Hiking & nature

Spiez–Thun panorama trail

Diverse landscape in the Bernese Oberland: mountains, forests, meadows and towns

The varied panoramic hike along Lake Thun connects the two pretty towns of Spiez and Thun. Travel in comfort on public transport to Spiez and start the hike from there. Discover vineyards, a romantic church, meadows, forests and the reed landscape on the shores of Lake Thun.

Trail description

This varied hike begins in the bay of Spiez. Arriving at Spiez train station, you’ll walk through the charming little town down to the castle and then through the vineyards to the edge of the forest. Here you can enjoy a magnificent view of Spiez, the bay and Lake Thun. 

Follow the trail markers for hiking route number 26. As you walk through the forest, you cross the Spiezberg on the way to Spiezmoos. Later, you’ll come to a higher-altitude path with a great view, where you can enjoy the vastness and the immense mountain panorama in the background. The path brings you to the little village of Einigen am See, which offers a detour into cultural history in the form of the romantic Einigen Church, decorated with great delicacy and rich detail. From here, the path takes you further along the edge of the forest to the Kanderschlucht gorge.

You cross the Kander via the footbridge and come to the Strättlighügel hill, where benches invite you to take a rest. In fog, the Strättlighügel looks especially mystical. From up at the ruins of the Strättligburg, which lie directly by the path, the panorama is particularly impressive, with the peaks of the Niesen and the Niederhorn on the opposite side of the lake dominating the picture.

After resting a while, you descend again towards Gwatt. The lakeside path now leads you along Lake Thun through the nature reserve in Bonstetten Park – a true paradise for birds. The landscape of reeds lends this section a restful tranquillity. 

In summer, you can finish your walk at the lido in Thun or continue towards the train station to the beautiful Schadaupark, where its extensive lawns invite you to while away some time. From there, it’s just ten minutes on foot to Thun train station, from where you can comfortably make your way home. Or treat yourself to a detour into the charming city of Thun and end the day by indulging in one of the many cosy restaurants.

Key information

Route  Spiez–Thun via Einigen, Gwatt
Distance 14 km
Hiking time 3 h 45 min
Elevation difference + 340 m / - 340 m
Sights along the way  Einigen Church, Spiezmoos,lakeside path

Availability Today (Monday) open

The panorama trail is accessible all year round.

BLS suggestion

Purchase the snack box to take with you directly from the office of Spiez Marketing AG when you arrive at the train station (available during the summer months). It contains various local products that you can enjoy on your walk during a well-deserved rest.

The box contains: apple juice, water, chocolate, apple rings, bread, Spiezer cheese, Landjäger sausage and a postcard.

Or stop at the farm store in Einigen along the way, where you can buy local fresh produce to enjoy yourself or give as a gift. 

How to get there

Travel comfortably by train to Spiez. From Spiez train station, walk through the old town in the direction of the harbour area / Spiez Bay. Now follow the official trail markers for hiking route 26 to Einigen and Thun.

No reviews 0 of 5 stars

Rate
Additional ratings

Location

Tickets & timetable
Similar offers
Hiking & nature
Niederhorn Wandern
Walks in the Niederhorn area
Experience
Hiking & nature
Stimmungsbild im Emmental
From the Emmental to the Lake Thun region
Entdecken
Hiking & nature
Der BLS Wanderbus auf dem Weg zur Lüderenalp.
From Lüderenalp around the Gohlgrabe
Discover
Hiking & nature
Mit dem BLS Wanderbus durch das idyllische Trub.
From Trub via Höstulle and Grüebli up to the Napf
Discover
Offers nearby
Knowledge & culture
Thuner Schlossberg
The castles of Lake Thun
Discover
Leisure activities
Kanuweg Thunersee
Canoe Trail
Experience
Boat Charter Lake Brienz
Dampfschiff Lötschberg bei Brienz
PS «Lötschberg» 140 banquet seats
more
Boat Charter Lake Brienz
MS Jungfrau
MS «Jungfrau» 161 banquet seats
more
Newsletter
Download PDF
0 of 0 Media files

Wandern & Natur

Panoramaweg Spiez–Thun

Vielfältige Landschaft im Berner Oberland: Berge, Wälder, Wiesen und Städte

Die abwechslungsreiche Panoramawanderung entlang des Thunersees verbindet die beiden hübschen Städte Spiez und Thun. Sie reisen bequem mit dem ÖV nach Spiez und starten dort die Wanderung. Entdecken Sie Rebberge, eine romantische Kirche, Wiesen, Wälder und die Schilflandschaft am Ufer des Thunersees.

Wanderbeschreibung

Diese vielseitige Wanderung startet in der Bucht von Spiez. Am Bahnhof Spiez angekommen gehen Sie durch das charmante Städtchen bis hinunter zum Schloss und danach durch die Rebberge bis zum Waldrand. Hier geniessen Sie eine wunderschöne Aussicht auf Spiez, die Bucht und den Thunersee.

Folgen Sie den Wegweisern mit der Wanderroute Nummer 26. Durch den Wald spazieren Sie über den Spiezberg nach Spiezmoos. Später kommen Sie auf einen aussichtsreichen  Höhenweg. Hier geniessen Sie die Weiten und das gewaltige Bergpanorama im Hintergrund. Der Weg bringt Sie zum kleinen Dorf Einigen am See. Machen Sie hier einen Abstecher in die Kulturgeschichte in Form der romantischen Kirche Einigen, die mit viel Feingefühl und detailreich geschmückt ist. Von hier führt Sie der Weg weiter an den Waldrand zur Kanderschlucht.

Sie überqueren die Kander auf der Fussgängerbrücke und kommen auf den Strättlighügel. Dort laden Bänke zu einer Rast ein. Der Strättlighügel sieht bei Nebel besonders mystisch aus. Oben auf der Strättligburg, welche direkt am Wegrand liegt, wirkt das Panorama besonders eindrucksvoll. Die Gipfel des Niesens und des Niederhorns auf der gegenüberliegenden Seeseite beherrschen das Bild.

Nach Ihrer Rast steigen Sie wieder hinunter nach Gwatt. Der Uferweg führt Sie nun entlang dem Thunersee durch das Naturschutzgebiet im Bonstettenpark - ein wahres Vogelparadies. Die Schilflandschaft verleiht diesem Abschnitt eine erholsame Ruhe. 

Im Sommer können Sie den Spaziergang im Strandbad Thun ausklingen lassen oder sie laufen Richtung Bahnhof weiter bis zum herrlichen Schadaupark, wo eine grosse Liegewiese zum Verweilen einlädt. Von hier sind es noch zehn Gehminuten an den Bahnhof Thun. Von hier aus fahren Sie bequem wieder nach Hause. Oder gönnen Sie sich noch einen Abstecher in die charmante Stadt Thun und lassen Sie den Tag genussvoll in einem der vielen gemütlichen Restaurants ausklingen.

Eckdaten

Route  Spiez–Thun via Einigen, Gwatt
Distanz 14 km
Wanderzeit 3 Std. 45 Min.
Höhendifferenz + 340 m / - 340 m
Sehenswürdigkeiten unterwegs  Kirche Einigen, Spiezmoos, Uferweg

Verfügbarkeit Heute Donnerstag verfügbar

Der Panoramaweg ist ganzjährig begehbar.

BLS-Tipp

Kaufen Sie die Snackbox für unterwegs bei Ihrer Ankunft am Bahnhof gleich beim Büro der Spiez Marketing AG (erhältlich während den Sommermonaten). Sie enthält verschiedene lokale Produkte, die Sie unterwegs bei einer wohlverdienten Rast geniessen können.

Die Box beinhaltet: Apfelsaft, Wasser, Schokolade, Apfelringe, Brot, Spiezer Käse, Landjäger und eine Postkarte.

Oder halten Sie unterwegs in Einigen am Hofladen und kaufen Sie Ihre lokalen frischen Produkte zum Geniessen oder Verschenken gleich dort.  

Anreise

Reisen Sie bequem mit dem Zug bis nach Spiez. Gehen Sie ab Spiez Bahnhof durch das Städtli in Richtung Hafenareal / Spiezer Bucht. Folgen Sie nun der offiziellen Wanderweg-Beschilderung Nummer 26 nach Einigen und Thun.

Keine Bewertungen 0 von 5 Sternen

Bewerten
Weitere Bewertungen

Standort

Tickets & Fahrplan
Ähnliche Angebote
Wandern & Natur
Winterwanderweg Hoeh Aussicht
Schneeschuhlaufen und Winterwandern in Kandersteg
Entdecken
Wandern & Natur
Oeschinensee Kandersteg
Winterwandern am Oeschinensee
Erleben
Wissen & Kultur
Tschäggättä - lebendiges Brauchtum im Lötschental
Lötschental – Kultur und Tradition erleben
entdecken
Sparangebote
Kambly Karte Entdeckerpfad
Entdeckerpfad Trubschachen
Entdecken
Angebote in der Nähe
Wissen & Kultur
Thun von oben Schloss Schadau
Thunerseeschlösser
Entdecken
Schiffsmiete Brienzersee
MS Brienz bei Bönigen
MS «Brienz» 194 Bankettplätze
mehr
Schiffsmiete Brienzersee
MS Jungfrau
MS «Jungfrau» 161 Bankettplätze
mehr
Schiffsmiete Brienzersee
Dampfschiff Lötschberg bei Brienz
DS «Lötschberg» 140 Bankettplätze
mehr
Newsletter
PDF herunterladen
0 aus 0 Mediendateien