Bijouland

The Neuchâtel region

Neuchâtel and Lake Neuchâtel

Neuchâtel, the capital city of the canton with the same name, is picturesquely situated immediately on the lakeshore. The castle mound with the collegiate church of yellow sandstone are the emblems of the city and visible from far away. The waterside promenade is perfect for a stroll, and the surrounding area offers numerous walking opportunities. Anyone exploring Neuchâtel on foot will discover that this charming city is a true gem. Its narrow alleys and roads lead from one discovery to the next. There are numerous museums, beautiful shops with regional products, and typical cafés to relax in. If you want to enjoy wonderful far-reaching views out over the lake and the city, then walk up Neuchâtel’s local hill, the Chaumont, or make the ascent of just under 600 metres with the funicular railway.

Neuchâtel Tourist Card

The Neuchâtel Tourist Card is a pass available to every visitor who stays a minimum of one night in a hotel or other form of commercial accommodation in the canton of Neuchâtel. It entitles them to free use of the following services:

  • Free travel on all forms of public transport within the canton of Neuchatel (train, cable car, bus)
  • Entry to one of the canton’s 25 museums
  • A boat ride on Lake Neuchâtel and Lac des Brenets
  • Day rental of a bicycle in Neuchâtel, La Chaux-de-Fonds or Le Locle
  • A ride on the Buttes – La Robella chairlift

March of the 1st of March

On 1 March, the canton of Neuchâtel celebrates its revolution. Residents of the canton gather in Le Locle early in the morning and march to Neuchâtel Castle via La Chaux-de-Fonds. In doing so, they follow in the footsteps of the revolutionaries who in 1848 – more than 30 years after Neuchâtel joined the Swiss Confederation – drove out the Prussian overlords. This initiative was introduced by the radio presenter Rémy Gogniat in 1985. During its first year, the event attracted fewer than 60 participants. In 1998, the 150th anniversary year, it was already more than 6,000! The marchers always set off at 09.00 hours, with a cannon-shot acting as the start signal. At the end of each leg of the march, participants are welcomed with a cup of tea, a piece of Neuchâtel yeast cake or a bowl of soup.

Torée – the Neuchâtel sausage cooked over the autumn bonfire

In the canton of Neuchâtel, the custom of cooking a sausage wrapped in cabbage over a bonfire made using cleared vegetation on a sunny autumn day is called the torée. This old tradition is kept alive as a celebration with family and friends.

An authentic torée must include a typical Neuchâtel saucisson (a spicy sausage made with pork and bacon), which is wrapped in a cabbage leaf, butcher’s paper, newspaper or aluminium and cooked in the embers of an autumn bonfire by the edge of the forest. This is served with potatoes, salad, bread, mustard, and of course a glass or two of local wine. This Neuchâtel tradition is still celebrated to this day in autumn. The torée originated in the local farmers’ annual custom of chopping down the vegetation surrounding their farmland and thus keeping their pastures from becoming overgrown. Every farmer brought along a sausage to this communal task, which they then cooked in a big bonfire made of all the cleared vegetation. Over the years, this tradition of the torée became what is today a fun celebration.

0 Media files
    Ville du Goût
    Neuchatel Belle Epoque
    Genussstadt Neuenburg
    More
    Bijouland
    Zug bei der Ausfahrt aus dem Bahnhof La Chaux-de-Fonds
    Your way to the Bijouland
    More
    Bijouland
    Zwei Freundinnen informieren sich über Kopfhörer über die Ausstellung im Museum.
    Lake Murten, Neuchâtel and Neuchâtel Jura excursions
    Discover
    Bijouland
    Laténium musée d
    Die schönsten Museen im Kanton Neuenburg
    More
    Newsletter

Willkommen im Bijouland

Region Neuchâtel

Neuchâtel und Neuenburger See

Neuenburg, die Hauptstadt des gleichnamigen Kantons, liegt malerisch direkt am Seeufer. Der Schlosshügel mit der Stiftskirche aus gelbem Sandstein sind Wahrzeichen der Stadt und von weit her sichtbar. Die Uferpromenade lädt zum Flanieren ein, und die Umgebung bietet zahlreiche Wandermöglichkeiten. Wer sich zu Fuss auf einen Stadtspaziergang begibt, wird die charmante Stadt als wahres Juwel erleben. In den engen Gassen und Strassen wird man von einer Entdeckung zur anderen geführt. Es gibt zahlreiche Museen, schöne Läden mit regionalen Produkten und typische Cafés zum Verweilen. Wer die wunderbare Weitsicht über den See und Aussicht auf die Stadt geniessen möchte, wandert zu Fuss auf den Neuenburger Hausberg Chaumont oder überwindet die knapp 600 Höhenmeter mit der Standseilbahn.

Neuchâtel Touristenkarte

Die Neuchâtel Tourist Card ist ein Pass, der jeden Besucher, der sich mindestens eine Nacht in einem Hotel oder einer Parahotellerie-Unterkunft des Kantons Neuenburg aufhält, zur kostenlosen Nutzung folgender Leistungen berechtigt:

  • Freie Fahrt mit allen öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln des Kantons Neuenburg (Zug, Seilbahn, Bus)
  • Ein Eintritt in 25 Museen des Kantons
  • Eine Schifffahrt auf dem Neuenburger See und dem Lac des Brenets
  • Tagesmiete eines Velos in Neuchâtel, La Chaux-de-Fonds oder Le Locle
  • Eine Fahrt mit dem Sessellift Buttes – La Robella

Marsch des 1. März

Der Kanton Neuenburg feiert am 1. März seine Revolution. Einwohnerinnen und Einwohner des Kantons versammeln sich früh am Morgen in Le Locle und marschieren über La Chaux-de-Fonds bis zum Schloss Neuenburg. Dabei folgen sie dem Weg der Revolutionäre, die 1848 die preussischen Vögte vertrieben, über 30 Jahre nach dem Beitritt von Neuenburg zur Eidgenossenschaft. Diese Initiative wurde 1985 vom Radiomoderator Rémy Gogniat eingeführt. Bei der 1. Durchführung wurden knapp 60 Teilnehmer verzeichnet, beim 150-Jahr- Jubiläum in 1998 waren es bereits über 6000! Der Abmarsch erfolgt immer um 09.00 Uhr und wird per Kanonenschuss bekanntgegeben. Nach jeder Etappe warten eine Tasse Tee, ein Stück Neuenburger Hefekuchen oder ein Teller Suppe auf die Marschierenden.

Torée – Die Neuenburger Wurst vom Herbstfeuer

Wenn im Kanton Neuenburg an einem sonnigen Herbsttag eine in Kohl gewickelte Saucisson in einem Feuer aus Rodungsabfällen zubereitet wird, ist das die Torée. Diese alte Tradition wird bis heute als Familienfest oder unter Freunden gepflegt.

Zu einer echten Torée gehört eine typische Neuenburger Saucisson (würzige Wurst aus Schweinefleisch und Speck), die eingewickelt in ein Kohlblatt, ein Metzgerpapier, Zeitungspapier oder Aluminium am Waldrand in der Glut eines Herbstfeuers geschmort wird. Dazu gibt es Kartoffeln, Salat, Brot, Senf und natürlich ein Gläschen regionalen Wein. Die Neuenburger Tradition wird bis heute jeweils im Herbst gefeiert. Ihren Ursprung hat die Torée darin, dass die Bauern alljährlich eine Rodungsaktion zur Pflege der Nutzflächen ihrer Höfe durchführten. Damit wollten sie ihre Weiden vor einer Verwaldung schützen. Zu dieser gemeinsamen Aktion brachte jeder Bauer eine Wurst mit um sie im grossen Feuer der Rodungsabfälle zu braten. Daraus entwickelte sich im Laufe der Jahre die heutige Torée zu einem Freizeitvergnügen.

0 aus 0 Mediendateien
    entdecken
    Willkommen im Bijouland
    Zug bei der Ausfahrt aus dem Bahnhof La Chaux-de-Fonds
    Ihr Weg ins Bijouland
    Mehr
    Bijouland
    Spass mit der Familie
    Ausflüge Murtensee, Neuchâtel und Neuenburger Jura
    entdecken
    Newsletter