Historic vehicles

X4085 goods wagon

As an Alpine railway, BLS was an important rail freight operator. In addition to transalpine freight transport, BLS was also tasked with handling regional goods transport. Contemporary witnesses from this era are exceedingly scarce within the wagon fleet, and the goods wagon described here is a final specimen of its type from this pivotal period in the history of the Bernese State Railway.

Today, this goods wagon is no longer in working order and is parked at the historic train station in Frutigen

  • X4085 Designation formerly: Ce 4/6 307 EZB (Erlenbach-Zweisimmen-Bahn)
  • 1 Quantity
  • 236-1 Number
  • 1914 Put into service

History historic rail vehicle

As insufficient refuse pits were available for disposing of household rubbish from the city of Bern, a range of alternative solutions were explored. On 9 March 1913, the municipality of Bern decided to construct a waste loading facility in Fischermätteli to transport refuse by rail to Witzwil. The City of Bern entered into a 20-year contract with the railway companies, Witzwil Prison and the cantonal police department for refuse disposal. Transportation started in January 1914. In 1934, the City of Bern extended the contracts for a further 20 years, as refuse from the neighbouring municipalities of Köniz and Muri was now also being removed.

In 1954, Witzwil Prison cancelled its contract with the City of Bern. This forced the city to build the refuse incineration plant in Warmbächlimulde in 1952, which was state of the art at the time. The agreement between the city and the railways was terminated on 31 July 1954. On 4 August 1954, the last four refuse wagons travelled to Witzwil. The refuse transportation vehicles were then parked together at Erlenbach train station. Efforts to secure a sale were unsuccessful, and the likelihood of further waste transportation was minimal. This meant that all but one of the wagons were converted.

The one that still exists is located at the historic train station in Frutigen. As soon as space can be created in the BLS Foundation's historic depot, the refuse wagon will be on display there as part of guided tours.

Text input: Hans Roth

Mehr
Other offers
Historic vehicles
Re 425 165 «Aschi»
Re 425 165 "Aschi"
more
Historic vehicles
Ce 4/4 312
Locomotive Ce 4/4 312
more
Historic vehicles
Ae 6 8 Seftigen
Ae 6/8 – historic locomotive
more
Historic vehicles
EWI-Pendelzug
Passenger wagon EW I As
more
Newsletter
Download PDF
0 of 0 Media files

Historische Fahrzeuge

X4085 Güterwagen

Die BLS war als Alpenbahn eine bedeutende Güterbahn. Neben dem alpenquerenden Güterverkehr bestand die Aufgabe der BLS auch den regionalen Warentransport zu bewältigen. Dokumentierende Zeitzeugen aus dieser Zeit sind im Wagenpark absolut rar und der hier beschriebene Güterwagen ist ein letztes Unikat dieses Typs dieser wichtigen Zeitgeschichte der «Berner Staatsbahn».

Heute ist dieser Güterwagen nicht mehr fahrtüchtig und steht beim historischen Bahnhof in Frutigen

  • X4085 Bezeichnung
  • 1 Stückzahl
  • 236-1 Nummerierung
  • 1914 Inbetriebsetzung

Geschichte historisches Fahrzeug

Da die Abfallgruben für die Verwertung des Hauskehrichts der Stadt Bern nicht mehr ausreichten, wurden verschiedene Lösungsansätze studiert. Durch den Beschluss vom 9. März 1913 entschied sich die Einwohnergemeinde Bern für den Bau einer Kehricht-Verladeanlage im Fischermätteli für den Bahntransport des Kehrichts nach Witzwil. Die Stadt Bern schloss mit den Bahngesellschaften und der Strafanstalt Witzwil bzw. der kantonalen Polizeidirektion einen Vertrag über 20 Jahre für die Entsorgung des Kehrichts ab. Im Januar 1914 starteten die Transporte. Die Stadt Bern verlängerte die Verträge 1934 um weitere 20 Jahre, da nun auch der Kehricht der Nachbargemeinden Köniz und Muri abtransportiert wurde.

1954 kündigte die Strafanstalt Witzwil den Vertrag mit der Stadt Bern. Das zwang die Stadt bereits 1952 zum Bau der für die damalige Zeit moderne Kehrichtverbrennungsanlage in der Warmbächlimulde. Per 31. Juli 1954 wurde die Übereinkunft zwischen der Stadt und den Bahnen aufgelöst. So wurden am 4. August 1954 die letzten vier Kehrrichtwagen nach Witzwil gefahren. Anschliessend wurden die Kehrichttransportwagen gesammelt im Bahnhof Erlenbach abgestellt. Die Aussichten auf einen Verkauf war erfolglos und die Chance auf weitere Kehrrichttransporte gering. So wurden mit Ausnahme eines Exemplars sämtliche Wagen umgebaut.

Das heute noch bestehende Exemplar steht beim historischen Bahnhof in Frutigen. Sobald im historischen Depot der BLS-Stiftung Platz geschaffen werden kann, wird der Kehrichtwagen dort im Rahmen von Führungen zu besichtigen sein.

Textinput: Hans Roth

Weitere Angebote
Historische Fahrzeuge
Ae 8/8 –  ©railsuisse.ch
Ae 8/8 – Historische Lokomotive «Muni»
mehr
Historische Fahrzeuge
Ce 4/6 307 Dekretsmühle in Frutigen
Ce 4/6 307 Dekretsmühle
mehr
Historische Fahrzeuge
EWI-Pendelzug
Personenwagen EW I As
mehr
Historische Fahrzeuge
Ce 4/4 312
Lokomotive Ce 4/4 312
mehr
Newsletter
PDF herunterladen
0 aus 0 Mediendateien