Construction projects

Modernisation of Zweisimmen Railway Station

A world first in the Oberland: people travelling from Montreux to Interlaken will soon no longer have to change trains in Zweisimmen but can instead remain comfortably seated in their carriages. BLS is making this possible by installing an innovative piece of equipment for the GoldenPass Express at the Zweisimmen Railway Station that will allow GoldenPass Express trains to switch from a narrow gauge to a standard gauge track.

Zweisimmen Railway Station has grown old. Its security facilities no longer meet the modern technological standard; its platforms are old and not disabled-friendly; and the entire rail system at the station is outdated and in need of restoration. This is why the railway station has been undergoing modernisation work since 2015, costing around CHF 58 million.

Two different track systems are in use at Zweisimmen. One is the BLS standard-gauge tracks, the other is the MOB’s narrow-gauge tracks. As part of the modernisation work, the two systems are being connected by means of a technically innovative feature, so that passengers can in future remain on board at Zweisimmen.

Key data for the modernisation

  • Construction start: August 2015
  • Work due for completion: end of 2018
  • Costs: the total costs for the comprehensive modernisation of Zweisimmen Railway Station amount to CHF 58 million.

What will the project achieve?

The main features of the modernisation

  • Construction of a new electronic signal tower for automatic train guidance. This allows BLS to make its railway operations more efficient.
  • Adjustment of the platform height and length. Zweisimmen Railway Station must meet the requirements of the Swiss Disability Discrimination Act (DDA), which enshrines in law the discrimination-free access to public transport. Railway operators must adapt their railway infrastructure and trains by the end of 2023.
  • Adjustment of the “Untere Tüllistrasse” railway bridge and remodelling of the station area
  • Modernisation and widening of the bridges over the Kleine Simme stream
  • Track construction: the entire track system is being simplified. In addition, an innovative gauge conversion system is being created so that narrow-gauge and normal-gauge tracks can be combined. This will make it possible to travel to Interlaken from Montreux without having to change over.
0 of 0 Media files
    Information
    Goldenpass Express

    Chemin de fer Montreux Oberland Bernois

    more
    Construction projects
    Construction noise and other disruptions

    Where there’s construction work, there’s noise

    More
    Projects and background
    Barrier-free travel
    More
    Newsletter

Bauprojekte

Modernisierung Bahnhof Zweisimmen

Eine Weltneuheit im Oberland: Schon bald werden Reisende von Montreux nach Interlaken in Zweisimmen nicht mehr umsteigen müssen, sondern können bequem im Zug sitzen bleiben. Die BLS installiert dafür am Bahnhof Zweisimmen eine innovative Anlage für den Goldenpass-Express, damit dessen Züge von einer Schmalspur- auf eine Normalspurbahn umgespurt werden können.

Der Bahnhof Zweisimmen ist in die Jahre gekommen. Die Sicherungsanlagen entsprechen nicht mehr dem heutigen Stand der Technik, die Perrons sind alt und nicht behindertengerecht und auch die gesamte Gleisanlage um den Bahnhof ist veraltet und sanierungsbedürftig. Deshalb wird der Bahnhof seit 2015 für rund CHF 58 Mio. modernisiert. 

In Zweisimmen sind  zwei verschiedene Bahnsysteme vorhanden. Einserseits die Normalspurgleise der BLS, anderseits die Schmalspurgleise der MOB. Im Rahmen der Modernisierung werden die zwei Systeme anhand einer technisch innovativen Anlage verbunden, damit Reisende künftig in Zweisimmen sitzen bleiben können. 

Eckdaten der Modernisierung

  • Baubeginn: August 2015
  • Fertigstellung der Arbeiten: Ende 2018
  • Kosten: Die Gesamtkosten für die umfassende Erneuerung des Bahnhofs Zweisimmen belaufen sich auf CHF 58 Millionen.

Was bringt das Projekt? 

Die Hauptelemente der Modernisierung

  • Bau eines neuen elektronischen Stellwerks für die automatische Zuglenkung. Damit kann die BLS den Bahnbetrieb effizienter gestalten.
  • Anpassungen der Perronhöhe und -länge. Der Bahnhof Zweisimmen muss den Anforderungen an das Behindertengleichstellungsgesetz (BehiG) gerecht werden, welches den diskriminierungsfreien Zugang zum ÖV vorschreibt. Die Bahnen müssen bis Ende 2023 ihre Bahninfrastruktur und ihre Züge anpassen.
  • Anpassung am Bahnübergang «Untere Tüllistrasse» und Neugestaltung der Bahnhofsumgebung
  • Erneuerung und Verbreiterung der Brücken über die kleine Simme
  • Gleisbauarbeiten: Das gesamte Gleisfeld wird vereinfacht. Zudem entsteht eine neuartige Umspuranlage, damit Schmal- und Normalspurgleise miteinander verbunden werden können. Dadurch werden umsteigefreie Fahrten von Montreux bis Interlaken möglich.
0 aus 0 Mediendateien
    Informationen
    Goldenpass-Express

    Chemin de fer Montreux Oberland Bernois

    mehr
    Bauprojekte
    Baulärm und andere Beeinträchtigungen

    Wo gebaut wird, gibt’s Lärm

    Mehr
    Projekte & Hintergründe
    Barrierefrei reisen
    Mehr
    Newsletter