who we are

Strategy

BLS continues with its consistent implementation of the priorities in its corporate strategy developed in 2018.

This provides the cornerstone for a sustainable future and reacts to the challenges faced in the sphere of mobility in general and public transport in particular. These challenges include growing customer demand, increasing competition in passenger and freight transport and changing workflows caused by digital transformation. BLS is also experiencing increased price pressure from the public sector.

Strategic priorities

Four strategic priorities apply to BLS as a whole and serve as a guide. BLS is consistently aligning its activities with these priorities and consolidating its activities within the four business areas of passenger mobility, freight transport, infrastructure and property.

1. A consistent focus on customers

During their journey, customers come into contact with BLS at various points and have certain expectations at each individual touchpoint. BLS wants to not only meet these expectations, but exceed them. Everything BLS does is geared towards the needs of its customers. With this aim in mind, BLS further developed the management system for customer interactions in 2020, for example, and standardised it throughout the company. This allows BLS to support its customers faster and on a more individualised basis.

2. Efficiency and fitness

In 2019, BLS launched a long-term and sustainable efficiency-savings programme. BLS is set to meet its target of reducing overall costs by 50 to 60 million francs a year by 2023. Despite the coronavirus pandemic, no additional measures have been planned; however, the financial uncertainty caused by the pandemic means that the efficiency-savings programme has become even more important. The improvements are predominantly applied in the purchasing department and within the entire logistics chain, as well as in the planning department and within the centralised business processes. For example, in 2020, BLS standardised its fleet of passenger carriages and will thus benefit in future from cheaper carriage maintenance. BLS introduced a new piece of software in its customer-service department last year which helps the department to tackle the currently increasing number of customer enquiries without having to hire more staff.

3. Market development

BLS wishes to adopt a formative role within the public transport sector and promote a competition of ideas to the benefit of passengers. For this purpose, BLS is fostering cross-industry collaborations – this facilitates the implementation of innovative ideas that improve quality and reduce costs. By commercially operating its three long-distance lines, BLS is able to continue developing and also reduce the costs of regional transport services entitled to public-sector funding. Through its part-ownership of BLS Cargo Ltd, BLS is able to contribute to functional competition in the rail-freight transport segment and provide its customers with attractive offers.

4. Collaborations

In order to more effectively tackle the challenges faced in the sphere of mobility, BLS has embraced collaborations within the sector and beyond. Together with strong partners, BLS is creating benefits for passengers and helping to shape the transport market of the future. A key role is played by the company’s partners in the area of data management, who are supporting BLS in its digital transformation. Since 2020, BLS has been working with Fairtiq in order to further develop automatic journey logging as a new sales channel. In 2020, BLS Navigation also expanded its collaborations with tourism partners such as the Grandhotel Giessbach.

0 of 0 Media files

    Business areas

    The strategic priorities apply to all four of the business areas that BLS structures its activities within.

    Passenger mobility

    BLS shapes mobility for its customers from door to door. The business area of passenger mobility includes national regional rail services, international regional rail services (the Iselle–Domodossola route), long-distance railway services (BLS Fernverkehr AG), regional bus services (Busland AG), boat services and the Car Transport service.

    Infrastructure

    BLS owns a rail network spanning 420 kilometres. On this network, it manages the train services and maintains train stations, tracks, overhead lines, tunnels and bridges. BLS’ infrastructure is operated by BLS Netz AG.

    Freight transport

    BLS reliably transports freight across the Alps within Switzerland as well as on the north-south axis from the North Sea to the Mediterranean. It assumes responsibility for the safe transport of the freight along the entire route. This business area includes BLS’ shareholdings in BLS Cargo Ltd., RAlpin and Hupac.

    Property

    BLS services and maintains existing properties, re-develops selected sites and constructs new buildings. In coordination with local municipalities, the company seeks to combine mobility with urban centres providing modern services and opportunities to shop and socialise. This is the responsibility of BLS Immobilien AG.

    0 of 0 Media files
      Newsletter

Wer wir sind

Unsere Strategie

Die BLS setzt die Stossrichtungen der im Jahr 2018 erarbeiteten Unternehmensstrategie weiter konsequent um.

Darin legt sie den Grundstein für eine nachhaltige Zukunftsgestaltung und reagiert auf die Herausforderungen im Umfeld der Mobilität im Allgemeinen und im öffentlichen Verkehr im Speziellen. Zu diesen Herausforderungen zählen steigende Kundenanforderungen, zunehmender Wettbewerb im Personen- und Güterverkehr oder veränderte Arbeitsabläufe aufgrund der digitalen Transformation. Ausserdem spürt die BLS einen zunehmenden Kostendruck seitens der öffentlichen Hand.

Strategische Stossrichtungen

Vier strategische Stossrichtungen gelten für die gesamte BLS und geben Orientierung. Die BLS richtet ihr Handeln konsequent an diesen Stossrichtungen aus und bündelt ihre Tätigkeiten in die vier Geschäftsfelder Personenmobilität, Güterverkehr, Infrastruktur und Immobilien.

1. Konsequente Kundenorientierung

Auf ihrer Reise kommen die Kunden an unterschiedlichen Punkten mit der BLS in Kontakt und haben dabei bestimmte Erwartungen an jeden einzelnen Kontaktpunkt. Diese Erwartungen will die BLS nicht nur erfüllen, sondern übertreffen. Alles, was die BLS tut, richtet sie auf die Bedürfnisse ihrer Kunden aus. Ausgerichtet auf dieses Ziel hat die BLS im Jahr 2020 zum Beispiel das Management von Kundeninteraktionen weiterentwickelt und unternehmensweit vereinheitlicht. Das erlaubt es der BLS, ihre Kunden schneller und individueller zu betreuen.

2. Effizienz und Fitness

Im Jahr 2019 hat die BLS ein langfristig ausgelegtes und nachhaltiges Effizienzprogramm gestartet. Am Ziel, die Gesamtkosten bis im Jahr 2023 um 50 bis 60 Millionen Franken jährlich zu senken, hält die BLS fest. Trotz der Corona-Pandemie sind keine zusätzlichen Massnahmen geplant, aber mit der durch die Pandemie verursachten finanziellen Unsicherheit ist das Effizienzprogramm noch wichtiger geworden. Verbessert werden überwiegend Tätigkeiten im Einkauf und in der gesamten Logistikkette sowie bei der Planung und den zentralen Geschäftsabläufen. Im Jahr 2020 hat die BLS beispielsweise ihre Personenwagenflotte vereinheitlicht und profitiert so künftig von einem günstigeren Unterhalt der Autos. Im Kundensupport hat die BLS letztes Jahr eine neue Software eingeführt, dank welcher der Kundendienst die derzeit steigende Anzahl Kundenanfragen bei gleichbleibendem Personalbestand bewältigen kann.

3. Marktgestaltung

Die BLS will im öffentlichen Verkehr eine gestaltende Rolle einnehmen und einen Wettbewerb der Ideen fördern, der den Fahrgästen zugutekommt. Dabei setzt die BLS auf branchenübergreifende Zusammenarbeit – so können innovative Ideen umgesetzt werden, welche die Qualität steigern und die Kosten senken. Durch den eigenwirtschaftlichen Betrieb ihrer drei Fernverkehrslinien kann sich die BLS weiterentwickeln und die Kosten des abgeltungsberechtigten Regionalverkehrs senken. Im Schienengüterverkehr trägt die BLS mit ihrer Beteiligung an der BLS Cargo AG zu einem funktionierenden Wettbewerb bei und sorgt für attraktive Angebote für ihre Kunden.

4. Kooperationen

Um die Herausforderungen im Umfeld der Mobilität besser zu meistern, setzt die BLS auf Kooperationen innerhalb und ausserhalb der Branche. Zusammen mit starken Partnern schafft die BLS Vorteile für die Fahrgäste und gestaltet den Verkehrsmarkt der Zukunft mit. Eine wichtige Rolle spielen dabei Partner im Bereich des Datenmanagements, welche die BLS bei der digitalen Transformation unterstützen. Seit 2020 arbeitet die BLS mit Fairtiq zusammen, um die automatische Reiseerfassung als neuen Vertriebskanal weiterzuentwickeln. Auch die Schifffahrt hat im Jahr 2020 ihre Kooperationen mit Tourismuspartnern, etwa dem Grandhotel Giessbach, verstärkt.

Geschäftsfelder

Die strategischen Stossrichtungen gelten für alle vier Geschäftsfelder, in welche die BLS ihre Tätigkeiten gliedert.

Personenmobilität

Die BLS gestaltet die Mobilität für den Kunden von Tür zu Tür. Zum Geschäftsfeld Personenmobilität gehören der Regionalverkehr Bahn national, der Regionalverkehr Bahn international (Strecke Iselle–Domodossola), der Fernverkehr (BLS Fernverkehr AG), der regionale Busverkehr (Busland AG), die Schifffahrt und der Autoverlad.

Infrastruktur

Die BLS besitzt ein 420 Kilometer langes Eisenbahnnetz. Auf diesem Netz leitet sie den Zugverkehr, unterhält Bahnhöfe, Fahrbahnen, Fahrleitungen, Tunnel und Brücken. Betrieben wird die Infrastruktur der BLS durch die BLS Netz AG.

Güterverkehr

Die BLS lässt innerhalb der Schweiz sowie auf der Nord-Süd-Achse zwischen Nordsee und Mittelmeer den Güterverkehr zuverlässig über die Alpen rollen. Sie übernimmt dabei auf der gesamten Strecke die Transportverantwortung. Zum Geschäftsfeld gehören die Beteiligungen der BLS an der BLS Cargo AG, RAlpin und Hupac.

Immobilien

Die BLS bewirtschaftet und unterhält bestehende Immobilien, entwickelt ausgewählte Areale weiter und realisiert Neubauten. In Abstimmung mit den Standortgemeinden will sie Mobilität mit modernen Dienstleistungs-, Einkaufs- und Begegnungszentren verknüpfen. Verantwortlich dafür ist die BLS Immobilien AG.

Newsletter
PDF herunterladen
0 aus 0 Mediendateien