Press release 17.11.2020

BLS Cargo: Through-running to Belgium

In early November, BLS Cargo broke new ground by running services through to Belgium without a change of locomotive at the borders. A combination of BLS Cargo’s new multi-system locomotives and Belgian subsidiary Crossrail Benelux NV made this possible.

Since the beginning of the month, BLS Cargo has been running freight trains for Italian operator Ambrogio Intermodal through to Belgium using the same locomotive throughout. This is the first time the company has used its new Vectron Re 475 locomotives end-to-end on the route with the service being provided almost entirely by BLS Cargo group resources. Belgian subsidiary, Crossrail Benelux, hauls the trains in Germany and Belgium, in Switzerland its BLS Cargo itself. “This brings Belgium nearer to us and means we can associate ourselves more closely with Crossrail” says Dirk Stahl, CEO BLS Cargo. There are benefits not only for the company, but also for customers, as services move more quickly and seamlessly across borders and locomotive utilisation is optimised. «As a partner of BLS Cargo since its foundation, we are proud to be a part of this breakthrough innovation allowing to connect Italy with Belgium under a single production», says Livio Ambrogio, President of Ambrogio Group.

12 months from order placement to commercial operation

In October 2019, BLS Cargo ordered 25 new ‘Vectron’ multi-system locomotives from Siemens, equipped with traction and train control systems required for operation in Germany (D), Austria (A), Switzerland (CH), Italy (I), the Netherlands (NL) and Belgium (B). Siemens has ensured that locomotives have been rolled out in batches as planned and has arranged for the necessary operating licences for this freight corridor to be issued in good time.  A total of 10 units will be delivered by the end of 2020 with the remaining 15 due to follow in 2023. 

 

For further information, please contact Stefanie Burri, BLS Cargo AG, Head of Staff/Communication on tel. 058 327 30 17 or stefanie.burri@bls.ch.

blscargo.ch

 
0 of 0 Media files
    Information
    Contact for media representatives

    BLS Ltd, media office
    telephone +41 58 327 29 55
    fax +41 58 327 29 10
    media@bls.ch

    (Monday to Friday, 08.00–17.00 hours)

    Automatically up to date
    Receive our press releases via RSS feed
    Subscribe
    Newsletter

Medienmitteilung 17.11.2020

BLS Cargo: Durchgehend nach Belgien

BLS Cargo hat Anfang November Neuland betreten und fährt erstmals grenzüberschreitend bis nach Belgien. Die neuen Mehrsystemlokomotiven und die belgische Tochtergesellschaft Crossrail Benelux N.V. machen es möglich.

Seit Anfang November 2020 fährt BLS Cargo die Züge des italienischen Spediteurs Ambrogio Intermodal mit durchgehender Lok bis nach Belgien. Damit setzt das Unternehmen erstmals die neuen Vectron Loks Re 475 grenzüberschreitend auf dem Korridor ein und fährt den Zug fast ausschliesslich mit Unternehmen aus der BLS Cargo Gruppe. Ihre belgische Bahntochter Crossrail Benelux fährt die Güterzüge in Deutschland und Belgien, BLS Cargo in der Schweiz. «Belgien rückt damit näher zu uns und wir können uns noch enger mit Crossrail verbinden», kommentiert Dirk Stahl, CEO von BLS Cargo. Die Vorteile liegen aber nicht nur innerhalb des Unternehmens. Auch der Kunde profitiert, denn der nahtlose Übergang an den Grenzen beschleunigt den Ablauf und ermöglicht effiziente Lokomotiveinsätze. «Als Partner von BLS Cargo seit ihrer Gründung sind wir stolz darauf, Teil dieser bahnbrechenden Innovation zu sein», sagt Livio Ambrogio, Präsident der Ambrogio Gruppe. «Sie ermöglicht es, Italien mit Belgien unter einer einzigen Produktion zu verbinden».


Ein Jahr von der Bestellung bis zum Betrieb

Im Oktober 2019 bestellte BLS Cargo bei Siemens 25 neue Mehrsystemlokomotiven des Typs Vectron, ausgerüstet mit den Traktions- und Zugssicherungssystemen für Deutschland (D), Österreich (A), Schweiz (CH), Italien (I), Niederlanden (NL) und Belgien (B). Siemens hielt die schrittweise geplante Auslieferung der Loks ein und sorgte auch für die zeitgerechten Betriebszulassungen auf dem Korridor. Bis Ende 2020 werden insgesamt 10 der 25 Lokomotiven ausgeliefert sein. Die weiteren 15 folgen ab 2023.

 

Für ergänzende Auskünfte steht Ihnen Stefanie Burri, BLS Cargo AG, Leiterin Leitungsstab/Kommunikation unter der Nummer +41 58 327 30 17 oder stefanie.burri@bls.ch Verfügung. Mehr Infos unter blscargo.ch

 
0 aus 0 Mediendateien
    Information
    Kontakt für Medienschaffende

    BLS AG, Medienstelle
    Telefon +41 58 327 29 55
    Fax +41 58 327 29 10
    media@bls.ch…

    Automatisch auf dem Laufenden
    Erhalten Sie unsere Medienmitteilungen mittels RSS-Feed
    Abonnieren
    Newsletter